Ciara Kelly says 50%+ of Irishes don't experience intimacy in their relationships

I'd say a lot of the problems are down to a lot of lads in their 20's and 30's having grown up watching far too much online porn. They've the flute nearly detached from themselves watching extreme gonzo porn, and now can't get a proper boner as they've unrealistic expectations of what women should look like and what is considered normal in the old leaba.

Nah, I don't buy it. I'm in my 40s and while magazines were pretty hard to come by, the use of Mirc and IIRC, along with newsgroups gave plenty of access to porn, never mind the host of common websites online. There wasn't much of a shortage of porn for my generation.

We all had unrealistic expectations of sex before we actually experienced it for ourselves. Just as we fully expected our partners to be fantastic. Alas Reality is a harsh mistress, and we quickly realized that sex is a wonderful but incredibly embarrassing experience.

TBH I'd point to social changes regarding the roles of men and women. Back in the day, the rules of the game were well laid out. You knew exactly what was needed for sex, or intimacy to happen. Now, though, the goal posts keep shifting depending on which week it is. It's Easier for older people because of their experience and the ability to recognize the partners we tend to match well with, but for younger guys/gals, trying to determine that for themselves, I'd imagine things are far more difficult.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,355 ✭✭✭bo0li5eumx12kp

I dunno, I'm pretty intimate with my hand every night.

Why did you think it would be a good idea to post this?

RayCon wrote: »
    Imagine a Southside "Rugby Mom" type was given her own radio show to talk about the same crap they chatter amongst each at the school gates.

Pretty much this.

With a mildly more insightful touch that your average soccer mom.

But she's all about conventional mom-gossip.

From time to time she goes balls-deep on some pretty lurid sexual topics however, and holds little back in the way of explicit terms (blowjobs, cum, facials, cum in mouth, doggystyle etc).

She was definitely a skank in "The Wezz" way back when.

b3MRd82.jpg?1

She's kind of like a female "Howard Stern" in that, she's basically airing her dissatisfactions and frustrations with her sex life on national radio.

Nah, I don't buy it. I'm in my 40s and while magazines were pretty hard to come by, the use of Mirc and IIRC, along with newsgroups gave plenty of access to porn, never mind the host of common websites online. There wasn't much of a shortage of porn for my generation.

We all had unrealistic expectations of sex before we actually experienced it for ourselves. Just as we fully expected our partners to be fantastic. Alas Reality is a harsh mistress, and we quickly realized that sex is a wonderful but incredibly embarrassing experience.

TBH I'd point to social changes regarding the roles of men and women. Back in the day, the rules of the game were well laid out. You knew exactly what was needed for sex, or intimacy to happen. Now, though, the goal posts keep shifting depending on which week it is. It's Easier for older people because of their experience and the ability to recognize the partners we tend to match well with, but for younger guys/gals, trying to determine that for themselves, I'd imagine things are far more difficult.

Tend to agree.

This modern age "porno = expectations" is purely hypothetical.

Dynamics of society are different now, life is improved in many many ways.

Naturally the most intimate parts of peoples lives are gonna change with it.

Expectations of a better bedroom performance is no bad thing either (and this is coming from an original one pump chump).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 503 ✭✭✭Rufeo

I can't listen to her or Pat Kenny or Ivan Yates. They're all crud. The only good show on newstalk is Off the Ball and some of the weekend shows

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,366 ✭✭✭stampydmonkey

Edgware wrote: »
    Qualifies a a MILF

I'll requantify that as a 100% negative

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

True intimacy is waiting together until its dark so you can hide the body.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,366 ✭✭✭stampydmonkey

Your Face wrote: »
    True intimacy is waiting together until its dark so you can hide the body.

...Said Patrick Quirke

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,992 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Are you kidding, K? I’m in the same generation as you and it wasn’t until our late teens before you could even get anything worth a “tug” off the computer.

And, even then, it was mostly pictures or the odd gif. Any “clips” were short and took forever to download. You even had to wait for a picture to load fully before you got an idea of what it was.

That eventually graduated on to relying on emails with a “power point” file attached. There was nothing like the availability, the high definition or the time length. Add to that the “graphic” content.

