Troy Deeney

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,641 ✭✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

A Richard Flear I believe he meant to say.

is that like the opposite of a phimosis?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,402 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Spectacular fail thread OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,387 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

xabi wrote: »
    It came across as his mum is still working three jobs

No it didn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭bobbyss

washman3 wrote:
    The issue for me here is how a footballer at Watford can earn 3.4 million a year. Watford..??? FFS. The world has definately gone bananas. Is this guy actually any good.? Why would any player feel pressure at Watford. Is there actually something expected of them? The mind boggles.

Well he smashed that penalty home at any rate. He really put all his weight behind it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,670 ✭✭✭Turbulent Bill

bobbyss wrote: »
    Well he smashed that penalty home at any rate. He really put all his weight behind it.

It was a heavy responsibility.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭bobbyss

It was a heavy responsibility.

And he didn't make light of it either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,289 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

He said “pressure for me IS watching my mum work three jobs for Xmas”

If Shane Lowry said that pressure IS holing a 10ft put to win the open would you assume he was doing it right now?
    Denney’s statement was grammatically correct, your understanding if grammar is not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,464 ✭✭✭✭extra gravy

I'm going to choose to believe that the OP's first language isn't English and give him the benefit of the doubt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,029 ✭✭✭xabi

If Shane Lowry said that pressure IS holing a 10ft put to win the open would you assume he was doing it right now?
    Denney’s statement was grammatically correct, your understanding if grammar is not.

It seems neither is yours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 159 ✭✭poeticjustice

washman3 wrote: »
    The issue for me here is how a footballer at Watford can earn 3.4 million a year. Watford..??? FFS. The world has definately gone bananas.
    Is this guy actually any good.?
    Why would any player feel pressure at Watford. Is there actually something expected of them? The mind boggles. :confused:

Why? Watford are a premier league club and he's been a very important player for them over the years, including captaining the side.

Hmm, Why would a player feel pressure at watford? Well if they dont perform, they get relegated. They lose out on roughly 50 million pounds for next season. They would also disappoint thousands of fans, not to mention the fact that their games are broadcast to millions of football fans around the world which can create a pressurised environment. Does the mind still boggle?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,584 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

Footballer says something sensible for once. SHOCKING!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 625 ✭✭✭dd973

Troy Deeney is a professional footballer playing for Watford, he earns 3.4 million per year. He gave an interview today where he was asked about pressure and said that watching his mum working three jobs to pay for Xmas was real pressure. I want to know why his mum is even working. What a tit.

I think he was referring to his youth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,272 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

Only one tit here and it isn't the millionaire footballer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,802 ✭✭✭Motivator

I’m a big fan of Deeney. He grew up in a seriously rough part of London and is good pals with Anthony Joshua from back when they were children. Both of them have often referred back to when they were kids and they had a choice to make - sport or gang culture.

Deeney especially has worked very, very hard to have to career he has had. He nearly threw away his career on a couple of occasions and fought his way back. He comes across as a nice fella and I believe he still does great work for his community where all of his friends and family still live. Professional football in England has created a world of assholes who are pure mercenaries but to be fair, Deeney looks down to earth and always comes across as a decent chap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,915 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

Hold up, I think their bringing it to VAR:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,443 ✭✭✭✭endacl

To you. And ... well ... nobody else.

It’d be a bit like somebody coming cross this thread and agreeing with you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,446 ✭✭✭ebbsy

Terrible thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,423 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

"Real pressure is watching my Mum, you know, work three jobs trying to make ends meet for Christmas". Really he should have clarified and said "but thankfully, she doesn't have to do that anymore.", purely for the benefit of the OP. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,747 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

"Real pressure is watching my Mum, you know, work three jobs trying to make ends meet for Christmas". Really he should have clarified and said "but thankfully, she doesn't have to do that anymore.", purely for the benefit of the OP. ;)

He'll probably open his next Sky Sports post game interview with an apology and a clarification.

He should be ashamed of himself, doing that to the OP a couple of days before Christmas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,352 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Sums up modern football that Troy Deeney can earn £3.4m per year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,464 ✭✭✭✭extra gravy

NIMAN wrote: »

Fair play to him I say. He mightn't be the most talented but he worked hard to get where he is and at least he gives 100% every game unlike some of the more highly paid players at the bigger clubs.

NIMAN wrote: »

Probably shouldn’t be allowed earn it after what he got locked up for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

She isn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,980 ✭✭✭buried

OP trying to get Troy Deeney cancelled for Christmas

Bullet The Blue Shirts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

Fair play to him, and I hope he treats his mum after she put such hard work bringing him up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

Fair play to him, and I hope he treats his mum after she put such hard work bringing him up.

It couldn't have been easy with his temperment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 761 ✭✭✭HappyAsLarE

Can’t believe his salary he is pure muck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,820 ✭✭✭smelly sock

Fair play to Deeney. No doubt if it was one of the Blackrock D4 leinster rugby lads saying how proud he was of Mom and Dad there be lads on here fawning about it. Deeney came from a genuine rough start in life to make it. He was in prison and turned his life around. It shows kids from a similiar background that anything is possible with hard work and nothing is a lost cause.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,513 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

Is he possibly the ugliest footballer since Luke Chadwick?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,865 ✭✭✭Peatys

Is he possibly the ugliest footballer since Luke Chadwick?

He's just not your cup of tea.