Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Underrated words/terms

• Registered Users Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

jaxxx wrote: »
    Gob5hite!

Sh*tehawk is a good substitute if you ever feel the need to mix it up.

Omackeral wrote: »
    Antepenultimate

Not second last but the one before it. Third last, I suppose!

Preantepenultimate = 4th last
    Propreantepenultimate =5th last

• Registered Users Posts: 5,749 ✭✭✭donegal_man

Two that I used to hear a lot when I moved to Donegal that seem to have fallen out of use
    Footering: attempted repair of something to no avail, "why are ya footering around with that? It's banjaxed so it is."
    Poke: a small bag as in "a poke of sweets".

My current favorite word is Barneymugging, a euphemism for the activity with the most euphemisms of all. I love the sound of mountweasel (a deliberate error inserted to test or catch out a reader), fadgadget (something faddy and gadgety), and noceur (a night owl).

I've always thought gobsh*te was an especially satisfying word to say.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,242 ✭✭✭Archeron

Pug fugly. As in, that James corden is one seriously pug fugly cockwomble.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,922 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

Ye. It's a real word with an actual meaning that won't confuse you and you.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,402 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

I find Gobshyte, on its own, to be a bit overrated, but if you place the adjective "fucking" just before it, then it really brings it to vibrant life.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,402 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Ye. It's a real word with an actual meaning that won't confuse you and you.

Ye. I have no problem with ye, it's when people say "yous" that I scream internally.

Arghus wrote: »
    Ye. I have no problem with ye, it's when people say "yous" that I scream internally.

Arah yous can't bee saying tings loike dat.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭Smart Bug

Balter- to dance like a clumsy oaf.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,684 ✭✭✭✭Samuel T. Cogley

Miasma

• Registered Users Posts: 3,545 ✭✭✭Working class heroes

This thread reads like a Tourette sufferers help group.

Racism is now hiding behind the cloak of Community activism.

• Registered Users Posts: 762 ✭✭✭Foggy Jew

Hookemsnivvey. (Like a whajamacallit, only better).

It's the bally ballyness of it that makes it all seem so bally bally.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,777 ✭✭✭KathleenGrant

This thread reads like a Tourette sufferers help group.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,311 ✭✭✭Speedsie
    ¡arriba, arriba! ¡andale, andale!

For the occasions cockwomble doesn't work, I find poxbottle to be an excellent substitute.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,773 ✭✭✭Greyfox

Banjaxed

• Registered Users Posts: 13,483 ✭✭✭✭Deja Boo

Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious
    supercalifeckalistikissmyarseadocious

It's a verb.

I have used it in a sentence recently ;) starting with "you can just..."

• Registered Users Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

dobman88 wrote: »
    Goatweasled. Referring to being as tired as you've ever been or extremely drunk.

Think cùnt is quite an underrated word. Enjoy using it myself within context.
    It's a word that makes me very judgemental about someone's IQ and upbringing!

parsimonious
    spendthrift
    unerring
    chthonic

• Registered Users Posts: 3,777 ✭✭✭KathleenGrant

Deja Boo wrote: »
    Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious
    supercalifeckalistikissmyarseadocious

It's a verb.

I have used it in a sentence recently ;) starting with "you can just..."
    I love it.

• Registered Users Posts: 182 ✭✭Philipx

Discombobulated. Wonderful word.

Twat (although it only really works in an English accent)

Horlicks (my father's euphemism for bollix :P)

Ferocious (as in "He's a ferocious horlicks, that fella")

• Registered Users Posts: 2,128 ✭✭✭Tacitus Kilgore

Foostering.

As it develops it becomes fuckarsing

• Registered Users Posts: 734 ✭✭✭Aceandstuff

Foggy Jew wrote: »
    Hookemsnivvey. (Like a whajamacallit, only better).

Oojimaflip.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,073 ✭✭✭Rubberlegs

Epididymis, the name of the tube that carries sperm from the testicles.
    Geansai
    Quandary
    Another vote for discombobulated

• Moist.

Toerag

Gaugeo

Nooch

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,660 ✭✭✭armaghlad

Feen
    Beure
    Rulya
    Munya

• Registered Users Posts: 594 ✭✭✭dubstepper

Erstewhile, meaning former, as in my erstwhile colleague.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,253 ✭✭✭✭gammygils

Mollifoosther

Tatter (pronounced Tathur)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

sh1tehawk

add your own below..

Shythawk I use almost daily. I think that 'gusset' has a nice ring to it. I also like the words guttersnipe, bousy and wastral. All of them have roughly the same meaning, but can be delivered as an insulting or jokey term depending on intonation of the voice, the latter two at least.

is_that_so wrote: »
    It's a word that makes me very judgemental about someone's IQ and upbringing!

So you automatically judge people who say cunt as having low IQ and a bad upbringing, or a high IQ and good upbringing, or a combination of both? I'd a good upbringing, and according to the last IQ test I'm slight above average (but how accurate they are I will always question, intelligence can't be measured the same in different people imo), and I'm pretty sure cunt is one of my most used curses, up there with fuck tbh!