You’ve got kids in there early teens now who are bombarded with videos of big blokes with huge dongs hammering away at some tiny young one who’s ”playing” his step-daughter, or daughter. He’ll turn her arse inside out, then ride her face until she’s left looking like a melted candle. There’s no way you saw anything like that ”back in the day”.

Best we got was to work with was ”Eurotrash”, the 5 minutes “freeview” on those adult channels, “Red Shoe Diaries”, a late night “Frenchie” on Channel 5 or TG4, “Lover’s Guide” a Russ Meyers ”romp” on Bravo or, if you were very lucky, you and your mates might stumble onto a magazine under a “bongo bush”. Only problem there was you couldn’t really take it home so had to commit a lot of it to memory.

You mention “Mirc” and “IIRC” but was there really anything like the stuff out there today on there? I don’t think so. And even if there was, you’d only be getting a few geeks getting ”exposed” to it. Normal lads wouldn’t have been anywhere near it.

Wasn’t until fine sharing programs like ”Limewire” appeared that anyone was seeing clips, or entire films, of any note and the ”professional” content was still quite script, or story, based.

To say we grew up with a similar level of, and ”exposure” to, anything like the amount of extreme, hardcore, graphic pornography like the lads, say, ten years younger than us grew up with is just not accurate. Not accurate at all.

“It matters not what someone is born, but what they grow to be” - A. Dumbledore

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Closed Accounts Posts: 237 ✭✭Melania Frump

Ciara dont know s**t.

Its 100%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 728 ✭✭✭20Wheel

The Irishes are not having sexy time

SEXYTIME.png

Putin is a dictator. Putin should face justice at the Hague. All good Russians should work to depose Putin. Russias war in Ukraine is illegal and morally wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

Are you kidding, K? I’m in the same generation as you and it wasn’t until our late teens before you could even get anything worth a “tug” off the computer.

And, even then, it was mostly pictures or the odd gif. Any “clips” were short and took forever to download. You even had to wait for a picture to load fully before you got an idea of what it was.

That eventually graduated on to relying on emails with a “power point” file attached. There was nothing like the availability, the high definition or the time length. Add to that the “graphic” content.

You’ve got kids in there early teens now who are bombarded with videos of big blokes with huge dongs hammering away at some tiny young one who’s ”playing” his step-daughter, or daughter. He’ll turn her arse inside out, then ride her face until she’s left looking like a melted candle. There’s no way you saw anything like that ”back in the day”.

Best we got was to work with was ”Eurotrash”, the 5 minutes “freeview” on those adult channels, “Red Shoe Diaries”, a late night “Frenchie” on Channel 5 or TG4, “Lover’s Guide” a Russ Meyers ”romp” on Bravo or, if you were very lucky, you and your mates might stumble onto a magazine under a “bongo bush”. Only problem there was you couldn’t really take it home so had to commit a lot of it to memory.

You mention “Mirc” and “IIRC” but was there really anything like the stuff out there today on there? I don’t think so. And even if there was, you’d only be getting a few geeks getting ”exposed” to it. Normal lads wouldn’t have been anywhere near it.

Wasn’t until fine sharing programs like ”Limewire” appeared that anyone was seeing clips, or entire films, of any note and the ”professional” content was still quite script, or story, based.

To say we grew up with a similar level of, and ”exposure” to, anything like the amount of extreme, hardcore, graphic pornography like the lads, say, ten years younger than us grew up with is just not accurate. Not accurate at all.

Excellent post, Emmet. There was always a market for a gentleman's art periodical, or an 'arthouse movie'. No denying that. Might have been a rural thing, but there was a cottage industry in the 80's and early-mid 90's for lads selling VCR and DVD copies of German and British grot movies. Lot of lads buckled with the horn waiting for their parents to go to bed (or die) so they could watch a rented skin flick.

Nothing like today though in either the availability or content of porn. We all take a peak at those 'tube' sites, but you'd want to have the constitution of an ox to watch some of the disgusting stuff that appears to be mainstream these days. Loads of coked-up sociopaths causing permanent physical damage to a frightened looking Russian girl while the 'director' plays the role of the viewer.

