The greatest moment of ego you witnessed

• 26-12-2019 03:19PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭

I’m just watching the Trevor Deely thread. There is people speculating what they think might have happened which is fair enough. There are also however people who think they can solve the case, in between school runs from press snippets and their huge intellect. Asking questions like have the police interviewed his co workers.

Christmas Day and people guessing that their idea on the thread about canvassing prisons was stolen by the police who are using the idea now.

Bizarre egos.

I once spent a few years practicing a guitar a few hours a night until I was comfortable on it and felt like a semi decent garage band type guitar player. My brother came into the house one day and asked for a shot of it. He seemed so disappointed that he didn’t start rattling off stairway to heaven right off the bat. He just gave it back to me and said it was a ****e guitar.

What bizarre cases of ego have you witnessed over the years?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,439 ✭✭✭corner of hells

BDI wrote: »
    I’m just watching the Trevor Deely thread. There is people speculating what they think might have happened which is fair enough. There are also however people who think they can solve the case, in between school runs from press snippets and their huge intellect. Asking questions like have the police interviewed his co workers.

Christmas Day and people guessing that their idea on the thread about canvassing prisons was stolen by the police who are using the idea now.

Bizarre egos.

I once spent a few years practicing a guitar a few hours a night until I was comfortable on it and felt like a semi decent garage band type guitar player. My brother came into the house one day and asked for a shot of it. He seemed so disappointed that he didn’t start rattling off stairway to heaven right off the bat. He just gave it back to me and said it was a ****e guitar.

Was your brother questioned over Trevor Deelys disappearance ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 183 ✭✭Wilfuler.

Didn't Sting go off and start a solo career

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,472 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

Wilfuler. wrote: »

An audacious move from 'the bass playing element' .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 210 ✭✭candycock

My know it all next door neighbour said to me' that Google site is full of lies if u want to no anything ask me'.

Some solid bizarre egotism egotism will be seen in the BT Young Scientist 2020 competition thread:

Any kind of criticism, constructive or otherwise will be met with resounding indignation and anger. And the egos will continue regardless.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,623 ✭✭✭Millionaire only not

My own !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

BDI wrote: »

Bizarre egos.

Yeah a lady I work with is convinced her husband let the guards into a secret that meant they could locate a body.

It was in relation to Wayne O'Donoghue/Robert Holohan murder a few years ago. Her husband rang the Middleton garda station to tell them that they should get the phone company to check Robert Holohan's phone and see where it pinged etc. And then the very next day they found the body with this technology apparently. All down to her husband.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,483 ✭✭✭mr_fegelien

To be fair, Ten Summoners Tales was his best accomplishment even superseding the stuff of the Police IMO.

No

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,597 ✭✭✭tdf7187

Irish property developers and bankers in the bubble. Maybe not all of them, but a high %.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,843 ✭✭✭Pretzill

We have some of the biggest egos in the Irish government at the moment - that housing minister's ego is matched only by the substantial size of the homeless crisis.

But having a big ego isn't necessarily a bad thing, if you have the skills that prop it up. It's when an ego is just bluster to cover up for inadequacy, that's annoying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 Star02

amdublin wrote:
    It was in relation to Wayne O'Donoghue/Robert Holohan murder a few years ago. Her husband rang the Middleton garda station to tell them that they should get the phone company to check Robert Holohan's phone and see where it pinged etc. And then the very next day they found the body with this technology apparently. All down to her husband.

Off topic but that was one case that really got to me. I never cried so much for a child I never knew from a part of the country I had never been to before back then. Of course there have been many sad tragic cases since then but always something about that case that stuck with me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Ipso

tdf7187 wrote: »
    Irish property developers and bankers in the bubble. Maybe not all of them, but a high %.

And even after the bubble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,102 ✭✭✭greencap

Didn't sting go down the road of playing ye olde lute there for a while.

That seems like a bit of an ego moment.

