Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Darklands? The new Love/Hate?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 840 ✭✭✭The Late Late Show

Hey Late Late don't forget on Friday, Netflix: El Camino. :)

Re-watching my Breaking Bad DVDs at present finished part 1 of season 5 last night so will finish part 2 then over the next week and then will watch El Camino. It is going to be hard then to climb down to Darklands!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,259 ✭✭✭donkeykong5

rob316 wrote: »
    The school of thought was the Love Hate cast were too pretty to come across as gangsters but if you force it too much you end up with ****e like this. Hammy characters and awful accents.
    Love Hate had a core cast of characters you could root for and looked like normal lads and then were supported by proper looking thugs. That way the characters stood out and you could appreciate the acting and character building.

Nidge, John Boy, Darren, Tommy, Frano - all different and unique.
    The casting director for love hate was maureen Hughes. SHE did an amazing job. She also helped to make love hate believable with her casting.

Drug shipments in broad daylight, well I never, the guards have only gone and lifted a pile of coke off a lad acting shifty in broad daylight in the one and only Bray. Perhaps not so uninspired after all!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,797 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Well who's watching?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭Naked Lepper

me, unfortunately. absolutely dire stuff.
    fair city would prob be better lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22 Mr Regal

Was looking forward to this show, looked decent from the clips.
    Yet again we're let down by **** acting, terrible dialogue, not a great storyline, unrealistic scenes.
    Shert for shirt ?
    Burnie for Bernie etc... That doesn't happen in that life. Big no no.
    And Butsy? Ask my a**e. No gangster worth his salt is called Butsy.
    Just look at 'Shooters' set in Liverpool and mainly a cast of Non Actors, amazing, great authenticity.
    Jimmy Smallhorne is the best of this cast and he's miscast, should be a gang boss.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 693 ✭✭✭The Satanist

Hang on, is this supposed to be serious? I thought it was some kind of parody Damo & Ivor fake skanger thing. It's awful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,484 ✭✭✭Andrew00

Chronic stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 576 ✭✭✭mick malones mauser

Usual nonsense
    Dreadful acting
    Dreadful accents
    And the obsession with "gangsters molls"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭Naked Lepper

the drone footage is the best thing about this ****e

Gave it another go but not impressed. The chap who plays Damien seems a great actor. Very natural. The Dublinese is jammed up to the jaws of death with the rest.

I think this is one of the worst TV series I've seen in a long time.
    I honestly can't take any of it seriously!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,376 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

What a load of crap. Pure rubbish.

The Dublinese is jammed up to the jaws of death with the rest.

Inserting "youse" and "fuuuuccccckkkkk saaaaaaakkkkke" into every sentence is obligatory, it seems.

Uncle Goose looks like he got released from a Village People world tour rather than the 'joy

Inserting "youse" and "fuuuuccccckkkkk saaaaaaakkkkke" into every sentence is obligatory, it seems.

It's like a Fool Arms and Hog sketch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22 Mr Regal

Uncle Goose looks like he got released from a Village People world tour rather than the 'joy

😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂☝☝☝
    Absolutely. Another stupid name Goose

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

Jasus Git is fair ****e at the acting

It's like he went to Jail in the 1980's and came out with the same image!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,631 ✭✭✭baldbear

I'm going to stick with it. I want to see how Damian gets on. Love hate was slagged off when it started.

Acting isn't great here. But its not the worst.

Don't slate me. :)

Damien on top of the Hill. Is he going to start shouting "Draaaaaagoooooo" ala Rocky?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,379 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Can't understand the reasoning for the teenagers involved in MMA being the main story of it, they should have went with unemployed lads in their 20's who were desperate to make cash.

baldbear wrote: »
    I'm going to stick with it. I want to see how Damian gets on. Love hate was slagged off when it started.

Acting isn't great here. But its not the worst.

Don't slate me. :)

God love your optimism :D I think both Damien and the Girlfriend are decent characters. The rest is a complete and utter mess. Butsy?? Good grief

Can't understand the reasoning for the teenagers involved in MMA being the main story of it, they should have went with unemployed lads in their 20's who were desperate to make cash.

I think MMA had a bad reputation before this and this is really playing to it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,262 ✭✭✭✭y0ssar1an22

they're loving the drone shots. getting tiresome now the amount of them. enjoyable all the same

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 330 ✭✭Bodhran

Gave it another go but not impressed. The chaps who plays Damien seems a great actor. Very natural. The Dublinese is jammed up to the jaws of death with the rest.

His name is Dane Whyte O'Hara. Apparently he has no acting experience.

https://www.independent.ie/entertainment/television/tv-news/i-was-gobsmacked-dane-applies-for-role-as-extra-on-virgin-medias-new-series-darklands-and-ends-up-as-star-38450331.html

Bodhran wrote: »

He is the best of them. No hammy overacting. I think he has a good future in acting if he pursues it but this show doesn't. Its a complete and utter shambles. It makes Fair City look as good as the Wire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 576 ✭✭✭mick malones mauser

For a country that has produced world renowned writers,playwrights,actors,theatre companies,movie directors,scriptwriters,poets etc how f***ing bad are we at this "TV Drama" stuff.
    Doing stuff on the cheap explains some of it, not paying for proper voice/accent coaches,not paying enough extras for realistic scenes (how many times are the main actors the only people in the pub shop etc) but even allowing for that this is awful

At least no Gleesons were harmed in the making !!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,641 ✭✭✭✭Elmo

For a country that has produced world renowned writers,playwrights,actors,theatre companies,movie directors,scriptwriters,poets etc how f***ing bad are we at this "TV Drama" stuff.
    Doing stuff on the cheap explains some of it, not paying for proper voice/accent coaches,not paying enough extras for realistic scenes (how many times are the main actors the only people in the pub shop etc) but even allowing for that this is awful

From what I can gather, TV3 put this forward for Sound and Vision Funding, expecting to get others involved, it sat waiting to be produced before realising that it wasn't going to get other investors. I think it possibly barely got anything from TV3.

In fairness Blood is a much better series.... but then you can see the funding difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,281 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

Why were they smuggling drugs in the middle of the day in an actual port whilst dressed like extras from adam and paul......Whhhhhhhhyyyy?