De Ploughing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,810 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

They said on the radio yesterday that it was the largest attendance for any event so far this year in all of Europe. Crazy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,237 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

They said on the radio yesterday that it was the largest attendance for any event so far this year in all of Europe. Crazy!

Tell me there isn't something immensely satisfying about this, even for a Big Smoke person such as yourself:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,810 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

jimgoose wrote: »
    Tell me there isn't something immensely satisfying about this, even for a Big Smoke person such as yourself:

Eh.......

I'm just not seeing the appeal jim, even though I am a dulchie these days:D.
    I think you may need to be born into this shít to be arsed, it's some kind nature versus nurture conundrum!

Eh.......

I'm just not seeing the appeal jim, even though I am a dulchie these days:D.
    I think you may need to be born into this shít to be arsed, it's some kind nature versus nurture conundrum!

That's fair enough. Personally I love diggers - the Cork Summer Show this year had more diggers per capita than Wexford. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

... a load of pig ignorant ****ers giving out that they didn't like the price they were getting for beef. Tough **** hombre. That's the free market...

Wait. Which free market is this Paddy?
    The one where I can open an abattoir and processing plant in the garage of my 3-bed semi tomorrow morning by sticking a 'Cattle Wanted' sign on the lawn with apologies to nobody?

It's plain to anyone that there is nothing free about a market where a small number of buyers collude to ensure they get a low buying price from many sellers.

It's a natural backlash following the laws of economics, that was probably actually long overdue.

topper75 wrote: »
    ...The one where I can open an abattoir and processing plant in the garage of my 3-bed semi tomorrow morning by sticking a 'Cattle Wanted' sign on the lawn with apologies to nobody?...

A truly excellent way to get seven shades of shite belted out of you in the middle of the night, these days! :pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,078 ✭✭✭IAMAMORON

If your planning on opening a victuallers from your garage make sure you install a decent cool room for hanging your meat off and watch out for wasps, they are a bastard at this time of year.

Make sure everyone around is on for it, meat fúcking stinks pal, there is a reason why most butchers are down the town like. Stinking of raw meat.

While I am asking are youse getting decent cuts down in Carlow? I heard that the bullocks over Mount Leinster are far nicer, but the fella that told me is full of shight and charges woshious prices for beef, although he has some smashing lamb around spring time so I like to keep him sweet, I am good like that. Even though he is an awful spoofer altogether, the type of mincer that listens to Guns N Roses on a tape cassette in his Ford Granada. You wouldn't trust him with your sister like, not even for a couple of hours, in fact I have often wondered if he shifted her at Patsy's barn dance last summer, she didn't get home for half the night and she lost her jacket and had to call back for it a few days later, she was gone a while then as well come to think of it. She probably was shifting him.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 46,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

jimgoose wrote: »

pffft

Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/ .

IAMAMORON wrote: »
    If your planning on opening a victuallers from your garage make sure you install a decent cool room for hanging your meat off and watch out for wasps, they are a bastard at this time of year.

Make sure everyone around is on for it, meat fúcking stinks pal, there is a reason why most butchers are down the town like. Stinking of raw meat.

While I am asking are youse getting decent cuts down in Carlow? I heard that the bullocks over Mount Leinster are far nicer, but the fella that told me is full of shight and charges woshious prices for beef, although he has some smashing lamb around spring time so I like to keep him sweet, I am good like that. Even though he is an awful spoofer altogether, the type of mincer that listens to Guns N Roses on a tape cassette in his Ford Granada. You wouldn't trust him with your sister like, not even for a couple of hours, in fact I have often wondered if he shifted her at Patsy's barn dance last summer, she didn't get home for half the night and she lost her jacket and had to call back for it a few days later, she was gone a while then as well come to think of it. She probably was shifting him.

I couldn't tell you who shifted your sister, I didn't although I do like Granadas. Mk. Is 'specially, not so much Mk. IIs. Anyway, the point is there's fellas in Tipp and Wexford doing Wagyu cattle breeds, the meat is supposed to be only mighty altogether.

They would want to be feeding those Wagyu's with the best of Japanese feed though. I would be telling them to ask at lidl for the special counter sushi , just to fatten the foookers like. That Cairn beach spinach is no use and local Irish breds won't touch for love no money.

Talking of Jap imports I know a fella looking to drop a 2003 Honda Insignia with a sunroof if you know of anyone. It smells pretty cat inside, he was using it as a greenhouse to grow cannabis plants all summer, but she has some engine on her, I drove it as far as Swansea with a Swedish tourist a couple of summers ago, she was handy enough, the gearbox that is, the Swedish tourist got a bit fussy with me cause I wouldn't fork out for a BnB and flatly refused to sleep in the back of the Insignia, it was high summer and comfy enough once you let down the seats ( 5 door ), I ended up having to get a Hotel near Fishguard, she was savage in the sack though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

When's ladies day?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,933 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

They would want to be feeding those Wagyu's with the best of Japanese feed though. I would be telling them to ask at lidl for the special counter sushi , just to fatten the foookers like. That Cairn beach spinach is no use and local Irish breds won't touch for love no money.

Talking of Jap imports I know a fella looking to drop a 2003 Honda Insignia with a sunroof if you know of anyone. It smells pretty cat inside, he was using it as a greenhouse to grow cannabis plants all summer, but she has some engine on her, I drove it as far as Swansea with a Swedish tourist a couple of summers ago, she was handy enough, the gearbox that is, the Swedish tourist got a bit fussy with me cause I wouldn't fork out for a BnB and flatly refused to sleep in the back of the Insignia, it was high summer and comfy enough once you let down the seats ( 5 door ), I ended up having to get a Hotel near Fishguard, she was savage in the sack though.

