There doesn't seem to be an abundance of evil women in history

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,076 ✭✭✭Wayne Jarvis

"There doesn't seem to be an abundance of evil women in history"

The nicest thing said about women on After Hours in years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,910 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Cordell wrote: »
    Behind every man...

Elena Ceausescu.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

An Australian woman called Katherine Mary Knight killed her boyfriend and cooked him. She didn't just throw him in a pot either. She really went to an effort to make it into an actual meal. She was going to serve this meal to his kids but I think she was caught before she had a chance.

There's a documentary on YouTube about it but I can't find it now. It's called something like "Dad For Dinner".

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 600 ✭✭✭Lil Sally Anne Jnr.

Would any of ye do the sisters from bewitched?

Some would cite Indira Gandhi

First name that came to my mind too. Reading Midnight's Children gave me my first impression of what Indira Gandhi was like as a ruler.
    Thatcher comes to mind too, though at least Maggie never resorted to declaring a state of emergency to rule with (even more of) an iron fist.
    Cordell wrote: »
    Behind every man...
    padd b1975 wrote: »
    Elena Ceausescu.

Imelda Marcos (who I only just discovered is still alive; I always assumed she died years ago!), Grace Mugabe seems like a right wagon as well, not sure about "evil" but certainly not "good".

Maye West ...the only three I can think of off the top of my head
    "Is That a Gun in Your Pocket, or Are You Just Glad to See Me?" :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 91 ✭✭interactive

"Behind every great man there's a great woman'
    You hear this whenever a man does good
    Women keep quite when the talk turns to Hitler, Stalin, Mao

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,083 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

Plenty of baby farmers - from https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Baby_farming:
    Margaret Waters (executed 1870) and Amelia Dyer (executed 1896) were two infamous British baby farmers, as were Amelia Sach and Annie Walters (executed 1903).[2] The last baby farmer to be executed in Britain was Rhoda Willis, who was hanged in Wales in 1907.

The only woman to be executed in New Zealand, Minnie Dean, was a baby farmer. In Scandinavia there was a euphemism for this activity: "änglamakerska" (Swedish, including Hilda Nilsson) and "englemagerske" (Danish), both literally meaning a female "angel maker".

There weren't (and aren't) fewer evil women, we just heard less about them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,560 ✭✭✭✭road_high

Hobosan wrote: »
    That don't Empress me much.
    Wu who?

Crying laughing here at these two posts :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

Would any of ye do the sisters from bewitched?

A lovely triple decker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,220 ✭✭✭Dillonb3

Empress Jia Nanfeng. Convinced her brother in law to kill his great uncle, who was regent to the emperor, and led to the eight princes period in china

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

I rewatched Peter Jackson’s ‘Heavenly Creatures’ this week.

It’s a great film (Winslet’s first and what a debut!) that I don’t want to spoil. It’s up on YouTube in high quality currently.

Anyway, it’s based on a true life case and, eh, watch that and tell me the female of the species can’t be evil. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

Theres lots of evil women throughout history. Just because they werent infamously evil doesnt mean they didnt exist

https://listverse.com/2012/10/30/10-female-concentration-camp-guards/
    Something to keep you entertained
    Alice Orlowski
    ''Another particular evil of Orlowski’s, was throwing the children on top of the other prisoners being sent to the gas chambers in a “space saving operation.”
    Maria Mandel
    “The Beast”
    Sadistic by every measure during her time at Auschwitz, she is known to have selected Jews to serve as her “pet.” When she tired of them, she sent them off to the gas chambers.
    Ilse Koch
    “The Witch of Buchenwald,”
    Koch, it has been testified, was known to meet prisoners upon their arrival to inspect them for interesting or attractive tattoos. If she saw something which caught her eye, she had the prisoner executed, skinned and their skin made into useful items such as lampshades or book covers.
    What has also been proven is that she often instigated the torture of inmates including forcing one of them to rape another in plain sight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

Ian Brady was a fan of Irma Grese, another Nazi charmer. It’s said that Hindley modelled her look on her - the blonde hair, short skirts and boots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,584 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

Ian Brady was a fan of Irma Grese, another Nazi charmer. It’s said that Hindley modelled her look on her - the blonde hair, short skirts and boots.
    Her and Ilse Koch made lamshades of human skin from the camps.

