Runner that slapped reporters ass, is facing criminal charges

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,836 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

threeball wrote: »
    I was thinking the same. There's alot of warning signs that we may be heading to a bleak future with superpowers struggling for supremacy and the effects climate change will bring. These people will curl up in a ball and die at the first sign of adversity

Hopefully.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,110 ✭✭✭✭threeball

I'm sure there will be alot of ex-feminists if things go that bad ;)

I'm sure the conscription lines will be fairly lopsided alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,397 ✭✭✭Higgins5473

The first porn that I was ever shown. I was 18 in college and one of the guys on the course showed me a porn clip on the computer. He said " look at this" so I didn't know what it was until I looked at it. It was a naked woman inserting a large metal kitchen instrument into her vagina. She was in pain. He laughed at me.

Was it one of those really expensive Kitchen Aid mixers that the aul wan uses on the British Bake Off? Was it plugged in?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 181 ✭✭Sarahdunners

It amazes me that in the space of about four generations, we've gone from people being able to survive concentration camps to a woman bleating about how someone took away her power by slapping her ass.

It really makes you wonder how they'd cope if anything genuinely bad happened to them.

Most people did not survive the concentration camps, if you remember.

scamalert wrote: »
    any man that hasnt slapped an ass in their life aint a man :pac:

cant imagine this ****e still going on, id be serving dozen lifetimes if it was a crime, once gave a good slap to total stranger, well though she was someone i knew, good laugh - all it was as a result.

And to think its only been 10 years back that society today is totally $hit with all the crap some come up, makes you wonder what sort of bat $hit crazy people sit behind the screen nowadays, to discuss f all event over and over, but imagine fems have tons of time for that $hite same like anti waxers and other lunatics.

Thankfully, bums in future will be safe from your groping hands.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

It's back...

Was it one of those really expensive Kitchen Aid mixers that the aul wan uses on the British Bake Off? Was it plugged in?

Hmm I don't remember. All I remember is the pain on her face, and that the student laughed at shocking us wih it.

That porn exists out there, that shows huge violence and degradation to women, that this porn is available to anyone at any age, is another massive problem in society. But that is for another thread

IAMAMORON wrote: »
    It's back...

Did you come up with your username, as a way to describe yourself aptly?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 761 ✭✭✭HappyAsLarE

#freeTommy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,575 ✭✭✭Rows Grower

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

Donald Trump, March 13th 2018.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,088 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

threeball wrote: »
    Maybe in your snowflake world but I've brushed off much worse without any mental scars as have the vast majority off men on here. Its really only a problem if you choose to make it one or if it persists once you've let it be known that you're not playing along.

Sure. So if a bloke is genuinely a victim crime at the hands of a woman, he's a snowflake who should brush it off. And that's one of the main reasons male domestic violence victims massively under report the crimes against them.

Women acted with enough volume to reach critical mass to change public perception of things like domestic violence against women by men and grabbing, groping and street harassment by men (there's even a term 'Street harassment' to describe it). And now that kind of behaviour against women is taken very seriously.

But men haven't done the same to highlight the same behaviours against men. Consequently those same crimes against me aren't considered as serious. And you demonstrate the exact attitude that discourages men from reporting these crimes against them.

And the irony is that some of the same posters who read your post and didn't comment will be some of the ones to whinge, piss and moan about how men's issues aren't taken as seriously as women's issues. There have been posters in this thread who've complained that men being grabbed by women isn't taken as seriously as women grabbed by men. And they'll blame feminism or whatever, but not the actual men who would slag off and make it more difficult for a bloke to report a crime against them. Very sad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,111 ✭✭✭Christy42

Some people are going nuts over this.

Surely not slapping random people on the rear end is how people should be raised? Act the twit and suffer the consequences.

And I don't really care what the fenders are either. Women shouldn't go around slapping random rear ends either.

As for the ridiculous nonsense about concentration camps. Well I hope you don't report any non lethal crimes yourself. Sure so what if everything you had was stolen. Only a fraction of what was happening to those survivors. Ridiculous argument. Plenty of people would still survive such horrors. Doesn't mean they should have to be felt up now and then whenever a passer by feels like it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

Is it wrong to slap a woman’s backside without her consent? Yes of course.

