Runner that slapped reporters ass, is facing criminal charges

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,177 ✭✭✭Ironicname

I appreciate a poster who's Interested in new info, man or woman. You seem to think that's worthy of mockery which is telling.

Why? The law is the law. Your opinion means nothing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 964 ✭✭✭Reviews and Books Galore

I appreciate a poster who's Interested in new info, man or woman. You seem to think that's worthy of mockery which is telling.

...Are you seriously saying that I think women aren't worth apreciation?

RWCNT wrote:
    If this bloke slapped a woman in the face would people on here be suggesting he doesn't deserve legal ramifications and that calling it assault, as its legally defined, is an insult to women who've been punched, kicked or hit with sledgehammers?

Not at all, but I understand what you are saying.

Candie wrote:
    A few have stated that he's not a criminal, he clearly is. Nobody can go around belting people for fun, anywhere on their body. If it's not harmless to slap someone across the face on the street, then it's not harmless to slap them on their rear on the street.

There are a few posters on here whose opinions I find abhorrent and they are on both sides.

I can only speak for my own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,169 ✭✭✭Homelander

Candie wrote: »
    A few have stated that he's not a criminal, he clearly is. Nobody can go around belting people for fun, anywhere on their body. If it's not harmless to slap someone across the face on the street, then it's not harmless to slap them on their rear on the street.

It's not and never was that black and white. Again, people are ignoring the difference between an ill-judged moment and a malice-intended moment.

Guy jogs past a woman and slaps her ass. Wrong? Yes, entirely, he shouldn't have done it, it was idiotic, though equally I recognise that there was no inherent malice behind it, just a play for a camera.

Did he deserve the subsequent viral infamy? Sure, yes I think he did. But this movement painting him as Ted Bundy Junior?

As previously stated, this happens regularly with both sexes when a camera is present - no end of material of this nature of YouTube. Nothing to do with gender, power, roles, or inequality - just jackasses playing to a camera.

Now - guy/woman walks up to a woman/man in a night club and gropes her/his ass. Wrong? Far more grossly so, because there's a calculated malice behind it and a most certain sexual element.

Yet on this thread, people are equating both scenarios as having the same value.

You've said he's clearly a criminal, as defined by the techicality of law. I don't like that black and white interpretation, at all.

For example, if we chose to embrace those techicalities - a while back, I was leaning over a counter, blocking my colleagues access. She patted me on the backside in a "hey, move if you don't mind" sort of gesuture.

By the logic of techicality, it would be entirely just if I informed the Gardai and had her prosecuted for sexual assault. But that would be utterly absurd.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 784 ✭✭✭LaFuton

ass 5 yeah!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 77 ✭✭Screw Attack

Homelander wrote: »
    It's not and never was that black and white. Again, people are ignoring the difference between an ill-judged moment and a malice-intended moment.

Guy jogs past a woman and slaps her ass. Wrong? Yes, entirely, he shouldn't have done it, it was idiotic, though equally I recognise that there was no inherent malice behind it, just a play for a camera.

You've said he's clearly a criminal, as defined by the techicality of law. I don't like that black and white interpretation, at all.

Tough luck, s hit for brains. It's why we don't let people like you decide on laws. This creep deserves to be charged and nonces like you can attend his little cheerleader section at court. Cry on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,169 ✭✭✭Homelander

Tough luck, s hit for brains. It's why we don't let people like you decide on laws. This creep deserves to be charged and nonces like you can attend his little cheerleader section at court. Cry on.

Grand.

People like you and I can't decide laws, therefore the application of same should be beyond question. The law is the law.

Fair enough. That's a viewpoint.

Since you're that black/white and fixated on law, therefore, someone who knowingly gropes someones ass in a wanton sexual context, versus someone who pats an ass in a "please move" context, are entirely equal?

If we follow the letter of the law, in the strictest technical sense, both are identical and should therefore be punished identically.

With zero regard that two scenarios could arise - one, in which someone pats anothers ass in a non-sexual "move please" gesture, verus someone who approaches another, with sexuality in mind, and gropes their behind.

You didn't address my example. Where a colleague patted me on the rear and asked me to move. Now, I didn't and don't mind contextually because, frankly, to any logical mind, it was a non event.

