Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why did shane McGowan have no teeth ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,149 ✭✭✭Tammy!

sk8erboii wrote: »

I didn't say he was healthy. Anyway Stfu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 873 ✭✭✭Captain Red Beard

I saw a pic of the late late interview and he looked like a dead Jools Holland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,456 ✭✭✭The high horse brigade

He's just the Irish Ozzy, people know what he's put himself through and marvel at how he's still alive. I've read heroin is his vice not alcohol and it sure looks like it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,915 ✭✭✭cursai

Chomp bars. He was a hoor for the chomp bars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,698 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

greenspurs wrote: »
    Triggered,
    And your comment makes no sense ……………

Look, look what I found, a search that took 2 seconds...…

https://www.theguardian.com/tv-and-radio/2015/dec/20/shane-macgowan-a-wreck-reborn-new-teeth-tv-special

See, it works !

yes you go read the guardian "mate", well done.

There is a between the lines context that you wouldn't pick up. An irish one , we just had a celebration of him recently on The Late Late , I do admire the guy . But his whole story is sort of brushed under the carpet "that's Shane" .

I'd love to hear the true story from fellow band mates, tour managers . Just because you write well , it doesn't exclude you from just being a wanker.

Speaking of good writing.

maybe the the daily mail is for you. Get back on your search engine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,143 ✭✭✭✭greenspurs

Massive amounts of nostalgia and romantasicim around Shane McGowan at present.

But to ask a few obvious questions

1) Did anyone actually establish in all his interviews why he became an alcoholic?
    2) Having no teeth in the years after 1970 makes no sense , why had he no teeth ?
    3) Why did people enable his behaviour so much ?

basically in modern times would he be a #tag.

Worse, the women around him ?
    yes , I think all the soft edge from rte / late late and his media aware partner is all a bit fake.

Would love true story and why he is a mess.

We can't be always saying, he did this thing once , so we ignore all else.
    yes you go read the guardian "mate", well done.

There is a between the lines context that you wouldn't pick up. An irish one , we just had a celebration of him recently on The Late Late , I do admire the guy . But his whole story is sort of brushed under the carpet "that's Shane" .

I'd love to hear the true story from fellow band mates, tour managers . Just because you write well , it doesn't exclude you from just being a wanker.

Speaking of good writing.

maybe the the daily mail is for you. Get back on your search engine.

So whats your problem ?
    It started off about his teeth, now you think hes being admired for just being a heroin hound, that drinks guinness? And you feel offended about this ?

And now you think there should be some dirt to shovel about the man ?
    Whats your agenda?
    Jealousy ? A begrudgery ?

You sound like a Sun reporter....

Some of us appreciate his song writing ability and the elevation of Irish music through the Pogues records and tours.
    Personally, I feel that his own personal life and what he does in it, isn't my business, and I wouldn't start a thread about it just to get my entertainment, but each to their own...… :rolleyes:
    247469249_2017413731748359_7675802031635703098_n.jpg

"Bright lights and Thunder .................... " #NoPopcorn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,817 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Didn’t he break most of his front teeth as a child?

The caps, or whatever, broke off again during his teens and because he was part of the “punk” scene so he never bothered getting them fixed again.

I’m guessing there was an element of fear, as much as apathy, going on as well.

EmmetSpiceland: Oft imitated but never bettered.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,585 ✭✭✭Jerichoholic

Abusing speed all of his life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 927 ✭✭✭BuboBubo

cursai wrote: »
    Chomp bars. He was a hoor for the chomp bars.

Just spat coffee all over my phone :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,681 ✭✭✭AllForIt

Cheap lousy eating habits I'd say

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,077 ✭✭✭Oasis1974

As long as he has one to open the can of beer he's fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,966 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

Shane is half hen and was born without teeth.

Shane McGowan is a filthy talentless drunk who got lucky with one particular song that happened to catch on.

Having very few teeth is the least of his problems.

He's almost held up as some sort of religious figure whom we all must worship.

He wouldn't look amiss on a corner of O'Connell Street at 4am.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,143 ✭✭✭✭greenspurs

Shane McGowan is a filthy talentless drunk who got lucky with one particular song that happened to catch on.

Bit cold to be out fishing ?

Or are you clueless about his music ?? :confused: :rolleyes:
    247469249_2017413731748359_7675802031635703098_n.jpg

"Bright lights and Thunder .................... " #NoPopcorn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭patsyrockem

Pawwed Rig wrote: »
    He had teeth at the start of his career. They used to scare me when I was a child.

I have seen him live a number of times. The last time (in Naas) he was guided out and put in a chair to sing as he was clearly unable to stand or walk. He spent the whole show looking at his watch as he really did not want to be there and he went back out on the lash with the rest of the group (Popes) when the gig was over.

