If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Parkrun..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 An tAlbanach

sonyvision wrote: »
    Any parkruns around Waterford City on Christmas day? Heading that direction for the sillie season and want to tick another chrome parkrun add in off my list.

Clonmel at 0930.

https://www.parkrun.ie/special-events/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 283 ✭✭Sussex18

The nearest Parkrun to Jury's Inn Belfast? Ormeau is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭onrail

Sussex18 wrote: »
    The nearest Parkrun to Jury's Inn Belfast? Ormeau is it?

Yep Ormeau Parkrun is your best bet - middle of the road difficulty-wise and lovely on a clear morning.

Victoria Park is a bit further out, but a PB course if that's what you're looking for

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,387 ✭✭✭crisco10

http://tailrun.uk/nyd/2020/ie/

Handy little tool to help you find the various new years day double potentials!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 80 ✭✭Simmer down

Off for some cake at Hartstown this Saturday. Celebrating their 5th Anniversary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 523 ✭✭✭Mugser

Parkrun #200 in Tramore this Saturday. :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 544 ✭✭✭Name Changed

I'm considering going up to Belfast for a New Years Day double. Ormeau and Stormont are on and close.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,140 ✭✭✭snailsong

We'll have our first member of the 250 club in Westport today. All excited!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,140 ✭✭✭snailsong

We'll have our first member of the 250 club in Westport today. All excited!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Ran my 50th at Father Collins this morning, and had an absolute ball with my 50th balloon and great support from everyone

495444.jpg

Of course I was made run with a pink balloon, I'd great craic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭chinguetti

Did Gorey this morning and a very nice crew of volunteers and a very nice welcome but that hill! Doing it 5 times is really tough especially the last two times. The laps isn't that bad but the thought of the hill is!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,207 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

chinguetti wrote: »
    Did Gorey this morning and a very nice crew of volunteers and a very nice welcome but that hill! Doing it 5 times is really tough especially the last two times. The laps isn't that bad but the thought of the hill is!

It'll have you as fit as a fiddle!!!!

Zebra3 wrote: »
    It'll have you as fit as a fiddle!!!!

I agree, if you did Gorey parkrun for 10 weeks, you'd be super fit after it.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 19,484 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

Course record obliterated in Malahide: 14:19 (previously 14:57).

That'll stand for a while!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 748 ✭✭✭Duzzie

chinguetti wrote: »
    Sorry to correct you, but it is a "gentle incline" . We don"t refer to it as a hill 🤣🤣🤣. It is only refered to as a hill when the ED is running it.

Delighted that you enjoyed your visit though.

Duzzie wrote: »
    Sorry to correct you, but it is a "gentle incline" . We don"t refer to it as a hill 🤣🤣🤣. It is only refered to as a hill when the ED is running it.

Delighted that you enjoyed your visit though.

The first two times I was sure it was a 'gentle incline' but halfway up the third ascent, I upgraded it to hill :P:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,344 ✭✭✭Cloudio9

Course record obliterated in Malahide: 14:19 (previously 14:57).

That'll stand for a while!

Also an impressive run by the Junior in second place finishing in 15:07.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭KJ

I'm considering going up to Belfast for a New Years Day double. Ormeau and Stormont are on and close.
    I ran Ormeau on New Years Day this year. Huge numbers there. Think it was around 500-600. Nice course but tight at the start.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,790 ✭✭✭✭Burkie1203

Poppintree was a sh1tshow today.

One person sent flying by a dog not kept on a lead at the start coupled with someone else with a buggy trying to cut in from the side at the start.

Has me considering staying away in future. It's too dangerous now. People not listening to the run director and thinking they can do as they like.

