Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Waterford GAA thread - mod warning post #1 and #51

• Closed Accounts Posts: 531 ✭✭✭Stopitwillya

brian2614 wrote: »
    Would you not volunteer for it yourself? It takes a lot more balls to actually have a go at it than it does to sit in the comfort of the stand or behind a computer screen and dish out stick

I have huge respect for people that referee games. Not so much those that sit back and criticise like they’re owed something

I am "volunteering" for it currently and I have dished the stick to his face many a time and his father. The difference is I have played both games to a decent level and know the rules of the each.He hasn't and doesn't..

His fitness is an absolute joke to.

Waterford GAA is in the state its in because of to many soft people wont say it as it is for fear of hurting the gravy train or god for bid a adults feelings when he/she is clearly s**t at what they are doing.

Could be worse. Waterford camogie seem to get Martin Quilty to ref alot of their games. Now if ever their was a ref who loved being the center of attention it's him. And as for keeping up with the play. And he is not even from Waterford.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,754 ✭✭✭thesultan

You've never seen Kissane so?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

thesultan wrote: »

I have and just don't get the problem people have. He takes no sh1t from anyone players or mentors which is always uncomfortable for people who think that refs should wait to be told what decision to make.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

hardybuck wrote: »

I remember one petulant ref a few years ago blowing up a divisional final because one supporter was in his year. The more stick he got the worse his decisions became - he actually let the crowd influence him to that degree. Then eventually he blew up and called the match to a halt like a big child.

The ref was petulant? Not the mouth breather in the crowd? The fact that people around the mouth breather didn't shut him up. But the ref was petulant. Grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,174 ✭✭✭hardybuck

The ref was petulant? Not the mouth breather in the crowd? The fact that people around the mouth breather didn't shut him up. But the ref was petulant. Grand.

The ref was well known at the time for his petulant behaviour and improved over time in fairness to him.

On the specific point about the dope in the crowd - absolutely he shouldn't have been getting in the referee's ear. However, no referee should be listening to the crowd - very much in the same way the player shouldn't. They shouldn't be influenced by them at all. Imagine David Gough getting upset by the crowd at a big game!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭mountgomery burns

Is the county board meeting next week?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭Deisefacts

There’s a meeting being called for next week to ratify peter Queally as manager. Dan, Darragh Duggan, Shane Briggs and Denis Walsh will form the nucleus of the backroom team. Not very appealing but we reap what we sow. Looking at the last 2 under 20/21 teams and I think there’s not a lot to come off it. Michael Kiely abbeyside only player from last years minor team and not too sure what could come from this years minor team as Darragh Duggan’s tactics, and behavior, destroyed what potential could’ve been a good minor team. Kieran power and jack Fagan are the only 2 to really standout for me so far in the club games. There isn’t a lot there for people who think we should have a full cleanout. I think peter might be better served by addressing the problems that are there between players, board, etc whatever it is. At this I’d be happy just to win 1 championship game next year and have all the issues resolved

They already got Jack Prendergast, Calum Lyons and Conor Prunty off last year's under 21 team. If Darragh Lyons or Peter Hogan could kick on that would be 4 off a team who didn't win a game at minor or under 21 which would be serious going. Granted the first three mightn't kick on but they made a decent start in a poor year.

It's the form of the 2013/2016 crop that's the concern. There should be 3 or 4 top inter county players and really we've only seen one to date, and Austin Gleeson was out of form this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭HelloHello1234

brian2614 wrote: »
    I am "volunteering" for it currently and I have dished the stick to his face many a time and his father. The difference is I have played both games to a decent level and know the rules of the each.He hasn't and doesn't..

His fitness is an absolute joke to.

Waterford GAA is in the state its in because of to many soft people wont say it as it is for fear of hurting the gravy train or god for bid a adults feelings when he/she is clearly s**t at what they are doing.

Certainly dont think hes the Worst for it. Had a Good game recently in the abbeyside dungarvan game. Regarding the criticism referees get I think alot of them get criticised based on the bad ones and to few of them get praise when they have a good game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,704 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Bit of a let down but be nice to have Dan's passion back on the sideline

Shane Briggs the former footballer what is his role ??

Is that Denis Walsh who was Cork manager a few years ago

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 218 ✭✭whiteandblue

PTH2009 wrote: »

Shane Briggs is a PE teacher in Kilmac and would have worked with Queally with Abbeyside/Ballinacourty doing some of the coaching, must have made an impression on Queally during his time with them.

