Runner that slapped reporters ass, is facing criminal charges

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Raconteuse

Its not just men.

I worked on the doors of bars and clubs in Templebar for over 20 years and have had my arse and balls groped by women literally hundreds of times.

It never offended me tbh, but having your balls groped is damned sore but apparently to the girls doing it its bloody hilarious.
    Scummy bitches. People react differently to it. Some don't care, some do. Either way, people should just not do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,164 ✭✭✭✭threeball

Raconteuse wrote: »
    Scummy bitches. People react differently to it. Some don't care, some do. Either way, people should just not do it.

Shouldn't do it but is it worthy of a criminal charge?

spurious wrote: »
    Yes of course it's not just men, but this thread is about a particular incident.
    If it stops one moron, male or female, pawing someone else, it's all good by me.

Getting a bit sick of the constant whataboutery here.

So if this guy gets 12 months for a slap on the arse how long in jail do the women who grabbed his balls deserve. A far more invasive interaction by any standard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Yes of course it's not just men, but this thread is about a particular incident.
    If it stops one moron, male or female, pawing someone else, it's all good by me.

Getting a bit sick of the constant whataboutery here.

I hope you know me well enough to know I wasn't nit-picking with you.

A lot of people don't realize how common it is with women too, and only speaking from my own experience more women than men are gropers when they're out clubbing.

I've even had my arse slapped when I've been out running, now in winter and my arse is freezing getting slapped through running leggings stings like a bitch.

But yes, the one incident in the original post. The guy was an idiot and I'm sure he'll never do it again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Raconteuse wrote: »

Ah I wouldn't call them 'scummy bitches', most were just hen's parties out having the craic.

That doesn't make it ok, but men and women are conditioned to see a slap on the arse differently.

Now hen's flashing their boobs at buncers, that's another story :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭Hiitsme

threeball wrote: »
    The fact you think that facing those consequences is reasonable just shows what a twisted sense of logic you have. Permanently offended I'd bet.
    I guarantee you have transgressed to the same extent at least once in your lifetime, the only difference being you weren't caught. I'm sure you think that nothing you've done was worth 5k or a year in jail though. Absolute b.s. of the highest standard.

Err, no, I do not think the punishment is reasonable. I said I think the penalty is harsh. If you had read my post correctly you would have noted that.

And no, for the record, I have never touched, slapped or groped any man inappropriately.

I have been the victim of a sexual assault, so I know how it feels. I remember the shock and the violation.

Finally, I don't know why you have to be so aggressive in your response to me. Like Mr. Slap Arse, it is unwarranted and unnecessary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,103 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

You forgot to mention the days of women doing what they want to men in your post.

Yeah I'd agree with that. There ought to be more discussion by men about the fact that it's not OK for women to grab men. That's what women did and now most men know it's not OK to slap or grab. There's probably a bit of work to make people see it the sane from the other side. The great news is that the groundwork has been done by the women. If men feel strongly about being grabbed it's up to them to say so.

A few here are playing Billy Big Bollocks and saying they will slap women if they want to. But I see that as bravado nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,167 ✭✭✭✭blade1

Hiitsme wrote: »

Finally, I don't know why you have to be so aggressive in your response to me. Like Mr. Slap Arse, it is unwarranted and unnecessary.

Take him to court!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,946 ✭✭✭MayoAreMagic

A few here are playing Billy Big Bollocks and saying they will slap women if they want to. But I see that as bravado nonsense.

Who are the few that said that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 964 ✭✭✭Reviews and Books Galore

Not necessarily. Bars have loads of cameras, as do streets. I would argue there would be far more sexual intent in those scenarios than some lad running a marathon on tele.
    The real difference is those cameras arent tv cameras...
    Is it not a possibility that her ego took a hit with it being caught on tv in what was supposed to be her time to shine, and that this is a reaction to that more than any sexual abuse angle? She first claimed sexual battery, now she has dropped the sexual part and is saying assault. Why would she do that if she felt she had been some sexual motivation. And if she didnt why claim it in the first place? I have no gripe in the world with genuine sexual battery claims, but this case stinks.

That's interesting, and I can think of a few reasons why:

1) The lady was lying. He slapped her back and she said bottom.

2) An assault conviction is easier to prove as you do not have to prove sexual motivation.

3) The penalty is higher for a man with a wife and two daughters to support.