People with buggys and dogs need to be made start at the back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,468 ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

Burkie1203 wrote: »

I tended to start at the back during the period when I was buggy running but in general I have never come across too many issues with them or dog park runners. You do get a few issues with the entitled other park users who let their dogs run free despite 500 people running by them and the guys who will walk against the tide rather than stand aside for 2 minutes but I just log that under arseholes being arseholes.
    Just remember a fast buggy runner starting at the back is not ideal for the people around them. Better to start roughly is your finishing position.
    Haven't been to Popintree in a while. Must revisit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Pawwed Rig wrote: »
    Just remember a fast buggy runner starting at the back is not ideal for the people around them. Better to start roughly is your finishing position.

Agree with this.

The most dangerous part of being a buggy runner is overtaking, a 20 min buggy runner starting from the back has to pass almost the entire field.

Pawwed Rig wrote: »
    I tended to start at the back during the period when I was buggy running but in general I have never come across too many issues with them or dog park runners. You do get a few issues with the entitled other park users who let their dogs run free despite 500 people running by them and the guys who will walk against the tide rather than stand aside for 2 minutes but I just log that under arseholes being arseholes.
    Haven't been to Popintree in a while. Must revisit.

The person with the buggy tried to cut into the field of runners from off the course. He never lined up properly. It's no different to a person walking against the tide. The buggy became an obstacle to avoid or else you were hitting the deck

The dog was off the lead of a person who attends regularly but generally doesn't bother with short lead, or a lead at all.

It's not the first time there has been issues with dogs at Poppintree and if the RD gets ignored then it's time to take decisive action. The chap yesterday is lucky he fell in the middle of the path and not close to the benches on the right hand side.

Other non parkrun users of the Park are mostly the same locals every week and they are brilliant.

Agree with this.

The most dangerous part of being a buggy runner is overtaking, a 20 min buggy runner starting from the back has to pass almost the entire field.

Then line up properly. Don't line up off course because you arrived last second and try and force your way into the line of people moving

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭py

Then line up properly. Don't line up off course because you arrived last second and try and force your way into the line of people moving

People are agreeing with you. It's up to the core team to address these issues head on our they'll persist until someone gets seriously injured. I would drop them an email outlining the ongoing issues that you're seeing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 568 ✭✭✭Butterbeans

Poppintree was a sh1tshow today.

One person sent flying by a dog not kept on a lead at the start coupled with someone else with a buggy trying to cut in from the side at the start.

Has me considering staying away in future. It's too dangerous now. People not listening to the run director and thinking they can do as they like.

Sounds like the lad with the buggy acted like a d!ck, no accounting for that, the fact he had a buggy obviously made it way more dangerous.

Your last line is way over the top, a one size fits all comment. A bit of cop on is what's needed. I see plenty of responsible buggy runners who start up near the front or middle of the pack who don't impact anyone else's run.
    I'll be back buggy running soon with Butterbeans Jnr. #2 and will start up near the front as I'd generally finish within the first 15 to 20 runners when running with buggy. To start at the back wouldn't make sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,613 ✭✭✭Shedite27

I'm a 21 min buggy runner, if I'm at the back I've a lot more heels to avoid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,344 ✭✭✭Cloudio9

Shedite27 wrote: »
    I'm a 21 min buggy runner, if I'm at the back I've a lot more heels to avoid

Not sure what the answer is but in Malahide yesterday a couple of the buggy runners seemed dangerously close to the heels of those in front when trying to pass. Could be nasty if someone in front had to break their stride for any reason.

Maybe they should just call out “coming up on your left/right)” so people can make a bit of space for the wide load.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Cloudio9 wrote: »
    Maybe they should just call out “coming up on your left/right)” so people can make a bit of space for the wide load.

That or a bicycle bell, but the likelihood is that someone with big headphones on won't hear or pay attention to either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 An tAlbanach

py wrote: »
    People are agreeing with you. It's up to the core team to address these issues head on our they'll persist until someone gets seriously injured. I would drop them an email outlining the ongoing issues that you're seeing.

I agree. If I were an RD on a given week where the dog rule was ignored I would be having a word with the person. If happened a 2nd time, no time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 94 ✭✭Snapgal

Coming up to Park run no 10 - really love it. do you get a t-shirt after 10th run? do organisers know its your tenth or do you have to let them know?