Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Second Captains

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,068 ✭✭✭yermandan

the youngfla makes me so angry!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,221 ✭✭✭jones

yermandan wrote: »
    the youngfla makes me so angry!

THATS IT haha!! i was remembering it wrong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,139 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

I think my life is a little bit better for skipping that Miguel Delaney bit. Ken often plays the contrarian and you can tell he doesn't really believe what he's arguing but it's usually funny.

Like the bit about gaa players having to pay their clubs. Murph wasn't rising to that at all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭Dante

I hope they continue to bring David Sneyd onto the podcast. I think he has been an excellent addition.

Took me a while to warm to him but I must say I'm liking his contributions when he's on the pod.

He also does some good stuff on the42 which I've only taken notice of recently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭hankless

Another David Sneyd fan. He seems like the most knowledgeable pundit going on anything to do with Irish soccer players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 955 ✭✭✭Salvation Tambourine

hankless wrote: »
    Another David Sneyd fan. He seems like the most knowledgeable pundit going on anything to do with Irish soccer players.

You get the feeling that he's more than happy staying and working in Ireland doing what he does and not having dreams of going to the UK and reporting on English football where there is more than likely a lot more money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 170 ✭✭NavyandBlue

Took me a while to warm to him but I must say I'm liking his contributions when he's on the pod.

He also does some good stuff on the42 which I've only taken notice of recently.

Yes the recent article about the Irish Kilmarnock player was very entertaining.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,777 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

I hope they continue to bring David Sneyd onto the podcast. I think he has been an excellent addition.

On the subject of a newish addition, I'd like to hear more from Andy Dunne on rugby.. he's always prepared to offer an opinion that isn't just tired old rugby cliche ridden guff...

You know, stuff like 'you've got to earn the right to go wide' and 'that's trademark Munster'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 561 ✭✭✭thenightman

Ken reading the Charlie Austin interview was fantastic!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 522 ✭✭✭Raisins

That treatment of the Charlie Austin interview was vintage stuff from the lads. I nearly cracked up on the bus home, you won’t get that kinda laugh anywhere else. Class.

For me it’s sunshine every time. Dubai. Sun. Done.

Nokotan wrote: »
    You get the feeling that he's more than happy staying and working in Ireland doing what he does and not having dreams of going to the UK and reporting on English football where there is more than likely a lot more money.

Except he does go over, and he just watches and reports on the Irish lads! What a good skin :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 955 ✭✭✭Salvation Tambourine

hankless wrote: »
    Except he does go over, and he just watches and reports on the Irish lads! What a good skin :D

I meant living in England and focusing on the English game more so.

Fair play to David though, really enjoy when he's on the show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,252 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

"It had a wobble on."

More dramatic renditions of Charlie Austin verbal diarrhoea any time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,221 ✭✭✭jones

I'd watch a show based on his holidays with his missus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,436 ✭✭✭Beersmith

jones wrote: »
    I'd watch a show based on his holidays with his missus

I'd give that two thumbs up

That aussie guy was great, I really enjoyed his interview. Sad times over there for them, not just the fires but the attitude and reaction to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭sheroman01

Raisins wrote: »
    That treatment of the Charlie Austin interview was vintage stuff from the lads. I nearly cracked up on the bus home, you won’t get that kinda laugh anywhere else. Class.

For me it’s sunshine every time. Dubai. Sun. Done.

How random was that excerpt too. Fair play to them spending so much time on it, was in knots laughing! And he did totally sound like the darts guy, great shout!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,252 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Some wild tonal shifts today:

Sore balls

The World is Burning, we're all fcked

Some rugby lad has an injury

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,608 ✭✭✭jaykay74

For anyone that subscribes to the RTE Second Captains Sunday feed which runs during the Summer typically with interviews for RTE there was an extra episode on new years eve which I haven't finished yet but is a reasonable listen, some irish born US ambassador to the UN but not as boring as it sounds :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

Arghus wrote: »
    Some wild tonal shifts today:

Sore balls

This is how I imagined Eoin watching it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 748 ✭✭✭bamayang

jaykay74 wrote: »
    For anyone that subscribes to the RTE Second Captains Sunday feed which runs during the Summer typically with interviews for RTE there was an extra episode on new years eve which I haven't finished yet but is a reasonable listen, some irish born US ambassador to the UN but not as boring as it sounds :)

Where can ya listen to this?

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,748 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

The one with the historian talking about the RIC was very interesting, good thing they didn't go for that edgelord fella who thinks British colonisation was a good thing.

Ken delighted Spurs are doing bad, an excuse to rip into Jose again. I love it tbh, long may it continue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,614 ✭✭✭Still Ill

Cienciano wrote: »
    Ken delighted Spurs are doing bad, an excuse to rip into Jose again. I love it tbh, long may it continue

I found the Jose segment absolutely mind numbing tbh.

Still Ill wrote: »
    I found the Jose segment absolutely mind numbing tbh.

Yeah, think I'm in the minority. Barney Ronay described him well. "he's like a virus who attacks it's host" :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,029 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

The one with the historian talking about the RIC was very interesting, good thing they didn't go for that edgelord fella who thinks British colonisation was a good thing.

Was probably the best political podcast that they've done. It's usually very hit or miss depending on the guest but that was great stuff.

Yeah, could listen to him for far longer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,211 ✭✭✭LineOfBeauty

Thought Ken had some good stats, he acknowledges himself that the Mourinho stuff crops up too often but every once in a while I don't mind a good Mourinho rant and, tbf to Ken, what he's saying is true, a portion of the Spurs fanbase are already becoming ardent-Mourinho fans, same thing that has happened at every other club he's been at.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 972 ✭✭✭radharc

The only problem recently is that if you read Ken's piece in the Irish Times (which usually lands on a Sunday night/Mon morning) then you have the full content spoilered for his Monday football pod. Might start skipping the articles.