If you get someone to buy that I've got some ocean front property in Athlone for you. From the front porch you can see the sea.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭Woke Hogan

It's no wonder the "Dubs" won five in a row. They've had so much financial doping they'll be playing as the Dublin Red Bulls next summer.

ELM327 wrote: »
    If you get someone to buy that I've got some ocean front property in Athlone for you. From the front porch you can see the sea.

Are you sure your not talking about the river Shannon, ya chancer ya. Yaboya , ya fooooking hoooer ya?

What side of Athlone are ye, Irmhí, Leitrim or Roscommon?

The Shannon always brings back fond memories for me, I can remember wearing the face of a camogie player from Rooskey, she was on a hen night in Carrick and started groping me on the dancefloor, all over my body. She came in from behind and cupped her arms around my waste when they were playing Black Betty just after midnight. She was reafing the arse of me and kept on trying to grab the front of my trousers, it got heavy like. I turned around and started dancing with her first, I was fairly pissed I had been on the Cider all day and I have been burping these really pukey burbs for a good hour. She must have been foooking hammered however cause she din't notice and half way through the summer of 69 she stated shifting me whether I liked it or not.

We ended up down on the pier and in one of those Emerald Isle cruiser ships, I was gone like a Bat out of hell once she shut up and fell asleep. I ran up the town and got the last dinner box, I was only staving. I can't remember her name.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,076 ✭✭✭Wayne Jarvis

ToddyDoody wrote: »
    When's ladies day?
    It was today. Here are the winner and runner up of the Best Dressed Lady competition.

cupla-culchies.jpg

Are you sure your not talking about the river Shannon, ya chancer ya. Yaboya , ya fooooking hoooer ya?

The Shannon always brings back fond memories for me, I can remember wearing the face of a camogie player from Rooskey, she was on a hen night in Carrick and started groping me on the dancefloor, all over my body. She came in from behind and cupped her arms around my waste when they were playing Black Betty just after midnight. She was reafing the arse of me and kept on trying to grab the front of my trousers, it got heavy like. I turned around and started dancing with her first, I was fairly pissed I had been on the Cider all day and I have been burping these really pukey burbs for a good hour. She must have been foooking hammered however cause she din't notice and half way through the summer of 69 she stated shifting me whether I liked it or not.

We ended up down on the pier and in one of those Emerald Isle cruiser ships, I was gone like a Bat out of hell once she shut up and fell asleep. I ran up the town and got the last dinner box, I was only staving. I can't remember her name.

godtí mar ata sibh

Nah I'm not living there, it's a paraphrase of a country song, as there is no such car as a honda insignia :p

Guy Person wrote: »
    It was today. Here are the winner and runner up of the Best Dressed Lady competition.

cupla-culchies.jpg
    Jaypers hai tis meself on the left. How'd you get that photo? Can I ask it to be taken down on GDPR

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

cupla-culchies.jpg

Very good. Any chance of a shot from the rear?

ELM327 wrote: »
    godtí mar ata sibh

Nah I'm not living there, it's a paraphrase of a country song, as there is no such car as a honda insignia :p

Go mo leis sceail, an typo anois , Iarmhí is fear liom a scríobh.

ToddyDoody wrote: »
    Very good. Any chance of a shot from the rear?
    Sure thing Toddy. Here are 2 culchie arses for you.

CC-NEW-DAIL-_3390329315.jpg

She is fairly mint.

mugen_honda_quint_integra_5-door.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,190 ✭✭✭Ms2011

Records broken for attendance this year, 216,000 people after day 2 with one day still to come, I'm a bit shocked at those numbers!!

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 46,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Has Athlone been moved?
    I know Westmeath is crap but I never thought the government would go that far!

Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/ .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,484 ✭✭✭Andrew00

"ploughing 2k19"

Lads roaming around with gilet jackets and the color tucked up and a pair of workpants to think they're great

"how ya now", "now a bad aul day"

Oh hit the diff and pray that she goes all the way

Young lads driving tractors during the summer with the aul earpiece on, thinking they're the bees knees

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,189 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Andrew00 wrote: »
    "ploughing 2k19"

Lads roaming around with gilet jackets and the color tucked up and a pair of workpants to think they're great

"how ya now", "now a bad aul day"

Oh hit the diff and pray that she goes all the way

Young lads driving tractors during the summer with the aul earpiece on, thinking they're the bees knees

So in other words you know fook all about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,621 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

cupla-culchies.jpg

Congratulations!

Will you be defending your title next year?:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,287 ✭✭✭Trigger Happy

She is fairly mint.

mugen_honda_quint_integra_5-door.jpeg

I had a white one of those in thee 90s. Honda integra. Great car for a young fella at the time. The pop up lights and all.

Congratulations!

Will you be defending your title next year?:p

Reported

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

Ms2011 wrote: »
    Records broken for attendance this year, 216,000 people after day 2 with one day still to come, I'm a bit shocked at those numbers!!

It’s actually a good day out, even if you aren’t a farmer, son of the soil, or exhibitor looking to make sales.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,991 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Ms2011 wrote: »

Another “record” was broken there at the weekend.

The one where the Dubs won the five in a row!!

“It matters not what someone is born, but what they grow to be” - A. Dumbledore

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis