Biggest scandal in your workplace (Mod Note in OP)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,442 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

I'd like to think some of these stories are true. A few are absolutely hilarious. Except for the one when the guy got raped. That sounds horrendous.

Wonder did he slap your mans arse though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 664 ✭✭✭starbaby2003

Back in the day when companies dropped €20k for a table at some charity event I ‘won’ the spare seat. Anyway someone at our table who was **** FACED bid €15k on a Brian O’ Driscoll rugby training weekend. Obviously didn’t have it. Put the company as the ‘payee’. Terse Monday i’d Say ! Anyway the charity went out to the underbidder(by a good couple of K)and they honoured their bid. Our company paid the difference. AWKWARD

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,202 ✭✭✭partyguinness

J Mysterio wrote: »
    Wonder did he slap your mans arse though.

I didnt get raped...Jesus Christ....**** just got a bit weird that's all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,991 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

I didnt get raped...Jesus Christ....**** just got a bit weird that's all.

Mutual “oral”?

“It matters not what someone is born, but what they grow to be” - A. Dumbledore

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭anewme

There is a local secretarial college that asks us to take in 18-19 year olds for unpaid work experience during the summer and we usually get 3-4 cvs chucked at us.

I am ashamed (or at least I should be) to say that myself and my partner blatantly take the person on purely on looks. We have taken on some full time over the years.

We have a very good looking workforce.

TBH...the cvs are all the same so you have to something to separate them out.

All your posts in this thread are bull sh1te, aren’t they?

Fake makey up sexist crap that reads like a bad mad men script.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 564 ✭✭✭fishfoodie

gman2k wrote: »
    How do you buy drugs in the States on a credit card?

"Event Catering", or "Event Entertainment"

I'm not kidding; I've seen copies of corporate card bills that only raised red flags because the person involved got lazy, & didn't cover themselves with a few sales to coincide with the imaginary schmoozing with potential clients.

anewme wrote: »

Believe what you want. No skin off my nose.:D

Mutual “oral”?

I have zero recollection. I passed out and he was a gentleman..oh God what am I writing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,991 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

I have zero recollection. I passed out and he was a gentleman..oh God what am I writing.

But you were “naked”.

“It matters not what someone is born, but what they grow to be” - A. Dumbledore

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,664 ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

Probably best to stop digging. Actually, it would have been best if he hadn't digged at all.

anewme wrote: »

Believe what you want. No skin off my nose.:D

It's a spoof though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,706 ✭✭✭valoren

Worked static security in a retail/wharf car park in Cork City during college in 2000. The park was a mixture of offices, retail, insurance offices etc. We had access to some of the offices in case alarms went off. Our security company were contractors for the night shift but there was a privately hired day manager who was unconnected to our company. He also had master keys to most offices too. He'd been working for the owners of the car park for years. He was given access by Company X to an iMac computer in their office for general stuff like printing and web access. During my induction, I was told that if we needed to print anything then we could access the computer in Company X's office. A few weeks after starting, the owners son in law was taking over the day time duties replacing the long term manager who was leaving. All above board and formal. A week after he left, the new manager, a sound guy I became friends with, took me aside and asked if I have been in Company X's office and if I have accessed the computer. Being a security guard, I had no reason to and said no. He looked visibly relieved. He said the company who had given access had become suspicious that their printer toner was getting used up and required frequent replacement. Their internal IT had connected the computer print outs to print copies of whatever was being printed from the iMac. They had subsequently reported to the Guards that images of child porn, bestiality and S&M porn were being printed, the copies duplicated and gathered by the shocked staff. The full images wearing out the toners. The time stamps and CCTV indicated that it was the ex-manager who by then had conveniently emigrated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 814 ✭✭✭debok

He definitely put it in your mouth. Was there gel in your hair when you left?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭gwalk

Did you swab your arse for cum?

Or feel sticky at all when ya woke up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭katiek102010

patrickc wrote: »
    I worked in a fast food place in the early 00's, the tills were down money regularly and we were getting blamed for it, turned out it was the manager taking money when cashing up. He was caught after robbing 10k in total.

I worked in a FF place too in 90s. Boss was a dick. Found out after I left he did the same thing

But you were “naked”.

Yes.

Look at this stage it is best I leave it at that. I have resurected some deeply repressed memories that time has thankfully helped me to forget.

There was actually another aspect to that same epic Xmas party night that involved a subsequent trip to a police station, filing a police report, stolen property and an insurance claim. Let's just say having to detail my whereabouts and having to name the gay bar in question was awkward. But we will leave that out.

Let this be my last post on the topic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,439 ✭✭✭corner of hells

loalae wrote: »
    I work in social services with children in care (place of work is relevant) and one if my colleagues was caught by one of those vigilante sting groups texting under age boys to meet up for sex! It was uploaded to their website. Caused quite a scandal and he was struck off.

Scumbag.

Struck off what ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

I posted this a while back in a thread about relationships finishing. Kinda relevant here too.
    When I worked in a pub in England a new barmaid started and we got on fairly well. She said she was over from Tyrone for the summer and staying with her sister. One thing led to another and she ended up spending more nights at my place than at her sisters. That was grand till one night her husband arrived in to the pub and tried to pull me out over the counter. It turned out she had left him and two children high and dry two months earlier. Word filtered back that she was living with a new fellow in England.
    She got the sack from the bar that night and got two black sacks from me the following morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76,168 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Our long-term doorman/security officer/whatever was replaced with two new ones with zero notice over a weekend, and an implication that "something" had happened was given. I still haven't found out and I'm in direct contact with the building landlord all the bloody time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭bigtimecharlie

Warehouse operator in a previous company was busted for drug importation. He was able to disguise packages as machine parts. Cops arrived late one night and asked manager to open his locker, lots of info inside so he got 14 years behind bars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,319 ✭✭✭jackboy

Recent hire showed little interest in doing any work. Spent his days creeping on woman. Always asking about various female colleagues, are they single or married.

