The Restaurant Recommendation Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,185 ✭✭✭✭rob316

BailMeOut wrote: »
    ok booked Cornstore! Seems to check all the boxes and two weeks out already mostly fully booked so will be lively!

Myself and my wife had a great meal there last night. Very simple but executed well. Service was very quick and friendly too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭Dbu

Cork Lass wrote: »
    Went to Cafe Velo for breakfast this morning and was surprised to see prices well gone up. Full Velo is now €12.50. It consists of 2 small rashers, 1 sausage, 1 egg, half a tomato, a slice of black pudding and a hash brown (all spread out on the plate to make it look big. Served with toast and coffee - very good coffee admittedly but too expensive. I had a mini Velo for €9.00 - a rasher, egg and hash brown with toast and coffee. Again, nice but not worth the money. At those prices we won’t be back.

Ya, we used cafe velo for lunch a lot, but the prices have risen a lot over the last while.
    Last meal I had there was a warm chicken salad that was almost €14 and had 3 small bits of chicken on a mountain of rocket.
    Im not a fan of their coffee but that seems very popular

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

Yeah Velo is nice but was overpriced even before this latest price rise. The parking on the footpath doesn't bother me because you'd need to be trying to get a horse drawn carriage past for it to be any way obstructive but yeah it is ironic given the branding.

Something about the service puts me off too, I don't know if they're hiring bad service staff, training them badly or just sucking the life out of them once they're there but they all seem to be pretty miserable and unhelpful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,385 ✭✭✭✭D'Agger

On Velo: same story last visit the prices weren't a fair reflection on portion/quality/service

Haven't been back since but get their coffee from Aldi for work and it's lovely

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭whatever76

Congrats to Bastion in Kinsale on receiving a star :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭fin12

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,492 ✭✭✭kingtut

fin12 wrote: »

The report makes for sick reading. I got takeaway from there the other day :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 774 ✭✭✭Debub

Not Cork - but we had lunch in Khao Asian in Killarney yesterday - good food and great service, and large portion sizes, defo recommend if you are in that part of the world

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,132 ✭✭✭✭pwurple

fin12 wrote: »

In no way is that a surprise. Rumour around the place is that some of the staff were even sleeping on the floor at night in the restaurant part. Just appallingly run.

Even their menu was a blatant giveaway. They were serving everything and anything out of the kitchen, from pizza to indian to street food etc... there is no way that could be correctly managed for food hygiene and traceability. They'd need food storage and prep areas the size of a factory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,929 ✭✭✭Chuck Noland

pwurple wrote: »
    In no way is that a surprise. Rumour around the place is that some of the staff were even sleeping on the floor at night in the restaurant part. Just appallingly run.

Even their menu was a blatant giveaway. They were serving everything and anything out of the kitchen, from pizza to indian to street food etc... there is no way that could be correctly managed for food hygiene and traceability. They'd need food storage and prep areas the size of a factory.

Where abouts is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,696 ✭✭✭flangemeistro

I'm almost certain that place has been closed before? How many times can a place close and reopen?
    I think that's common knowledge about the staff sleeping there at night.

• Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 2,582 Mod ✭✭✭✭Nigel Fairservice

I'm almost certain that place has been closed before? How many times can a place close and reopen?
    I think that's common knowledge about the staff sleeping there at night.

It was definitely shut down before. I remember it happening but just can't remember when.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,290 ✭✭✭beer enigma

I see Lal Quila in Douglas was shut for a week in September after a food safety order

• Closed Accounts Posts: 135 ✭✭Italix

Passing Youghal today and had brekkie in The Priory
    Utterly delicious, everything was perfect, highly recommended.
    Also the have a beautiful menu.
    They also use Badger & Dodo beans, big bonus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 258 ✭✭nerwen

How many times can a place close and reopen?

Going by that Chinese buffet place on North Main street that gets closed about once a year - many! They just reopen with a new name. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,185 ✭✭✭✭rob316

roundymac wrote: »
    The van so is nicer than the chipper?:confused::confused::confused:

Yes its the original and the boss is probably there more so standards are higher. I'd be of the opinion too that the Fish Wife is better on McCurtain St than the Grand Parade one as that's where the owner spends her time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 576 ✭✭✭Mardyke

Blackrock Castle Cafe (or whatever its called)

Been there twice recently and sad to say both times its been very average. I think they've lost their spark.

The few meals I saw all looked a bit pre-prepared.

The place inside is looking a bit shabby too. Sign of a poor manager.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭whatever76

Mardyke wrote: »
    Blackrock Castle Cafe (or whatever its called)

Been there twice recently and sad to say both times its been very average. I think they've lost their spark.

The few meals I saw all looked a bit pre-prepared.

The place inside is looking a bit shabby too. Sign of a poor manager.

Totally agree - I was only saying to friend recently that its gone downhill and she agreed . Wasn't at all impressed with the food and yep its looking worse for wear - pity as its a great setting but perhaps it victim of its own success.