How can they be a let down before they've even started?

so many possible names outside of the county

So did the Commitee go outside the county or did they just go with what the clubs suggested ??

What would you include in your selection criteria for a suitable candidate?

As far as I’m aware it was only with who was nominated by the clubs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 531 ✭✭✭Stopitwillya

Deisefacts wrote: »

There’s a meeting being called for next week to ratify peter Queally as manager. Dan, Darragh Duggan, Shane Briggs and Denis Walsh will form the nucleus of the backroom team. Not very appealing but we reap what we sow. Looking at the last 2 under 20/21 teams and I think there’s not a lot to come off it. Michael Kiely abbeyside only player from last years minor team and not too sure what could come from this years minor team as Darragh Duggan’s tactics, and behavior, destroyed what potential could’ve been a good minor team.

Not very inspiring. More years of playing negatively with a lack of forwards up
    front.
    More of the sweeper.

Sean power should have been given the job.

Not very inspiring. More years of playing negatively with a lack of forwards up
    front.
    More of the sweeper.

Sean power should have been given the job.

Probably wouldn’t have been the worst thing to have happened at this stage. Also our sweeper, Tadhg, will more then likely miss next year. It takes a year or 2 to get a fella playing sweeper the way a manger wants them to. So who goes sweeper then? Darragh Duggan’s preferred system is with 2 sweepers( try not to loose the game rather then trying to win it system), that means far less forwards. Jesus the more I think about it the bleaker the future looks for us. The lads over the primary schools are fighting with the lads on the coaching and games( 2 fellas in particular) over the best way forward for schools. We are in a mess at underage and are really lacking leaders

hardybuck wrote: »
    What would you include in your selection criteria for a suitable candidate?

experience with winning teams as manager or part of the management team

People that will get the best out of the players and know what there doing

Players should be consulted

experience with winning teams as manager or part of the management team

People that will get the best out of the players and know what there doing

Players should be consulted

And should that be at a particular level? Would intercounty experience be a bonus?

Should the players have a veto or should they be allowed to nominate a candidate?

Should their location be a factor - both in terms of practicality and cost?

Do we need our manager to be a multitasker and manage as well as coach, or do we need someone who can manage a group of coaches and lead the general direction the team like a Managing Director type role?

Does Waterford GAA have a brand or style of play they want their teams to employ - and should a potential manager share these philosophies?

This requires a bit more thought than assuming that a 'name' from another county must be good, and potentially better than what's available locally.

Go on name them there

I have and just don't get the problem people have. He takes no sh1t from anyone players or mentors which is always uncomfortable for people who think that refs should wait to be told what decision to make.
    He fires abuse at them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭Mastermcgrath

Deisefacts wrote: »
    There’s a meeting being called for next week to ratify peter Queally as manager. Dan, Darragh Duggan, Shane Briggs and Denis Walsh will form the nucleus of the backroom team.

Jaysus, If this is true I don’t know why they’re suddenly going back to Queally now after deeming him down the pecking order the last few appointments, not like he’s been winning all around him at club level since. also how many on the appointment committee or what was the process? Was Dan himself not on it? It looks like they just went through all the numbers in their phones and see who was available or not and then throw Dan in for good measure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 403 ✭✭carter10

Jaysus, If this is true I don’t know why they’re suddenly going back to Queally now after deeming him down the pecking order the last few appointments, not like he’s been winning all around him at club level since. also how many on the appointment committee or what was the process? Was Dan himself not on it? It looks like they just went through all the numbers in their phones and see who was available or not and then throw Dan in for good measure

In the last few days I've heard from one very credible source and another unconnected person that a man from outside the county is 'favourite' for the job. I'm surprised by who it is tbh but hope it's true as he would be a really good manager and in my opinion just what we need right now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 381 ✭✭upthedeise16

Anyone in Fraher Field tonight witnessed a calamity of a refereeing performance, ironic that lads were on about refs this week on this

Probably be wise not to ridicule the selection process, if you don't even know who the committee comprised

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,412 ✭✭✭Road-Hog

Probably be wise not to ridicule the selection process, if you don't even know who the committee comprised

Can anyone see queally and his backroom team getting the lads back on track and being competitive and challenging for titles again....!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 499 ✭✭Mulbert

The negativity towards an unappointed manager has already shown how this thread will read for months, in advance.

Usual suspects too.