However, if we go down the rabbit hole of the law being the indisputable law with zero regard for context, that was sexual assault.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,087 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

...Are you seriously saying that I think women aren't worth apreciation?
    Ironicname wrote: »
    Why? The law is the law. Your opinion means nothing.

Complete non sequiturs. Do better 😜

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,111 ✭✭✭Christy42

Grand.

People like you and I can't decide laws, therefore the application of same should be beyond question. The law is the law.

Fair enough. That's a viewpoint.

Since you're that black/white and fixated on law, therefore, someone who knowingly gropes someones ass in a wanton sexual context, versus someone who pats an ass in a "please move" context, are entirely equal?

If we follow the letter of the law, in the strictest technical sense, both are identical and should therefore be punished identically.

With zero regard that two scenarios could arise - one, in which someone pats anothers ass in a non-sexual "move please" gesture, verus someone who approaches another, with sexuality in mind, and gropes their behind.

You didn't address my example. Where a colleague patted me on the rear and asked me to move. Now, I didn't and don't mind contextually because, frankly, to any logical mind, it was a non event.

However, if we go down the rabbit hole of the law being the indisputable law with zero regard for context, that was sexual assault.

Did someone really tap you on the ass and ask you to move? I have never seen that and would be surprised if it happened to say the least.

I would never do that and would be pretty surprised if someone did to me. I would go for shoulder or just ask them to move. I am not sure about hr but I can certainly see myself or a colleague calling the person out and telling them how to behave in polite society (not in a shouty way but explain that they aren't to go round tapping my butt and may find better ways of getting my attention). And if HR was involved I am pretty sure I know what side they would fall on. (Exceptions to the above if the colleague was a friend and people knew the other was ok with it, also common sense if the person was merely inaccurate and bumped into them or was trying to tap somewhere else).

Anyway the runner was not doing it for a practical reason. He went for the region because it was a sexualized region. If we get people thinking twice about slapping randomers on the rear end then it will be a good outcome. I thought that had gone out with the 50s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,138 ✭✭✭realitykeeper

Good. Don't slap strangers asses

What if her ass was asking to be slapped? Only joking.

Did he deserve the subsequent viral infamy? Sure, yes I think he did. But this movement painting him as Ted Bundy Junior?

The bit in bold is a perfect example of the exaggeration. Nobody has painted him out to be a big time sexual predator. But he did slap someone on the arse which carries a charge called sexual battery in the state where he did it. Being his first offence it would be treated as a misdemeanor and he'll most likely get a slap on the wrist.

If he also gets some automatic punishments for conviction of a sexual crime, like disqualification from working with vulnerable people, then that's unfortunate and harsh. But that's how it is and it's a good rule to protect the vulnerable in general.

People who didn't take slapping strangers arses seriously in the past, will probably take it a bit more seriously after hearing about this incident and be less likely to do it in future, so that's something good to come from it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,718 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

I just read that the guy who slapped her ass...is a youth Minister and a boy scout troop leader...so he is totally f#cked!
    Maybe this incident will make some other people think before randomly slapping a total stranger!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,365 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

The bit in bold is a perfect example of the exaggeration. Nobody has painted him out to be a big time sexual predator. But he did slap someone on the arse which carries a charge called sexual battery in the state where he did it. Being his first offence it would be treated as a misdemeanor and he'll most likely get a slap on the wrist.

If he also gets some automatic punishments for conviction of a sexual crime, like disqualification from working with vulnerable people, then that's unfortunate and harsh. But that's how it is and it's a good rule to protect the vulnerable in general.

People who didn't take slapping strangers arses seriously in the past, will probably take it a bit more seriously after hearing about this incident and be less likely to do it in future, so that's something good to come from it.

the sex offender registry stuff would only happen if he did it again. WHich he would be beyond stupid to do as being on their equivalent of the sex offenders registry in some states is very draconian indeed.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 181 ✭✭Sarahdunners

What I really don't understand is why women are so disrespected in Ireland.

I hear many men talking about women in such terrible, terrible ways.

Women gave birth to you.

Women give birth to all life.

Women should be respected.

And men should be respected.

Women gave birth to you.

Everyone should be respected. Just say that. Much easier. Better lesson to teach your children too.

Women gave birth to you.