Great singer. Still one of the best concerts I ever went to was a new years eve at the Point about 14 years ago

Remember it well, it was brilliant. The Pogues had gone their own way and a had a new album out. Shane sang the first few songs and left the stage. The Pogues continued with their new stuff and the crowd gave up and started chanting Shaneo Shaneo. He had to come back on, much to his annoyance it looked. The rest of the gig was electric. Joined by the Dubliners and Shane's mammy for the finale. Up their with my most enjoyable gigs ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,432 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

They kinda eroded away over time

3c0c8c875d3be82b61a4a2bfd38c17d6.jpg?fit=799%2C1200&ssl=1&resize=350%2C200

He had normal enough teeth during his stint with the nips in late 70s

images?q=tbn%3AANd9GcQAjKZmkleOCuYo8wpyaOcbVBowaAC_w86P1UQA7Lrpqh9ic-UJ

GTFO! Talentless?
    Even if he never sang a note he wrote a rainy night in Soho and a pair of brown eyes, both masterpieces, as well as many others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,024 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Darksoul wrote: »
    Walking randomly down one of the busy streets many years ago and Shane walks past me and i couldn't believe it,he smiles and it was the most scariest image I seen in years.Still haunted by that image to this day.

Poor f**king diddums, did the scarey man make you p**s yourself

• Closed Accounts Posts: 834 ✭✭✭KWAG2019

Leaving the one super hit aside and if you look at SMcG you’re looking at the last stages of alcohol abuse. It’s sad to see but undeniable. The LLS tribute was cringeworthy. C’est la vie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,542 ✭✭✭Masala

He getting€150,000 royalties a year on that one song..... makes him a genius in my book!!! And pulling a looker like Victoria is priceless. But if you doing better than him.., well fair ****s to you

Masala wrote: »
    He getting€150,000 royalties a year on that one song..... makes him a genius in my book!!! And pulling a looker like Victoria is priceless. But if you doing better than him.., well fair ****s to you

I think it's safe to assume that she's probably with him for his money / lifestyle / the inheritence she'll receive afterward.

Masala wrote: »

€250,000

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,444 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

I think it's safe to assume that she's probably with him for his money / lifestyle / the inheritence she'll receive afterward.

He was broke when they got together.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

If he stopped the gear and the alcohol he wouldn't make it a week.

If you don't wash your teeth and spend your entire time awake in cloud cuckoo land that is what happens. He drinks pints and chases spirits all day in between whatever else he is throwing into his body. He is loaded , makes thousands a week from Royalties. If you are rich you can keep a decent habit going. He lives in Dublin 4 ffs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭paul71

GTFO! Talentless?
    Even if he never sang a note he wrote a rainy night in Soho and a pair of brown eyes, both masterpieces, as well as many others.

This ^^^^

McGowan is an hopeless alcoholic, but to call him talent-less is simply blind prejudice. He wrote an unending stream of songs which irrespective or possibly of the earthy element are amoung to most thought provoking songs or poems of the 20th century. Rainy night in Soho and A pair of Brown eyes are the equal of or exceed almost anything on leaving cert poetry list.

I could add lots more to the list but I will will stick with "The old main Drag"

When I first came to London I was only sixteen
    With a fiver in my pocket and my ole dancing bag
    I went down to the dilly to check out the scene
    And i soon ended up on the old main drag
    There the he-males and the she-males paraded in style
    And the old man with the money would flash you a smile
    In the dark of an alley you'd work for a fiver
    For a swift one off the wrist down on the old main drag
    In the cold winter nights the old town it was chill
    But there were boys in the cafes who'd give you cheap pills
    If you didn't have the money you'd cajole or you'd beg
    There was always lots of tuinol on the old main drag
    One evening as I was lying down by leicester square
    I was picked up by the coppers and kicked in the balls
    Between the metal doors at vine street I was beaten and mauled
    And they ruined my good looks for the old main drag
    In the tube station the old ones who were on the way out
    Would dribble and vomit and grovel and shout
    And the coppers would come along and push them about
    And I wished I could escape from the old main drag
    And now I'm lying here I've had too much booze
    I've been shat on and spat on and raped and abused
    I know that I am dying and I wish I could beg
    For some money to take me from the old main drag

Thank you Shane for being a poet true to your time and place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,862 ✭✭✭Mysterypunter

I'm not sure, but he might have drank them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭italodisco

To be fair it's well known he drank like a fish, smoked tones of hash and also smoked heroin so why would it be unusual for him to have had fecked teeth.

Sure another example is johny lydon from sex pistols sure he had a rotten set of Delph too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,400 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

AllForIt wrote: »
    Cheap lousy eating habits I'd say

I see what you did there. Kudos! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,939 ✭✭✭goat2

That fella could party non stop for weeks back in the day.:rolleyes: No one could keep up with his antics for more than a couple of days, then he'd find fresh company to carry on. :eek:

Rumour was he had a phobia about dentists, not bumped into him for about 10 years but supposed to be finally calming down but has some health problems. I heard he was in a wheelchair a while back, doubt if that will stop him! :P

Always a laugh when meeting him, he's a popular lad & always remembers people. An always interesting fella who is actually very smart & knowledgeable.
    He was exactly the same before The Pogues started up.

One can see that he has great intelligence, but his lifestyle has been hard on his body, he now seems to be dependant on others for even the smallest things to get about, I guess the acid from all that beer has wrecked his teeth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 958 ✭✭✭Neames

Darksoul wrote: »
    Walking randomly down one of the busy streets many years ago and Shane walks past me and i couldn't believe it,he smiles and it was the most scariest image I seen in years.Still haunted by that image to this day.

Haunted by the ghost?