Arachnophobia

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,250 ✭✭✭ardinn

ive mashed about 8 big ones this week.

I bought a spider spray about 3 weeks ago and it wasnt worth a fúck

Conkers and eucalyptus oil seem to be doing ok for me at the moment in the bedroom but i fear i will still have at least one encounter soon.

Thanks, now im itchy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 581 ✭✭✭Hobosan

ardinn wrote: »
    ive mashed about 8 big ones this week.

I bought a spider spray about 3 weeks ago and it wasnt worth a fúck

Conkers and eucalyptus oil seem to be doing ok for me at the moment in the bedroom but i fear i will still have at least one encounter soon.

Thanks, now im itchy!

They contribute nothing towards rent either. Indefensible behaviour, yet even on this thread people are quick to take their side.

I wouldn't allow a stranger to come into my house at any hour, yet I'm expected to allow a spider and his family to move in for free? The poster above even described actions which could only be construed as sexual harassment, and welcomes it!

What a load of nonsense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,652 ✭✭✭AulWan

You know that myth about eating spiders in your sleep?

I was getting ready for bed one night last week, pulled down the duvet, picked up my pillow and a giant fcuker ran out from under the pillow, exactly where I was about to lay my head.

I am not the better of it since, as I am terrified of spiders. I did manage to catch and kill it (no shame) but now I can't go to sleep without shaking out the duvet and all my pillows first, and looking down between the mattress and the wall.

September is always the month for the big ones to come out. Its a horrible fear to have, this time of year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

Not kind to show images of spiders on a thread where you know folk have phobias. Thread dumped! Posters blocked :rolleyes:.

And thank you to those who posted links! Kindness is a balm.

and my cats love spiders; they eat them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 671 ✭✭✭Plopsu

The remarkable thing is how the massive feckers manage to stay so well hidden when it's not mating time.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 370 ✭✭WB Yokes

iamtony wrote: »
    Crane flies, they don't bother me at all.

It's the noise of them freaks me out.

WB Yokes wrote: »
    It's the noise of them freaks me out.

I learned to deal with daddylonglegs way back. Turn the light off, go out of the room....turn the hall light on and when he comes out? Dive back in and slam the door...

But dragonflies... OH MY! Had a very nasty experience when I was small. They traumatise me.... The noise... and their faces... Last week one of my cats leaped into the air and caught one and I could not let the cat maul it. Shudders. Hoped being so close might help as I picked it up between kale leaves, but it has made it worse. Nightmares re dragonflies..

love the feeling of a big spider crawling over my hands - letting them go from hand to hand. Never understood the problem people generally seem to have with them.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 370 ✭✭WB Yokes

love the feeling of a big spider crawling over my hands - letting them go from hand to hand. Never understood the problem people generally seem to have with them.

Deviant. :)

He my bin full of cockroaches is what freaks most people out more than spiders :)

Someone once told me that if you average out the number of species of spider in ireland over the average household - the chances are good that no matter where you sit in the house there is at least one looking directly at you at any given time.

Mad life as a male spider. Basically the ones you see running across your floor are usually males. Generally they have a **** and hoover up their own sperm into lumps in their face - then they go running around looking for a woman to dance for in the hope she will take the sperm off his hands. Quite often after the dance however if the woman is not impressed she will simply eat him. If she is impressed she will shag him and then eat him anyway. Actually she will often eat his abdomen during sex not after it.

Even if she does not eat him - bits of him break off during mating and stay inside her.

Spiders are mad :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 317 ✭✭galwayllm

I'm a spider killing machine!

My count this summer must be well well over 100, I go out of my way to get them..

I hate and fear them so much...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,166 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

It's mating season for the tegenaria domestica (big fvcking house spider).
    Most of the big lads you're seeing are the males looking to get their hole.
    The females are bulkier versions of the same but you won't see as many of them.

Imagine running around with a horn on you looking for some leggy yoke to get jiggy with when you make the mistake of entering a child's bedroom and end up being squashed by a parent as a result. Dying horny and alone, poor cvnts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,282 ✭✭✭Greyfox

I get why people don't like them, they look creepy but to be scared of spiders is weird, there tiny little harmless yolkes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,166 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

Greyfox wrote: »
    I get why people don't like them, they look creepy but to be scared of spiders is weird, there tiny little harmless yolkes

Tell that yo people in Australia.

Fear of spiders is hard wired into us because they are generally dangerous.

Irish spiders aren't but most parts of the world have dangerous spiders. Like fear of snakes or larger predators, it's hard wired into us through evolution.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,710 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

The time of year, they come in now it's getting cooler.

