Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why did shane McGowan have no teeth ?

• 21-12-2019 3:11am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,185 ✭✭✭✭

Massive amounts of nostalgia and romantasicim around Shane McGowan at present.

But to ask a few obvious questions

1) Did anyone actually establish in all his interviews why he became an alcoholic?
    2) Having no teeth in the years after 1970 makes no sense , why had he no teeth ?
    3) Why did people enable his behaviour so much ?

basically in modern times would he be a #tag.

Worse, the women around him ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,661 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

1) why does anyone become an alcoholic??
    2) pretty sure the booze and drugs played a part
    3) A punk star in 70s and 80s london, innit? No pussyfooting about there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,185 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

retalivity wrote: »
    1) why does anyone become an alcoholic??
    2) pretty sure the booze and drugs played a part
    3) A punk star in 70s and 80s london, innit? No pussyfooting about there

yes , I think all the soft edge from rte / late late and his media aware partner is all a bit fake.

Would love true story and why he is a mess.

We can't be always saying, he did this thing once , so we ignore all else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 TheDebitor

1) Did anyone actually establish in all his interviews why he became an alcoholic?
    2) Having no teeth in the years after 1970 makes no sense , why had he no teeth ?

I think these are all very valid questions actually.

There are tonnes of people out there who have abused drugs and alcohol hugely, and never lost their teeth (depends which drugs I know, but still! And was MacGowan ever massively into drugs? His reliance on drink is obvious of course but drugs I'm not sure about. I don't know a huge amount about him personally actually. And yet like most people I've always largely given him a free pass, "Ah it's MacGowan, that's his vibe, his can't-stand-up-has-no-teeth vibe" or whatever, without ever questioning why he has been in such a paralytic state for the past 30-40 years in a row now. Which is what I think the OP is getting at. So, more power to your elbow. I think we should be told.

I mean, even Brian Wilson got out of bed eventually (took him three years but he made it). What's fascinating about MacGowan, apart from his sheer invincibility I suppose, is that other hellraisers either die or sort their s**t out and get on an epic health kick. But he just keeps on going down the same dark road, like the Duracell bunny of deranged hedonism.

Then there was the time they wheeled him onto the stage of the Olympia, and he projectile-vomited at the people gathered in front of the stage. Talk about making an entrance!

So I'm with the OP on this - what's the beef? (or rather what's the barf?)

• Site Banned Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭sk8erboii

Shane MacGowan makes me physically ill whenever I see him. I dont even know how he's still alive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,453 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

Poor dental hygiene.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 294 ✭✭Darksoul

Walking randomly down one of the busy streets many years ago and Shane walks past me and i couldn't believe it,he smiles and it was the most scariest image I seen in years.Still haunted by that image to this day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,211 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

Darksoul wrote: »
    Walking randomly down one of the busy streets many years ago and Shane walks past me and i couldn't believe it,he smiles and it was the most scariest image I seen in years.Still haunted by that image to this day.
    He got them replaced .

They look all pearly and white.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,034 Mod ✭✭✭✭Planet X

He must not have brushed them.
    Could be that he wasn't handy with the floss either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,439 ✭✭✭tupenny

Haunted by the ghost

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,086 ✭✭✭purplepanda

That fella could party non stop for weeks back in the day.:rolleyes: No one could keep up with his antics for more than a couple of days, then he'd find fresh company to carry on. :eek:

Rumour was he had a phobia about dentists, not bumped into him for about 10 years but supposed to be finally calming down but has some health problems. I heard he was in a wheelchair a while back, doubt if that will stop him! :P

Always a laugh when meeting him, he's a popular lad & always remembers people. An always interesting fella who is actually very smart & knowledgeable.
    He was exactly the same before The Pogues started up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,597 ✭✭✭tdf7187

Why put up a thread like this? Such shallowness, the hallmark of a decaying society. Perhaps McGowan refuses to brush his teeth as a protest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,396 ✭✭✭Hamsterchops

I was near him once at the check-in desk at Heathrow and he was totally plastered, hardly able to stand poor fella, amazed after all the booze & drugs he's consumed that he has lasted so long :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,149 ✭✭✭Tammy!

He was Ireland's punk!!

Actually it's really strange but even now as he's aged, any time I see him in photos I think he has the most purest porcelain skin.

Tbf, if it wasn't for his teeth and that he's out of it most of the time he's pictured, I'd say he looks fairly well for his age.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭worded

It’s like his brand

Perhaps he has an aversion to porcelain, both sinks and dentures

God bless the musical genius that he is

worded wrote: »
    It’s like his brand

Perhaps he has an aversion to porcelain, both sinks and dentures s

I mean, you can see he would have aged very well, had he not chose the lifestyle he chose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,611 ✭✭✭✭blade1

What he lacked in teeth,he made up for in gumption.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,430 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

He had teeth at the start of his career. They used to scare me when I was a child.

