Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Suspended with Pay.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,138 ✭✭✭Salary Negotiator

I’d brazen it out and see where the cards fall.

Call centre work is horrible and 2 years is a good stint at it.

For what it’s worth I walked out of a betting call centre after after telling a customer “it’s no wonder you got cancer” and was only fired because I stopped turning up not for what I said which was a sackable offence and also just a dickish thing to say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,519 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Dealing with the public is draining and soul destroying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,013 ✭✭✭LimeFruitGum

I’d fire you, unless there was some serious gold star reason not to. (Like, are you outstanding at upselling, or advanced tech support queries) The best you can hope for is a PIP, but you may as well start looking.

In customer service & tech support, the department is typically measured by call response times, did you resolve the issue in one go etc, how long was the wait time etc. Then the client will probably be asked to complete a little survey about their experience. That’ll generally feed into your annual targets as well. Call center management take these stats very seriously, it’s how they measure the health of the business. You dropping calls is skewing that right up.

I did call center work in college, I grew to hate being on the phones, so I do get why you are acting up, but it isn’t professional. Were you job hunting anyway? You will probably be asked why you didn’t bring it up with the supervisor.

So between client feedback, the call logs, and let’s face it, your colleagues’ feedback, there’s no reason to keep you if you’re not bringing value in some way to the business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,446 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

Thanks for all the info.

I've already applied for lots of jobs today, I'm not worried about 'not getting a reference' or any of that, I'm more worried about going back into that meeting and it being extremely awkward, that's why I don't want to go back..

The reason I did it was usually in scenarios where you knew somebody was about to crack up on you, and you didn't have any facility to do anything about it, and those days where you really just weren't in the mood to have someone screaming.

I dont care about social welfare payment as I'd be looking to get straight back into employment, some promo or cafe work, and know I may be exempt for up to nine weeks for SW.

I suppose I'm simply just seeing if the majority would go back and stick it out until the meeting, or just leave it off now and continue searching.

I realize it was a ridiculous thing to do. Performance was generally OK attendance wasn't great, but there were some personal issues going on affecting attendance which I feel they may take into account when making their decision.
    Tell them all of this. The call recordings should back you up re the difficult calls. Just go and see what happens. Don't worry about awkwardness. It'll be over you in a few minutes and you might have salvaged something to work with in the future. If you don't go it will be a black market against you and you never know when you might come across someone from management and HR in the future. Not going to that meeting could make the difference between getting a job or not getting an interview elsewhere a few years down the line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭Hoboo

saabsaab wrote: »
    Call centre work can be very tough on people it sounds like you were under stress? Have you any other issues in your life? Perhaps a call to your doctor is in order before any meeting to see their opinion. They may give you a sick note.

Exactly this. Stress. Mental health is a minefield no employer wants to touch. Check your employee handbook,.look for EAP, tell them you would like to avail of this if they have one. If not, ask them if they have any support, you love the job etc etc but it all became too much.

That's if you actually want the job. If you don't, follow the same process, milk a month, leave.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭BDI

What would happen if I got one of these jobs.

Answered the phone hey buddy how can I help ye.

If they became irate said , come on pal chill out, let’s fix this problem together, I want you to have a good service even if my boss doesn’t care.

Would I get sacked or retrained or just left alone if I was getting results?

Maybe I should just move on, moving jobs was on my mind over the last two months, and last week I actually didn't go in because I had said to myself I was done.. But ended up going back.

So maybe for the best I don't go back. Its kinda like a 'be careful what you wish for' scenario!

You might get a company who couldn't cares less who they get, because there's such choice right now and plenty of vacancies in a call centre environment for low paid employment- but don't expect the next job to be any different, so you'll be right in the same situation.

Any company worth working for, will want references- and on that front, you're in trouble- so I'd stick it out. If medical/personal issues have affected your work, that could go in mitigation- but only if- you'd have to prove that in some way so again, that's up to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,436 ✭✭✭dartboardio

If i was me I would fire me too tbh. When I started there my performance was brilliant and my attendance was OK.

The last six months things have gone downhill in terms of my performance, and of course now this.

Maybe I should move on!

I obviously take full responsibility for what I've done
    On paper there wouldn't be any reason for them to keep me on, in fact, my friend said she's surprised they suspended me with pay rather than without, considering they don't owe me anything, as disconnecting calls is deemed gross misconduct.

Thats the strange thing, besides everything I was pretty good at the job. Never got thick with a customer or even cared too much if they got angry with me. Never gave cheek etc. But for some reason got into the habit of hanging up early on an about to get angry customer, or even if I got someone who had no idea what I was saying or couldn't understand anything...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 190 ✭✭Febreeze

jarvis wrote: »
    With no reference?

Not all employees have to give references. Where I work, they don't give references. Probably a letter to state when you started and when you left, but that's not even a line on a page. Companies aren't obliged to give references

BDI wrote: »

If they became irate said , come on pal chill out, let’s fix this problem together, I want you to have a good service even if my boss doesn’t care.

You would be called up on it and if you persisted you'd be out the door. You've got to get the callers name and contact details before you do anything else and then it's stick to the script or out the door.