Grese even turned her own father in to the SS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,498 ✭✭✭Wheety

Delphine LaLaurie

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Delphine_LaLaurie

Tortured and disfigured slaves.
    As reported in the New Orleans Bee of April 11, 1834, bystanders responding to the fire attempted to enter the slave quarters to ensure that everyone had been evacuated. Upon being refused the keys by the LaLauries, the bystanders broke down the doors to the slave quarters and found "seven slaves, more or less horribly mutilated ... suspended by the neck, with their limbs apparently stretched and torn from one extremity to the other", who claimed to have been imprisoned there for some months.

Her Father was Irish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,103 ✭✭✭mathie

That would be the Variability Hypothesis OP...

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Variability_hypothesis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,743 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

The only one I can think off who would be truly evil the last 20 or 30 years or so is Rosemary West, monster of a woman.

I think there is a famous saying that goes "Well-behaved women seldom make history", I think its in relation to how forgettable most women are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 772 ✭✭✭the dark phantom

Irish nuns

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,202 ✭✭✭partyguinness

Irish nuns

My poor mother will vouch for that. 6 years in a nun run boarding school from the early to mid 70s.

'pure evil and just for the sake of it' is how she often describes them and my mother wouldn't say boo to a fly.

Even now in her early 60s, she is still not right after it.

Tombo2001 wrote: »
    I ran a google search on famous witches in history - yes, just for this thread!

I have to say there was some really wild stuff back then, really sick people - and I dont mean the witches....

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pappenheimer_family

Wtf??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,432 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Why is that

Catherine Nevin, Maye West and Elizabeth Bathory are the only three I can think of off the top of my head

I saw a programme about Mary Ann Cotton who had a great run 19th century Britain marrying men and murdering them. She also poisoned her stepson.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mary_Ann_Cotton.

She murdered about 21 people that they know of.

There is also this other one called Amelia Dyer /Thomas who lived in Victorian times as well

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Amelia_Dyer

She was very entrepreneurial and set up a business of taking unwanted illegitimate babies for money, then killed them.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 587 ✭✭✭Redneck Reject

You haven't met my sister then,heh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,432 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

I found this Dublin one Darkey/Dorcas Kelly from Temple Bar 18th century.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Darkey_Kelly

She was burned at the stake in 1761

There is a pub named after her as well called Darkey Kelly's in Christchurch.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

Wheety wrote: »
    Delphine LaLaurie

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Delphine_LaLaurie

Tortured and disfigured slaves.

Her Father was Irish.
    I just looked her up on youtube. Christ she was evil. I'm sure some of it was exaggerated and became urban legend but a lot of it wouldn't surprise me. The KKK were cruel fcukers and butchered many slaves so it's very believable that wealthy psychopaths were able to torture their slaves without ever facing any consequences.

Wtf??
    I feel so bad for the ten year old who watched all his family get tortured and executed and then was later burned at the stake. There was a thread recently about what period in time you would like to go back an visit/live in. Ya I think I'm grand and will stay here thanks.

My poor mother will vouch for that. 6 years in a nun run boarding school from the early to mid 70s.

'pure evil and just for the sake of it' is how she often describes them and my mother wouldn't say boo to a fly.

Even now in her early 60s, she is still not right after it.
    The nuns (and priests) were the worst. Their sanctimonious, holier than thou beliefs lead them to believe they were doing nothing wrong and beating little kids was making them better people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,383 ✭✭✭olestoepoke

Typhoid Mary is worth reading up on. :)

Was she evil? I thought she was a carrier that didn't show any symptoms. Not sure she did anything evil.

Paddy Cow wrote: »
    I feel so bad for the ten year old who watched all his family get tortured and executed and then was later burned at the stake. There was a thread recently about what period in time you would like to go back an visit/live in. Ya I think I'm grand and will stay here thanks.

Yep that thread came into my head too while reading it. The thing is though of course that in other parts of the world right now similar stuff probably goes on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,202 ✭✭✭partyguinness

Paddy Cow wrote: »
    The nuns (and priests) were the worst. Their sanctimonious, holier than thou beliefs lead them to believe they were doing nothing wrong and beating little kids was making them better people.

I have had it on good authority that while they were both a shower of bad bastards, the nuns took it to an whole new level of physical and mental trauma. Priests would hammer the **** out of you but nuns used a lot of mental and physiological torture combined with the physical stuff.