Ireland v Wales 07/09/2019

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,447 ✭✭✭jprender

Kilcoyne is surely the starting loosehead after his last few performances

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

I’m not crying
    you are!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 800 ✭✭✭Rockbeast2

Rory, I love you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 687 ✭✭✭Portsalon

And Ireland once again confirm that we're far and away the best Pro 14 nation!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

Stellar performance, brilliant intensity, inventive play, pin point tactics and most importantly cohesiveness man for a man, it seems like we're coming into form at the perfect time. Lineout also steadily improved as game progressed. Great to see.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,981 ✭✭✭Naggdefy

What a servant to Irish rugby. What an absolute gent too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59,713 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Brilliant from Best!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,260 ✭✭✭piplip87

Very nice touch the Welsh lads stayed out for Best and Joe

Naggdefy wrote: »
    What a servant to Irish rugby. What an absolute gent too.

A useful character witness too, if required! :P

Portsalon wrote: »
    A useful character witness too, if required! :P

Petty. You should be disappointed in yourself.

I should have bought a 6-pack of tissues

Often said but what a unifying force rugby is on the island, especially when we think of the jingoism so rampant all around us.

Petty. You should be disappointed in yourself.

Slobbering, uncritical, hero worship always gets right up my nose. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,072 ✭✭✭✭markodaly

Much better for Ireland, but still plenty of things to ponder. A bit toothless in attack in the 2nd half and the lineout is a little bit of a worry, but overall much better sharpness and intensity. Murray had a good outing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,514 ✭✭✭joseywhales

Kilcoyne makes some impact, he broke tackles, broke runners by tackling and wrecked the tightheads elbow in about 5 minutes of being on the pitch. His S&C is showing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,742 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Fair play Rory Best...hard to believe it is such a long stint!

"Often said but what a unifying force rugby is on the island, especially when we think of the jingoism so rampant all around us.
    "

Yes!

It's easy surmise what you'd do in a given situation when not involved. He obviously thought Jackson was innocent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,744 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

Stellar performance, brilliant intensity, inventive play, pin point tactics and most importantly cohesiveness man for a man, it seems like we're coming into form at the perfect time. Lineout also steadily improved as game progressed. Great to see.

Given that we've had a terrible 2019, it's a huge bonus to see the team suddenly start to hit form and play well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,995 ✭✭✭yosser hughes

jprender wrote: »

I've been really impressed with him and he seems leaner. However Healy is ahead of him and even if he wasn't, Kilcoyne might make a better impact off the bench.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,103 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Thankfully you'll never reach those heights.

@JoseyWales

Kilcoyne has been my player of these games. He wants it.

"Kilcoyne makes some impact, he broke tackles, broke runners by tackling and wrecked the tightheads elbow in about 5 minutes of being on the pitch. His S&C is showing"

At least we have decent cover for Earls. So many positives. Only real loss is Leavy as SOB probably past it.

But every country will be down a top 5 player to injury in rugby.

Murray return to form huge. If Sexton can kick on..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,829 ✭✭✭Tigerandahalf

Clegg wrote: »
    Excellent, disciplined performance up front. I'm still rather concerned about how hard we have to work to score trys and how we didn't score at all with all that possession in the final 10.

It is the big worry. I cannot remember the last time we put the ball through hands along the backline to finish off a try within the 22 area.

Bish bosh rugby is our gameplan in the opposition 22.

Real worries for the lineout without Toner. Scotland are much more dangerous than Wales come lineout time.

There is a strong argument to drop Sexton. He is offering very little now. His loops are very easily read and he doesn't attack the gainline nor vary it enough with chip kicks or grubbers. Far too likely to pick up another knock too. He might be more useful off the bench.

Schmidt has some big calls to make.

Kilcoyne, Ruddock and Henderson brought a lot from the bench.

I can see us making the semi where I think we could up against Wales again. A tough one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,095 ✭✭✭CMcsporty

walshb wrote: »
    Brilliant from Best!
    Please pick me Joe!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59,713 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Lil Eddy looks so ouha’ place!

• Site Banned Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭Faugheen

jprender wrote: »

Again, based on what?

He’s been excellent in these games, but Healy has been one of Ireland’s top forwards in the last two years.

Bench impact does not mean you can have the same impact from the start in the big games. I’d much rather the likes of Kilcoyne and Ruddock coming off the bench to smash lads if I’m honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,742 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

It is the big worry. I cannot remember the last time we put the ball through hands along the backline to finish off a try within the 22 area.

Real worries for the lineout without Toner. Scotland are much more dangerous than Wales come lineout time.

There is a strong argument to drop Sexton. He is offering very little now. His loops are very easily read and he doesn't attack the gainline nor vary it enough with chip kicks or grubbers. Far too likely to pick up another knock too. He might be more useful off the bench.

I can see us making the semi where I think we could up against Wales again. A tough one.

Lineout was ok when Wales obeyed the space rule. Needs work though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,541 ✭✭✭leakyboots

Great second half. Still not convinced about our backplay at all but encouraging performance. Really hope Earls is okay cos he's one of few backs with a bit of spark and proven World Cup performer.

James Ryan is a colossus. What a talent.
    Kearney rolled back the years.
    Stander was good I thought, took a good lineout at the end too in the red zone - Munster use him the odd time for that, teams don't expect him
    Killer is in the form and condition of his life.
    Murray was tidy.
    Sexton only so-so
    Good to see Henshaw back in form
    Furlong was brilliant
    Kleyn gave away silly penalties which people will want to slaughter him with but tackled well and obliterated some rucks.
    Didn't think much of Conan. Pretty ineffective with ball in hand and quiet enough defensively. Was he stuck in rucks maybe? Stander back to 8 and POM to 6 for me and I suspect Joe.
    Centre partnership was encouraging.

Lovely send off for Best, one of our all time greats

We're not arriving at full tilt to the WC but it's a performance to build on. Welsh will be more concerned with their second half

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,095 ✭✭✭CMcsporty

Clegg wrote: »
    Excellent, disciplined performance up front. I'm still rather concerned about how hard we have to work to score trys and how we didn't score at all with all that possession in the final 10.

Agree with that. But that type of game style is enough to beat Scotland et al. SA? Probably. I see Australia beating Wales and an Ireland Australia semifinal