Opel Zafira started the car park fire in Cork

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 34,900 ✭✭✭✭listermint

It's not fro free though (now I would get it done) but my time is not free (in fact I know exactly what I charge by the hour, for work).
    My last recall work was as such, car was collected from my place of work, Rental company was sent to bring me to their close office, where I was given a car (1.5 hour lost).

And I still felt annoyed (after a few days) having to leave work early to go collect my car and leave the rental at the dealer. Because I had to leave work early and lost 2 billable hours worth of income.

That "Free" work cost me money of almost half a day's work.

Now you say, do it on a Saturday.
    That time is not where I earn money but is where I spend the only real quality time, with my family. Between commute and school I get about 2 hours a night with my kids. Saturday is where I get to make up for that. So again, that time is far from free, to me either.

So, of course I would get the recall work done (and have on my own car, not an Opel) but the car companies should be providing a pick/drop service for these.

Anyone who puts a cost on their families safety is an idiot.

Plain and simple, and anyone who thinks being their own weekend time on any particular weekend day is more important than addressing an extremely serious fault with their vehicle that they ferry the family around in is an idiot.

Making excuses for this sort of behaviour is absolutely head spinning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 937 ✭✭✭Phileas Frog

The liability policy limit of €30 million will certainly kick in.

If the insurer gets badly stung (and it looks like they will), I wonder if they will start asking about recalls and loading policies accordingly in future?

I'm pretty sure the insurer will counter sue Opel for the 30 million, and win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,768 ✭✭✭firemansam4

That's pretty bad form. Opel Ireland should be able to find all Zafiras registered in this country, regardless of if they're UK or even Japanese imports (I've seen at least one). Especially seeing as your car has come into contact with their dealer network previously.

Yes I would have thought I would have heard from them about this latest recall seems as they did the one before that, but heard nothing. Maybe they should be running radio add campaign or something like that as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭mikeecho

Never said it's free but technically it is obviously it does eat into ones time, that an unfortunate circumstance of owning a car that has a safety recall.

Look we agree, I just think that the "unfortunate circumstance" should be borne by the recalling party, fully.

We don't know how the fire started.
    It could have been a dodgy usb phone charger, it could have been an exploding e-cig, a faulty battery in a device.

Who's to pay the costs then ?
    Some Chinese company operating in the Shenzeng! provence ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 258 ✭✭show me the money.1

Abba987 wrote: »
    Do you work for opel? Why is it not their priority ? Why have they not contacted everybody. ? Who without receiving a formal recall could presume its not their model of car
    I bought in opel dealer. My phone number and address have not changed
    They are not making much of an effort

Not all Zafira's are being recalled for this issue.
    If you have one and is not applicable to the recall there is no need to worry.

listermint wrote: »
    Anyone who puts a cost on their families safety is an idiot.

Plain and simple, and anyone who thinks being their own weekend time on any particular weekend day is more important than addressing an extremely serious fault with their vehicle that they ferry the family around in is an idiot.

Making excuses for this sort of behaviour is absolutely head spinning.

Oh Jesus Christ :rolleyes:

Did I say don't get it done?
    Did I say that I would not get it done, if I had such a car?

No. I said that people saying that it's free work are being disingenuous.
    I also said that end users should have no time/financial costs to a recall. The company pushing out a faulty/dangerous product should burden all the penalty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 311 ✭✭Abba987

Not all Zafira's are being recalled for this issue.
    If you have one and is not applicable to the recall there is no need to worry.

It is applicable.

And thats my very point. People who are not contacted could reasonably assume they are not affected

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 709 ✭✭✭Tazio

I own a vauxhaul zafira (imported from NI). This is the first time I have heard about this 3rd recall.

I'm sure there are many others like me who maybe own Vauxhaul not knowing about this 3rd recall.
    I got the last recall done while I was getting a service done in an opel dealer in Donegal a few years back, so I am presuming they will do this next one for me as well.

Your username and car type is very apt to this thread! I'm sorry (too soon)....

Seriously , if you telephoned your local OPEL dealership and gave them the Reg/VIN of your car it would be very interesting to hear back what they have to say to you. I would assume the dealership would have access or know how to get access to VIN versus recall data?

