Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Often becomes easy when the easy is often..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,483 ✭✭✭Lazare

Have had a couple of celebratory strong fancy pants beers so forgive me if I ramble.

Jingle Bells brought the 5k journey to a close. Such a satisfying year, set off on the 8th of Jan base building for Bob Heffernan in May with the goal of cracking 20 mins. Loved every minute of the training, the base and the stuff. Loved seeing the results. Loved having a focus, a target. Loved the distance. The fact that you can go, recover and go again was such a draw.

Got the magical sub 20 at BH, probably the highlight of my running so far, but struggled to come close afterwards. A flop at Kilcock and a tough day at DOIPBS.

Thought my summer would be strings of pbs, inching closer and closer to 19. Wasn't to be. Made me appreciate what I achieved at Bob H.

Had a couple of illness and injury set backs in Autumn which threw (is that a word) a lot of doubt into whether I could finish the year strong. Jingle Bells was always gonna be a target. Got over the troubles with about 8 weeks or so to go and got back on the horse. Jumped into week 4 I think of the same training plan as BH.

Early on after comparing sessions I felt I was in good shape for a big pb, 19:4x ish. Later on though I felt the sessions came closer to par with April and the confidence slipped a little. Winter mornings are definitely tougher than spring mornings, takes a lot more of me to get up and out.

Getting sick the week before last then killed the confidence.

Decided last Sat after 6 or so days off to just run easy as often as I can. No real point of a taper as such, just get the body used to turning over. So I ran my last session last Saturday then ran every day bar Thurs, nice and easy. 5 miles or so average.

Jingle Bells
    Oh what fun it is..

Good solid extra curricular week, ate well, slept well, no booze.

Arrived at about 10am, parked at Islandbridge gate and jogged the 2k or so up to the start area, met a few friendly faces there and jogged for a bit up and down, finishing with a couple of strides.

Got into a good position, was nervous about this, weaving and dodging can make all the difference. Thankfully I set off pretty much in a similar paced bunch.

First km wasn't noteworthy, ticked off at 3:59 though which gave me a boost.

Pain started soon afterwards which was, eh, great.

Thing is, it's took me until my last hurrah at 5k to fully understand 5k racing. On my first tune up at Corkagh parkrun a few weeks ago I realised at about halfway that I wasn't hurting yet and I knew something was wrong. Ran 20:41 or something and was disappointed. I wasn't hurting at 2.5k because I wasn't giving it everything.

So the hurt coming on at a mile or so made me feel good, in my head.

I felt I turned a corner today with how I dealt with the pain. The 5k is all about pain. The pain is gonna come. The earlier the better. It's how you process it that matters. It's not the physical pain that kills your race, it's the anxiety around it that does. If you think you're about to die, your race will die. If you relax your mind, isolate the pain and convince your mind that it's grand you'll fly.
    Today I managed to relax my mind and isolate it.

Noticed Kev English pacing one of his coachees to a sub 20 half way through km 2 so decided to latch on. We chatted briefly and he added me to his stable.

Just focussed on him, my breathing and the race line then. Overtook him and his coachee just before Furze hill.

Loved the hill. Loved it. Bit into it and overtook a few. Winded by the top of it but knew it was downhill from there. Got a high 5 and encouragement from Sean here. Dug deep, kept the pace, kept an eye on the watch waiting for 400 to go for the kick. Kicked on then. Gantry came into view, made that little turn then found another kick.

Ecstatic when I looked down at the time. So so happy to realise BH wasn't the peak, wasn't a fluke, wasn't a one off. So happy. Chip 19:52.

Km splits were:
    3:59
    4:03
    4:01
    3:58
    3:52

Feeling really good tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,764 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Nice one, C.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,834 ✭✭✭OOnegative

Great stuff C, really strong last km there, super racing!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,427 ✭✭✭scotindublin

Great run C; breaking the sub 20 barrier is not easy; big confidence boost to get it done again.

Plenty more to come over the first few months of 2020 aswell over 5k before DCM 2020 kicks in.

Delighted for you.

Cheers guys :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,251 ✭✭✭coogy

Well done C, perfectly executed race!!!

coogy wrote: »
    Well done C, perfectly executed race!!!

Cheers K, you too. Great chatting to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,601 ✭✭✭Wubble Wubble

Enjoyed that journey recap and report C.

Great to see you beforehand.

Looking forward to reading about the next journey!

Enjoyed that journey recap and report C.

Great to see you beforehand.

Looking forward to reading about the next journey!

Cheers J, always great to see you at races. Hope the head is OK today :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭Baby75

Great running C, well done again and great chatting to you on Saturday :D oh and well done on that hill LOL maybe you might try some more hills now LOL

Baby75 wrote: »
    Great running C, well done again and great chatting to you on Saturday :D oh and well done on that hill LOL maybe you might try some more hills now LOL

Haha, thanks N. Great catching up with you too.

Try to get as much hilly stuff into my training as possible, really felt the benefit of it on Sat.