As do mice ,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,856 ✭✭✭AllForIt

They're everywhere these days. Boris Johnson is suffering from a sever bout of arachnophobia at the minute I hear.

britain-politics-eu-brexit-court-135000.jpg?itok=OUyZv6AI&timestamp=1569345007

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,428 ✭✭✭✭gimli2112

They're more afraid of you than you are of them.

Spiders have no concept of fear. They're a bit wary of wasps but who isn't?

nullzero wrote: »
    Tell that yo people in Australia.

Fear of spiders is hard wired into us because they are generally dangerous.

Irish spiders aren't but most parts of the world have dangerous spiders. Like fear of snakes or larger predators, it's hard wired into us through evolution.[/QUOTE

Look up "false widow spider".. here and with a bite...

gimli2112 wrote: »
    Spiders have no concept of fear. They're a bit wary of wasps but who isn't?

so why do they run when you see them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,807 ✭✭✭iamtony

I've never liked spiders all that much but would act brave for the kids sake and catch them with a cup and a piece of cardboard and free them and say they are great don't be scared, rather than just stamping on the little bastards..

Anyway this season I've seen some huuuge ones. Last night I was collecting my missus and my 10 year old daughter from the Ariana Grande concert and the biggest spider I've ever seen walked up the windscreen while we were stuck in traffic.

Tonight my daughter was on her way to bed and she called me and said their was a spider on the landing. And it was a giant. I done my usual and caught it, whilst almost pooing my pant and freed his outside of the garden. Then I went back in to the house and she said theirs another one! And it was but this bastard got away under the door when I tried to catch it. I went into the room it entered and couldn't find him but told my daughter I caught it and put it out the window.
    I don't know how I'm gonna sleep never mind her haha.

So has anyone else noticed the increase in giant spiders around? Im in suburban Dublin.
    I caught the second one that got away tonight, well I hope it was that one and not another or the house shall be burned:pac:
    My daughter called me again on her way to bed. It was in the exact same spot as the bigger one I got last night. Them must release a pheromone or something that attracts the opposite sex.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,490 ✭✭✭✭Mam of 4

I caught the second one that got away tonight, well I hope it was that one and not another or the house shall be burned:pac:
    My daughter called me again on her way to bed. It was in the exact same spot as the bigger one I got last night. Them must release a pheromone or something that attracts the opposite sex.

It was another member of that spider family , waiting patiently to latch onto you as you walked past ... but you foiled his attempts !

Don't particularly like them , but after years of hearing Ma there's a spider /daddylong legs in my room , now I just catch them and through them out the window .

https://forumofgames.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭anewme

I'm afraid of spiders and if one is in the house I'll wait at my gate till I see a neighbour to get rid.

Few weeks back, one was in bath, so filled it with water, but fooker still kept coming back, so I decided the only option was to wait till water nearly gone and Hoover him up.

Broke Hoover and could have electrocuted myself by sticking Hoover into water.

September is spider season, yuk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,980 ✭✭✭buried

One day these bucks will be the next evolutionary leap after humanity ends up extinct. The spiders will be running the game. And fair play to them.
    Anyone with Arachnophobia is just ahead of the game by a couple of hundred million years. They know what's coming.

Bullet The Blue Shirts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 789 ✭✭✭Vita nova

I don't mean to lecture but you'd be better off trying to teach your daughter to be comfortable handling spiders. It would make life easier for you and it would be better for her in the long run.
    Treatment of Arachnophobia [Wikipedia]
    The fear of spiders can be treated by any of the general techniques suggested for specific phobias. The first line of treatment is systematic desensitization – also known as exposure therapy.[2] Before engaging in systematic desensitization, it is common to train the individual with arachnophobia in relaxation techniques, which will help keep the patient calm. Systematic desensitization can be done in vivo (with live spiders) or by getting the individual to imagine situations involving spiders, then modelling interaction with spiders for the person affected and eventually interacting with real spiders. This technique can be effective in just one session.[11]

Vita nova wrote: »
    I don't mean to lecture but you'd be better off trying to teach your daughter to be comfortable handling spiders. It would make life easier for you and it would be better for her in the long run.
    Oh I did try that and she used to be grand with them and would hold small ones but unfortunately a close family member gave her the fear:( still to this day I try to convince her they are great.

https://www.dublinlive.ie/news/dublin-news/venomous-spider-attacks-dog-killiney-17177738.amp

They have made it to dublin:o if me stupid family keep leaving windows open after I've warned them about it they can look after it themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,712 ✭✭✭YFlyer

gimli2112 wrote: »
    Spiders have no concept of fear

Barstool biology.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,386 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Actually I've a battery powered hoover, it's coming to bed with me tonight thanks:D

You know a hoover won't kill them, right?

It will make them flustered and vengeful with anger management issues.

I know from experience.