The Worst English Language Accent

Knacker Dublin. Often meant I was about to get in a fight if I heard that one growing up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 512 ✭✭✭dvdman1

Some accents from Northern Ireland i think sound nice, some can be very calm and clear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,644 ✭✭✭newport2

Jacob Reese Mogg's accent.

I can't listen to him for more than 30 seconds without wanting to punch the TV.
    Disclaimer: It probably wouldn't bother me as much if the content was different.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,880 ✭✭✭corks finest

Your Face wrote:
    Cork.

Jealousy rears its head,,,,as Niall Toibin- said when asked about being born in Cork"I'm just grateful"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,860 ✭✭✭Ragnar Lothbrok

Dunno how far up the M1 (or over the M4) you have to go to start seeing the change in accent though. Nottingham would be similar to London with a slight twang.

I'm from near Nottingham (about 20 miles away) and I can tell you that in no way do they sound anything at all like Londoners.

I can't stand most southern English accents, particularly the Cockney Geezer type accent. Anywhere south of Northampton and it hurts my ears (the south west Devon/Cornwall farmer-type accent is OK).

I also dislike the Brummie accent, I think it makes people sound really dim-witted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,594 ✭✭✭✭Tom Mann Centuria

I'm from near Nottingham (about 20 miles away) and I can tell you that in no way do they sound anything at all like Londoners.

I also dislike the Brummie accent, I think it makes people sound really dim-witted.

Mansfield/Derby/Nottingham accents don't make people sound like rocket scientists either!

Oh well, give me an easy life and a peaceful death.

Mansfield/Derby/Nottingham accents don't make people sound like rocket scientists either!

I hold my hands up! Fair point.

30 years living in Cork and I still sound like I've just finished a shift down t' pit :D

Whenever I go back to Derbyshire I feel as though everyone speaks like their batteries are running down! I'm just as bad, apparently.

I can't stand most southern English accents, particularly the Cockney Geezer type accent. Anywhere south of Northampton and it hurts my ears (the south west Devon/Cornwall farmer-type accent is OK).

I’m a Londoner :(

My neighbour is from Nottingham and I’d associate her accent with southern ones than northern ones. But I guess if you’re from that area you notice the difference more.

SORRY

it’s the other one that begins with N.

NORTHHAMPTON

I’m a Londoner :(

My neighbour is from Nottingham and I’d associate her accent with southern ones than northern ones. But I guess if you’re from that area you notice the difference more.

Maybe it's changed in the last 30 years. I would always have thought the Nottingham and Derby accents were very similar. Not quite northern accents but certainly not southern accents.

I was from a few miles north of Derby/Nottingham, and we were much more northern sounding than the city accents. It's noticeable today though that even in the area I'm from (which used to be a mixture of farming and coal mining) there is much less of a northern sound among school children. Television and the influx of people from more southern areas probably explains this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,160 ✭✭✭✭the beer revolu

Maybe it's changed in the last 30 years. I would always have thought the Nottingham and Derby accents were very similar. Not quite northern accents but certainly not southern accents.

I was from a few miles north of Derby/Nottingham, and we were much more northern sounding than the city accents. It's noticeable today though that even in the area I'm from (which used to be a mixture of farming and coal mining) there is much less of a northern sound among school children. Television and the influx of people from more southern areas probably explains this.

No, I'm not from the South, I'm from further North than you.
    Dave Gedge, The Wedding Present.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,312 ✭✭✭nthclare

Liverpool

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,209 ✭✭✭Mr Tickle

Either extreme of the dublin accent bothers me. Think Brian Kerr towards one end and Luke Fitzgerald (or that other Eir Sport commentator, might be Conor Morris) on the other. There's a lot in between that's grand.
    I like a lot of the Northern ones too. I'm not familiar with the full range but i know i've found the Donegal, Belfast and Derry ones quite nice in the past.
    There's a certain stripe of the midlands that sets my teeth on edge at times. Think Cavan, Offaly, Laois and Louth.

Also, and i know this isn't a specific geographical accent, "Question Speak" actually hurts my brain to listen to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,033 ✭✭✭Brock Turnpike

South African
    New Zealand
    Australian (not all, but a lot)
    D4

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭Stevieluvsye

Can't remember what i said when we did this thread about a week ago but it was probably west tallaght, ye, west tallaght

• Closed Accounts Posts: 321 ✭✭171170

Actually both of them have recognisably Irish accents. They're a variation on the English public school upper crust accent but definitely Irish. Especially Norris.

Another thing that raises my hackles is anyone who commences a sentence with "Actually", usually pronounced "Ectually"!!

Given that Ross was educated in an actual (yep!) English Public School, it's a tad uncharitable of you to slur his authentic " English public school upper crust accent" as containing tinges of Paddyspeak!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,712 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

nthclare wrote: »
    Liverpool

Girls with liverpool accents are sexy !!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,312 ✭✭✭nthclare

cjmc wrote: »
    Girls with liverpool accents are sexy !!!

I know for sure,in fairness they do look after themselves.
    I like the Heswall and The Wirral accent, not so much the Birkenhead and Mersey Side accent.

Although I rather fancy Jennifer Ellison she's very attractive and demour

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 531 ✭✭✭blackbird98

D4 like, they can't like complete a sentence like, without like, every second word being "like", like. Like, drives me mad, like

The croaky American accent made worse by the word selections - "I'm like soooooo stoked to eat this hamburger you guys..it's gonna be totally raaaad"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,209 ✭✭✭Mr Tickle

D4 loike, they can't loike complete a sentence loike, without loike, every second word being "loike", loike. Loike, drives me mad, loike

fyp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 904 ✭✭✭pure.conya

the UK grime/crime influenced pathetic excuse for a language

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,496 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

New Zealand

every word sounds like something else entirely , they commit genocide against vowels

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,663 ✭✭✭crossman47

D4 like, they can't like complete a sentence like, without like, every second word being "like", like. Like, drives me mad, like

Exactly and its worse when spoken by people from other parts of the country who revert to type when drunk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭Gwynplaine

Nordie, all of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,302 ✭✭✭Snickers Man

When I started this thread, I wasn't quite anticipating this. :eek:

Oh?

What were you expecting, then?

You start a thread which gives license to people to vent their prejudices, and often mischaracterise certain accents as belonging to people of a certain ethnic or geographical group. Then when someone refutes some of these prejudices with facts you're surprised?

Now that I find astonishing.

Rufeo wrote: »
    I live in Ballsbridge and hear it all the time. Well there's some sort of accent here anyway. I'll tell you, they don't sound like anything else in dublin.

There IS a distinguishable middle class Dublin accent, and it's pretty horrible. but it's neither restricted to nor prevalent in Dublin 4, many parts of which are still as down-to-earth Joe Soap as they always were.

I bet most of the people you hear are from outside D4. Many of them are even from Northside areas, or as they would say it Nwerth Soide.
    Like Clontorf.
    Or Hayth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,808 ✭✭✭Man Vs ManUre

Strabane. But it's questionable if it's even English they're speaking.

Don’t say that to the Strabanimal he is a very hot headed individual especially if u mention his ma!!
    The Wexford accent is fairly awful. But Drogheda is definitely the worst.

And people from Cork never do that????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Ipso

Mad_maxx wrote: »
    New Zealand

every word sounds like something else entirely , they commit genocide against vowels

Fond of their iggs and a drink of birr.