Bus hijacked at Dublin Airport?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,352 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Arghus wrote: »
    There's a great buddy comedy to be made from this yet.

The Irish "Speed".

Margaret Cash could play the Sandra Bullock role.
    John Connors is Keanu Reeves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭BeerWolf

If I was doing the evening shift at the airport this week I would have probably witnessed it while waiting for the staff shuttle. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 967 ✭✭✭septictank

NIMAN wrote: »
    The Irish "Speed".

Margaret Cash could play the Sandra Bullock role.
    John Connors is Keanu Reeves.

Haha, I'd go see that, want a fair sized hole in the floor for john to go through.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,833 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

They missed a trick.

Should both given their names as Billy Murphy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,372 ✭✭✭✭branie2

I wonder why they'd do such a thing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 257 ✭✭Petyr Baelish

branie2 wrote: »

As normal human beings, you and I will never understand the inner workings of the mind of a traveller.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

for the craic :pac: up ya boya

like these mad yokes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,195 ✭✭✭Mango Joe

https://www.rte.ie/news/courts/2020/0109/1105365-courts-mini-bus-airport-charge/

Staggered by the above News story on the RTE News Website where the "Journalist" involved, Sinead Hussey, describes the bus ramming a vehicle while bizarrely never for a second thinking to mention that the 2 US kids and the Colombian were robbed and thrown off the bus beforehand.

Do Journalists not have to have some sort of standard of training/education before they just casually go for it and start releasing all these half-arsed news articles without all the care and attention of a teenager?

Only for some fella in work telling me they weren't on the bus at the time of the collision I still wouldn't be any the wiser - Good job RTE.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

Scum will do what scum will do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,450 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Mango Joe wrote: »
    https://www.rte.ie/news/courts/2020/0109/1105365-courts-mini-bus-airport-charge/

Staggered by the above News story on the RTE News Website where the "Journalist" involved, Sinead Hussey, describes the bus ramming a vehicle while bizarrely never for a second thinking to mention that the 2 US kids and the Colombian were robbed and thrown off the bus beforehand.

Do Journalists not have to have some sort of standard of training/education before they just casually go for it and start releasing all these half-arsed news articles without all the care and attention of a teenager?

Only for some fella in work telling me they weren't on the bus at the time of the collision I still wouldn't be any the wiser - Good job RTE.

They weren't though, were they? They believed they had been dropped off at the right hotel and only when found they hadn't got a booking, they contacted Dublin Airport. It's a sh!te enough story without embellishment.

https://www.rte.ie/news/ireland/2020/0108/1105032-monaghan-arrests/
    The three said although they thought the driving was a bit erratic, they had no reason to think they were in any danger. They were unharmed throughout the incident and had not been robbed.

When they were let off at the City North Hotel near Julianstown in Co Meath, they thought they had arrived at their designated hotel and asked to check-in, only to be told they had no booking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,899 ✭✭✭✭elperello

Sinead Hussey
    BA
    Diploma in Communications Radio and Television
    15 years experience as a broadcast journalist

https://ie.linkedin.com/in/sin%C3%A9ad-hussey-50784084

Just saying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,372 ✭✭✭✭branie2

fryup wrote: »
    for the craic :pac: up ya boya

like these mad yokes

A pair of eejits!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,195 ✭✭✭Mango Joe

Birneybau wrote: »
    They weren't though, were they? They believed they had been dropped off at the right hotel and only when found they hadn't got a booking, they contacted Dublin Airport. It's a sh!te enough story without embellishment.

https://www.rte.ie/news/ireland/2020/0108/1105032-monaghan-arrests/

I read the RTE news story in full and therefore thought it was horrific that there was 2 children and a Colombian woman on board the bus while it was ramming a police car.

Basically the Journalist mentioned they were on the bus when it was hijacked but didn't bother her hoop to tell anyone that they had been dropped off before these scumbags started ramming other vehicles.

I think this is a significant detail that you'd think might get a mention somewhere along the line.

Shes doing this professionally like....for pay....:confused:

I actually got the full story in a corridor at work from a lad who knew to include the actual details of the story - He's never been to College, he's just not a fcuking eejitt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,496 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

I read the RTE news story in full and therefore thought it was horrific that there was 2 children and a Colombian woman on board the bus while it was ramming a police car.

Basically the Journalist mentioned they were on the bus when it was hijacked but didn't bother her hoop to tell anyone that they had been dropped off before these scumbags started ramming other vehicles.

I think this is a significant detail that you'd think might get a mention somewhere along the line.

I actually got the full story in a corridor at work from a lad who knew to include the actual details of the story - He's never been to College, he's just not a fcuking eejitt.

RTE Bury negative stories re_ minorities if they can at all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Mad_maxx wrote: »
    RTE Bury negative stories re_ minorities if they can at all

Remember how they treated Casey.
    Company policy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,450 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Fair enough, I got a warning on the Peter Casey thread in Current Affairs for saying bus hijackers were travellers, as was yer man in Cabra trying to bundle the woman into his car also during the week. The Herald didn't hold back outlining their 'ethnicity'