Scrambler bikes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,210 ✭✭✭pablo128

I just saw the first jackass of the day outside. 2 stroke scrambler being wheelied up the road and your man in a t shirt and no helmet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,239 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

guyfo wrote: »
    The fight against the Motorsport enthusiast continues.... Don't tar everyone with the same brush, plenty of responsible parents buying their kids bikes, or karts, to start them off in racing. It's no more dangerous than contact sports.

If they are using them in a housing estate then yes they should be punished, that is if it anything other than taking the bike for a quick first spin. Plenty of appropriate places to use them.

Shur what harm that they do their quick first spin on a public road, no tax, no insurance, no licence?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 485 ✭✭guyfo

I've yet to meet someone that got a scrambler for christmas whose family i wouldn't class as wasters.

Pretty sure you just proved my original point about Motorsport enthusiasts being tarred with the same brush as the scum that terrorise people in public areas there...

As I said plenty of suitable places to ride across the country, I know plenty of lads that lived in housing estates as kids whose parents took them out to me tracks to ride at weekend. Responsible ownership is fine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 118 ✭✭Tippsman

It isn't Christmas morning without the smell of a 2 stroke.

Vroom vroom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,227 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

The fight against the Motorsport enthusiast continues.... Don't tar everyone with the same brush, plenty of responsible parents buying their kids bikes, or karts, to start them off in racing. It's no more dangerous than contact sports.

If they are using them in a housing estate then yes they should be punished, that is if it anything other than taking the bike for a quick first spin. Plenty of appropriate places to use them.

If they weren't using them in housing estates then people wouldnt know they had them for the most part and this thread wouldnt exist. So let's make the assumption they are using them in housing estates.

They should be confiscated and crushed. People are idiots.

pablo128 wrote: »
    Well that would be the correct thing to do. Or have the use of a van.

You don't even need a van, a lot of competitors on pitbikes that show up at the circuit I work for turn up with them he boot of a people carrier, and I've seen karts strapped to the roof of everything from a hatchback to a Porsche 944.

Imagine handing your child 1500 in cash and they go out in the street and a Garda takes every euro off them and they will never see it again, with no comeback.

No different to handing them a scrambler and letting them out on the roads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭JuanBerrosa

It's a great indicator of people to avoid to be fair, if I see a kid on a scrambler bike I immediately know his parents are moronic inbreds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,825 ✭✭✭LirW

8 y/o girl in my estate got one, dad is quite into motor sports. I wouldn't really care but it drives me demented that he doesn't take her to a track but she's riding up and down the hill on the green and the road where all the other kids play. It's so loud and it stinks.
    No problem with kids in unusual sports but why in an estate where others play too?

Not necessarily, no matter where you live there will be somewhere within reasonable driving distance to take the bike out for a rip in a controlled environment.

And of course these responsible people transport the bikes to said place properly and dont ride them on the roads with no tax, insurance or safety gear.........

LirW wrote: »
    8 y/o girl in my estate got one, dad is quite into motor sports. I wouldn't really care but it drives me demented that he doesn't take her to a track but she's riding up and down the hill on the green and the road where all the other kids play. It's so loud and it stinks.
    No problem with kids in unusual sports but why in an estate where others play too?

That's ridiculous, there are classes for that age group in racing, no excuse to be doing stuff like that.

Ring the Gardai before another child is hurt by her.

And of course these responsible people transport the bikes to said place properly and dont ride them on the roads with no tax, insurance or safety gear.........

Yes, but the propaganda I've head on the radio leading up to Xmas didn't mention that. Scramblers are bad, don't buy your kids one was the jist of it. Not only buy your kid a scrambler if you are willing to put in the effort, and weekends spent away at race tracks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,239 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

It's all fun and games until one of them gets a slap of a bike or she breaks her neck.

Yes, but the propaganda I've head on the radio leading up to Xmas didn't mention that. Scramblers are bad, don't buy your kids one was the jist of it. Not only buy your kid a scrambler if you are willing to put in the effort, and weekends spent away at race tracks!

It's clearly aimed at a certain demographic.

How many of your actual motorsport enthusiasts you're protecting heard the ad and decided to give up the sport?

It's a great indicator of people to avoid to be fair, if I see a kid on a scrambler bike I immediately know his parents are moronic inbreds.

So these lads are all just scum are they?

https://images.app.goo.gl/85iegpadcuspJjsp8

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,110 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

gmisk wrote: »
    Are parents buying these in order to get rid of their kids?
    Is George Soros behind it!!

Initially I was like holy crap next door are cutting the grass very early!

Scrambler free around here. But then not too many sink estates around here either.

At least you know immediately that they are a family of knackers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,707 ✭✭✭Bobblehats

Tea cosy won’t save his skull

I would say yeah ...

How many of your actual motorsport enthusiasts you're protecting heard the ad and decided to give up the sport?

None, all sports need new competitors to survive, mommy and daddy who aren't really that into Motorsport being told that they are irresponsible if they buy their bike mad child the scrambler they want is the issue. Again tarring everyone with the same brush.

I would say yeah ...

Wow, some piece of **** you are...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,126 ✭✭✭Markcheese

Where’s an appropriate place to drive a scrambler for a young fella from an inner city with no land.
    Are you suggesting that the parents buy a trailer to ship the bike around on aswell.

Well maybe ,maybe ,if there's no where handy to safely ride an off road motorbike then maybe the kids shouldn't be given scramblers...

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

Water charge protestors are very likely to buy their kids scramblers for use in housing estates.
    There's a homeless crisis largely due to these wasters who were housed in the past largely at the state's expense..... Discuss ��

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,126 ✭✭✭Markcheese

There's a small green area out the back of my house ,it's a pain when someone gets a scrambler and decides to tare around and around ,can't use the back garden , one of them cocked up last summer and managed to go head first into the garden wall, obviously no helmets , the noise chilled out a bit after ,( but not what you want really )

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,110 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

What's your point?

Clearly these actions and messages are not aimed at such people who are active in organised Motorsports.

They are aimed at those lawless fools in estates buying these for their children to run amoc within those estates wherever they can find a bit of room.

Knock off the ridiculous indignation.

lawred2 wrote: »
    What's your point?

Seriously? It puts off prospective new competitors.... Come on lad your not that thick

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 45,526 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Nothing to do with motorsport. It's the gobsh1te parents who let their kids tear around public spaces usually in inappropriate attire and pose a risk to those around rhem.
    Expect to see more cases like whilst some cretins defend the behaviour...
    https://www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/sunbather-critically-hurt-after-scrambler-bike-lands-on-head-1.3526552

Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/ .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,167 ✭✭✭✭blade1

pablo128 wrote: »
    I just saw the first jackass of the day outside. 2 stroke scrambler being wheelied up the road and your man in a t shirt and no helmet.

Jesus,If he only got it today, he's a quick learner :eek:

blade1 wrote: »
    Jesus,If he only got it today, he's a quick learner :eek:

Honestly by the cut of him I'd say it was the father showing off to the kid. This wasn't up the back of an estate either. Out on a main road.