Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rugby World Cup 2019 Japan The hunt for Webb Ellis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,023 ✭✭✭✭Joe_ Public

walshb wrote: »
    You know, an England-Wales final is not out of the question.

Got my couple of shekels on it so thats it doomed for sure!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,496 ✭✭✭Dave_The_Sheep

Well, this is finally really satisfying to watch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,913 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

I'd have loved us to have met that SA team.

We should never have lost to Japan. That was the real end of our WC

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,244 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Cant we all just agree to blame Scotland for not beating them? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,316 ✭✭✭realhorrorshow

That had to be one of the worst cover tackles I've ever seen

Matsushima is electric but his defence is awful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 96 ✭✭Margate

thelad95 wrote: »
    This is exactly how we should have seen out the pool game against Japan

Only been about 24hrs and the Irish rugby fan delusion kicks in again, Ireland would not beat either of these teams

Mapimpi Player of the Match.

How do we think this is looking?

Cant we all just agree to blame Scotland for not beating them? :D

That too. Fecking Brits! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

All the favourites won this weekend. Is that the first World Cup where that's happened for a while? 2015 had Argentina upsetting Ireland, in 2011 Wales beat Ireland. and in 2007 France beat NZ.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭jr86

Not sure where our scores would come from against SA they are tremendous defensively

Would obviously have been tighter than yesterday but I'd be fairly sure they'd have beaten us with a bit to spare on form

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 265 ✭✭Movementarian

How do we think this is looking?

Has to be de clerk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,828 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Got my couple of shekels on it so thats it doomed for sure!

Am I the jinx, or you?🤪

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,715 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

kal7 wrote:
    Do SA team not like Kolbe, maybe they can't pass off left hand.
    They've got Mapimpi on the other side.

Margate wrote: »
    Only been about 24hrs and the Irish rugby fan delusion kicks in again, Ireland would not beat either of these teams

We'll never know. Just opinions now and mine is we could have.

All the favourites won this weekend. Is that the first World Cup where that's happened for a while? 2015 had Argentina upsetting Ireland, in 2011 Wales beat Ireland. and in 2007 France beat NZ.

In 2011 I think Oz beating SA, and France beating England were upsets too?

3 group runners up got through that year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 265 ✭✭Movementarian

Did Japan just get penalised for clearing from the side?!!!!

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 8,856 ✭✭✭fitz

Finally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 732 ✭✭✭penybont exile

We'll never know. Just opinions now and mine is we could have.

Could have .... Should have ......DIDN'T

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,599 ✭✭✭ScrubsfanChris

Twice in one game! It's some sort of miracle

4 best teams in world on form in semis, top 2 in 6 nations and top 2 in rugby championship. Can't complain with that

Buzzing for the semis

Could have .... Should have ......DIDN'T

Such is sport. Relax there. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,138 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

Co-commentator on Eir talking about 6 Nations taking things out of the teams even though the Rugby Championship is the same length and requires more travel etc.

I would say potentially the teams maybe out too much emphasis on the 6 Nations, particularly in a World Cup year.

jr86 wrote: »
    4 best teams in world on form in semis, top 2 in 6 nations and top 2 in rugby championship. Can't complain with that

Buzzing for the semis

NZ v SA final...get your money on. Francie has spoken!

Sadly no NH teams going beyond this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,023 ✭✭✭✭Joe_ Public

walshb wrote: »
    Am I the jinx, or you?🀪

I dunno but my middle name is jonah when it comes to my betting right now! But ive always been a gatland man...whatever it is i reckon he has got plenty of it!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 352 ✭✭lord quackinton

Great to see felix Jones doing well. Great shot of him Erasmus having the craic.
    Another own goal by Schmidt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 mkob17

An England win next week will really make this World Cup look absolutely horrendous from an Irish perspective

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 877 ✭✭✭adam240610

Buzzing for the semis

France should've won the earlier game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,076 ✭✭✭Jacovs

Jacovs wrote: »
    Come on Bokke, make us proud.

Thank you.

adam240610 wrote: »
    France should've won the earlier game

You couldn't put a penny on that Welsh team after that, without being declared foolhardy. A lot to prove.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,907 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

4 best teams in world on form in semis

Only marginally if at all in Wales's case IMO...