Lazare wrote: »
    Haha, thanks N. Great catching up with you too.

Try to get as much hilly stuff into my training as possible, really felt the benefit of it on Sat.

Yea, they do make a difference and you do not have to go to far to go, head up Athgoe and do the loop around the hill I head the right hand side first though LOL

Baby75 wrote: »
    Yea, they do make a difference and you do not have to go to far to go, head up Athgoe and do the loop around the hill I head the right hand side first though LOL

Oh I only ever venture near those mad roads on a quiet Sunday. Have never actually ran that loop, I'd love to but have too much experience of crazy drivers on it to attempt.

Newcastle is generally quite hilly, my local 2 mile loop through Greenogue is great. Needs to be ran clockwise though to take full advantage. That big drag up through Greenogue ind est is great.

Oh I only ever venture near those mad roads on a quiet Sunday. Have never actually ran that loop, I'd love to but have too much experience of crazy drivers on it to attempt.

Newcastle is generally quite hilly, my local 2 mile loop through Greenogue is great. Needs to be ran clockwise though to take full advantage. That big drag up through Greenogue ind est is great.

I know, the side that people come off the Naas road is crazy but the other side where I am from is not as bad I head up and turn right at the top towards Ardlough.

Other than the shining light of Jingle Bells I had an absolutely terrible December.

Plan after JB was to have a couple of cracks at parkrun before the year ended, I still had a secondary goal of sub 20 there.

The Sat after JB I needed to take the kids to give my wife some space, she was restoring an old dolls house for Santa. Went on the lash that night with some work buddies and was too upside down to run on the Sunday.

That night ran me down so much that I got sick again on the Wed. Sick for a couple of days then half good again, light run or two. Felt ok, not 100% but ok coming into xmas. Then Bam, Stephen's day until Dec 30th a shivering wreck in bed, xmas ruined, zero running.

But that's the past.

I'm taking some positives from it. A couple of months ago when I decided on the half being the next focus I had notions of setting off straight into it.

This past couple of weeks, with my fitness on the floor has forced me into the correct decision of beginning a base phase.

It's always been what I should have been doing and planning.

So, the future.

Plan now for me, which I'm really excited about is 8 weeks, now until March, of base building. Easy running, mileage building. Then begin a 12 week half plan. Hopefully running 40 - 50 mpw by that stage.

Secret Santa, with a little bit of a hint hint, brought me a Garmin HR chest strap. I've used it for the first time today. I just don't yet have the knowledge or the stats to use it fully. I'm going to run with it anyway so that when I have I can look back and use the info.

Plan is to book in to the Beacon for a range of tests and consultation to do with HR training. Gonna do that by mid Feb to have everything in place for the block.

Excited about the year ahead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,583 ✭✭✭Swashbuckler

Good to see you're not being too hard on yourself and refocusing. Have you considered getting a coach?

Briefly, but I've always dismissed it. Just don't think I'd enjoy the pressure of it. I'm always feeling I need to shoehorn my running into my life what with young kids in the house and that. I even struggle at the weekends to leave my wife look after them.

Just feel trying to satisfy and live up to the demands a coach may lay on will clash too much with all those other demands.

Don't think it's for me at this stage, for similar reasons as to why joining a club isn't. Might be right in a few years though, hopefully.

Cheers man.

Yeah I hear you man. That all makes sense as they are probably all emotions I've had over the past while.

That being said, the first chance I get ill jump back on the coaching train as it makes a huge difference.
    But I'm in the same boat as you with kids, and that feeling of responsibility. Right now I feel like I wouldn't be able to commit to a plan from a coach given things can change from day to day depending on tired missus, sick baba etc.

That being said I genuinely think someone with your focus and love of running would benefit hugely from coaching so when you get a chance, seriously consider it, moreso that joining a club.

Edit: a good coach places no demands on you. Demands are self inflicted. Most coaches just want you to do well.

That being said I genuinely think someone with your focus and love of running would benefit hugely from coaching so when you get a chance, seriously consider it, moreso that joining a club.

Edit: a good coach places no demands on you. Demands are self inflicted. Most coaches just want you to do well.

Cheers bro, that's definitely food for thought. I've seen what a coach can do, maybe I should give it a bit of consideration.

The main reason I shy away from it as I said above is the thought of the pressure, maybe as you suggest with the right coach there will be none.

Well honestly man no good coach puts any pressure on the athlete in that way .

That being said the main reservation I'd have is I'd be given a plan for the week but then there's no way of knowing if I can stick to that plan due to any number of family reasons. Its the sole reason I haven't gone back to being coached.

But I can guarantee you one thing, if you have a coach you will improve at a much faster rate. Look at Kellygirl and the gains she's made. When I was with Luke I went from 1.35 to 1.19 HM. 37.40 to 36.05 10k.

Well honestly man no good coach puts any pressure on the athlete in that way .

That being said the main reservation I'd have is I'd be given a plan for the week but then there's no way of knowing if I can stick to that plan due to any number of family reasons. Its the sole reason I haven't gone back to being coached.

