Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Things That Trialvilly Annoy You.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 201 ✭✭Alecto

Guy Person wrote: »
    Sorry to hear you were sad Alecto. Any better today?

TA that I potentially missed out on hugs, spooning and forking :(

Though TH on Wid's word play. The grammar nerd in me enjoyed that.

Aww some really lovely people here on boards, thank you for asking Guy. Feeling much better today, have the Christmas songs on and looking for a gift for my cat :P I hope you're doing well yourself :)

But there is always time for hugs, spooning and forking, don't you worry about that :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,282 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

This will be the last time Santa will be believed in by our kid. I am sure he knows the truth already but is not ready to confront it, But having a house with no Santa believer will indeed be a TA.

When mine were young and beginning to doubt I told them that absolutely did Santa exist
    He exists in every parent or minders heart because Santa passed on his goodness and his love of children to every parents . Santa made sure that every parent or minder kept the Santa message in a part of their heart and that is how Santa exists.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,076 ✭✭✭Wayne Jarvis

Alecto wrote: »
    Aww some really lovely people here on boards, thank you for asking Guy. Feeling much better today, have the Christmas songs on and looking for a gift for my cat :P I hope you're doing well yourself :)
    Glad to hear that! I am good thanks :) You probably don't remember but I used to post here as Autecher and we would often have very pleasant and funny interactions that I enjoyed. I was always left smiling afterwards. :D

Alecto wrote: »
    But there is always time for hugs, spooning and forking, don't you worry about that pacman.gif
    I will obviously send you a PM about this ;)

TA at grown adults in a professional work environment who think it's acceptable behaviour to react to mildly bad news by having tantrums, slamming doors and banging/kicking tables.

Grow the fúck up you and just deal with the problem you manchild!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,015 ✭✭✭SMC92Ian

TA at grown adults in a professional work environment who think it's acceptable behaviour to react to mildly bad news by having tantrums, slamming doors and banging/kicking tables.

We had people like that in Smyths. Oh your banging the door and cursing cause you've to work an extra hour tonight...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 65 ✭✭Accepting Cookies

Glad to hear that! I am good thanks :) You probably don't remember but I used to post here as Autecher and we would often have very pleasant and funny interactions that I enjoyed. I was always left smiling afterwards. :D

I will obviously send you a PM about this ;)

Straight out of You've Got Mail... so when's the meetup :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

Oh, you've met my ex husband. Just add flinging things dramatically onto table/desk and tossing histrionic guilt trippy remarks over his shoulder as he stomps out and bangs the door. Usually in a public place, or the gp surgery.

Ah I'm sorry to read that Widdershins. :( He sounds like a complete twat. If he is still in your life as I think he may be from what you have posted elsewhere then again I would say cut ties and move on. You owe him nothing.

I know you are currently all loved up with your fiance though so at least things are good for you now and long may that continue to be the case. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,500 ✭✭✭Bredabe

My ex's ex wife trying to guilt trip me into taking him in once he has left the hospital.
    Unf*&cing believable, their kids would love to see them in the same place for christmas and new year.

"Have you ever wagged your tail so hard you fell over"?-Brod Higgins.

Ah I'm sorry to read that Widdershins. :( He sounds like a complete twat. If he is still in your life as I think he may be from what you have posted elsewhere then again I would say cut ties and move on. You owe him nothing.

I know you are currently all loved up with your fiance though so at least things are good for you now and long may that continue to be the case. :)

He is but as minimally as possible and my fiances presence in my life keeps him in line. He's seeking professional help so well see how that goes. I'm reluctant to turn my back on him when he's not mentally well, although he often makes me want to.

Thanks Guy x

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,482 ✭✭✭Princess Calla

Went into the kitchen to turn oven on at 5, took tray out of the oven, turned on the heat and returned to the kids.

Went back into the kitchen to put meat in the oven just now and I never turned it on.

The baby has fallen asleep and I'd bet my life that he'll wake now just as I'm lifting my dinner.

I'm such a dope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,482 ✭✭✭Princess Calla

And then I forgot to take the meat out of the oven....seriously!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,015 ✭✭✭SMC92Ian

PM'd about an item in a store. Ignored me. ****'s must only care when I spend 400 quid like I did last week with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,046 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Even worse is when your in store holding an item beside a checkout or standing at a deli counter and no dou will server you.

Ta being the genius loci for someone's self loathing. I'm not at all sure that's the right term either. People should sort themselves out instead of alienating everyone. TA backward stigma about mental health.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 957 ✭✭✭MuffinTop86

This shouldn’t reeeeally be a TA. My boyfriend is away tonight so I had visions of ordering a Chinese which I haven’t had in months (he’s not a fan). Then there was also that voice that said I’d regret the food fest since I’m trying to reduce portions.

Anyway, it was my mum’s birthday too so she insisted I stay for dinner when I called over with presents So I’ve had dinner, it was lovely, but the Chinese craving is still there!

Heard back from eejit online seller. "My bad" she said, and for that alone she should be garroted..." I thought I'd packaged the 2 items together but I didn't. I'm going to hunt down where I put the second item."

So youve managed to lose item 2 in your own house? 5 weeks after the order? And why post separately? I'll be charged two fees by DPD Parcel wizard. I wouldn't worry about this under normal circumstances but could this seller be any more unhelpful? The wheel is still spinning but the hamster's dead with this one.

I'm TA just reading that!! How frustrating for you!