If i was me I would fire me too tbh. When I started there my performance was brilliant and my attendance was OK.

The last six months things have gone downhill in terms of my performance, and of course now this.

Maybe I should move on!

On paper there wouldn't be any reason for them to keep me on, in fact, my friend said she's surprised they suspended me with pay rather than without, considering they don't owe me anything, as disconnecting calls is deemed gross misconduct.

I don't know you from adam, but if you are experiencing personal/medical/mental health related issues, then i would bring that to the company's attention- I certainly wouldn't just walk- only you know why you did what you did- the fact that the company didn't fire you right away means it's likely going through due-process- unlike some companies who ignore employee rights and obligations- so you will likely have a chance to put your case forward- if you don't, you've missed the last chance saloon- going may be your only option still, but how you go- that's what may make the difference in you getting your next job. WAKE UP!!!

Op if you were ever in such a position again and it becomes too much, go to your GP and seek help or some time off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,013 ✭✭✭LimeFruitGum

Maybe I should just move on, moving jobs was on my mind over the last two months, and last week I actually didn't go in because I had said to myself I was done.. But ended up going back.

So maybe for the best I don't go back. Its kinda like a 'be careful what you wish for' scenario!

If you were only there a couple of weeks, I would skip.
    But 2 years can’t always be explained away, especially if you are relatively new to the workforce. At least try to negotiate an ok reference as part of the deal. In a few years, you can drop it off the CV.

Maybe I should move on!

Thats the strange thing, besides everything I was pretty good at the job. Never got thick with a customer or even cared too much if they got angry with me. Never gave cheek etc. But for some reason got into the habit of hanging up early on an about to get angry customer, or even if I got someone who had no idea what I was saying or couldn't understand anything...

Sounds like burn out. The fact you've been suspended with pay I'd view as a hopefully sign. Go to the meeting and plead your case. If you don't go you are doing yourself a disservice in the long term.

I don't know you from adam, but if you are experiencing personal/medical/mental health related issues, then i would bring that to the company's attention- I certainly wouldn't just walk- only you know why you did what you did- the fact that the company didn't fire you right away means it's likely going through due-process- unlike some companies who ignore employee rights and obligations- so you will likely have a chance to put your case forward- if you don't, you've missed the last chance saloon- going may be your only option still, but how you go- that's what may make the difference in you getting your next job. WAKE UP!!!

“Mental health” needs to stop being a get-out for everything.

A thread like this has popped up a few times. Is this a thing in call centres? All you have to do is answer the phone and speak. It’s actually heroic levels of laziness.

What is the company doing wrong that staff feel they can’t keep a headset on and speak to somebody about something they are trained to fix. Can you go to the meeting and help them understand what is going wrong with the place where staff are so demotivated. Could you ask for a change in role.

It sounds absolutely Dickensian that somebody would be so demotivated they couldn’t be arsed speaking on the phone. Are you lashing out?

You should go to the meeting to help them help the other employees. You could come in in your dressing gown and do that job like. Slippers on and coffee.

You make it sound like I said the job was hard, did you read at all? The job itself is pxss easy. To be honest it's the job itself that makes you lazy. Makes you want to hang up on people or not answer calls.

But anyway, thanks for the slippers and coffee comment.. Pity it doesn't fit the bill.

Think I just need to go back to a more active job rather than sitting down staring at a computer all day having people who can barely read or write cry down the phone to me and tell me I'm in the wrong for telling them guidelines.

Anyways..sure look.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 421 ✭✭HorrorScope

Well calling a customer “buddy” and “pal” will probably get you an instant fail in your 3 x weekly call monitoring. Then you’ll do it one day to some absolutely colossal self important dick on the phone and he’ll blow a fuse and escalate the situation until your manager has to take over the call....and then you’ll probably be fired for repeatedly ignoring instructions. All for minimum wage. Living the dream eh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,596 ✭✭✭jippo nolan

No judgement please. I know what I've done is ridiculous

Yesterday I got suspended from work for the week with pay because they noticed I had been disconnecting calls (I work in a call centre) I had been doing this for a few week/months every few days. They only know about six or seven occasions but suspended me so they could look further into it.

Obviously I admitted it straight away, and I'm embarrassed and ashamed.

They are having me back for a meeting next week to discuss the 'outcome' but in my eyes I'm just like, ah that's the job gone, I'm not going back to be told oh yeah we found you done that another 150 times heres your p45

Would you just never return and start looking for more jobs? Or have the balls to go in and do the outcome meeting?

PS. I was there two years

Never admit to anything!

“Mental health” needs to stop being a get-out for everything.

I did say "if"- I'm not saying it's the case in this situation, but considering the OP is an established boards user for the last few years, I was willing to give them, the benefit of the doubt, considering I don't know them.

however, by the OP's own admittance in subsequent posts such as above- "it's the job that makes you lazy" - I've lost total interest in this thread now.

Never admit to anything!