I have seen him live a number of times. The last time (in Naas) he was guided out and put in a chair to sing as he was clearly unable to stand or walk. He spent the whole show looking at his watch as he really did not want to be there and he went back out on the lash with the rest of the group (Popes) when the gig was over.

Great singer. Still one of the best concerts I ever went to was a new years eve at the Point about 14 years ago

Pawwed Rig wrote: »
    He had teeth at the start of his career. They used to scare me when I was a child.

I have seen him live a number of times. The last time (in Naas) he was guided out and put in a chair to sing as he was clearly unable to stand or walk. He spent the whole show looking at his watch as he really did not want to be there and he went back out on the lash with the rest of the group (Popes) when the gig was over.

Great singer. Still one of the best concerts I ever went to was a new years eve at the Point about 14 years ago

My oh said practically the same thing when he saw Brian Wilson at EP one year. He said it didn't feel right being there.

Tammy! wrote: »
    Actually it's really strange but even now as he's aged, any time I see him in photos I think he has the most purest porcelain skin.

Tbf, if it wasn't for his teeth and that he's out of it most of the time he's pictured, I'd say he looks fairly well for his age.

You are deluded. Shane MacGowan looks like a literal goblin. People propping him up on stage pretending like be doesnt look like an undead creature and pretending like he can still sing every christmas has been the freakshow carnival for years now.

I mean jesus, why the f*ck have him up there every single year. They cant find any talented Irish artists who arent alcoholic junkies?

sk8erboii wrote: »
    You are deluded. Shane MacGowan looks like a literal goblin. People propping him up on stage pretending like be doesnt look like an undead creature and pretending like he can still sing every christmas has been the freakshow carnival for years now.

I mean jesus, why the f*ck have him up there every single year. They cant find any talented Irish artists who arent alcoholic junkies?

I haven't seen him on stage myself. Not sure where you're getting 'deluded' from. I just said that his skin looks really smooth in photos that I've seen online and I think he'd have aged well if he hadn't have been sick. Him pictured, filmed or viewed drunk or disorderly is not going to reflect in photos where he's been pictured alright.

Like imo, gazza looks a lot older than Shane and they've lived a similar lifestyle. Anyway it's not a competition. Just thought from photos (not footage) I've seen, that he, other than his teeth, looked okay considering his lifestyle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,396 ✭✭✭Hamsterchops

Shane always reminded me of Mark E Smith of Mancunian punk band 'The Fall', he too was also mostly pickled with slurred speech & devoid of teeth!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,861 ✭✭✭✭greenspurs

Why do people start stupid threads ?

Ever heard of google ? Do a search, and some research!

"Bright lights and Thunder .................... " #NoPopcorn

Tammy! wrote: »
    I haven't seen him on stage myself. Not sure where you're getting 'deluded' from. I just said that his skin looks really smooth in photos that I've seen online and I think he'd have aged well if he hadn't have been sick. Him pictured, filmed or viewed drunk or disorderly is not going to reflect in photos where he's been pictured alright.

Like imo, gazza looks a lot older than Shane and they've lived a similar lifestyle. Anyway it's not a competition. Just thought from photos (not footage) I've seen, that he, other than his teeth, looked okay considering his lifestyle.

https://youtu.be/k0GPgnDFek8

Mate Shane MacGowan is as far from healthy as you can possibly get. Listen to him sing with a permanent wetbrain. Thats from drinking alcohol since 3 years old. He cant even stand up. I honestly don’t understand why people pretend to like his performance. He just sits there and mumbles (because he has legitimate brain damage from drug and alcohol abuse).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,958 ✭✭✭✭Shefwedfan

Well that’s not true because years ago he got them replaced

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,958 ✭✭✭✭Shefwedfan

greenspurs wrote: »

So people can make up random sh*t

why do people put stupid posts like this up on a forum?

ever hear of Twitter? Do a search, and stay there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,904 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

The teeth were an easy enough problem to fix, I'd say his liver might be a whole different story.

There are people 20 years older than him who are in a lot better shape.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,534 ✭✭✭Hangdogroad

Shane always reminded me of Mark E Smith of Mancunian punk band 'The Fall', he too was also mostly pickled with slurred speech & devoid of teeth!

Mark E Smith with Shane and Nick Cave ((late 80's I think). MES looked normal enough up about the last ten or fifteen years of his life but by the end he was in a dreadful state.

dbb581d5dec71a0db838b4e1a677fcae.jpg

why do people put stupid posts like this up on a forum?

ever hear of Twitter? Do a search, and stay there.

Triggered,
    And your comment makes no sense ……………

Look, look what I found, a search that took 2 seconds...…

https://www.theguardian.com/tv-and-radio/2015/dec/20/shane-macgowan-a-wreck-reborn-new-teeth-tv-special

See, it works !

sk8erboii wrote: »

I didn't say he was healthy. Anyway Stfu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭Captain Red Beard

I saw a pic of the late late interview and he looked like a dead Jools Holland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,456 ✭✭✭The high horse brigade

He's just the Irish Ozzy, people know what he's put himself through and marvel at how he's still alive. I've read heroin is his vice not alcohol and it sure looks like it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,915 ✭✭✭cursai

Chomp bars. He was a hoor for the chomp bars.