Best of luck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Old diesel

dmcsweeney wrote: »
    It would appear that driving the family around in a potential death trap takes priority for some people. If doing stuff with family is that important you'd think they'd take a few hours to get their cars fixed...for free!! That or they're busy trying to burn down shopping centres. How bloody irresponsible can you get? :confused:

God people are so snotty on here. Did i say i wasnt getting it done. Did the other poster ? Im calling out the attitude like its my fault and not opels. There is absolutely no leniency on appointments and I dont know where 20 minutes came from cos the dealers are saying a number of hours.

Why do people have to be so horrible to other posters.
    Its a discussion forum. Real people behind these posts. Real people worrying.
    These keyboard warriors wouldnt dare speak to people like that in real life

Someone was whining that they can't get a day off until January to get the car fixed .

The assumption rightly or wrongly is that the poster is simply going to ignore the problem and drive on .

That's where the "horribleness" comes from.

Were it my car I'd first try explaining to the boss the situation - and hope they'd be okay about it .

If that doesn't work id just try and get an appointment for the least inconvenient time I could get and go with it .

I think I'd rather piss off some idiot of a boss rather then put my or OTHERS safety at risk .

Work and having a job is important but a poor excuse for not getting your car to dealer for its serious safety issue recall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,971 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Watch the zafira section on donedeal get swamped.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,445 ✭✭✭mloc123

All these people that cannot time time to drop a car in for a recall.... Gotta wonder how they manage to get them serviced, or put new tyres on etc...

Although maybe there is a big overlap with the cars seen on Garda Twitter... 4 balds tyres, no tax and insurance etc..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 937 ✭✭✭Phileas Frog

bear1 wrote: »
    Watch the zafira section on donedeal get swamped.

Fire sales all round

Old diesel wrote: »
    Someone was whining that they can't get a day off until January to get the car fixed .

The assumption rightly or wrongly is that the poster is simply going to ignore the problem and drive on .

That's where the "horribleness" comes from.

Were it my car I'd first try explaining to the boss the situation - and hope they'd be okay about it .

If that doesn't work id just try and get an appointment for the least inconvenient time I could get and go with it .

I think I'd rather piss off some idiot of a boss rather then put my or OTHERS safety at risk .

Work and having a job is important but a poor excuse for not getting your car to dealer for its serious safety issue recall.

But i never said i wasnt. I also didnt mention january. I do not intend to drive my children around in a death trap

That does not mean ita convenient. That does not mean opel should not do more to rectify their fxxk up
    This will at the very least cost me the petrol out and back but it will also cost me childcare or am afternoon off.

Btw opel are not suggesting people stop driving. Nor are they contacting those affected. They are the problem here

mloc123 wrote: »
    All these people that cannot time time to drop a car in for a recall.... Gotta wonder how they manage to get them serviced, or put new tyres on etc...

Although maybe there is a big overlap with the cars seen on Garda Twitter... 4 balds tyres, no tax and insurance etc..

Thats already been addressed a few pages back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,768 ✭✭✭firemansam4

Tazio wrote: »
    Your username and car type is very apt to this thread! I'm sorry (too soon)....

Seriously , if you telephoned your local OPEL dealership and gave them the Reg/VIN of your car it would be very interesting to hear back what they have to say to you. I would assume the dealership would have access or know how to get access to VIN versus recall data?

Best of luck!

Yes I guess my user name is very apt to this thread!
    I'm not really a fireman though...

I think I will give them a ring and get it checked out, better to play it safe...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 183 ✭✭anheneti

But i never said i wasnt. I also didnt mention january. I do not intend to drive my children around in a death trap

That does not mean ita convenient. That does not mean opel should not do more to rectify their fxxk up
    This will at the very least cost me the petrol out and back but it will also cost me childcare or am afternoon off.

Btw opel are not suggesting people stop driving. Nor are they contacting those affected. They are the problem here

It was me he was taking a pop at..
    And I agree with this poster, I can’t get time off work it’s as simple as that..
    Opel should be doing more in their power to cooperate with car owners. They say they can’t lose a technician for 4 hours but it’s ok for me to take a day off work..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 183 ✭✭anheneti

mloc123 wrote: »

Grow up..
    I don’t need a main dealer to put new tyres on my car and I take the car to be serviced to my local mechanic who I’ve been using for almost 20 years

anheneti wrote: »
    It was me he was taking a pop at..
    And I agree with this poster, I can’t get time off work it’s as simple as that..
    Opel should be doing more in their power to cooperate with car owners. They say they can’t lose a technician for 4 hours but it’s ok for me to take a day off work..