Yeah, that's kinda the type of pressure I'm talking about though :)
    But I can guarantee you one thing, if you have a coach you will improve at a much faster rate. Look at Kellygirl and the gains she's made. When I was with Luke I went from 1.35 to 1.19 HM. 37.40 to 36.05 10k.

This though, this can make a man very curious. They're very pretty numbers. Wow.

And you're right about K too.

Hmm

Sounds like me and you are in the same boat. Haha. Can we find someone to coach us who will accept the fact their plan could be thrown out the window if baba has a sneeze when we leave the house. Lol

lol.

Or current..

'sorry boss, gonna be out of action for a few days, my 2 year old brought The Plague back from the creche'

Lazare wrote:
    'sorry boss, gonna be out of action for a few days, my 2 year old brought The Plague back from the creche'

Wait til hand foot and mouth visits the house. Fun.

Oh it's been. Have one started school and another started playchool. We've been bombarded with all sorts of infections and viruses. I think it was the Scarlet Fever that infected me.

Good for the kids in the long run but jesus it's a pain in the hole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,764 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Oh it's been. Have one started school and another started playchool. We've been bombarded with all sorts of infections and viruses. I think it was the Scarlet Fever that infected me.

Good for the kids in the long run but jesus it's a pain in the hole.

Don’t worry - you’ll eventually build up immunity to an impressive array of diseases (if you’re lucky). ;)

So I've jumped into week 3 of FRR's base building plan. It will get me up to 45 mpw by the end of Feb.

Jumped into week 3 as I want to begin a half plan at the start of March to allow for a late May target. Don't know what that target is yet, we'll see.

A decent enough week that I'm happy with. Wore the chest strap for the first time, and I suppose, monitored HR for the first time. Don't yet have the stats to utilise fully but I'm thinking it's prob important to begin building up data anyway.

Ran Corkagh parkrun last Sat, 4th Jan, my first run in 10 days, first proper, feeling ok run in about 3 weeks.

The main take away from it was how amazing it is that you can lose so much fitness so quickly. I didn't give it everything, gave it about 85%. On a good day that should be about 21:15 or so. I came home in 23:40 or thereabouts and had DOMS until Tue. :)

Sun 5th - Decided to run through the DOMS for a nice easy 6 miles. Main aim was to get used to the strap and to practise holding a steady rate. After a mile or so I figured 135bpm was the rate. Held that as much as I could throughout, found it easy, in terms of holding the rate. Really enjoyed it. Was shocked later to see the wild pace fluctuation. Obv there were a few hills and that but the pace was all over the shop. Really made me think.

Started a new training diary and wrote all my 'out the door' times for the various different distances, on the inside of the front cover. I'm brutal for that, I'll be setting the alarm at night and trying to do maths and half the time getting it wrong, waking up with not enough time to get what I want to do done without adding a ton of stress to the whole getting the kids to school melee that happens every morn. So now I know what time I need to leave the gaff at, and what time I need to set the alarm for.
    It's the simple stuff that gets you. :)

Tue 7th - Parkrun DOMS gone. Ran 5 miles easy. 6 min kms and a 122bpm average.

Wed 8th - A little over 6 miles, 5:47km, 126bpm.

Did some weights at home Tue and Wed evenings, upper body stuff, a small amount. Have enthusiasm for this sort of stuff now, but I'm not gonna kid myself, I probably won't keep it up. I'll try.

Thurs 9th - 3 miles easy. 5:54km, 122bpm.

Sat 11th - Couldn't do parkrun this week as I needed to bring the 5 year old to gymnastics, so I got up a bit before 7 and hit the road. 6 miles easy, 5:50km, 126bpm. Was fierce windy, almost got blown off the road a couple of times. Decided to skip the Rathcoole foot bridge out of paranoia of getting launched into the air and landing on the N7.

Sun 12th - Had noticed during the week that Sean and E met last Sunday in the PP for a long run so I messaged Sean asking him to let me know if they were meeting up again this week. He did yesterday so I jumped at the chance. Don't get to run with folk much, even at parkrun. It's a rare treat.

I had planned on 10 miles. Met Sean at 8:35am. He had planned on doing 2 miles before meeting up with E so I joined him on that. Nice leisurely jog, an up and back to kill the time. Ran by C and his Donore crew at this point, was gutted that I only spotted him at the last second, not enough time to prep a high 5.
    At 9am we met E and Damo also joined us at this stage which was great. We set off then on a big loop of the park, Sean leading the way. Some great chinwagging. So much to be said for running in a group, the time just zips by. I remember looking down at 10k and wondering where the time went.

Ended up doing 12 miles, which bizarrely was the longest run I've done in about 14 months. Av pace 5:42 km, av HR 140.

Total mileage (Mon to Sun): 32.51

Very happy with that. Can feel the fitness coming back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,509 ✭✭✭Laineyfrecks

Lovely chatting to you today :)

You too E. I really really enjoyed it. Must do it again.