Triggered,
    And your comment makes no sense ……………

Look, look what I found, a search that took 2 seconds...…

https://www.theguardian.com/tv-and-radio/2015/dec/20/shane-macgowan-a-wreck-reborn-new-teeth-tv-special

See, it works !

yes you go read the guardian "mate", well done.

There is a between the lines context that you wouldn't pick up. An irish one , we just had a celebration of him recently on The Late Late , I do admire the guy . But his whole story is sort of brushed under the carpet "that's Shane" .

I'd love to hear the true story from fellow band mates, tour managers . Just because you write well , it doesn't exclude you from just being a wanker.

Speaking of good writing.

maybe the the daily mail is for you. Get back on your search engine.

yes , I think all the soft edge from rte / late late and his media aware partner is all a bit fake.

Would love true story and why he is a mess.

We can't be always saying, he did this thing once , so we ignore all else.
    yes you go read the guardian "mate", well done.

There is a between the lines context that you wouldn't pick up. An irish one , we just had a celebration of him recently on The Late Late , I do admire the guy . But his whole story is sort of brushed under the carpet "that's Shane" .

I'd love to hear the true story from fellow band mates, tour managers . Just because you write well , it doesn't exclude you from just being a wanker.

Speaking of good writing.

maybe the the daily mail is for you. Get back on your search engine.

So whats your problem ?
    It started off about his teeth, now you think hes being admired for just being a heroin hound, that drinks guinness? And you feel offended about this ?

And now you think there should be some dirt to shovel about the man ?
    Whats your agenda?
    Jealousy ? A begrudgery ?

You sound like a Sun reporter....

Some of us appreciate his song writing ability and the elevation of Irish music through the Pogues records and tours.
    Personally, I feel that his own personal life and what he does in it, isn't my business, and I wouldn't start a thread about it just to get my entertainment, but each to their own...… :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,430 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Didn’t he break most of his front teeth as a child?

The caps, or whatever, broke off again during his teens and because he was part of the “punk” scene so he never bothered getting them fixed again.

I’m guessing there was an element of fear, as much as apathy, going on as well.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,585 ✭✭✭Jerichoholic

Abusing speed all of his life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 927 ✭✭✭BuboBubo

cursai wrote: »
    Chomp bars. He was a hoor for the chomp bars.

Just spat coffee all over my phone :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,551 ✭✭✭AllForIt

Cheap lousy eating habits I'd say

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,077 ✭✭✭Oasis1974

As long as he has one to open the can of beer he's fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,943 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

Shane is half hen and was born without teeth.

Shane McGowan is a filthy talentless drunk who got lucky with one particular song that happened to catch on.

Having very few teeth is the least of his problems.

He's almost held up as some sort of religious figure whom we all must worship.

He wouldn't look amiss on a corner of O'Connell Street at 4am.

Shane McGowan is a filthy talentless drunk who got lucky with one particular song that happened to catch on.

Bit cold to be out fishing ?

Or are you clueless about his music ?? :confused: :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 242 ✭✭patsyrockem

Pawwed Rig wrote: »

Remember it well, it was brilliant. The Pogues had gone their own way and a had a new album out. Shane sang the first few songs and left the stage. The Pogues continued with their new stuff and the crowd gave up and started chanting Shaneo Shaneo. He had to come back on, much to his annoyance it looked. The rest of the gig was electric. Joined by the Dubliners and Shane's mammy for the finale. Up their with my most enjoyable gigs ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,376 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

They kinda eroded away over time

3c0c8c875d3be82b61a4a2bfd38c17d6.jpg?fit=799%2C1200&ssl=1&resize=350%2C200

He had normal enough teeth during his stint with the nips in late 70s

images?q=tbn%3AANd9GcQAjKZmkleOCuYo8wpyaOcbVBowaAC_w86P1UQA7Lrpqh9ic-UJ

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,456 ✭✭✭The high horse brigade

GTFO! Talentless?
    Even if he never sang a note he wrote a rainy night in Soho and a pair of brown eyes, both masterpieces, as well as many others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,433 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Poor f**king diddums, did the scarey man make you p**s yourself

• Closed Accounts Posts: 834 ✭✭✭KWAG2019

Leaving the one super hit aside and if you look at SMcG you’re looking at the last stages of alcohol abuse. It’s sad to see but undeniable. The LLS tribute was cringeworthy. C’est la vie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,527 ✭✭✭Masala

He getting€150,000 royalties a year on that one song..... makes him a genius in my book!!! And pulling a looker like Victoria is priceless. But if you doing better than him.., well fair ****s to you