Guitar... For the kids. Lute is the real deal.

_69008827_brent.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,187 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

In a previous job working for an airline... when the aircraft was parked remotely and steps were being used to access it the pilots used to dump their suitcases at the steps, walk up to the cockpit and when we’d enter to do all the paperwork yadda yadda wed get told.. “ohhh my bags are still sitting down there”... my reply was... “ohhh yeah I meant to say it to you.. if the airport police see your unaccompanied bags there, they will remove them (true), fine the company (true) and have them destroyed (maybe not true)...

the reply was... “but if I put my back out doing that the flight and these people can’t go anywhere...” my reply...”yeah ? Well I’m supposed to be going to New York in 4 days ( or some other important engagement ) if I put my back out hauling your bags ‘im’ not going anywhere...

So YOU get em or the only thing I’m getting is overtime and YOU probably fired...

greencap wrote: »
    Didn't sting go down the road of playing ye olde lute there for a while.

That seems like a bit of an ego moment.

Guitar... For the kids. Lute is the real deal.

_69008827_brent.jpg

Makes great "call on hold" musak. Grand in an elevator too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,479 ✭✭✭ibFoxer

candycock wrote: »
    My know it all next door neighbour said to me' that Google site is full of lies if u want to no anything ask me'.

You should totally ask him about missing letters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 809 ✭✭✭Blaizes

I don’t think I’ve met many Irish people with big egos but a few of the two fm radio presenters( who I’ve never met) seem a bit full of themselves but maybe it’s part of being a radio presenter though still find it very fake.

I have met a few Americans with such over inflated egos that it’s actually comical ( that is not to tar all Americans with the same brush obviously) but some are way ott.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,226 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Ehh a lot of Pilots have huge fooking egos and they are often major contributory factor to a good number of accidents.

One of the most famous, and one that revolutionised the way crews are meant to operate, was the the KLM 747 captain in Tenerife in 1977 who thought he knew it all and decided to take off even though ATC had not given him clearance, and copilot reminded him of this.
    The runway was not clear and he ploughed into another 747 trying to clear across the runway in the fog.
    One fooking know it all killed 583 people.

Also our own "military" pilots sometimes think they are out of Top Gun.
    What makes it even funnier is they used to be getting out of Cessna training aircraft.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,104 ✭✭✭boombang

Not really the type of examples you're looking for, but I thought all those musicians that were involved in the Apollo House sleep in a few years ago demonstrated some pretty big egos. I got the sense that they felt they knew all the answers and could bully the government into firing some sort of silver bullet. Did they not think the problem of homelessness might be messy and complicated?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,743 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

Kilkenny Hurling Team is packed to the absolute rafters with enormous egos. Its an amateur sport that is known by virtually nobody outside of this country, and not followed by a huge number of people within the country and I have witnessed these lads strutting around nightclubs as if they are A-List movie stars, chatting up anything with a pulse just because of "who they are" and generally acting like spoilt little entitled dcikheads who think they world owes them a fancy living because they hit a sliotar with a hurley, tragic how deluded they are.

The irony is, their little world is burst within a few years of all this "fame", they get older, put on weight, cant get gigs anymore and generally they world forget they even existed and moves on...the cycle is inevitable but its amusing to watch them live in ignorance of this. :pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Snow Garden

Kilkenny Hurling Team is packed to the absolute rafters with enormous egos. Its an amateur sport that is known by virtually nobody outside of this country, and not followed by a huge number of people within the country and I have witnessed these lads strutting around nightclubs as if they are A-List movie stars, chatting up anything with a pulse just because of "who they are" and generally acting like spoilt little entitled dcikheads who think they world owes them a fancy living because they hit a sliotar with a hurley, tragic how deluded they are.

The irony is, their little world is burst within a few years of all this "fame", they get older, put on weight, cant get gigs anymore and generally they world forget they even existed and moves on...the cycle is inevitable but its amusing to watch them live in ignorance of this. :pac:

Wow, what exactly happened to you?