But sexual battery? Worthy of ruining a man’s life and having him see jail time? No absolutely not.

Sure he’s a bit of a sleaze but he’s not some dangerous sexual predator who needs locking up.

This kind of thing makes a mockery of genuine cases of rape and sexual assault in my opinion.

But sexual battery? Worthy of ruining a man’s life and having him see jail time? No absolutely not.

Sure he’s a bit of a sleaze but he’s not some dangerous sexual predator who needs locking up.

This kind of thing makes a mockery of genuine cases of rape and sexual assault in my opinion.

I'm not sure if actual information would be appreciated or not. Another poster looked up the laws in Georgia. The first charge for something like that would be treated as a misdemeanour. So prison is really unlikely for this offence. I'm really not sure if you wanted actual info or not but it's worth pointing out all the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

I'm not sure if actual information would be appreciated or not. Another poster looked up the laws in Georgia. The first charge for something like that would be treated as a misdemeanour. So prison is really unlikely for this offence. I'm really not sure if you wanted actual info or not but it's worth pointing out all the same.

Of course I appreciate information on the topic I’m discussing. What makes you think I don’t?

Glad to hear prison is unlikely, he doesn’t deserve that. He’s not a criminal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,497 ✭✭✭nkl12xtw5goz70

So if a bloke is genuinely a victim crime at the hands of a woman, he's a snowflake who should brush it off.

Who said that?

It must be difficult to keep a straight face when representing this woman as a genuine victim of a bona fide crime. She's transparently using this incident as a springboard for her career -- this level of worldwide publicity is the best thing ever to happen to an obscure regional reporter -- but it's hard to imagine that this won't be laughed out of court, especially in the state of Georgia. I've lived there, and Generation Snowflake doesn't enjoy much sympathy, especially outside of Atlanta.

Of course, that doesn't mean that genuine victims of genuine crimes don't deserve our sympathy and support. They most certainly do. Indeed, they'd get more support if idiots like this woman weren't wasting police time pursuing trumped-up charges designed mostly to keep herself in the public eye and promote her career.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,312 ✭✭✭nthclare

I think its too late now both him and her are in the limelight, neither of them will come out any better from it.

Her life is ruined now and he ruined both her life and his own.

There was a guy on holidays in Mosey around our own age who we used to call the feeler, he'd grab lads by the nuts or dig them in the nuts or squeeze your nipple.

We just thought it was harmless fun, Id say he's happily married now and quite successful.

Im thinking of getting all the lads together, and 5 pitch forks, few burning sticks wrapped up in cloth and dipped in petrol and lightning the sticks like torches you'd see in old movies.

We're going to be marching down to his house pitch forks and torches and we're going to demand he be arrested, his wife leave him and never see his kids again.
    Hopefully we'll all get one fifth of the booty, such as his life saving, he'll sell off his estate and give us the money and we'll make a big deal out of it.

Oh dear I forget his name...and the other guys who were on holidays that week in mosney in the 80's

That's how much of an effect the guy we called feeler had on me that's for sure, it was just some dude who used to dig us in the nuts and pinch our nipples.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 784 ✭✭✭LaFuton

some women like their ass being slapped.
    just sayin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,365 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

there is no possibility of jail time. the offence is a misdemeanor in Georgia

How can people say this isn't a crime? If anyone goes up to anyone else in the street and hits them on any part of their body, it's a crime. It doesn't stop being a crime if it's on the backside instead of across the face.

If I walked up to an old lady and slapped her on the arm, I'd have committed an assault. If I walk to up a young man and slap him on the backside, it's also assault.

Some weird mind fog going on in this thread.

Of course I appreciate information on the topic I’m discussing. What makes you think I don’t?

Glad to hear prison is unlikely, he doesn’t deserve that. He’s not a criminal.

Fair one. Apologies. Plenty of posters are only interested in the most exaggerated version of the potential punishment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,177 ✭✭✭Ironicname

Candie wrote:
    How can people say this isn't a crime? If anyone goes up to anyone else in the street and hits them on any part of their body, it's a crime. It doesn't stop being a crime if it's on the backside instead of across the face.

