Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Darklands? The new Love/Hate?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,259 ✭✭✭donkeykong5

rob316 wrote: »
    The lead actor is pretty good but the rest is rubbish.
    Who is the lead actor?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,737 ✭✭✭Yer Da sells Avon

It's not 'Love/Hate' so much as 'Like/Dislike'.

I've seen better acting on Fair City.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 840 ✭✭✭The Late Late Show

Have yet to watch but will later in the week. I am not getting my hopes up because I have been sorely disappointed by the tame and bland efforts of recent Irish drama that took on a subject and pretty much ended up ruining it with their restraint. Love/Hate was excellent and did so much with its budget and resources. Along with Breaking Bad, it was my favourite series of this type at the time. Sadly, since then, my interest in Irish drama has been marred by the likes of Rebellion, Can't Cope Won't Cope, Striking Out, Finding Joy and Taken Down, all of which could have been so much better. My interest in good crime drama was instead satisfied by the likes of Peaky Blinders, The Handmaid's Tale, Better Call Saul, etc. which all portrayed their gangland feuds or their hypocritical gangland country (in the case of Handmaid's) excellently in a way the Irish dramas couldn't. And before anyone says 'a good drama does not need to be violent', I agree: I also thought BBC drama Lark Rise to Candleford was excellent once more because it entered its world wholeheartedly and gave us a proper overview of it. But anyways, back to Darklands: I really do hope it is good and will be giving this a chance anyway. It cannot be as disappointing as Taken Down surely or as bad as Striking Out.

And with all this MMA theme, is this drama about a certain NOTORIOUS MMA fighter?!?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭gwalk

And with all this MMA theme, is this drama about a certain NOTORIOUS MMA fighter?!?!

No the fella in it hasnt smacked any pensioners in pubs or raped anyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 548 ✭✭✭Soulsun

Mena Mitty wrote: »
    Did I hear it announced both fighters come from the blue corner ?

Yes you did!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,828 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

gwalk wrote: »
    No the fella in it hasnt smacked any pensioners in pubs or raped anyone

Give it time.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,589 ✭✭✭✭Fitz*

I'm also fairly sure that yer man was wearing all red shorts/gloves but was in the blue corner.

• First 15 mins pure sh1t. So many cliches, so many contrived scenes to suit a very predictable story line, too many tired references to drug dealing.

The first few scenes, particularly the kitchen scene took me back to 1970's/1980's sit coms. Druggie shooting up in the fan, as already mentioned drug manouvres going on in broad day light, where is the realism in that. What's wrong with filming at dusk or at night? Too many technical issues for film crew? Just looked too plain lazy for me. Do they think the viewers are fools?

Scene of the mother at job interview. Stretching it way too far. How old is she meant to be? Father angrily declares "I'm off to the pub" the only thing different here was that he wanted a "Chinese" and not boiled bacon and cabbage.

Slightly interested in how the story involving the young brother will develop but I'd be expecting more of the same.

Won't be winning any awards this one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,272 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

I see it is written by one of the Westies so it should have some realism to it.

I might check it out if reviews start to look better in the next few weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 900 ✭✭✭seamie78

It's a tv series and they can often get off to a slow start, I reckon the show has potential, time will tell whether it's good or not. I wont be making my decision yet. As for all the comments about doing the drug deal in daylight...why not, its hiding in plain sight and actually makes sense to me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,010 ✭✭✭GooglePlus

Guns and MMA man, couldn't be bleedin' happier.

not surprised that it's
    Created by Mark O'Connor, the man behind blockbuster hit Cardboard Gangsters

as with that movie, the characters have about as much depth to them as the thickness of cardboard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,657 ✭✭✭Hoboo

I see it is written by one of the Westies so it should have some realism to it.

Brother of Shane Coates, but not one of the Westies himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,091 ✭✭✭Unearthly

What's interesting here is that if you look back at the Love Hate thread it was getting criticised first episode :pac:

Unearthly wrote: »
    What's interesting here is that if you look back at the Love Hate thread it was getting criticised first episode :pac:

Yes, most pilots lack the quality of the proceeding episodes but Love/Hate had a bit about it.
    You had a fairly strong cast for starters who've all gone on to great things. Tom Vaughan Lawlor was brilliant from episode one to the very final episode. This on the other hand is an absolute mess. I expect it to be canned after the first season. Hammy acting all over the shop

seamie78 wrote: »
    It's a tv series and they can often get off to a slow start, I reckon the show has potential, time will tell whether it's good or not. I wont be making my decision yet. As for all the comments about doing the drug deal in daylight...why not, its hiding in plain sight and actually makes sense to me

If they sack and replace both the writers and some of the cast it might have potential.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,005 ✭✭✭mitresize5

loved the fact the tide at the pier was in or out depending on what scene they were shooting, amateur hour!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,633 ✭✭✭Man Vs ManUre

Unearthly wrote: »

I watched love/hate episode 1 and was hooked from that very first episode. It was raw, vicious and new fir Irish tv.
    I haven’t seen this episode 1 of dark lands yet but I know it will be poor overall purely becos it’s VM and will be a red rock with extra gangland.