You've been banging this drum for 7 years at least.

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=82165419&postcount=19

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=103244228&postcount=1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

Me thinks somebody is very envious and has a massive chip on their shoulder probably related to a single member or two of the squad and said poster should seek help to detach from this.

The Kilkenny hurlers are an amazingly talented sports team. So what if no one outside the country knows the sport. Got to give them credit where it's due for the drive and work ethic. And yeah they will move on with a few AI medals in the back pocket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 956 ✭✭✭Nodster

Massive ego moments? Two spring to mind - Charlie Haughey winning the Tour de France with Stephen Roche in 1987 or Shane Ross triumphantly photo bombing Katie Taylor at the airport a few months ago

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭conor05

If you’re referring to the 2006-2015 successful panel than I have to pull you up on this. You couldn’t meet a more sounder, down to earth bunch of lads. I am sure there were a few egos along the way, but that happens in every sporting team, especially the successful ones.

You’re telling me Noel Hickey, JJ Delaney, Tommy Walsh, Henry Shefflin, TJ Reid, Mick Fennelly, Aidan Fogarty and Eoin Larkin to name but a few are carrying on like the way you describe above?

Sorry but that is absolute BS and spoofing of the highest order.

I can name a few counties this goes on in, but Kilkenny is definite not one of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,743 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

sugarman wrote: »
    Funny you should say that, we met a load of them on a train while inter railing a few years ago and they were the biggest load of arseholes with massive egos to suit.

They heard our accents on the train and came over and started talking to us.. they were knocking back cans and smoking out the window. One me mates was on his phone and they started going ballistic thinking he was recording them and asking to see his phone / delete it.

We were just breaking our bollox laughing at the state of them, we didn't even know who they were until they told us about 20 times in the space of 5 mins. Clowns.

Its just pathetic to witness grown men act like they are some kind of God. I suppose when you are recognized and admired by everyone in the community even if its just some backwater with 30 people and 1 pub the ego gets massaged. Factor in media events (where really, companies are just cashing in on the latest trendy face to sell more product but most of them are so unaware they dont see this) and big GAA nights out to celebrate big wins and the ungrounded ones lose the run of themselves altogether. In a way i pity them because in a few years they drop off the radar altogether and nobody remembers or cares about them!
    Its just funny to see them strut around their local area swanning up the attention. An amateur sport too ha ha mad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 210 ✭✭candycock

This is very true about gaa players, I've witnessed it several times in nite clubs and small towns, the ego is a dangerous thing to the mind and body, but alias somebody has got to be the new kid in town.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,560 ✭✭✭✭road_high

I think Leo Varadkars ego is fairly damn big. Everything seems to revolve around him rather the citizens of Ireland who put him there- case in point being his most recent press interview last weekend (which are always choreographed propaganda pieces).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,586 ✭✭✭KevRossi

Last year at the World Cup Ronaldo had a celebration where he stroked on his chin, or GOATee. He was signaling that he believed himself to be the greatest footballer of all time.

He’s probably in the top 5, but he’s not the best. Certainly the biggest ego of all the others.

Twat

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

Its just pathetic to witness grown men act like they are some kind of God. I suppose when you are recognized and admired by everyone in the community even if its just some backwater with 30 people and 1 pub the ego gets massaged. Factor in media events (where really, companies are just cashing in on the latest trendy face to sell more product but most of them are so unaware they dont see this) and big GAA nights out to celebrate big wins and the ungrounded ones lose the run of themselves altogether. In a way i pity them because in a few years they drop off the radar altogether and nobody remembers or cares about them!
    Its just funny to see them strut around their local area swanning up the attention. An amateur sport too ha ha mad.

No offence but you are coming across as being very bitter. That is some chip on the shoulder.

I'm sure your achievements match. Actually I doubt it since it was knawing away at you 7 years ago. Seek help.