Heavy Drinking Sessions ....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,413 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Looks like it's Judgemental Bastard o clock here again.

Can't really do whole days on the beer myself anymore. I can survive on the day, but the pain and horror of the day afterwards isn't worth it any more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,237 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Trying to be a hero at a Christmas party is a very stupid idea if you aren't putting in regular training throughout the year...

"He'll kill ya, Rock!!" :pac::pac::pac:

hqdefault.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭Scoundrel

Arghus wrote: »
    Looks like it's Judgemental Bastard o clock here again.

Can't really do whole days on the beer myself anymore. I can survive on the day, but the pain and horror of the day afterwards isn't worth it any more.

Keep a few parachute cans in the fridge at all times and you'll be sound

The one problem I have, as a semi-pro pint-lofter, with the Christmas season is woolly-hat-wearing **** in Christmas jumpers who spend the year oiling their beards with Bombay Sapphire and sipping ultra-hoppy croft beers Yah suddenly appearing totes knobjockeyed having their fuckin' "bants"... :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

Surely pintman paddy should have turned up by now ,

Dude is doing a stretch in Boards State Penitentiary for acts of e-thuggery.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

Who invented the 12 pubs concept?

It hasn't been around long I reckon.

I did.

Searsons, The Waterloo, The Wellington, Smyths, Mcgrattans ( I think it was called, now gone ), Larry Murphys ( different name then I think as well, very ironic that both pubs went bust when the Bof I HQ moved), The Baggott Inn, Toners( Labour party members are always served here), Doheny's, O'Donoghues, The one on the corner, add lib to fade.

Sometimes there were detours down Haddington row towards the Dort or up Leeson Street Hartigans, Houricans type of thing.

The real dicks ended up in the Bankers club on the green. But you really need to be a special type of whatshisname to go boozing there.

There was one on the northside on Parnell street back in the day, for the Bus drivers on Mountjoy square. The hill, Welcome Inn etc all the way down to Capel Street etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

Well firstly if you know the number of drinks you had, you're not doing it properly.

Secondly "this is how many pints I had this time, and, and another time, that time, I had EVEN MORE PINTS" is a real cringe look on anyone over 23. Ooh and you went to 12 different pubs, wow. A drink in every pub. That's more drinks than usual, fascinating.

Well firstly if you know the number of drinks you had, you're not doing it properly.

Secondly "this is how many pints I had this time, and, and another time, that time, I had EVEN MORE PINTS" is a real cringe look on anyone over 23. Ooh and you went to 12 different pubs, wow. A drink in every pub. That's more drinks than usual, fascinating.

Totes Bantaloons already, Electro? :pac::pac::pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

jimgoose wrote: »
    Totes Bantaloons already, Electro? :pac::pac::pac:

No I'm hungover as a ****ing...whatever's the ****ing most hungover thing :mad:

Boards is out to get me now too apparently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,991 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

The “12 pubs” was great when it was just a casual affair, meeting in the early evening and finishing up in town after dark.

Then some clowns started adding “rules”, light up Christmas jumpers, and starting at 9pm.

Haven’t done a “crawl” like that in a long while and, to be honest, I’d rather do it at a different time of the year.

“It matters not what someone is born, but what they grow to be” - A. Dumbledore

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

Anyone who says they actually finish the 12 are liars.

You either do 5, 8 or 14. It gets like the Krypton Factor after 10 pints.

...Then some clowns started adding “rules”, light up Christmas jumpers, and starting at 9pm...

Gowls who know nothing about drinking, many of whom end up in ambulances the same night. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

There was a thread on here a while back about the most you've ever drank on a night out and people were posting ridiculously precise, obviously totally made up complete bollocks answers. "I had 7 shots and then 13 beers and 6 wines". If you're properly or even halfway pissed then remembering the exact total is impossible.

I go on heavy sessions most weekends. On a Friday I might have 8-10 pints. On a Saturday I could go to 14-18 i'd say depending on when I start. I'd normally head out earlier in the spring/summer. Then 6-10 on a Sunday, again depending on the time of year, lower end of the scale in the winter higher end in the summer.

Then it also depends of who you meet when out also. There's some lads you might meet, head to their gaf for cans, have 8, then hit the pub around 5 and keep her lit until closing. I'd generally drink IPA in the local.

You have some great nights out on the sesh when you are able to hold it.