I have a few bits I'm selling online and I keep them all together, hanging on a rack so I can easily get to them and they're nice and aired etc. I always keep packaging from things I buy online and reuse all that unneccsary plasticky packaging and tissue to carefully parcel up anything I sell. I live quite far from a post office but I always put huge pressure on myself to get to the PO as soon as they pay me for the item.

So my related TA is the people who make an offer on something I'm selling, I accept and then they mess me about for a few days and don't end up buying. Now while my item was at the top of the searches it appeared to be sold and when I mark it as still available it's way down the pages. Grrrr...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,344 ✭✭✭✭branie2

The way Google Translate translates other languages into English

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,825 ✭✭✭LirW

My husband, the git. We sleep with a hot water bottle down at our feet. Every evening he comes up into the bedroom, puts it under the blanket with the bottleneck facing my side. Yesterday I found out he does it on purpose to annoy me.
    War has been declared.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,204 ✭✭✭Kitty6277

Senseless violence. I don’t see the point in it. Someone I know just told me they got the shít kicked out of them last night for no reason and it’s proper pissed me off :mad::mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,654 ✭✭✭Gamer Bhoy 89

If I apologise for a trivial mistake, don't roll your fupping eyes at me. Get on my level and stop trying to make me feel worse than I really should.

Context? You won't believe it.

I made popcorn in the new microwave. Not used to the wattage. Oops I burnt the popcorn. Now the smoke alarm has went off.

(Mother is asleep)

Here comes the panicking stepfather "QUICK TURN IT OFF!" As he desperately tried to find a dishtowel.

Here's me, casually opening the back door and turning on the extractor fan.

Smoke alarm turns off.

"There's gonna be f*cking mayhem over this in the morning"

On my way back upstairs I peek me head in and say "sorry bout that" and he rolled his eyes, which means "I'm sure you are"

Thanks. Thanks for making a mountain out of a molehill.

I need to move out. Lol

Also. Trivial annoyance. burnt popcorn. I was looking forward to that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭Antares35

The kamikaze cyclist this morning who almost killed himself several times weaving in and out of slow moving cars (at one point overtook me on the inside as I was about to pull off and missed my bumper by a hair's breath. Wouldn't mind but there was a generous and continuous empty cycle lane running parallel to us for the duration of the charade. He did the same to the driver in front and just waved when he got beeped :confused:

More generally, people who think that any behaviour on the road is excusable because they stick their hazards on. :(

TA told my parents we are expecting a baby and later heard mam giving out about it in the context of my job saying something like "it is terrible what employers have to put up with, she is going to just leave them in the lurch now on maternity leave rabble rabble". I felt like saying "well it's not like I'm gonna just put a line through my career and sit on my áss at home for 40 years like you". TA you can't answer back to someone when you're eavesdropping! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭Antares35

Dial Hard wrote: »
    Restaurants that tell you they can give you a table for literally one hour as they need it back, then leave you sitting there for 15 minutes without even a menu.

This drives me mad. "We need the table back by X o' clock". I'm convinced it is just a marketing thing to make people feel privileged or whatever to be "squeezed in". I generally reply with, "it depends how long it takes you to bring us the food" - I'm not going to sit there waiting an age then inhale my food like a dog. Money too hard earned for that :(

Reminds me of a few years ago, we went into a little restaurant in templeogue (since closed, I believe) which was literally empty and when we went in to ask if they could accommodate 2 people, the waiter pointedly looked around and then said, "do you have a reservation?". We left.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭Gwynplaine

British people calling the ground, "the floor". Mostly in cop programs and football.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,607 ✭✭✭stoneill

You known when a bag or suitcase has two slider zippers on the same zip so you can open one way or the other?
    It is a trivial annoyance to me when the end user of said bag or suitcase has it zipped closed and the two zipper sliders are at any other location except top centre of bag or suitcase.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,238 ✭✭✭Up Donegal

People (tradespeople etc) who you ask to contact you before they visit so that someone will be at the house when they do call, and who then call when you're not home and complain about it!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,449 ✭✭✭nigeldaniel

TV soaps are full of nasty sex and violence. I can hardly see any good kind storylines these days. O and news reports that are more and more biased while pretending to be honest.

Dan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,950 ✭✭✭✭the beer revolu

Antares35 wrote: »
    This drives me mad. "We need the table back by X o' clock". I'm convinced it is just a marketing thing to make people feel privileged or whatever to be "squeezed in". I generally reply with, "it depends how long it takes you to bring us the food" - I'm not going to sit there waiting an age then inhale my food like a dog. Money too hard earned for that :(

There's another very common side to that story.
    A party agrees to a booking provided they will vacate the table by a certain time.
    Party has dinner, promptly served.
    A few bottles of wine in, party are having a good time and don't want to move on.
    Blah blah blah customers, blah blah blah we've spent €€€€€, blah blah blah blah blah more wine blah blah blah.
    Meanwhile next party are left waiting for the table that they booked.

Move on as agreed you drunk arseholes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 416 ✭✭SaltSweatSugar

My boss always misspells my surname. I’ve been working with him for 11 months with plenty of paperwork going back and forth and he puts an ‘e’ where there is no ‘e’.

It’s not that hard a name to spell right!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,041 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

My boss always misspells my surname. I’ve been working with him for 11 months with plenty of paperwork going back and forth and he puts an ‘e’ where there is no ‘e’.

It’s not that hard a name to spell right!

My ex boss used to always misspell my first name. We had the same first name with the same spelling.