Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Biggest scandal in your workplace (Mod Note in OP)

• Registered Users, Subscribers Posts: 47,280 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

Maybe 15 years ago at this stage a woman in one of our offices in another country was fired for running an escort service. She had been running it for several months before somebody discovered that the contact details she was using for it were her work phone number and email address.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,059 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

Not really a scandal but a mad story none the less. It's a long one, though.

I was working in a small company. Our boss told us that we had a new hire coming in. He was coming in from abroad and it was his first time leaving home so our boss wanted us to get in touch with him beforehand. The new hire added everyone at work on social media and got in touch with me. He was asking loads of questions about the place and the job. I was in middle management at the time. I wouldn't normally talk to someone I don't know but it was part of my job. He did this with a few other people. He also did it with some former colleagues, which was where things started to get a bit odd.

He'd moved over and was ready to start but on the Friday before he was due to start our boss told us he had to go home because of a family situation and he didn't know how long it was going to take. In the end, he never turned up for work. I asked my boss about it a few times but he just said he didn't know. Then he began to mention it less and less.

After that, we started talking about the guy in work. That's when we realised he'd had pretty much the exact same conversations with all of us. There were a few other things that didn't add up. He had two pics of himself on social media but they didn't seem to be exactly the same person. Someone managed to track one of the photos to a random website with nothing to do with the new hire or the area of work we were in. They eventually discovered the profile of the guy whose photo it actually was and saw that he did have loads of photos of what was obviously himself. The new hire's profile had only been recently created and he didn't have many friends. At another point, I was looking around through some papers in the office and found the new hire's CV. The photo on his CV was the one that we had proven to be someone else.

Some other stuff didn't add up. He was supposed to be doing a specific job but when he didn't turn up, no-one had to pick up the slack for what he would have been doing. He was also assigned to an office that would have not been up to scratch for the job he was going to do. It also seemed to be the case that our boss was the only person who ever saw or spoke to him. It turned into a joke at work and my boss wasn't too happy about it. The whole thing died down after a while and we never heard what happened to the new hire.

At the end of it all, we came to the conclusion that our boss had made the whole thing up so he would be able to spy on us to some extent and have an idea of what we were saying about work on social media.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,382 ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

Strumms wrote: »
    Way back in the day I worked for an international courier company. Goods of very high value prior to delivery were held in a big walk in safe... the company had a lot of contracts with jewelry manufacturers and jewelry shops who would import diamonds to make pieces etc... one day a small box that contained quite a few diamonds went awol from the safe, worth many thousands. The cctv covering the area had been defective for some time. This was only known by the management.

6 people - all management had keys to the safe room, yet in the approximate period that the jewelry went awol, unusually none of them had been on site... up to now 7 years later, a mystery.

One of them gave their key to someone else and they halved the profit.

Jessica Fletcher has nothing on me.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,040 ✭✭✭✭smurfjed

My company needed an aircraft engine for B747, the only engines available in stores were unserviceable or so the system said, they purchased an engine from Singapore and promptly discovered that it was actually one of the listed "unserviceable engines", So someone had stolen the engine, shipped it out of the country and amended the stores system to make it unusable.

Funnily enough a very low level foreign clerk was blamed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

I think you are wrong here.

The two week rule is for Employee welfare & health

I used to work for An Irish Bank. We were told the two week block was to ensure that no one was ripping customers off etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭whatlliwear

A new temp member of staff mistakenly sent an email that was intended for her boyfriend to the entire Nationwide company. The email was a long explicit one. Basically, saying that she never wanted to move to this new job or location but did so for him and his new job. That she feels like his sex slave/ cook as that's all she feels she is to him. I forget the specifics but it was deeply personal and explicit. The poor girl had to show her face the next day .. as far as I can remember she didn't show up the next day

A guy I worked with had a "photo" of his wife and child on his computer screen. But it was actually a cut out from a magazine of some famous person's wife & kids. The same guy used to talk about hating all foreigners.. he was a strange individual. He used to follow one girl around the office and make her feel very uncomfortable. She had to call HR in the end as he was so strange. In the end She had to put a huge pic of herself and her bf on her desk to give him the hint.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,913 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

I did some summer work in a place where my mum was office manager back in the 90’s.