No comment, best advice anyone could ever be given, used it myself.
    It's great because it can confuse them and it leaves it harder as they must prove beyond reasonable doubt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,923 ✭✭✭✭road_high

Why not do what everyone does these days in these circumstances- claim extreme mental stress and that you basically flipped out ? They can’t really say no you didn’t

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,634 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

Suspended with pay usually means you’ll be sacked. Don’t worry either way. If you’re applying for new roles, don’t specify that you’ve left your current role. Just put September ‘17 - date on it. At any interview, just state that you’re still employed there. That way, you won’t need to give a reference from that company, just your role before it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,695 ✭✭✭Muppet Man

I'd go back in for the meeting. Believe it or not it's a useful learning exercise to be sacked. It will Stand well to you if you are ever in a similar situation. Learning to keep calm and not retaliate when getting the bad news can be quite empowering. Good luck. And maybe consider a different career.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,098 ✭✭✭OU812

You’ve admitted to a few. Go to the meeting, don’t admit to any more. If they’re going to fire you, get fired for misconduct rather than gross misconduct.

Admit to nothing apart from the already copped ones and let them prove the others.

No point taking the blame for something they’re not aware of.

If you keep your job, don’t do it again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,172 ✭✭✭cannotlogin

I don't understand it.

It's self sabotage and there's no way you could have thought you would continue to get away with it and would have known the likely consequences.

Why do it rather than just get a new job, or hand in your notice? What were you trying to achieve? Wanting to be fired rather than quiting.

If I was the employer, that's what I would be wondering.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 109 ✭✭isohon

Yesterday I got suspended from work for the week with pay because they noticed I had been disconnecting calls (I work in a call centre) I had been doing this for a few week/months every few days. They only know about six or seven occasions but suspended me so they could look further into it.

Obviously I admitted it straight away, and I'm embarrassed and ashamed.

They are having me back for a meeting next week to discuss the 'outcome' but in my eyes I'm just like, ah that's the job gone, I'm not going back to be told oh yeah we found you done that another 150 times heres your p45

Would you just never return and start looking for more jobs? Or have the balls to go in and do the outcome meeting?

PS. I was there two years

I've worked in a call centre, so I get it.

Go to the meeting. Whether you get to keep the job or not, and it is highly unlikely you will. Go the meeting and face the consequences. You already anticipate(know) that they will terminate you so you are dealing with the worst outcome already anyway.

Go and continue as you have to acknowledge that you did wrong, and without seeking to defend yourself. This is a lesson for you to learn, and you won't learn it fully if you don't face it fully.

I don't understand it.

It's self sabotage and there's no way you could have thought you would continue to get away with it and would have known the likely consequences.

Why do it rather than just get a new job, or hand in your notice? What were you trying to achieve? Wanting to be fired rather than quiting.

If I was the employer, that's what I would be wondering.

Obviously I thought I was getting away with it as I was doing it for so long to be honest.

I have known little scumbags coming in and working there for 2 months and then doing things like this on purpose, trying to get sacked.

That was not what I was trying to do (believe it or not) I'm 21 and have never been on the dole once,
    working in hospitality sector type jobs since the age of 16,

It's just whatever clicked in my head I suppose, to start acting the maggot on the sly thinking I could get away with it forever.

Lesson learned as they say.

And I appreciate all the constructive feedback.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭BDI

Why do you people do that crap for minimum wage? Have you no self worth? Lecturing me on my phrasing of a question. I spent today on an outdoor building site, lashing all day, hard slog, I could work a call center gig in a dressing gown that’s what I meant.

I however get treated with respect and paid decently. They have entry level jobs for unskilled laborers on about 13 quid an hour and you could go up quickly to about 16 or 17 and then more depending on how you apply yourself or get lucky opportunitywise.

Anybody comes near me moaning or cursing and blinding will get told to come back when they have calmed down.

I interviewed for one of these jobs years ago during the recession and they didn’t give me one. I suspect they sensed I had a spine.
    Go to a construction recruitment agency and tell them you can use a cloth and you will have a job within a week no questions asked. 13 euro an hour.

I’d take the dole rather than work in the call centre industry. If the call centre industry have a problem with that they can improve their terms and conditions.

I’m sorry if I upset you but my heart is in the right place. Go in and tell them why you don’t want the job anymore in a balanced manner. Then ask them for a good reference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 987 ✭✭✭redarmyblues

Obviously I thought I was getting away with it as I was doing it for so long to be honest.

I have known little scumbags coming in and working there for 2 months and then doing things like this on purpose, trying to get sacked.

That was not what I was trying to do (believe it or not) I'm 21 and have never been on the dole in my life, working in hospitality sector type jobs since the age of 16

It's just whatever clicked in my head I suppose, to start acting the maggot on the sly thinking I could get away with it forever.

Lesson learned as they say.

And I appreciate all the constructive feedback.

You're coming 21 and never been on the Dole, well done you but judging by your attitude you have a big future on it. But don't worry this country has a super generous Welfare System where they ask no questions, not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,865 ✭✭✭Peatys

You're coming 21 and never been on the Dole, well done you but judging by your attitude you have a big future on it. But don't worry this country has a super generous Welfare System where they ask no questions, not.

You glad you got that off your chest?