Buying $hit for yourself with your own money - the more esoteric cr@p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,032 ✭✭✭Feisar

It's a bit weird to kiss a vibrator anyway, to be perfectly honest.

Please allow me a bit of poetic licence! Also any vid I ever seen ladies are always licking them before use.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,032 ✭✭✭Feisar

I've a ridiculous knife collection. I try not to think of the cost.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

I bought an array of guitar nut files for over €100 a few years back. I'm a casual strummer, not a repair guy.
    The nut is the strip of bone at the top of the guitar that the strings sit in. The slots are filed to different sizes (with limited tolerance) to accommodate the varying string thicknesses.
    I have fixed some small issues with them but have yet to make a nut from scratch. Some day. Even then, it'll probably be a once off. I knew the file set wasn't an every day tool but it was silly money to drop.:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,924 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

I collect animation cels from the film Akira.

Little A4 pieces of acetate with paint on them that come with an accompanying drawing.

I've a massive collection now which I've had everyone from animators in Pixar, animation lecturers and bands contact me about for scans or to buy some from me.

They're literally stored away in folders never to see the light of day as UV destroys the trace lines on them. Never really look at them for fear of causing damage. Yet I cat help myself whenever I see one for sale on eBay!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,024 ✭✭✭Carry

I only say middle aisles at Aldi and Lidl ... :rolleyes:

And stuff from my travels, like a miniature old-fashioned coffee grinder (that I never use), an olive bowl with extra compartment for the stones (that I never use), a honey pot in the shape of a beehive (that I never use), a small Moroccan backpack (that I never use), oh, and earrings, loads of earrings in all shapes and sizes and styles. Those at least I use.

Though nothing is really esoteric.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,387 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

I spent a hell of a lot on videogames in the 2000s. Had a huge and fairly valuable collection with some really big rarities but got feed up of lugging them around with me every time I moved and never really played much of them, so ended up selling it off.

Master of the Universe

I spent a hell of a lot on videogames in the 2000s. Had a huge and fairly valuable collection with some really big rarities but got feed up of lugging them around with me every time I moved and never really played much of them, so ended up selling it off.

Yeah it's a pain in the tits. Just be glad you didn't go down the arcade machine rabbit hole :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,029 ✭✭✭SusieBlue

I spent about €1,800 per annum on dancing dresses for the last 3 years of my dancing career. The previous 4/5 years before that I went halves with my parents. Previous to that, my parents would have paid for them outright.
    My mother still laments the beautiful apartment in Lanzarote she could have used that money for instead of 15 years worth of dancing dresses :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,999 ✭✭✭s7ryf3925pivug

o1s1n wrote: »
    I collect animation cels from the film Akira.

Little A4 pieces of acetate with paint on them that come with an accompanying drawing.

I've a massive collection now which I've had everyone from animators in Pixar, animation lecturers and bands contact me about for scans or to buy some from me.

They're literally stored away in folders never to see the light of day as UV destroys the trace lines on them. Never really look at them for fear of causing damage. Yet I cat help myself whenever I see one for sale on eBay!
    https://www.ebay.com/itm/Akira-Japanese-Anime-Production-Cel-KANEDA-Animation-Art-Katsuhiro-Otomo-1988-/362072616107

Master of the Universe

Do you wander around O Connell street with syringes offering them to junkies too? :pac:

forgot to mention I bought those smartphone camera enhancement lenses for 12 euro too. What utter poo.

Like this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

Jurassic Park stuff.

I think I'm stating to develop a problem...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭BeerWolf

I recently bought a Samsung 1TB SSD 960 EVO for €100 off Amazon. It's collecting dust currently till I get a SATA cable for it which I haven't done yet... :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

Surely the point of working is to have disposable income to buy things that make you happy?

One man's junk is another man's treasure as they say. I really want a tour of Wibb's house now, I picture him as an eccentric academic.

I imagine Wibbs in a nice old country house.
    Old style library part of his study, has a fantastic collection of books and antiques, roams the grounds in the summer swivelling a glass of brandy while shooting grouse.

has a pocket watch.
    Speaks with his eyes closed a lot and his hands behind his back ...

BeerWolf wrote: »
    I recently bought a Samsung 1TB SSD 960 EVO for €100 off Amazon. It's collecting dust currently till I get a SATA cable for it which I haven't done yet... :pac:

wow thats a good deal!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭BeerWolf

wow thats a good deal!

Was during the Black Friday sales.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,999 ✭✭✭s7ryf3925pivug

o1s1n wrote: »
    Do you wander around O Connell street with syringes offering them to junkies too? :pac:
    It's still available.

You should make an offer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,070 ✭✭✭BigAl81

Microwavable slippers ;)

Save boards.ie by subscribing: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

I buy books, and music studio stuff..that's it pretty much..

(I do have quite the esoteric library though..)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 279 ✭✭shaneon77

It's a bit weird to kiss a vibrator anyway, to be perfectly honest.

A friend of mine watches many movies where the actress kisses said implement following solo coitus and sometimes mid solo coitus.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

roams the grounds in the summer swivelling a glass of brandy while shooting grouse peasants.
    FYP. :pac:
    has a pocket watch.

Funny enough... :o

Longinesoldies.jpg

Only the one though and got it for feck all. 1920's Serbian railway watch. Has a cool steam train engraving on the back). Can't wear it without looking like a thundering eejit, or a hipster, so an ornament(mad accurate though). I wear the other two and they're actually older(1916/1912).
    Old watches were one of my madnesses, well before they became "authentic vintage collectables" and the prices went daft. Out of my price of a night out comfort zone anyway.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

^^ Very nice Wibbs, I must mosey on over to the watches forum sometime...

Master of the Universe

^^ Very nice Wibbs, I must mosey on over to the watches forum sometime...

Don't do it! Any time I go over there I end up on Chrono24 within 10 minutes with my mouse hovering over a Speedmaster.

One of these days I'm going to wake up with a severe hangover and even more severe buyer's remorse :pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,312 ✭✭✭nthclare

Bought fishing hooks on the cheap, baited up and cast out into salt water.
    The following week they were basically rustdust....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭Keyzer

I almost paid €250 for a picture frame many moons ago, until my wife beat the sh1t out of me made me see sense...

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Keyzer wrote: »
    I almost paid €250 for a picture frame many moons ago, until my wife beat the sh1t out of me made me see sense...
    On a fishing trip with a few mates years back I went into a touristy antique place with one of them. I saw this small frame and suggested he buy it to put a nice pic he had of him and his missus. So he asks the price. Yer man gives us a big sniffy spiel about it being high quality and Georgian(it wasn't) and says 300 euro. My mate replied "300 quid? Does it come with a fcuking Picasso in it?" :D

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

Wibbs wrote: »
    On a fishing trip with a few mates years back I went into a touristy antique place with one of them. I saw this small frame and suggested he buy it to put a nice pic he had of him and his missus. So he asks the price. Yer man gives us a big sniffy spiel about it being high quality and Georgian(it wasn't) and says 300 euro. My mate replied "300 quid? Does it come with a fcuking Picasso in it?" :D

Hah...

My frame was intended to house a 4.99 Led Zeppelin poster...

Keyzer wrote: »
    Hah...

My frame was intended to house a 4.99 Led Zeppelin poster...

On a stairway?

Get your coat...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,546 ✭✭✭facehugger99

I bought a hand-carved didgeridoo in Australia and had it shipped home.

'da fcuk was I thinking?