Debub wrote: »
    Not Cork - but we had lunch in Khao Asian in Killarney yesterday - good food and great service, and large portion sizes, defo recommend if you are in that part of the world

Love Khao. Killarney isn’t great for restaurants compared to Cork (in my opinion) and this is one of the few places I enjoy when I’m home.

rob316 wrote: »
    Yes its the original and the boss is probably there more so standards are higher. I'd be of the opinion too that the Fish Wife is better on McCurtain St than the Grand Parade one as that's where the owner spends her time.

I agree with you on the Fishwife!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 774 ✭✭✭Debub

Lia_lia wrote: »
    Love Khao. Killarney isn’t great for restaurants compared to Cork (in my opinion) and this is one of the few places I enjoy when I’m home.

had heard good things about Genting too, but didn't get an opportunity to go there this time around

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,013 ✭✭✭Markcheese

On my way to sage in Midleton, expectations are high... ðŸ˜

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,251 ✭✭✭sporina

Markcheese wrote: »
    On my way to sage in Midleton, expectations are high... ðŸ˜

just enjoy.. should be fab.. hmmm... well i just had fresh hake from ballycotton seafoods.. at home.. cudda been Sage - twas soo good - but himself if a great chef - good fish needs little addition - just needs to be well timed..

Lovely meal in sage, had their 12 mile menu, so amuse bouche, starter, fish course, main course and dessert... Corned beef and cabbage in a little potato pancake, sounds basic but probably the star of the night.....( I would have happily had a couple more as a starter)
    Haddock carpaccio with chorizo as starter, lovely,
    I had scallops with curry sauce and chips as my fish course, weird sounding, the scallops were gorgeous lightly cooked and soft, the curry sauce didn't taste of much curry wise (too much would have killed the scallop flavour), and the chips were really really thin crispy, but over salty..
    Monkfish main, with crispy chicken skin, the chicken skin was a nice crunch... Monk was lovely, mash on the side killed with salt... (even herself whos a salt fiend thought so)
    Dessert was the weakest... A bitter choc delice with an orange butterscotch (.?) and honey comb, and herself had a cheesecake, super soft silky, but didn't taste of much..
    Oh and a cheese course, local gouda, (nice) with some home made cheese biccies (not so nice)
    Ultimately I really enjoyed the meal,
    But sage is definitely still my second favourite restaurant in Midleton...

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭fin12

The Quays bar and restaurant in Cobh. Food is lovely they also have murphys red on tap which was pretty cool, never seen it before. Pretty nice drink.

Lovely meal in sage, had their 12 mile menu, so amuse bouche, starter, fish course, main course and dessert... Corned beef and cabbage in a little potato pancake, sounds basic but probably the star of the night.....( I would have happily had a couple more as a starter)
    Haddock carpaccio with chorizo as starter, lovely,
    I had scallops with curry sauce and chips as my fish course, weird sounding, the scallops were gorgeous lightly cooked and soft, the curry sauce didn't taste of much curry wise (too much would have killed the scallop flavour), and the chips were really really thin crispy, but over salty..
    Monkfish main, with crispy chicken skin, the chicken skin was a nice crunch... Monk was lovely, mash on the side killed with salt... (even herself whos a salt fiend thought so)
    Dessert was the weakest... A bitter choc delice with an orange butterscotch (.?) and honey comb, and herself had a cheesecake, super soft silky, but didn't taste of much..
    Oh and a cheese course, local gouda, (nice) with some home made cheese biccies (not so nice)
    Ultimately I really enjoyed the meal,
    But sage is definitely still my second favourite restaurant in Midleton...

sounds divine - and v inventive - but why or why would a chef salt one's chips (let the customer do that themselves..)..
    mad but its the little things like this that can be a big no no

so whats your fav restaurant in midleton?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,132 ✭✭✭✭pwurple

sporina wrote: »
    sounds divine - and v inventive - but why or why would a chef salt one's chips (let the customer do that themselves..)..
    mad but its the little things like this that can be a big no no

Em, Every single chef seasons their food. Definitely not a no no, it’s the basics.

pwurple wrote: »
    Em, Every single chef seasons their food. Definitely not a no no, it’s the basics.

not chips - that should always be left up to the customer.. and Markcheese is proof of this

sporina wrote: »
    not chips - that should always be left up to the customer.. and Markcheese is proof of this

They weren't really chips, more like thin strands of deep fried potatoes..loosely served over the scallop and sauce... Couldn't have seasoned them without salting the scallop...

Ferrit and lee down on distillary walk, not as fine dining (different style) but really good...

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

They weren't really chips, more like thin strands of deep fried potatoes..loosely served over the scallop and sauce... Couldn't have seasoned them without salting the scallop...

Ferrit and lee down on distillary walk, not as fine dining (different style) but really good...

wer the scallops over salted? they cudda seasoned the scallops before adding the chips/potatoes

you said herself's mash was over salted too.. this is the point i am making... soooo many chefs are too heavy handed on salt..

(i am ex food industry - i know about such things)..

had a v expensive piece of monkfish in Annies years ago when it was open, and twas ruined with to much salt - such a pity - such a fab fish

anyway.. monday grr