There was a sales guy there. I don’t know what his background was - he had an English accent, but often expressed very strong Republican views. He was a knob and no-one really liked him, but it seems he brought the sales in. At some stage he bought an island somewhere in the west. I don’t remember the details, but at the time the consensus was that he actually had bought this island and wasn’t just spoofing. Of course everyone was wondering how he could afford it.

One day it was discovered that he was scamming the company and had stolen hundreds of thousands of pounds from the company over the years. He got hauled up to the MD’s office to be confronted by him, the accountant and Sales Director. From down stairs, you could hear him roaring at them, not denying anything, but saying they were all fools, he could do what he liked and that he was in the INLA and he’d have them all shot if they tried to do anything about it. He stormed out of the room, laughing and shouting obscenities at them. On the way out the door, he stuck his head into my mother’s office and politely thanked her and said goodbye, then left the building still insulting and threatening the other three.

No action was ever brought against him. I got the feeling that they took the INLA threat seriously, but they were also very embarrassed that they hadn’t discovered his scam all along, as seemingly it wasn’t particularly complicated and any of them should have spotted it. So it was all hushed up and never spoken of again.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,810 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

Fatties are always a memorable experience. They really get into it. Make hay while sun shines and all that. Pure filth. They appreciate it more than some dolly bird who does not make the effort.

I agree, I remember one new years being with a fat NI bird.

F*cking great ride JAYSUS!!

I still sometimes use it as **** bank material 15 years later!!

That accent - pure filth !!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭Stevieluvsye

I agree, I remember one new years being with a fat NI bird.

F*cking great ride JAYSUS!!

I still sometimes use it as **** bank material 15 years later!!

That accent - pure filth !!

Just so we are clear here to all biggin up the bigguns

How fat are we talking here? Washing themselves with a rag on a stick fat?

• Registered Users Posts: 81 ✭✭Monkey2019

Years ago i got a job doing admin work. The office was in a depot and I was the only female working there. I was covering a maternity leave. The supervisor of the place was a real cranky auld fella and everyone that came to the depot were terrified of him.

Anyway I got on really well with him. He would make me coffee in the mornings. Few months in I started noticing stuff floating in the coffee. It looked like phlegm floating on the top of it. I thought at first he just gave me a dirty cup but this happened every morning then. I stopped drinking the coffee he made me.

The girl i was covering for came back and i got moved onto the reception desk in the showroom. After a while got talking to the girl that I had been covering for. Got talking about the old boy in the depot and she asks me had i ever noticed anything in my coffee. Turns out I was right and he had been spitting into our coffees.

She had complained about him a few times, he was always being touchy feely with her. Came back after some hols and he had been fired.
    She had been getting filthy text messages and heavy breathing phone calls - went to gaurds - was traced back to him.

And I thought I was a good judge of character :D

• Registered Users Posts: 3,835 ✭✭✭Iseedeadpixels

I have zero recollection. I passed out and he was a gentleman..oh God what am I writing.

As long as your arse wasnt sore and full of lube I reckon you were grand :D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭gwalk

As long as your arse wasnt sore and full of his cum I reckon you were grand :D:D

fixed that for ya

• Registered Users Posts: 5,624 ✭✭✭NeinNeinNein

Monkey2019 wrote: »
    Years ago i got a job doing admin work. The office was in a depot and I was the only female working there. I was covering a maternity leave. The supervisor of the place was a real cranky auld fella and everyone that came to the depot were terrified of him.

Anyway I got on really well with him. He would make me coffee in the mornings. Few months in I started noticing stuff floating in the coffee. It looked like phlegm floating on the top of it. I thought at first he just gave me a dirty cup but this happened every morning then. I stopped drinking the coffee he made me.

The girl i was covering for came back and i got moved onto the reception desk in the showroom. After a while got talking to the girl that I had been covering for. Got talking about the old boy in the depot and she asks me had i ever noticed anything in my coffee. Turns out I was right and he had been spitting into our coffees.