Most people are refuting that it isn't a sexual crime. I'm more than happy to agree it is a low level crime, just not a low level sexual crime

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,177 ✭✭✭Ironicname

Hmm I don't remember. All I remember is the pain on her face, and that the student laughed at shocking us wih it.

#prayforsarah

• Closed Accounts Posts: 964 ✭✭✭Reviews and Books Galore

Fair one. Apologies. Plenty of posters are only interested in the most exaggerated version of the potential punishment.

You're so chjastised around female posters :P

Who said that?

It must be difficult to keep a straight face when representing this woman as a genuine victim of a bona fide crime. She's transparently using this incident as a springboard for her career -- this level of worldwide publicity is the best thing ever to happen to an obscure regional reporter -- but it's hard to imagine that this won't be laughed out of court, especially in the state of Georgia. I've lived there, and Generation Snowflake doesn't enjoy much sympathy, especially outside of Atlanta.

Of course, that doesn't mean that genuine victims of genuine crimes don't deserve our sympathy and support. They most certainly do. Indeed, they'd get more support if idiots like this woman weren't wasting police time pursuing trumped-up charges designed mostly to keep herself in the public eye and promote her career.

LOL. Are you suggesting there are untrustworthy, self interested azzholes in the legal profession? Ya don't say? But seriously, that's not news to anyone.

Buy ultimately, the woman didn't commit or invite any crimes against her. You're looking for someone to blame except the actual guy who slapped yer wan's arse. That's interesting in and of itself. Most people distrust lawyers and assume they're self interested.

But yes the urge to diminish a man who reports a crime committed against him by a woman, is real and was demonstrated by the poster I responded to (assuming were in agreement that slapping strangers arses is a potential crime).

You're so chjastised around female posters :P

I appreciate a poster who's Interested in new info, man or woman. You seem to think that's worthy of mockery which is telling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,430 ✭✭✭RWCNT

Ironicname wrote: »
    Most people are refuting that it isn't a sexual crime. I'm more than happy to agree it is a low level crime, just not a low level sexual crime

It is though, that's the law. Even beyond that, I dont know how you could possibly logically argue that it shouldn't be. Are you aware that quite a lot of people find arses sexy and want to touch them?

If this bloke slapped a woman in the face would people on here be suggesting he doesn't deserve legal ramifications and that calling it assault, as its legally defined, is an insult to women who've been punched, kicked or hit with sledgehammers?

Buy ultimately, the woman didn't commit or invite any crimes against her. You're looking for someone to blame except the actual guy who slapped yer wan's arse.

that poster did the same thing in a recent thread about a stalker.

RWCNT wrote: »
    It is though, that's the law. Even beyond that, I dont know how you could possibly logically argue that it shouldn't be. Are you aware that quite a lot of people find arses sexy and want to touch them?

If this bloke slapped a woman in the face would people on here be suggesting he doesn't deserve legal ramifications and that calling it assault, as its legally defined, is an insult to women who've been punched, kicked or hit with sledgehammers?

i can guarantee you that some posters would and i could probably name them in advance.

Ironicname wrote: »

A few have stated that he's not a criminal, he clearly is. Nobody can go around belting people for fun, anywhere on their body. If it's not harmless to slap someone across the face on the street, then it's not harmless to slap them on their rear on the street.

The reporter isn't the author of this guys misfortune, he's the one who hit her and he brought it on himself. The admittedly disproportionate aspect of the reaction is because he was daft enough to do it on camera, and again, he's the dope who didn't think twice about hitting a stranger in front of a camera. He hit her in what kids are told are their 'bathing suit' area where no one is supposed to touch someone without good reason (and consent), not a playful punch on the arm or shoulder, again, his own poor judgement.

The good thing about the furore is that anyone who thinks it's not a problem to hit a woman (or man) because it's on the rear instead of the face or anywhere else will probably think twice about the wisdom of that, if they've seen or read anything about this dimwit (who works with kids!) and his very poor decisions.

He shouldn't be hung drawn or quartered, but perhaps cautioned. The attention he's getting is all his own fault though, and if he'd just kept his hands to himself he'd be sitting at home with his cocoa, possibly typing about the good old days where women (or men) just had to take getting a slap from a randomer in their stride because there were no consequences for anyone who made the choice to put their hands on someone, just because they wanted to.