Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

I don't know where we're going, but I know where I am (part 8)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

My first boyfriend (the long-term one who is now the ex I sometimes refer to) took me to the bog on summer days where I'd help him cut and foot the turf. I guess when you're not from a rural background and you were never made to do it it's not a chore, and I really loved it. The sun, the wildflowers and insects and the quietness. I haven't had turf for a while but I enjoy stacking the shed with firewood and bringing baskets of it in and then watching the fire on cold evenings. Which is what I'm doing now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,807 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

Duvet Day's curfew has passed.
    The dirty stop out.

To thine own self be true

Boyfriend was busy making garages or driveways or some such stuff all day, I spent way too much time on boards!!

It's amazing how invisible people can annoy me & also make me sad for humans at the same time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,207 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

honeybear wrote: »
    Thanks Mam. It’s GAS but I spent Summers turning, footing and bagging turf and hated EVERY minute. Now, when I’m out home, my Dad puts some bags in the boot. There’s nothing like a turf fire ... never thought I’d say that!
    It just reminded me. I loved the bog. Tea and sandwiches, catching footing clamping bagging .
    Seeing dust devils and getting hit by one.
    Happiest days of my life
    Weird but true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,235 ✭✭✭0lddog

Now watching HIGNFY ( BBC 1 )

Panel includes
    um
    er
    Fintan O'Toole :eek:

..... the bog on summer days ..... I really loved it. The sun, the wildflowers and insects and the quietness......

Me2

'tis one of the great happy memories of my youth :)

Duvet Day's curfew has passed.
    The dirty stop out.

I'm here,2 drinks and then a sneaky [email]g@t...there[/email] was a surprise 60th on so I stayed for a nose..poor turnout so I hope more people will I arrive for it,couchside and just been told theres training in the morning and I'm doing chauffeur, cant wait until they're all driving themselves, think I have to buy a car for the one taking lessons at the moment,3 lessons done and seemingly its simple..stay off the roads lads lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,648 ✭✭✭honeybear

0lddog wrote: »
    Me2

'tis one of the great happy memories of my youth :)

Ah jeez lads!!! ... next thing ye’ll be telling me ye loved standing in gaps!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,968 ✭✭✭✭Mam of 4

Ah jeez lads!!! ... next thing ye’ll be telling me ye loved standing in gaps!

Or picking the stones out of the field :(

https://forumofgames.com/

Dust devils cjmc? I've heard of fairy winds as they call the miniature tornadoes that whip and whirl through fields, spinning the cut grass up in the air. Wondering if they're one and the same.

It was only 16 or so years ago 0lddog...my ex showed me a lot of old fashioned things like that, and they were some of my nicest days too :) And neither of us drank or partied :D Two teenagers doing old people things and having a lot of fun with it :D

Mam of 4 wrote: »

We picked spuds,drop6in the morning and had to fill a massive container, about €5 a day,did us no harm tbh...mine cant even peel a spud lol.

Mam knows how to bring us down to earth :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,799 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

Thanks Mam. It’s GAS but I spent Summers turning, footing and bagging turf and hated EVERY minute. Now, when I’m out home, my Dad puts some bags in the boot. There’s nothing like a turf fire ... never thought I’d say that!
    Ah , the memories lol !
    It was horrible , looking down the rows of turf that seemed to have no ending , but fun too !

Enjoy HB :)

It is well known that turf heats you about 4 times in total between all stages of saving & burning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,968 ✭✭✭✭Mam of 4

Mam knows how to bring us down to earth :D

Lol , only done it once , I wonder why ... :D

https://forumofgames.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,638 ✭✭✭votecounts

Couchside with a beer in hand watching NCIS, really love the show.
    Bloody hell it's a wild one outside with the wind and rain and fireworks going off as well, but a least it's Friday:D

......Two teenagers doing old people things and having a lot of fun with it :D

Raking hay & making a haystack ?

The shelter of a haystack, a great place to get to know your favourite fellow teen :D

Did you ever read Cider with Rosie ? :P

Raking hay & making a haystack ?

The shelter of a haystack, a great place to get to know your favourite fellow teen :D

Honeybear, I never stood in the gap, lol, but I've been an assistant on a few tedious old jobs...stone walling can be boring if you're not doing much but keeping company. Taking plenty of breaks helps :D

Did you ever read Cider with Rosie ? :P

Sadly it was all plastic bales, not quite as romantic for assignations:D We made hay while the sun shone alright :D

No! I probably should!

I've mixed my comment up with 0lddog 's, oops

Remember being thrilled to be collected by car from the bus (usually walked home from bus) to discover we were only collected as ... we were needed to pick bloody potatoes. I think I need a therapist ... this farming nostalgia is bringing up bad memories. Anyone ever have to snag sugar beets?

Sadly it was all plastic bales, not quite as romantic for assignations:D We made hay while the sun shone alright :D

No! I probably should!
    You were better off..my friend ahem fell off the bales and broke her hand but wasn't taken to hospital for 3 days..oh the good old days 😥.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,807 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

I get Duvet is posting from the pub toilet..

To thine own self be true

I get Duvet is posting from the pub toilet..

Haha I wish,should have stayed alright, there was talent conversing with me...could be beer goggles too..going g to a party tomorrow night so fingers crossed the stars align lol.

Hitting the hay. Early start tomorrow. Night all. Codladh Sámh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,314 ✭✭✭wildwillow

Did a five hour round trip to retrieve a loved soft toy for my grandchild. No sleep last night with anxiety about it being afraid to have been left behind on its own.
    The joy of the reunion was worth it and went to bed happy clutching furry animal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,210 ✭✭✭Trigger Happy

wildwillow wrote: »
    Did a five hour round trip to retrieve a loved soft toy for my grandchild. No sleep last night with anxiety about it being afraid to have been left behind on its own.
    The joy of the reunion was worth it and went to bed happy clutching furry animal.

Ah here, you are making the rest of us look bad!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,638 ✭✭✭votecounts

wildwillow wrote: »
    I am putting you up for the grandparent of year award, fair play to you and the little one won't forget it as well.
    Still couchside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,757 ✭✭✭Pretzill

Aww Wildwillow - you did good.

Couchside still - caught up on The Bake Off final (what happened there) Grahame Norton just starting on BBC Norn Iron - Gosh Julie Andrews looks remarkable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

A long long day.:( At least I wasn't out in the rain. Not long home. Suppin a beer and glad that the job was finished tonight, so have the weekend off. :)

Just reading about all that Bog/turf stuff some of you posted. I'm a City boy at heart so the only turf I ever saw was a bale of Briquettes.:D And by way of coincidence, I was working on a Bord na Mona related job all day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,276 ✭✭✭sdanseo

Drowning the week deskside with a 4 pack of Leffe (gorgeous Belgian brew) from the local Applegreen. Oddly satisfying that they have both this and Hoegaarden in a place frequented mostly by rushing commuters.

6.6% - I can still handle it. Not too old yet.
    Or so I think.

Blarrgh.

(I'm new to this thread, but not to boards. I've picked up your "side" lingo very quickly altogether. Yez need a new code machine.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

Leffe = Gorgeous rocket fuel. Duvel even better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,204 ✭✭✭Kitty6277

Couchside but thinking I’ll head bedside soon. Watching Say Yes to the Dress and just chilling out