Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Room to Improve (v2)

• Registered Users Posts: 17,858 ✭✭✭✭Thargor

Roof would be €20k plus to redo I'd think.
    I cant believe the sub-10k prices they're throwing around tbh...

• Registered Users Posts: 24,548 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

iamwhoiam wrote: »
    I am no expert but should a good architect not anticipate such problems?

Not on their own. The potential stuff should have been picked up in a survey, which wouldn't be the architects bag.

• Registered Users Posts: 80,988 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

They should have told Dermot they had half the money they actually did.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,257 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Et voila more money

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,256 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

He seems ok ish with an extra 18k

Totally correct decision to do all of it now.

Roof light is coming back!

• Registered Users Posts: 28,759 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

They presumably did.

That budget will have doubled by the time he's finished, you just watch.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,257 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

They did. Their budget was 150k. This will be 300k by the end.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,066 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

Not on their own. The potential stuff should have been picked up in a survey, which wouldn't be the architects bag.

Even I would guess the house was old and the roof looked dodgy

• Registered Users Posts: 4,825 ✭✭✭LirW

Fair play to Gustav, he is some placid man.

• Registered Users Posts: 798 ✭✭✭Rockbeast2

Jayziz, money pit

• Registered Users Posts: 7,505 ✭✭✭the_pen_turner

its crazy that the chimney wasnt included. its very shook looking. it wasnt hidden in any way.

They so didn't just make that decision in the car just like that.

Why can't they just show the thing as it happens without staging stupid stuff like that? Drives me mad.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,256 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

€2500 for the chimney redone ain't bad.

It's very good but I suppose all the scaffold will be there already.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,277 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

This is why I can’t take to this show. Money and more money on tap every damn week.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,693 ✭✭✭Lisha

Oh God feeling fragile while meeting Dermot could be dodgy

• Registered Users Posts: 80,988 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Why would builders not have used RSJ's in house extensions about 40-50 years ago?

• Registered Users Posts: 24,548 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

Even I would guess the house was old and the roof looked dodgy

They don't know what the issue is with the roof or the extent of it yet. It has to be investigated.

To be fair, it's easy to say you think the roof looks dodgy when it appears on screen when they flag a potential problem with it.

I've seen some jobs that turned out to be structurally fine that looked like work was needed.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭el Fenomeno

This is why I can’t take to this show. Money and more money on tap every damn week.

I wish there was some genuine thought and ingenuity, with some difficult decisions and sacrifices, in order to solve these problems.

Feels like a cop out that these families and couples just add 50-100k to their budget to overcome them

• Registered Users Posts: 16,066 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

No window that opens in the kitchen ? No way would I agree to that

• Registered Users Posts: 8,693 ✭✭✭Lisha

Dermot being shocked is funny :)

The wallpaper is rather hideous. They say whacky but I'm not seeing it as that. Final product will be interesting.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,770 ✭✭✭appledrop

Dermot will not be impressed with these two.

Going off buying their own stuff. Ha ha fair play to them. Dermot is an architect not an interior designer.

Some of their taste seems wacky but each to their own.

That wallpaper is brilliant! I love it.

Dermot, they're the ones who are going to be looking at it, get over it ffs.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,815 ✭✭✭✭Mam of 4

Let them have their wallpaper !

It's their house , their decorative decisions ffs !

They have 2 windows right next to the pane that will open.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭el Fenomeno

Where is Dermot going to shoehorn timber slats in this week?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,093 ✭✭✭Cypher_sounds

Lads if ye don’t know by now all the budget malarkey is purely for entertainment on the show.

Most of the clients are well able to afford whatever extra costs arise, no problem.

Does anyone actually live in that Monkstown house?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,770 ✭✭✭appledrop

Absolute madness. I dont care what fancy extractor fan you have you need to open a window to let out cooking smells!

Yeah I think a wallpaper like that with the right fixtures can look rather cool. They strike me as people that know very well what they're doing with decoration.