She had complained about him a few times, he was always being touchy feely with her. Came back after some hols and he had been fired.
    She had been getting filthy text messages and heavy breathing phone calls - went to gaurds - was traced back to him.

And I thought I was a good judge of character :D
    Are you sure it was only spit?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8 Klemantine

Biggest scandal, was with my boss, I threw all around me away because he starting yelling at me. I told him to go verry and left. Next day He called me, said sorry, and asked if I don't want a promotion.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,316 ✭✭✭nthclare

I won't name the company but supposedly the companies head office was in South Africa and an Irish subsidiary was based in Ireland and it was up to the Irish side to look after their patch.

Anyhow unbeknownst to the head office in Africa the Irish side of the company had its own club house,bar, snooker hall,soccer pitches, tennis courts and a yacht in the ocean and cruiser on the lake, top end company car's etc

A company director came over to see how it's all working out, lets just say he wasn't happy with the cashflow...

The ostentatious 80's huh

• Registered Users Posts: 3,190 ✭✭✭Samsgirl

Carla 4 Garda

• Registered Users Posts: 81 ✭✭Monkey2019

Are you sure it was only spit?

Yea :D He was seen doing it

• Registered Users Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

Not really a scandal per se, but a former manager of the place kind of went of the rails after being let go (he'd been pretty useless for years by that stage in all honesty) Anyway a year or so afer being let go, he broke in to the office, attempted to set fire to the factory, didn't take luckily, left notes for various people and then hung himself from the balcony in reception!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,458 ✭✭✭valoren

gwalk wrote: »
    I have zero recollection. I passed out and he was a gentleman..oh God what am I writing.

Did you swab your arse for cum?

He did in his hole.

• Registered Users Posts: 932 ✭✭✭Tomw86

valoren wrote: »
    He did in his hole.

No, he let your man do it before he left :o

• Registered Users Posts: 941 ✭✭✭phunkadelic

• Registered Users Posts: 4,638 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

gman2k wrote: »
    How do you buy drugs in the States on a credit card?

Might have withdrawn cash with the credit card?

Great thread by the way :D

• Registered Users Posts: 7,544 ✭✭✭Floppybits

mlem123 wrote: »
    Doubtful, as she doesn't swing that way hahaha I don't think the guy was in the right head frame to discern which bathroom was correct

Sounds like the poor guy was set up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,537 ✭✭✭ldy4mxonucwsq6

Wow, some of them still working there - based on a quick LinkedIn search.

• Registered Users Posts: 941 ✭✭✭phunkadelic

Yeah but none of the lads involved!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭Stevieluvsye

If that's their "Top 10" then they are very much struggling. Well compared to where i work anyway

• Registered Users Posts: 3,596 ✭✭✭lassykk

In fairness most get the hell out of the Big 4 as soon as their training contract expires

• Registered Users Posts: 3,596 ✭✭✭lassykk

Not the most exciting but I worked in a local supermarket/deli during school/college.

There was plenty of bitching and moaning and a couple of absolute nut jobs working there.

Anyway one of the nut jobs was probably mid to late 20s and got with a security guard who worked there probably mid 30s. No big deal, they are going out for a while and he moves in with her in the flats above the shop.

A while later (months I'd guess) all hell breaks lose and we can hear screaming from the flats down in the shop and bags of clothes end up out in the back store which would have been accessible from a window in the flat (the security guards).

Turns out the guy who had been riding the nut job has also cracked onto the new starting blonde 17 year old and not alone that but he'd gotten her pregnant. Apparently there was a cat fight in the shop between the two girls that I sadly missed and grainy CCTV wouldn't have done justice to.

I recently found out that 15 years later the security guard and the then 17 year old are still together which means at least it had a good ending for someone.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,225 ✭✭✭facehugger99

A chap I worked with was convicted of running multiple brothels with a Brazilian lady that he was in a relationship with.

He was a very mild mannered guy, not at all what one would imagine when you'd think of a stereotypical pimp.

He was given a 2 years sentence - lost his job obviously too.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,645 ✭✭✭Captain_Crash

They'll be onto us once they see a load of random blokes looking at their profiles... haha

Crying shame number 4 on the list is married now! A loss to us all