How many of your grandparents are still alive?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,819 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

All dead by the time I was 18. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,439 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Both parents and all grandparents deceased.

One of my grandfathers died in a Prisoner of War camp in Germany in the second world .
    He was drunk one night and fell out of the watchtower.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,130 ✭✭✭ballyargus

Just lost the last of mine last Friday morning. I'm 36. She was 89. I was close to all my grandparents but she played a significant part in my upbringing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 25,000 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

None were alive by the time my parents met so I never had a relationship with any of them which is something I feel I lost out on. My Dad was orphaned by 13 (His mother died when he was 11 or so and his father a few years after). My mother's father died when she was in her teens and her mother passed away about a week before she met my father.

My own kids have it rather different. As a blended family they effectively have 3 sets of grandparents (all still living), a step-Grandmother. Their great grandmother on my wife's side passed away about 4 years ago, my stepson lost his great-grandfather a couple of years back and his great-grandmother has only recently been admitted to a nursing home in her 90s having been fighting fit until about 2 years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,568 ✭✭✭Miley Byrne

TimeUp wrote: »
    Their ages? Yours?

As for me I've still got both grandmas, and hopefully I'll still have them for a few more years: 86 and 95.

Both grandfathers died at age 67.

I'm 28.

All 5 of them still flying it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭missyb01

No grandparents alive. My paternal grandparents died long before I was born. They both died in their early 50s. My maternal grandparents both died a number of years ago at age 91 and 94. I was close with them and seen them every week for almost 30 years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,888 ✭✭✭AtomicHorror

Last of mine died when I was 29, my maternal grandfather. First died when I was 13, my paternal grandfather. On the maternal side they died in their early to mid 70's, on the paternal side, both were 83.

I had a maternal great-grandmother who outlived my paternal grandfather. She died at the age of 94 when I was about 14. She had at least one great-great-grandchild before she died.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 823 ✭✭✭LFC Murphy

Zero Alive

Maternal Grandad - Died 1979
    Maternal Grandma - Died 1982
    Paternal Grandad - Died 1958
    Paternal Grandma - Died 1932 (Yup :)

I'm 43 and my father would be 104 if alive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

All long gone.
    Very different people who lived during a very different and hard time.
    As I see my own parents grow up, I see parts in them from all those years ago.
    They are probably at the same age now I would have remembered my grandparents when I was a kid, which freaks me out a little. I don't think anyone wants to think their parents are that old when mortality sets in.

I often think about them and am so grateful of all they did. Good country folk who looked after their family, their land and animals.

Sure I wouldn't be here without them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,105 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Grandmother died at age 39 of what is now a very treatable cancer, other Grandmother also died of cancer in her 60s just before i was born, both Grandfathers died when I was 8, one suddenly at 73, the other after an illness at 84.

My own father is recently gone too, but both parents made sure I knew a lot about their parents, always visited their graves, heard the stories and in fact organised family dinners to celebrate what would have been their 100th birthdays when they came around. I thought that was a great idea.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

None of them. I’m mid 30s.

Paternal grandfather died in his early 60s four years before I was born.
    Maternal grandmother died at 80, when I was 15.
    Maternal grandfather died at 90, when I was 22.
    Paternal grandmother died at 90, when I was 28.

I thought I’d be long-lived too. LOL.

My husband still gets sad thinking about his maternal granny dying and it was seventeen years ago. He truly loved her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,172 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

Aglomerado wrote: »
    All dead by the time I was 18. :(

Mine by the time I was for or five. Last was my dad's mother, who I dimly remember. Mother also deceased.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,026 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

Only one is alive my maternal grandmother aged 81. She's slowing down a bit movement wise but the mind is still sharp enough to go on mastermind. I'm 34 and if I'm as sharp as she is her age I'll be happy.

Maternal grandfather died age 76 in2009
    Paternal grandfather died age 93 in 2011
    Paternal grandmother died age 84 in 2003
    Paternal great grandmother died age 90 in 1995

My matenal great grandmother died a year after I was born but obviously I've no memory of her.
    I was close with them all but closest with my mothers father. All their deaths were hard but his hit me like a tonne of bricks. He died two days before Christmas so that was a rough one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭sunbeam

Paternal grandfather-a few years before I was born (not sure of age)
    Maternal grandfather-when I was a toddler aged 90
    Maternal grandmother-when I was 7 aged 85
    Paternal grandmother-when I was 13 aged 88

Oldest grandfather was born 135 years ago. Oldest aunt was born 110 years ago.

My parents died at 60 and 78. I am 47.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

o1s1n wrote: »
    Rather amazingly, all four are still alive and I'm 35!

They're all in their late 70s now and starting to get a bit creaky, however they're still going strong and are great craic over a few pints. :)

Had two of my great grandparents alive up until a few years ago.

Actually I have a great photo of myself with my dad, his dad and his dad all standing outside the great grandparents house.

I’m mid-30s and my parents are nearing their 70s! :eek:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 345 ✭✭Tea Shock

TimeUp wrote: »
    Their ages? Yours?

As for me I've still got both grandmas, and hopefully I'll still have them for a few more years: 86 and 95.

Both grandfathers died at age 67.

I'm 28.

Not only were all of my grandparents gone before I was your age, but both of my parents were too!

Infact all of my grandparents were gone before I was even born!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,703 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

Only ever knew my maternal granny. She died when I was 17. Grand fathers and paternal grany died long before I was even conceived

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 416 ✭✭SaltSweatSugar

None, sadly. My two grandfathers both died before I was born. I lost my granny when I was in Junior Cert, the day my exams started in fact. She was my Godmother and I was very close to her.

My nana passed away a few years ago at the ripe old age of 101. My sister was closer to her than I was and she used to favour my sister over me when we were kids but she was still a good grandmother.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,250 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Granny is 87 today!!

Unfortunately she has alzhmiers and is in a nursing home.

Im 45.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,188 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

I never knew the grandparents on my fathers side...Both had passed away before I was born.. my grandfather died from a massive heart attack in his sleep in his mid 40s ( a workaholic apparently who didn’t smoke or drink ) and my grandmother was in her 60’s and had cancer.

On my mothers side there are great genes, my grandmother was 88 and my grandfather 84 when they shuffled off.... both terrific people, had immeasurable volumes of kindness, good humor and fun...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

Mine are all dead. One at age 55, another at 91, the third at 80 and the forth just beyond 80.

They were all martyrs for a good mass.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,962 ✭✭✭r93kaey5p2izun

None alive. I'm late 30s. My parents are in their mid 70s. One grandparent died before I was born, one died when I was 4, the others died more recently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,475 ✭✭✭✭Scorpion Sting

All my grandparents were dead by the time I was 2. I’m 29. Marrying in your mid to late thirties has some consequences.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,954 ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Oh I forgot to add that my paternal great-grandmother, called “wee granny” by my late dad and my uncle, lived to the age of 95 and died in 1978 when I was not quite 3 years of age. Unfortunately I have no memory of her but my sisters recall her fondly.

Her maiden name was Annie Clarke and she was the mother of my paternal grandfather who himself lived to be 92, and was in rude health until his final year. Good genes on that side of the family! :)

My maternal grandparents were a good bit older than my paternal grandparents, as my late mum was the youngest of her siblings and my maternal grandmother - who died in 1985 aged 84 - was 42 when she was born. My maternal grandfather died of a heart attack aged 70 just a month after my parents were married in 1967, so my sisters and I never knew him. He was born in 1897, the 19th Century!

I still have a grand aunt alive - she is in the North (where my family come from) and is in her early 90s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Grandparents died aged 57, 59, 65 and 83.

Parents died aged 71 and 77.

I'm 59. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,233 ✭✭✭robman60

None. I'm 24.

I only met one (maternal grandfather) who died when I was 5.

My dad was almost 50 when he was born and the same with his father so he had died in 1973, but was already 77 by then. Grandmother on that side died at 75 and maternal grandmother died at 66, having always had a fair few health problems.

It's a pity I didn't get to meet more of them but I guess it's a reality when my parents were relatively old when I was born (well, my dad was).

Both my father's parents died when be was only young. My maternal grandfather died about 15 years ago. My maternal grandmother is still with us though. She turned 100 last March. She has Alzheimer's but is very healthy in body if not mind. Exceptionally healthy really. We've had doctor's redo blood tests assuming they've been sent the results of a much, much younger person! Don't know if that's a blessing or a curse really. The mind is gone, but the body won't give up.

I'm mid 30s.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

I'm 43. My last living grandparent was my grandmother on my mothers side. She died in her late 80s or early 90s when I was about 9. The rest of my grandparents died before I was born. My father barely even knew his mother because she died when he was a child.

I used to visit my granny in the nursing home every Sunday. One week, maybe a year or two before she died, I brought this pocket calculator with me. I did some multiplication sums on it and she was fascinated by it. This was in the mid 1980s when there was already far more advanced technology around but she had never seen any of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Raconteuse

All my grandparents were dead by the time I was 2. I’m 29. Marrying in your mid to late thirties has some consequences.
    Yeah my uncle was aged 49 to 54 when his three children were born. It was a blessing that my gran, his mother, lived until nearly 98 so his kids had a grandparent they'd remember (when she died they were nearly 14, 12 and nine - same age as the oldest great grandchild).

Now if the question was how many of your grandparents are still around?....

My gran, as I said is 100 years old and has Alzheimer's. My grandfather died a decade and a half ago.

A few months back she had a very bad fall and banged her head and had to be hospitalised. She was in a bad way and we all thought she was going to die.

I was standing beside her bed with my cousin and she was staring into space and muttering total nonsense to herself, when she suddenly turned to me and asked "Is your name 'buile'?". Now she hasn't known or said my name in at least 6 years, so I got quite a surprise. "Yeah", I said, "I'm Buile." She nods and then looks at an empty spot beside her and then turns back to me and says "There's a man here asking for you". Jaysus, gave me the heebie-jeebies.

"Hello Grandad", says I.