Just thought I might add at this point that Christmas has now started. The silly season is here and I am now going out on the Hoop.

Peace and goodwill to all.

Happy times:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,972 ✭✭✭Flaccus

I go on heavy sessions most weekends. On a Friday I might have 8-10 pints. On a Saturday I could go to 14-18 i'd say depending on when I start. I'd normally head out earlier in the spring/summer. Then 6-10 on a Sunday, again depending on the time of year, lower end of the scale in the winter higher end in the summer.

Then it also depends of who you meet when out also. There's some lads you might meet, head to their gaf for cans, have 8, then hit the pub around 5 and keep her lit until closing. I'd generally drink IPA in the local.

You have some great nights out on the sesh when you are able to hold it.

So in the lower end you are drinking 28 pints every weekend!! How can you function during the week ?

Flaccus wrote: »
    So in the lower end you are drinking 28 pints every weekend!! How can you function during the week ?

He doesn’t drink during the week.

It is doable. I used to be a professional drinker. 5 nights a week, generally. All in pubs.

I worked out I was spending roughly 15 to 20 k per year on alcohol, fags, taxi's etc.

I ended up wasting the rest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,364 ✭✭✭FishOnABike

There's some... interesting pictures of me doing the 12 pubs in 2002. Was well known then.

I can remember the 12 pubs of Christmas back as far as the early nineties, just about ;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 571 ✭✭✭stratowide

Back in the mid 00's I had some great times on the old gargle..Would easily drink €120 to €150 a night on the lash.

Don't drink at all now for one reason only..The hangovers are pure hell and I feel like a resurrected corpse for 3 days afterwards.

There was a thread on here a while back about the most you've ever drank on a night out and people were posting ridiculously precise, obviously totally made up complete bollocks answers. "I had 7 shots and then 13 beers and 6 wines". If you're properly or even halfway pissed then remembering the exact total is impossible.

I drank cans and they came in packs of 12 so it was easy to see how many I had. :P

Pints are generally drank in rounds so its pretty easy to remember to be honest especially now with paying by card. In general though I can always remember how much I've drank, even if my memory is close to non-existent in general at the end of the night I'll still nearly always remember the drinks and even if I don't I know the price of drinks so if I sped x amount at 2am on the card I can be sure that was a round of jager bombs or whatever and I'd have had one and likely all in the round would have bought one back so you can add that in to the total for the night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭B0jangles

I used to think the whole 'hangovers are much worse as you get older thing' was bollocks but jesus, they really weren't lying.

When I was young, a hangover was mostly physical - churning stomach, sick headache, ashtray mouth and hot pickled onion eyeballs - unpleasant yeah, but nothing you couldn't cure with a breakfast roll and a nap, but as I got older, it developed into several days of psychological horror and existential dread.
    For me it's just not worth it anymore except very occasionally.

Pints are generally drank in rounds so its pretty easy to remember to be honest especially now with paying by card. In general though I can always remember how much I've drank, even if my memory is close to non-existent in general at the end of the night I'll still nearly always remember the drinks and even if I don't I know the price of drinks so if I sped x amount at 2am on the card I can be sure that was a round of jager bombs or whatever and I'd have had one and likely all in the round would have bought one back so you can add that in to the total for the night.

You'll remember the drinks that you remember.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Raconteuse

B0jangles wrote: »
    I used to think the whole 'hangovers are much worse as you get older thing' was bollocks but jesus, they really weren't lying.
    Same here. Rarely even experienced the physical effects, and even then, they'd be gone quickly. Now it's the physical effects but much worse. I used to get nausea but not headaches - now I get both. And the tiredness. Good god, no energy at all. Thankfully I don't get the anxiety thing though, which a lot of people do, and it sounds awful.

The fear is an awful yoke the first few times but once you know you’re going to get it you can plough on through.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

A lot of folks are going for a few lines of Satan’s dandruff in the jacks to keep them going through a heavy session. Very common these days.

I nearly - nearly - welcome the wretched physical hangover over the existential dread hangover.

If I'm so physically destroyed the next day, I usually don't have the capacity to torture myself mentally, all I can do is to endure the physical symptoms until they pass. And when they pass I usually feel so fundamentally thankful for that, that the horrors are by-passed.

Fairly well. Probably a bit overtired on Monday, but after that I’m grand.