Heavy Drinking Sessions ....

124»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

B0jangles wrote: »
    I used to think the whole 'hangovers are much worse as you get older thing' was bollocks but jesus, they really weren't lying.

When I was young, a hangover was mostly physical - churning stomach, sick headache, ashtray mouth and hot pickled onion eyeballs - unpleasant yeah, but nothing you couldn't cure with a breakfast roll and a nap, but as I got older, it developed into several days of psychological horror and existential dread.
    For me it's just not worth it anymore except very occasionally.

I was grand when in my teens/early 20s. Mid twenties to early 30s was a ****ing nightmare. Last 5/6 years I don’t really get hangovers. Once I get up and have a shower I'm grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,972 ✭✭✭Flaccus

He doesn’t drink during the week.

So 28 pints a weekend has no impact the rest of the week!! Find it seriously difficult to believe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Raconteuse

Like many people in this country (because of the endless damp) I get recurring sinus problems, so my hangover headache is sinus pain. Good Jesus. I woke up the morning of my cousin's wedding with it recently (was in the southern U.S and the local beers were damn nice but damn strong). I could barely lift my head. It's nearly like a migraine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,597 ✭✭✭tdf7187

Yeah the Twelve Pubs of Christmas used to be called the Baggot Street mile. Only did it once, though I would have drank in plenty of the pubs on it on 'normal' nights out, was practically a regular in The Waterloo circa 2004 and Searsons circa 2001/2002.

I remember talk of a pint in each pub on the Camden Street/Wexford Street/Georges Street stretch though I don't know anyone who actually did it. If anything there were probably more than twelve pubs on that stretch, not sure if that's still the case with pub closures.

Flaccus wrote: »
    So 28 pints a weekend has no impact on you the rest of the week!!

Call what you want.

Arghus wrote: »
    There was a thread on here a while back about the most you've ever drank on a night out and people were posting ridiculously precise, obviously totally made up complete bollocks answers. "I had 7 shots and then 13 beers and 6 wines". If you're properly or even halfway pissed then remembering the exact total is impossible.
    Oh these threads always become a bunch of middle aged lads trying to outdo each other - the way you'd hear 18-year-olds doing so in the student bar. It's a definite wind-up from some, but genuine from others.

I love a few drinks but I'll pass on drinking myself into a blackout. And being fine after 20+ pints is alcoholism territory.

I did get stupidly drunk at a barbecue during the summer all right - first time doing so since St Patrick's day 2017 (the day after which I was sharing a toilet for vomiting with my sister in law who had a very different cause for same - morning sickness; guess who got sympathy and guess who got none) and each time, the illness the next day was just so horrendous it's crazy to put oneself through it.

Also I got the lowdown on the various ways in which I was a loud eejit with no filter at the barbecue. The kind of person I detest basically. Mortified!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭CrankyHaus

Agreed. As someone who drinks a fair amount I'm pretty suspicious of anyone my age who'd boast about how much they can put away. Also unless you're very lucky or spending the rest of your week training as a professional athlete there's no way you'd be doing numbers like that for long past 30 before you'd have a nedzer on you like one of those lads in the background of a bare knuckled boxing call out video.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 571 ✭✭✭stratowide

I nearly - nearly - welcome the wretched physical hangover over the existential dread hangover.

If I'm so physically destroyed the next day, I usually don't have the capacity to torture myself mentally, all I can do is to endure the physical symptoms until they pass. And when they pass I usually feel so fundamentally thankful for that, that the horrors are by-passed.

A few of my old drinking buddies used to suffer terribly from this..They'd often start crying when the rats would start crawling up their backs.
    The rats were a common theme with them.

When I'd ask them about the rats when they were sober all they'd say was that I was lucky I didn't go to 'the dark side'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,415 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Raconteuse wrote: »
    Oh these threads always become a bunch of middle aged lads trying to outdo each other - the way you'd hear 18-year-olds doing so in the student bar. It's a definite wind-up from some, but genuine from others.

I love a few drinks but I'll pass on drinking myself into a blackout. And being fine after 20+ pints is alcoholism territory.

I've known people who can drink prodigious amounts of alcohol and a few of them would have been able to put away 25-30 pints most weekends.

But they are outliers, most people can not drink that much. One guy I know who can still do it in his early thirties is six foot eight and has always had an ability to drink that's scarcely believable. But he's the only one I know who can still keep up that pace, now that our twenties are in the rear view mirror.

I think if you're pushing thirty and you're still pounding down the guts of thirty beers every weekend - and it isn't a big fat exaggerated lie - then you've basically got an alcohol problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭pavb2

What's existential dread?

Try use a neti pot for the sinus problems
    I do and it's brilliant but it doesn't prevent hangover pain! Although it certainly provides a little relief. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,051 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

2 solpodine before you go to bed. Works a treat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,820 ✭✭✭smelly sock

I've known people who can drink prodigious amounts of alcohol and a few of them would have been able to put away 25-30 pints most weekends.

But they are outliers, most people can not drink that much. One guy I know who can still do it in his early thirties is six foot eight and has always had an ability to drink that's scarcely believable. But he's the only one I know who can still keep up that pace, now that our twenties are in the rear view mirror.

I think if you're pushing thirty and you're still pounding down the guts of thirty beers every weekend - and it isn't a big fat exaggerated lie - then you've basically got an alcohol problem.

And a liver problem fast approaching

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,415 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

pavb2 wrote: »

Be thankful you have to ask the question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,477 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

'The Fear'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭B0jangles

It's like you know you are walking on thin ice over a bottomless black pit, and
    the ice is already creaking. A constant but vague feeling that something dreadful is about to happen, and yeah, it will probably be your own fault.

But you've got to get up and go to work anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,991 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

A hangover of the soul.

“It matters not what someone is born, but what they grow to be” - A. Dumbledore

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,597 ✭✭✭tdf7187

The summarised version of that clip featuring Reed is basically: "I'm afraid I was ver, ver drunk".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭Scoundrel

I go on heavy sessions most weekends. On a Friday I might have 8-10 pints. On a Saturday I could go to 14-18 i'd say depending on when I start. I'd normally head out earlier in the spring/summer. Then 6-10 on a Sunday, again depending on the time of year, lower end of the scale in the winter higher end in the summer.

Then it also depends of who you meet when out also. There's some lads you might meet, head to their gaf for cans, have 8, then hit the pub around 5 and keep her lit until closing. I'd generally drink IPA in the local.

You have some great nights out on the sesh when you are able to hold it.

Oh God be with days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,237 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

I was grand when in my teens/early 20s. Mid twenties to early 30s was a ****ing nightmare. Last 5/6 years I don’t really get hangovers. Once I get up and have a shower I'm grand.
    I don't get hangovers unless I overdo it, which is rare but this is the Silly Season... :pac:
    Flaccus wrote: »
    So 28 pints a weekend has no impact the rest of the week!! Find it seriously difficult to believe.
    Some heavyweights have that kind of form. In my own case, 28 pints during the week has no effect on the weekend. :D

Scoundrel wrote: »
    Oh God be with days

On my way into town for pints now. Be taking it a bit easier tonight though because it’s work drinks rather than to my local and I’ve to make it home from town.

So much for this. 1 Guinness in Bruxelles and 2 in Flannerys so far and I haven’t even met the workmates yet. I was on the bus into town when I sent the above.