Here is your problem.

You feel you are being disrespected because you are a woman. It's not because of that. You are being disrespected because people don't respect you.

Respect has to be earned and reciprocated.

Can you not see that?

Judging solely on your previous posts on this thread, it is clear that you have an issue with men based on past experiences.

That is understandable, but what you don't seem to realise is that not everyone has had your experiences and not everyone is so perpetually offended by lewd remarks about sex.

If you can't see outside the lens of your own experiences, you will always see the worst in people (men especially)

And unfortunately, the more you speak like you do, the more disrespect you will be shown and to be quite honest, I can't blame people for not respecting you when you generalise and show distain for groups of people based on the actions of a select few.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭Dakota Dan

elperello wrote: »
    You can't be doing that.

Her life is changed forever it will never again be the same.

Dakota Dan wrote: »
    Her life is changed forever it will never again be the same.

I don't think she said that. People can feel things and then their feelings change - they get over it. If I said I was angry about something or happy about something, it doesn't mean i'll be angry or happy forever.

I think saying he 'took her power' was a rhetorical flourish but it doesn't take from the fact that there's a psychological side to being the victim of crime. People who are mugged often need counselling. It doesn't mean their lives are over and they'll never be the same again. But it's not new for people to feel violated when they're the victim of bad treatment. The only new things about this case are the fact that it was recorded and her reaction is on social media.

I'm sure she'll be grand. The reaction to her response is way over blown.

that poster did the same thing in a recent thread about a stalker.

I wonder in a few months will you be calling this man a rapist in the same way your calling that guy a stalker? :rolleyes:

I honestly think there should be laws against exagerating 'sex' crimes tbh as you end up with the above posters absurdity.

gmisk wrote: »
    I just read that the guy who slapped her ass...is a youth Minister and a boy scout troop leader...so he is totally f#cked!
    Maybe this incident will make some other people think before randomly slapping a total stranger!

I find it interesting how expandable he is to the people here. It's like, destroy his life, the life of someone who actually might be doing good as a youth minister, and as a father, to teach men a lesson.

Sure, you can say he brought it on himself, but the reporter is taking a level of sadism here that is hard to tolerate. As I've said before, the level of punishment here is if a man grabbed a 'sexual assaulting' woman and beat her up for a few hours and made her unable to work for a few years. What person would say that sadism is appropriate?

Edit: I also find it very suspicious that it was downgraded to assault and her lawyer told her not to post on twitter. I kind of believe he was going to slap her back tbh. Well, believes a strong word, but it is plausible enough to just accept the apology rather than ruin a man's life tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,762 ✭✭✭✭dubstarr

I find it interesting how expandable he is to the people here. It's like, destroy his life, the life of someone who actually might be doing good as a youth minister, and as a father, to teach men a lesson.

Nobody destroyed his life.Whats happening now,is of his own making.

Here is your problem.

You feel you are being disrespected because you are a woman. It's not because of that. You are being disrespected because people don't respect you.

Respect has to be earned and reciprocated.

Can you not see that?

Judging solely on your previous posts on this thread, it is clear that you have an issue with men based on past experiences.

That is understandable, but what you don't seem to realise is that not everyone has had your experiences and not everyone is so perpetually offended by lewd remarks about sex.

If you can't see outside the lens of your own experiences, you will always see the worst in people (men especially)

And unfortunately, the more you speak like you do, the more disrespect you will be shown and to be quite honest, I can't blame people for not respecting you when you generalise and show distain for groups of people based on the actions of a select few.

No.

I am not talking just for myself. As I said previously, I have met many, many women in Ireland who have been sexually assaulted.

It is a big problem. Don't bury your head in the sand over this.

Sure, you can say he brought it on himself, but the reporter is taking a level of sadism here that is hard to tolerate. As I've said before, the level of punishment here is if a man grabbed a 'sexual assaulting' woman and beat her up for a few hours and made her unable to work for a few years. What person would say that sadism is appropriate?

Edit: I also find it very suspicious that it was downgraded to assault and her lawyer told her not to post on twitter. I kind of believe he was going to slap her back tbh. Well, believes a strong word, but it is plausible enough to just accept the apology rather than ruin a man's life tbh.

