Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

The best alt/indie albums of the last decade

• Registered Users Posts: 1,264 ✭✭✭NapoleonInRags

Beach House - Teen Dream
    Tama Impala - Innerspeaker
    Sufjan Stevens - Carrie and Lowell
    Fleet Foxes - Helplessness Blues
    Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds - Skelton Tree (new one is climbing the charts rapidly)
    Radiohead - Moon Shaped Pool
    Weyes Blood - Titanic Rising
    Bon Iver - Bon Iver
    Arcade Fire - The Suburbs
    The National - High Violet

• Registered Users Posts: 1,899 ✭✭✭UrbanSprawl

Beach House - Teen Dream
    Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds - Skelton Tree (new one is climbing the charts rapidly)
    Bon Iver - Bon Iver

Weyes Blood - Titanic Rising This is one band I haven't heard,will give a listen.

• Registered Users Posts: 259 ✭✭Richard Roma

Beach House - Teen Dream
    Bon Iver - Bon Iver

That’s uncannily similar to my own list - except Weyes Blood which I haven’t listened to. Will check it out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 91 ✭✭GhostofKNugget

Arc Iris - Moon Saloon
    Gord Downie - Introduce Yerself
    Sufan Stevens - Carrie and Lowell
    White Denim - Side Effects
    Car Seat Headrest - Teens of Denial
    Jeff Rosenstock - Worry
    Richard Dawson -2020
    David Bowie - Blackstar
    The Beths - Future Me Hates Me

Here's quite a good list of the top 150 albums to jog memories ,don't agree much with their top ten though.

https://www.treblezine.com/top-150-albums-of-the-2010s/

A few more from me

5) Everything Everything -Get to Heaven
    6)Typhoon-Offerings
    7)PROTOMATYR - The Agent Intellect
    8)Xiu Xiu Plays the Music of Twin Peaks

• Registered Users Posts: 2,254 ✭✭✭Acosta

The Horrors - Skying
    Slowdive - Slowdive
    Wand - 1000 Days
    Elder - Lore
    British Sea Power - Let The Dancers Inherit The Party
    Paul Draper - Spooky Action
    Trail Of Dead - Tao Of The Dead
    Minami Deutsch - With Dim Light
    Nonkeen - The Gamble
    Percolator - Sestra
    Radiohead - A Moon Shaped Pool
    The Flaming Lips - The Terror
    Gnoomes - Mu!
    Grizzly Bear - Painted Ruins
    Meatbodies - Alice
    Wolf Parade - Expo 86
    The Twilight Sad - It Won't Be Like This All The Time

Acosta wrote: »
    The Horrors - Skying
    Slowdive - Slowdive
    Wand - 1000 Days
    Elder - Lore
    British Sea Power - Let The Dancers Inherit The Party
    Paul Draper - Spooky Action
    Trail Of Dead - Tao Of The Dead
    Minami Deutsch - With Dim Light
    Nonkeen - The Gamble
    Percolator - Sestra
    Radiohead - A Moon Shaped Pool
    The Flaming Lips - The Terror
    Gnoomes - Mu!
    Grizzly Bear - Painted Ruins
    Meatbodies - Alice
    Wolf Parade - Expo 86
    The Twilight Sad - It Won't Be Like This All The Time

What's that Wolf Parade like? Haven't listened to anything from them since Apologies to the Queen Mary which I loved.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,254 ✭✭✭Acosta

What's that Wolf Parade like? Haven't listened to anything from them since Apologies to the Queen Mary which I loved.

Very good if you're in the mood for them. I listened to it a lot at the time. Still reminds me of snow as it was a white Christmas that year. The stuff I've heard from their forthcoming new album sounds very good. Think it's out next month.

They always have great tunes ,,albums tend to be mixed I posted against the days here and yeah that is a great song but the song released today meh .. playing dublin March never actually seen them live despite liking them since 2005 queen is a monster of a album and one of that decadest best.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,812 ✭✭✭✭ShaneU

Don't listen to much new music anymore but here's my top ten

Black Keys - Brothers
    Tame Impala - Currents
    Arcade Fire - Suburbs
    The Strokes - Angles
    Vampire Weekend - Contra
    Daft Punk - Random Access Memories
    Mac DeMarco - Salad Days
    LCD Soundsystem - This is Happening
    Beach House - Teen Dream
    Jamie XX - In Colour

• Registered Users Posts: 9,348 ✭✭✭S.M.B.