I know but so did they. Some people just post to wind you up.
    Sadly i dont have the money for a new car. Ill go to the recalls and have no choice but continue using it till the next one
    Good luck with yours

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,723 ✭✭✭zilog_jones

Dia_Anseo wrote: »
    This is probably a better method for moving the car. But remember the method they are using is probably safer as they are moving the car from a higher position.

HD_VEHICLE%20RECOVERY.jpg

Well ye can all relax now: I passed by today and they were using proper wheel carrying yokes similar to above. They had finished up by the time I got there to take any pictures though.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 11,242 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

Do you work for opel?
    I do work in a franchised dealer.

Why is it not their priority ?
    It is their priority to get the recall done on every Zafira that's been recalled.
    Why have they not contacted everybody. ? Who without receiving a formal recall could presume its not their model of car
    I bought in opel dealer. My phone number and address have not changed
    They are not making much of an effort

At this stage you should have received at least 3 letters regarding this recall so either your car isn't affected or your contact details are incorrect.If its a UK import it HAS to be traced with the VIN and not the reg number.
    Id be calling your dealer with the VIN and asking if your car is affected and checking what contact details are on file for you.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 11,242 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

Actually if anyone wants me to check a reg/vin and see if its affected pop me a PM and Ill check it for you.

Hellrazer wrote: »
    I do work in a franchised dealer.

It is their priority to get the recall done on every Zafira that's been recalled.

At this stage you should have received at least 3 letters regarding this recall so either your car isn't affected or your contact details are incorrect.If its a UK import it HAS to be traced with the VIN and not the reg number.
    Id be calling your dealer with the VIN and asking if your car is affected and checking what contact details are on file for you.

I have not changed address or contact number. I have always bought through the same dealer. They find me quick enough when they want to sell something. I have never received any recall notice but when i contacted them they confirmed my vehicle was affected. There is a wait for appointments and they have confirmed it takes a lot more than 20 minutes

Actually if anyone wants me to check a reg/vin and see if its affected pop me a PM and Ill check it for you.

That is a nice gesture. I cant be the only one left high and dry here

I have not changed address or contact number. I have always bought through the same dealer. They find me quick enough when they want to sell something. I have never received any recall notice but when i contacted them they confirmed my vehicle was affected. There is a wait for appointments and they have confirmed it takes a lot more than 20 minutes

Somethings not adding up here. There were 3 rounds of letters sent out by Opel for this recall.

And yes it can 100% be done in 20 minutes. However that depends on whether the recall was carried out previously. If it was done previously which every single one Ive done so far has been then it only takes 20 minutes. If it wasn't then it takes an extra 20 minutes.

Somethings not adding up here. There were 3 rounds of letters sent out by Opel for this recall.

And yes it can 100% be done in 20 minutes. However that depends on whether the recall was carried out previously. If it was done previously which every single one Ive done so far has been then it only takes 20 minutes. If it wasn't then it takes an extra 20 minutes.

I did not receive a letter. I have received texts about sales . My details have not changed. I have the car 5 years.
    Im not arguing with you but i am telling the truth
    Should i be making a complaint or is this how everyone is being treated. I honestly thought the lack of contact meant i wasnt affected

It wasn't done previously. That must be why I've been told it will take longer. I have never been called before. What years were previous ones? Is this the same fault not fixed by previous ones or a new fault ? I appreciate your help and I am worried about what happens now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,328 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Is it only Zafiras without climate control (but with manual AC or no AC) that are affected?

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Is it only Zafiras without climate control (but with manual AC or no AC) that are affected?

Thats what i thought. I havnt a clue anymore. I thought i had climate control :-)
    Best to ring your dealer.

colm_mcm wrote: »

No its all of them depending on the VIN. With or without AC. The ones with climate control are nearly all UK imports and Ive only seen one to date that was affected with climate control.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,480 ✭✭✭✭road_high

Don’t mean to be blunt but what kind of a thick bitch rocks up to a multi storey car park with smoke or flames billowing out (enough for bystanders to notice it and film it) and drives in? There’s an awful lack of self awareness and paying attention with some motorists