Of course you'd be inclined to believe he only wanted to slap her lower back. Sure everyone knows about the 'lower back slapping' banter. Christ if you find it believable...

Also the poster said people will learn from it. You're imposing the part about men. I would stick with 'people' because I think plenty of women don't take slapping/grabbing men as being serious. That's partly because it hasn't been highlighted as a crime against men and, men are more likely to mock a man who would report it - as demonstrated in this thread.

I was thinking today, I have heard alot of men talk about women in a sexually violent way.

Including here on After hours, I have often seen men talking about women in sexually violent and degrading ways. And I was thinking, why?

I saw this in a research article today , it said:

"Psychoanalysts opine that deep down, men are convinced of a woman’s inferiority, and are traumatised when she seems to hold power over them through her sexuality. The act of sex brings out the worst in men because men fear the sexual power a woman holds over them. A man’s desire and need for a woman, brings with it his dependence on her, and he fears she may reduce the male sense of power and control, which he wields in almost every sphere of life — politics, society, home, office. And so, he sees her as the enemy who must be beaten down, subjugated in order to establish his own sway."

So it is because some men want women so badly, that they then feel vulnerable. They don't like feeling vulnerable - and then they talk about women in aggressive, violent terms.

What do you think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,762 ✭✭✭✭dubstarr

No.

I am not talking just for myself. As I said previously, I have met many, many women in Ireland who have been sexually assaulted.

Nobody is burying their head in the and.But you cant tar all men with the same brush.

No.

Again, you have chosen to misrepresent what has been said.

I never said you feel like you are speaking for yourself, in fact, my point was that you are attempting to speak for all women, and all women do not feel the same as you.

And it is dangerous, and frankly stupid, to think you have some sort of affinity to, and be the spokesperson for all people who happen to possess the same genitalia as you.

I am sure you have met people who share your experiences. I'm positive you have met more that don't.

I have never said that sexual assault is not an issue so I don't know why you assumed I am burying my head in the sand.

But you seem to think that all women deserve respect for the sole reason that they are a woman.

That will not and can not ever happen.

Respect has to be earned, regardless of gender.

dubstarr wrote: »

Nobody destroyed his life.Whats happening now,is of his own making.

Again, if a man beats up a woman for touching his bottom, would you say it is of her own making?

Again, you have chosen to misrepresent what has been said.

I never said you feel like you are speaking for yourself, in fact, my point was that you are attempting to speak for all women, and all women do not feel the same as you.

And it is dangerous, and frankly stupid, to think you have some sort of affinity to, and be the spokesperson for all people who happen to possess the same genitalia as you.

I am sure you have met people who share your experiences. I'm positive you have met more that don't.

I have never said that sexual assault is not an issue so I don't know why you assumed I am burying my head in the sand.

But you seem to think that all women deserve respect for the sole reason that they are a woman.

That will not and can not ever happen.

Respect has to be earned, regardless of gender.

As I sidenote I've seen the word 'handmaiden' thrown around lately. It means a woman who supports the patriarchy, and I just it funny tbh.

I was thinking today, I have heard alot of men talk about women in a sexually violent way.

Including here on After hours, I have often seen men talking about women in sexually violent and degrading ways. And I was thinking, why?

I saw this in a research article today , it said:

"Psychoanalysts opine that deep down, men are convinced of a woman’s inferiority, and are traumatised when she seems to hold power over them through her sexuality. The act of sex brings out the worst in men because men fear the sexual power a woman holds over them. A man’s desire and need for a woman, brings with it his dependence on her, and he fears she may reduce the male sense of power and control, which he wields in almost every sphere of life — politics, society, home, office. And so, he sees her as the enemy who must be beaten down, subjugated in order to establish his own sway."

So it is because some men want women so badly, that they then feel vulnerable. They don't like feeling vulnerable - and then they talk about women in aggressive, violent terms.

What do you think?

Where is that research article from?

Actually a quick google search showed me

https://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/blogs/O-zone/why-men-hate-women/

Now forgive me for not taking this without a massive pinch of salt but an article entitled "Why men hate women" is not something I would even consider to be a balanced or fair article.

If you surround yourself with, and propagate disgustingly unbalanced articles like that, it's no wonder you can not and should not be taken seriously as was said to you previously