I watched love/hate episode 1 and was hooked from that very first episode. It was raw, vicious and new fir Irish tv.
    I haven’t seen this episode 1 of dark lands yet but I know it will be poor overall purely becos it’s VM and will be a red rock with extra gangland.

I am prepared that this will be poor to mediocre and nothing like Love/Hate. With the MMA theme, it reminds me of Clean Break with its boxing theme. CB was a major disappointment after Love/Hate but looking back on it now, CB was much better than the likes of Striking Out, Finding Joy, Can't Cope Won't Cope and Taken Down that followed.

When a good drama comes on, it will grab you immediately. Dramas as different as Breaking Bad, Lark Rise to Candleford, The Handmaid's Tale, Love/Hate, Peaky Blinders and Dallas all did that for me.

You notice how the Love/Hate cast also did very well for themselves too. They are often in series such as Peaky Blinders and have appeared in numerous films too. Love/Hate could have been the inspiration for numerous offshoots, spinoffs and different types of dramas done with that level of professionalism. Instead, it was a one off and RTE and Irish drama have never equalled it.

As for its ugly bastard sibling Taken Down :D

Taken Down has got to have been one of the biggest let downs ever on TV. It was painfully slow, uneventful, full of forgettable characters, full of stupid portrayals of Gardai, completely wasted the talents of Brian Gleeson and the actor who played Gar (the only memorable character, if only he'd have been given more leeway), and was depressing viewing.

It was clear Taken Down was NOT from the same team as Love/Hate despite what RTE said. Jo Spain probably wrote most of it and RTE's powers that be were censoring any extreme violence from it as well. In the end, you got a drama that had no identity. The extreme darkness in every scene, even when yer men were out golfing, gave it a cheap shoestring look as well.

Let's hope Darklands is not as bad as this. It cannot be, can it?!?!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,845 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

Hey Late Late don't forget on Friday, Netflix: El Camino. :)

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

Taken Down has got to have been one of the biggest let downs ever on TV. It was painfully slow, uneventful, full of forgettable characters, full of stupid portrayals of Gardai, completely wasted the talents of Brian Gleeson and the actor who played Gar (the only memorable character, if only he'd have been given more leeway), and was depressing viewing.

It was clear Taken Down was NOT from the same team as Love/Hate despite what RTE said. Jo Spain probably wrote most of it and RTE's powers that be were censoring any extreme violence from it as well. In the end, you got a drama that had no identity. The extreme darkness in every scene, even when yer men were out golfing, gave it a cheap shoestring look as well.

Let's hope Darklands is not as bad as this. It cannot be, can it?!?!?

On the basis that Darklands isnt a preachy load of SJW crap, it is better....but only slightly. The acting is hammy, the dialogue is hammy and the storyline seems all over the place.

Hey Late Late don't forget on Friday, Netflix: El Camino. :)

Must watch that myself. Loved Breaking Bad. Is that a follow up movie or series? After the events of Breaking Bad?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,881 ✭✭✭brian_t

Must watch that myself. Loved Breaking Bad. Is that a follow up movie or series? After the events of Breaking Bad?
    El Camino: A Breaking Bad Movie [Netflix]

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2058009503

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 678 ✭✭✭Joe Don Dante

who puts on an MMA fight in the middle of a pub in the middle of the day in a 5ft in diameter cage??? atrocious TV , don't get me started on Freddy the scouse Drug Baron .. F**k me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭BoroMan32

Watched it last night, and thought something similar. It's like a soap with an added bit of supposed menace.

Fully aware the inevitable Love/Hate comparisons will leave most shows like this on a hiding to nothing largely, but that's probably why if you're going to offer up something like this you should at least try to break away from the same old lazy themes.

Will stick with it and hope it improves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,664 ✭✭✭✭rob316

The school of thought was the Love Hate cast were too pretty to come across as gangsters but if you force it too much you end up with ****e like this. Hammy characters and awful accents.
    Love Hate had a core cast of characters you could root for and looked like normal lads and then were supported by proper looking thugs. That way the characters stood out and you could appreciate the acting and character building.

Nidge, John Boy, Darren, Tommy, Frano - all different and unique.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 159 ✭✭snickers

What was up with the copper with the quasar gun moving like a navy seal and as for the kid just randomly sitting in the back of the van so many holes in this one cant see it improving much although the poor acting and storyline may have some comedy value if nothing else .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 525 ✭✭✭freddie1970

I watched it last night and thought it was dreadful..
    Is there no acting school in ireland as acting was dreadful..storyline just stupid