Not good. Appalling and disgusting exploitation. Call me old-fashioned, but bring back the old memory '**** bank.

Except that I didn't say that. I said that there was plenty of porn around, except that you had to go "digging" for it. Most of the porn not on paid sites was "underground", which meant networking to find access to the groups. Which wasn't so terrible since people connected far better then, than they do now. Mirc allowed a lot of that, and yes, connections were slow, I could still get movies and decent resolution pics from it. Shared servers for ftp access was the main source.

In terms of amount of porn, I'd agree with you. It's become almost commonplace these days when it was still very much a taboo for us. Channel 4 with it's foreign movies or animation was the best source on TV, but there was very little allowed on traditional media.

But yes, the things that were odd-ball before are now mainstream. Weird, isn't it?

In any case, I still don't agree that porn, itself has such an impact on people. I've seen the research that says it does, but I feel they're looking for a scapegoat rather than deal with the real social issues that cause younger people to withdraw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,584 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

I would say its less than that ...maybe 15% of relationships are going through a period of lack of emotional intimacy and sex right now.

Some of those will recover and make it some won't.

I would say its less than that ...maybe 15% of relationships are going through a period of lack of emotional intimacy and sex right now.

Some of those will recover and make it some won't.

lol - and what exactly are you basing this cutting-edge insight on?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 196 ✭✭uchimata83

I'll requantify that as a 100% negative

The body is only just run in, plenty of mileage left on it. See Twitter link, she is in great shape, I reckon she'd give it back to you smaller.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,524 ✭✭✭Gynoid

Nothing like today though in either the availability or content of porn. We all take a peak at those 'tube' sites, but you'd want to have the constitution of an ox to watch some of the disgusting stuff that appears to be mainstream these days. Loads of coked-up sociopaths causing permanent physical damage to a frightened looking Russian girl while the 'director' plays the role of the viewer.

Not good. Appalling and disgusting exploitation. Call me old-fashioned, but bring back the old memory '**** bank.

I saw an article this week that said one third of surveyed women said they had experienced unwanted choking, gagging, spitting in sex. Emmmmm...what the feck, like!? :confused::confused: It was speculated it is influenced by porn. Yuck. What the feck is wrong with people. Who the hell would want to be spat at?!!
    https://www.independent.co.uk/life-style/women/women-choking-slapping-spitting-sex-abuse-violence-survey-a9222841.html

On Ciara Kelly - never heard of her, though the local gossip told me once that hardly any of the people round here who are married have sex. She seemed quite certain for someone who has never been in their beds. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Ciara is playing a blinder recently, she had a go at women suing the state over cervical check

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

uchimata83 wrote: »
    The body is only just run in, plenty of mileage left on it. See Twitter link, she is in great shape, I reckon she'd give it back to you smaller.
    With a 30 minute monologue as to how you could have done better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,175 ✭✭✭✭threeball

Is there a bigger dose on radio. Made her name sucking up to George hook as the resident phone in GP. Then couldn't wait to shove him under the bus when he got into trouble about comments over a girl who was sexually assaulted. This resulted in her taking over his show and basically going on a 2hr man hating rant for the next 12 months.

She has nothing interesting to say, no interesting content or guests. It's just her bitching or sympathising about something for 2hrs. It's pure drivel. How she's held on to the show as long as she has it's a miracle. It's worrying there's an audience for her sh1te.

threeball wrote: »
    Is there a bigger dose on radio. Made her name sucking up to George hook as the resident phone in GP. Then couldn't wait to shove him under the bus when he got into trouble about comments over a girl who was sexually assaulted. This resulted in her taking over his show and basically going on a 2hr man hating rant for the next 12 months.

She has nothing interesting to say, no interesting content or guests. It's just her bitching or sympathising about something for 2hrs. It's pure drivel. How she's held on to the show as long as she has it's a miracle. It's worrying there's an audience for her sh1te.

I'll admit listening to her "oohs, and aaahs" toward phone-in guests can be a little cringe inducing but, meh - let's face it - it's good to hear a little bit of woman, versus Hook.
    His tone of voice alone immediately negated any interesting points he may have made.

lol - I didn't hear that; she dropped a dime on Hook??

