Should you be allowed into the post office in pyjamas?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,603 ✭✭✭bmc58

What about hospitals ?

Totally different scenario as to the original post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,603 ✭✭✭bmc58

DellyBelly wrote: »
    No... It seems to be a trend that's coming back into fashion. Think it was a thing about 10 years ago. Like back then it seems to be the lower class that do this for some reason.

Pyjamas in public ..fashion.You're joking.I hope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 712 ✭✭✭Mean Laqueefa

Paddy Cow wrote: »
    What's the point here? Your cousin has a condition that everyone is aware of and it's no big deal. I don't have autism so for me to turn up to a wedding in a tracksuit and t-shirt would be. Do you and your wife go to every wedding/family function/work in your penguin suit and princess dress? I'm guessing not.

Exceptions to the rule don't apply to everyone. Most people don't have autism and are perfectly capable of taking two minutes to put on day clothes when going outside.

Point is my Aunt trys to get him out of the house all the time, Aldi even do quiet time on certain hours for this, she also has to bring her other kids elsewhere and cant leave him alone. So he wears his old tracksuit and carries his pillow.

Lots of place like resturaants if suitable or anything really. Anyone is entitled to to wear anything they want at anytime that is not breaking the law.

And i think you know what i meant about penguin suit/disney dress as Bride and groom

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

Point is my Aunt trys to get him out of the house all the time, Aldi even do quiet time on certain hours for this, she also has to bring her other kids elsewhere and cant leave him alone. So he wears his old tracksuit and carries his pillow.

Lots of place like resturaants if suitable or anything really. Anyone is entitled to to wear anything they want at anytime that is not breaking the law.

And i think you know what i meant about penguin suit/disney dress as Bride and groom
    And I think you know what I meant when I said I wouldn't turn up to a wedding in a tracksuit and t-shirt. Bringing your autistic cousin into it was irrelevant to what I was saying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 508 ✭✭✭Fritzbox

Anyone is entitled to to wear anything they want at anytime that is not breaking the law.

That is not true, There are many strict dress codes in many places - try to get into many bars and restaurants in your pyjamas, try sending your child to school in their pyjamas.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 27,498 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

In the last wave of pyjama wearing, the ones you saw them outside in were not the pyjamas they slept in. They would have their outside pyjamas and their inside (sleep in) ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,799 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

spurious wrote: »
    In the last wave of pyjama wearing, the ones you saw them outside in were not the pyjamas they slept in. They would have their outside pyjamas and their inside (sleep in) ones.

How could you tell the difference?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 968 ✭✭✭railer201

You shouldn't be allowed to post on boards either, wearing pyjamas !

Who done the research on that one?

HeidiHeidi wrote: »
    Shouldn't be allowed out the front door in PJs

Only if you're smoking and pregnant though

The stains are a different colour, location?

0lddog wrote: »
    Do you think that the lads up in The 'joy wear PJs at night ?

Cant see any long term harm in it

Yes actually! Plenty of them have dressing gowns/house coats* too

*delete as applicable to your vernacular

• Closed Accounts Posts: 809 ✭✭✭Blaizes

Lounge pants maybe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

railer201 wrote: »
    You shouldn't be allowed to post on boards either, wearing pyjamas !
    Fine. I'll just post naked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,439 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

Pmacv1 wrote: »
    Or any public building except hospitals?

I can’t see any reason why not tbh, if they were walking in bollock naked I might think something was a bit off alright, but if I found them attractive, I wouldn’t have an issue with it :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 974 ✭✭✭decky1

Nanny State, you can't do what you want cos it upsets someone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

decky1 wrote: »

I don't think the government have gotten involved yet, Decky. I'd say their stance on outdoor pyjama wearing would be fairly soft though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,893 ✭✭✭Allinall

decky1 wrote: »

Where or when did the state intervene?

Why does everyone automatically blame “the government “ or “the state “ ?

Having said that, nobody should wear pajamas outdoors. It doesn’t make sense.

And laws should be brought in to save these people from the ridicule they deserve.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 27,498 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

I couldn't, by looking at them, but when I asked a class did they not feel scummy walking around in the same clothes the whole weekend, they gave me an education. Some of them would change into three different pairs of pyjamas in one day. It was mental.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,584 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

Sure why not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,584 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

That should be allowed too.

You should be allowed into work and college naked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

If it's okay for a public representative to go to work dressed as a tramp, it should be okay for someone to go to the post office in their PJs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 789 ✭✭✭Vita nova

Pyjamas came to the West from India and Indians still use them for daytime attire, so it's ok to go to the post office in your pyjamas in India or Pakistan and probably a few other countries.

However, wearing western style pyjamas in public can get you into trouble in some countries URL="https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pajamas#cite_note-21"]Wikipedia[/URL:
    In January 2007, the gulf emirate Ras al-Khaimah (part of UAE) introduced a strict dress code for all local government workers in order to prevent them from wearing pajamas to work.[19]

In January 2010, the Tesco supermarket in St Mellons, Cardiff, United Kingdom, started a ban on customers wearing pajamas.[20]

In January 2012, a local Dublin branch of the Government's Department of Social Protection advised that pajamas were not regarded as appropriate attire for clients attending the office for welfare services.[21]

Williams’ concerns are reflected in many school and work dress codes. Mount Anthony Union High School in Bennington, Vermont, banned students in 2011 from wearing pajamas to school, concerned that they could be a safety hazard.[24]

In Chicago, Illinois, it is illegal to fish in your pajamas.[25]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 809 ✭✭✭Blaizes

Vita nova wrote: »
    Pyjamas came to the West from India and Indians still use them for daytime attire, so it's ok to go to the post office in your pyjamas in India or Pakistan and probably a few other countries.

However, wearing western style pyjamas in public can get you into trouble in some countries URL="https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pajamas#cite_note-21"]Wikipedia[/URL:

Thanks great post the bit about not fishing in pyjamas made me laugh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

I wasn't allowed into the post office for wearing a suit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,130 ✭✭✭Rodin

I wouldn't be a fan of it.
    But it's wrong to tell people how to dress in public if they're not exposing themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,033 ✭✭✭Feisar

It's a mixed up, muddled up, shook up world

Didn't the PJ's trend start with the nouveau riche dropping their kids to school in their pyjamas as a sort of look at me I couldn't be bothered dress I have so little to do, himself is making a fortune? Sort of akin to ladies in Victorian times using lead make-up to whiten their skin, showing they weren't outside working.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,325 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

Your Face wrote: »
    I wasn't allowed into the post office for wearing a suit.

It wasn't a rubber suit by any chance. :D:pac:

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 968 ✭✭✭railer201

That's grand, I'll wear a gown, surgical gloves and mask so when reading your posts !

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,744 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Only if you’re in a parcel to be sent to Siberia.