I'm finding it harder than usual to come up with a definitive list of my top 10 albums. This may sound blasphemous but I do think 'the album' has played a less important part in my relationship with music this decade than the previous two decades. The final few years of the 00's was when I started transitioning away from an 'add album to ipod an listen excessively' habit to acquiring small chunks of music from multiple different sources along with being introduced to Spotify which I see I first joined on 18/01/10.

It feels odd to provide a list of my favourites of the decade as there are artists that have a had songs/albums/gigs that have had a huge impact on me but their albums may not fall into the traditional flawless cohesive album mould.

The albums that do come to mind are:

Joanna Newsom - Have One On Me
    PJ Harvery - Let England Shake
    Kanye West - My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy
    Sharon van Etten - Tramp (all 4 of her albums from this decade are contenders)
    Anaïs Mitchell - Hadestown

S.M.B. wrote: »
    I'm finding it harder than usual to come up with a definitive list of my top 10 albums. This may sound blasphemous but I do think 'the album' has played a less important part in my relationship with music this decade than the previous two decades. The final few years of the 00's was when I started transitioning away from an 'add album to ipod an listen excessively' habit to acquiring small chunks of music from multiple different sources along with being introduced to Spotify which I see I first joined on 18/01/10.

It feels odd to provide a list of my favourites of the decade as there are artists that have a had songs/albums/gigs that have had a huge impact on me but their albums may not fall into the traditional flawless cohesive album mould.

The albums that do come to mind are:

Joanna Newsom - Have One On Me
    PJ Harvery - Let England Shake
    Kanye West - My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy
    Sharon van Etten - Tramp (all 4 of her albums from this decade are contenders)
    Anaïs Mitchell - Hadestown

Feck - totally forgot about Have One On Me - superb album!

• Registered Users Posts: 12,832 ✭✭✭✭Rothko

Lonerism - Tame Impala
    Masseduction - St. Vincent
    Titanic Rising - Weyes Blood
    Innerspeaker - Tame Impala
    MBV - My Bloody Valentine
    Yuck - Yuck
    Celebration Rock - Japandroids
    Carrie And Lowell - Sufjan Stevens
    Halcyon Digest - Deerhunter
    Once I Was An Eagle - Laura Marling

• Registered Users Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭Anesthetize

My favourites:

The War on Drugs - Lost in the Dream
    Grimes - Art Angels
    Beach House - Teen Dream
    Alvvays - Antisocialites
    Turnover - Peripheral Vision

The best of the rest:

U.S. Girls - In a Poem Unlimited
    Let's Eat Grandma - I'm All Ears
    Sharon Van Etten - Are We There
    Angel Olsen - My Woman
    Julia Holter - Have You in My Wilderness
    Kero Kero Bonito - Time 'n' Place
    Wolf Alice - My Love is Cool
    Slowdive - Slowdive
    The Horrors - Skying
    Courtney Barnett - Sometimes I Sit and Think, and Sometimes I Just Sit
    Rolling Blackouts Coastal Fever - Hope Downs
    Wild Nothing - Nocturne
    M83 - Hurry Up, We're Dreaming
    Allo Darlin' - s/t
    Julien Baker - Sprained Ankle

• Registered Users Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭vriesmays

Heather Nova - 300 days at sea.

Have not seen Ought on any lists 'more than any other day' was a fantastic debut record.

Weyes Blood - Titanic Rising This is one band I haven't heard,will give a listen.

So this more of female songwriter type rather than a band ..I was not hooked by the few songs I listened to..

• Registered Users Posts: 9,348 ✭✭✭S.M.B.

Have not seen Ought on any lists 'more than any other day' was a fantastic debut record.
    I enjoyed that album but nowhere near a best of the decade in my book.

I think my tastes have changed a little over the years though. I think there's a bit of a pattern to my choices.