Any link to that?

I've always contended she sounds like she needs a good piping but, I think that's part of the reason I enjoy some of her material - especially when it's reasonably logical and based on doing the nasty.

Not patting myself on the back here but, I've plowed a few single moms in my time.
    Maybe I'll mince out Dun Laoghaire way and see if we can, "bump into each other"...

1L3ALjV.jpg?1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 196 ✭✭uchimata83

Edgware wrote: »
    With a 30 minute monologue as to how you could have done better

Practice makes perfect

Gynoid wrote: »
    I saw an article this week that said one third of surveyed women said they had experienced unwanted choking, gagging, spitting in sex. Emmmmm...what the feck, like!? :confused::confused: It was speculated it is influenced by porn. Yuck. What the feck is wrong with people. Who the hell would want to be spat at?!!
    https://www.independent.co.uk/life-style/women/women-choking-slapping-spitting-sex-abuse-violence-survey-a9222841.html

To be fair, I've encountered quite a few women who wanted to be dominated, choked, sadistic practices (whipped, beaten, etc.) applied, etc. There's this idea promoted in the media that it's only men who are interested in such behavior, but it's completely ignoring quite a few women who are interested in it. Fifty Shades was a hit for a reason, just as a variety of other similar movies hit it big with a female audience.

It's not my thing, and I tend to refuse such things. Considering how murky the whole area of consent is these days, I definitely don't want bruises or marks being left behind after sex... even if i got my kicks by doing that, which I don't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,524 ✭✭✭Gynoid

To be fair, I've encountered quite a few women who wanted to be dominated, choked, sadistic practices (whipped, beaten, etc.) applied, etc. There's this idea promoted in the media that it's only men who are interested in such behavior, but it's completely ignoring quite a few women who are interested in it. Fifty Shades was a hit for a reason, just as a variety of other similar movies hit it big with a female audience.

It's not my thing, and I tend to refuse such things. Considering how murky the whole area of consent is these days, I definitely don't want bruises or marks being left behind after sex... even if i got my kicks by doing that, which I don't.

Ugh, well I don't understand who would want to be spat at, or choked ffs. (A few nice soft birch twigs plucked before leaf and pleasantly and lightly administered is a different matter, but..ahem.. I digress.) There have been quite a few defenses claimed recently in murder cases where the defendant says rough sex accidentally led to death. Feck sake, how can people be so degraded and moronic. They must be off their heads, and, well, they probably are.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 428 ✭✭blueshade

Who is Ciara Kelly and why does anyone care what she thinks?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,252 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

blueshade wrote: »
    Who is Ciara Kelly and why does anyone care what she thinks?

She's a very unimportant person in radio who happens to be a doctor.
    How does she happen to know this? Has she interviewed 100%of the population?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,445 ✭✭✭mloc123

b3MRd82.jpg?1

She has a forehead that you could project a movie on to... tries her best to hide it , but it is huge

mloc123 wrote: »
    She has a forehead that you could project a movie on to... tries her best to hide it , but it is huge

Dunno - to me it's just the angle.

But as a profile photo?

I maintain she simply needs a good dicking.

I would say that with a high degree of certainty.

What is it with chicks who have a high pitched voice?

It screams, "I'm frustrated - only a good pounding can save me now!!"

Obviously her man isn't doing it for her........ even though he's doing it to her.

Gynoid wrote: »
    Ugh, well I don't understand who would want to be spat at, or choked ffs. (A few nice soft birch twigs plucked before leaf and pleasantly and lightly administered is a different matter, but..ahem.. I digress.) There have been quite a few defenses claimed recently in murder cases where the defendant says rough sex accidentally led to death. Feck sake, how can people be so degraded and moronic. They must be off their heads, and, well, they probably are.

Lots of chicks.

It makes them feel hot/desirable.

Like, they're driving you so crazy you want to choke them.

Spitting I don't really get.... but choking, yeah.
    It can be hot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,387 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

She's absolutely shocking on the radio. Seemed good when she was on other shows as a guest or an 'expert' analyst on medical issues, but Jaysus her show is terrible.