He would make bizarre unsuccessful attempts to chat them up. He approached one girl for the first time and asked her had she seen anything good on Netflix recently. Uncomfortable and all as she was she just said ‘no, what about you’. He replies ‘I don’t watch Netflix’.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,076 ✭✭✭Wayne Jarvis

Yes.

Look at this stage it is best I leave it at that. I have resurected some deeply repressed memories that time has thankfully helped me to forget.

There was actually another aspect to that same epic Xmas party night that involved a subsequent trip to a police station, filing a police report, stolen property and an insurance claim. Let's just say having to detail my whereabouts and having to name the gay bar in question was awkward. But we will leave that out.

Let this be my last post on the topic.
    Was this "stolen property" your anal virginity which was taken from you that night? Just answer that one final question for me please......and the 15-20 more I will have after that. Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,932 ✭✭✭The J Stands for Jay

keano_afc wrote: »
    A couple in the office broke up, and did so quite vociferously over email. The emails got leaked (he sent them to a lot of mates outside the company and it snowballed from there). It ended up in the papers the Sunday after, under a headline "breaking up in front of the world". I work for a very large company and we all got an email on Monday saying that if we are approached by anyone asking for comment we were to keep quiet.

Rough day at the office?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭Ohmeha

In a previous company the gardai swamped the department one morning. Turned out a very well liked "model employee" team leader got caught dipping his fingers into the cookie jar for nearly 100k over two years. He resigned, claimed he was a gambling addict, got a suspended sentence and walked into a new job elsewhere. I heard later on that he got caught out as he was actually under surveillance by the company following sexual harassment complaints against him which ultimately couldn't be proven which resulted one girl having to resign from the company. Bastard

Same company a couple of lads conveniently resigned just before it was identified they were fiddling their sales figures, nothing like a good internal tip-off that you're under investigation, again both walked into new jobs no bother

In my current company a manager got done for stealing 150k and got a whopping one year sentence
    Then the usual supervisors riding younger staff on night's out, all in relationships.
    One lad got kicked in the head while on the ground in a fight with a colleague and the lad who got kicked in the head got the sack.
    One girl crashed into a colleagues car in the car park, then drove off to find a another space on the other side of the car park and did not admit to it. Obviously she got caught on CCTV and was punished with a promotion 3 weeks later, not sure if having a family member working in the company had something to do with that one

jackboy wrote: »

He would make bizarre unsuccessful attempts to chat them up. He approached one girl for the first time and asked her had she seen anything good on Netflix recently. Uncomfortable and all as she was she just said ‘no, what about you’. He replies ‘I don’t watch Netflix’.

Brilliant.

jackboy wrote: »
    Recent hire showed little interest in doing any work. Spent his days creeping on woman. Always asking about various female colleagues, are they single or married.

Is he one of the regular re-reggers around here I wonder?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,071 ✭✭✭sunnysoutheast

Think I've posted this before in another thread a while back but in one place I worked a director plugged his laptop in to show a presentation to the whole professional services team and left the room temporarily. He had left his email open which revealed his torrid affair with a junior colleague.

In a client office I worked in which was going through redundancies someone took a dump in a mug and put it in the dishwasher. Full HazMat tape etc.

One Friday afternoon a Partner's wife turned up roaring drunk to the office "where's the slag" etc. Said Partner was "at lunch" with his PA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭Syndic

I worked part time in an Irish supermarket/clothing store during college.

The manager of my department was a lovely woman; very soft and gentle, a real lady. One day she was gone off the floor for ages, few of us looking for her for different things. We heard a huge bang on the escalators leading down to our floor, she had scaled almost the entire length of the escalators and was running from two Gardai. She had been on the take, stealing from a safe in the cash office after it had been counted every day. Took about 20k before anyone noticed. She'd been in an upstairs office talking with the guards when she just took off running. They caught her on the next floor down. It was so shocking as she couldn't have been further from the type, she was like Rambo that day, scaling escalators.

There was a different scandal in that shop every week though. Few on the take, loads of married men having affairs with young sales assistants etc. Every job I've had since has been boring in comparison.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,779 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

An ex-colleague was jailed for 4 years for harassing a guy she had a one night stand with. Turns out she set up fake email addresses, harassing him and his now new girlfriend - sending them hundreds of pizzas and taxis to their address. He moved country to avoid her and she followed him, continuing the harassment. She was nabbed there and the case made the international press.

I worked out pretty quickly when she was working in my place that she was as mad as a box of frogs, she almost had me fired over a completely false allegation - thankfully had colleagues that witnessed the alledged incident.

Some fruit cakes out there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,187 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Way back in the day I worked for an international courier company. Goods of very high value prior to delivery were held in a big walk in safe... the company had a lot of contracts with jewelry manufacturers and jewelry shops who would import diamonds to make pieces etc... one day a small box that contained quite a few diamonds went awol from the safe, worth many thousands. The cctv covering the area had been defective for some time. This was only known by the management.

6 people - all management had keys to the safe room, yet in the approximate period that the jewelry went awol, unusually none of them had been on site... up to now 7 years later, a mystery.