S.M.B. wrote: »
    I enjoyed that album but nowhere near a best of the decade in my book.

I think my tastes have changed a little over the years though. I think there's a bit of a pattern to my choices.

,seen them once in workmans and they have other albums probably better than the debut but they exploded tbh I haven't even heard their 2018 album they went off the radar for me when Tim went solo didn't like any of that at all ..think I will be checking out that 2018 album though

• Registered Users Posts: 14,320 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

So this more of female songwriter type rather than a band ..I was not hooked by the few songs I listened to..

Yup, don't get all the accolades that album received. Beautifully put together, very tastefully played - but the songs are dull. It's devoid of anything memorable for me. And yet one of the most critically acclaimed albums of the decade. I must have listened to it more than fifteen times waiting for something to grab me and it never happened.

Arghus wrote: »
    Yup, don't get all the accolades that album received. Beautifully put together, very tastefully played - but the songs are dull. It's devoid of anything memorable for me. And yet one of the most critically acclaimed albums of the decade. I must have listened to it more than fifteen times waiting for something to grab me and it never happened.

The songs are very dull no connection to the titanic at all!

• Registered Users Posts: 259 ✭✭Richard Roma

I’d agree with a lot of albums in the thread and also include the following:

Father John Misty - ‘I Love You, Honeybear’.
    Baxter Dury - ‘It’s a Pleasure’ and/or ‘Prince of Tears’.
    Kiasmos - ‘Kiasmos’.

I’d agree with a lot of albums in the thread and also include the following:

Father John Misty - ‘I Love You, Honeybear’.
    Baxter Dury - ‘It’s a Pleasure’ and/or ‘Prince of Tears’.
    Kiasmos - ‘Kiasmos’.

Great shout on Kiasmos - wonderful record

• Registered Users Posts: 10,640 ✭✭✭✭Electric Nitwit

Hi guys, I'm a long time lurker in the new albums thread and love the recommendations. I've drifted off the pace with new music these days so never have anything to add there but, if you'll indulge me, here's a few from the last decade I haven't seen mentioned here...

WU LYF - Go Tell Fire to the Mountain
    The singer's voice carries this, rough round the edges but full of feeling. Recorded in an old church, giving it a slight orchestral feel despite basically being young lads giving out about the world

Lost Under Heaven: Spiritual Songs for Lovers to Sing
    WU LYF's singer leaves, finds a girl, and they produce this masterpiece. It's my album of the decade. Her voice is a delicate counterpoint to his, though her spirit shines through strongly. It's a stunner, if you listen to anything I say then try this :)

Spiritualized - Sweet Heart Sweet Light
    I love anything Spiritualized release. Only two this decade, this is my favourite of the two

65daysofstatic - We Were Exploding Anyway
    My favourite band - glitchy guitars and electro looping post rock. They had three albums this decade, this is the most accessible. Robert Smith provides guest vocals on Come To Me, if it's good enough for him...!

A good few of the suggestions already listed slipped me by, looking forward to working my way through them :)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,554 ✭✭✭Irish_rat

Lonerism - Tame Impala
    If You Wait - London Grammar
    Trouble Will Find Me - The National
    Brutalism - Idles
    Slowdive - Slowdive
    My Love Is Cool - Wolf Alice
    TLF - Foals
    Get To Heaven - Everything Everything
    The Bones of What You Believe - Chvrches
    Bon Iver - Bon Iver
    Bloom - Beach House
    Songs Of Praise - Shame
    Interpol - Interpol
    If You Leave - Daughter
    An Awesome Wave - Alt J

• Registered Users Posts: 2,554 ✭✭✭Irish_rat

Can't forget PJ Harvey - Let England Shake. Its definitely in my top 10 of the last decade. Just scrolled back and yes it was mentioned once!

• Site Banned Posts: 221 ✭✭SAM SO NITE

Lonerism Tame Impala
    A deeper understanding The war on drugs
    High Violet The national
    AM Arctic Monkeys

• Registered Users Posts: 18,921 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

A week out from the 10th anniversary of its release, I'd have no hesitation in saying John Grant - Queen of Denmark.

Never has an album taken me in so quickly since Loveless or Boxer.