I think it's number 1 tbh, and the case has turned laughable at this stage. I mean, slapping someone's back/bottom is assault? Most of the nfl would be in prison at this stage.

I do not want to see that man's life destroyed. I'm sure the reporter doesn't either. However, the penalty for sexual battery in the State of Georgia is as follows:

Sexual battery is a misdemeanor of a high and aggravated nature, punishable by up to 12 months in jail and a fine of up to $5,000. A second or subsequent conviction for sexual battery or a conviction for sexual battery against a child under the age of 16 is punishable by one to five years’ imprisonment.

It seems harsh to me but he committed the crime ....

Have you seen her twitter? I have never seen someone on such a power trip in my life.

Edit: God, I love how everybody is saying it's a slap and going along with the assault label. I have never such easily led people in my life.

Perhaps some men, like Mr. Arse grabber need it drilled home to them in the form of a criminal charge.

Keep your effin' paws to yourself. In the street, office, park. Playfully or meaning no harm....keep your effin' paws to yourself.

Interesting choice of the word paws.

I'll say it againt, men aren't dogs, and there is no evidence it was even sexual if he did tap her bottom.

blade1 wrote: »
    Take him to court!

I'd get 5yrs for my tone.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 181 ✭✭Sarahdunners

Err, no, I do not think the punishment is reasonable. I said I think the penalty is harsh. If you had read my post correctly you would have noted that.

And no, for the record, I have never touched, slapped or groped any man inappropriately.

I have been the victim of a sexual assault, so I know how it feels. I remember the shock and the violation.

I stand with you Hiitsme.

All of us women know how terrible it has been over the last while, there were so many sexual assaults and rapes against women.

I have sat down with so many women crying to me about rape.

Finally, the law is beginning to take it more seriously. I can actually feel that it will never be as bad for women again, as it was, I am so happy about that.

Just another example of how you are overly sensitive if you found my post aggressive.

If you were sexually assaulted you have my sympathy. A slap in the arse is not sexual assault. When you try to include it as a form of sexual assault it diminishes actual sexual assault.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,577 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

She was at work on live TV, to brush it off and act like it was okay would be a disservice to women everywhere.

Just another example of how you are overly sensitive if you found my post aggressive.

If you were sexually assaulted you have my sympathy. A slap in the arse is not sexual assault. When you try to include it as a form of sexual assault it diminishes actual sexual assault.

A slap on the bum has been defined by LAW, as being sexual assault.

So, how are you coming to the conclusion that it is not sexual assault. Are you bigger than law?

She was at work on live TV, to brush it off and act like it was okay would be a disservice to women everywhere.

He was named and shamed. Case closed. Move on. Ruin a lads life over a slap on the arse, is that what you're advocating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,479 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

He was named and shamed. Case closed. Move on. Ruin a lads life over a slap on the arse, is that what you're advocating.

He did that all by himself.

Threeball - there are many other cases in news stories online, of men slapping women's arses - and then being charged with sexual assault.

So you can see - that it is in fact - sexual assault.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,629 ✭✭✭Augme

Deserves everything he gets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

He ruined his own life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,629 ✭✭✭Augme

blade1 wrote: »

Because the person didn't report a crime. It's not rocket science.

Threeball - there are many other cases in news stories online, of men slapping women's arses - and then being charged with sexual assault.

Taking a leak outside is illegal too, if that was enforced half of Dublin would be locked up every weekend. Amazingly a good portion of those would be women too but they'd probably get a pass.

Double post.

Augme wrote: »
    Because the person didn't report a crime. It's not rocket science.

No shīt Sherlock.
    My point exactly.
    She saw it for what it was.

Double post.

As long as you know that slapping an ass is defined as sexual assault.

Then we are good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

He hasn't been convicted of anything yet and probably won't. I don't have any sympathy for him. He targeted someone he knew couldn't retaliate because she was working, he humiliated her on live TV. This video is going to follow her around for the rest of her career and all because she was doing a job and some absolute dope thought it would be funny. No sympathy for him, he's a grown man who should know better.

As long as you know that slapping an ass is defined as sexual assault.

Then we are good

No we're really not. I could name 20 laws that are never enforced because they are blatantly stupid.

In your permanently offended world a guy should get 12 months for slapping someone's arse, I bet you think a football coach who rubs a child leg if they get a kick is a borderline paedophile.