Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Brexit discussion thread X (Please read OP before posting)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭TCDStudent1

Nick Boles spoke well there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,885 ✭✭✭✭prawnsambo

Leroy42 wrote: »
    JRM is fast finding out that there is a massive difference between hurling from the ditch and being at the front.
    So is Johnson. It's far harder to defend the crap you come out with when it's coming at you left, right and centre.

• Administrators Posts: 55,209 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Rees-Mogg looks like he’s lying up watching telly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,132 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

MadYaker wrote: »
    A lot of question dodging and sh!te talking from Mogg. Still talking about WTO rules after the gov have lost it's majority. Mad stuff. Also, looks like some craic outside westminister!

What's happening, is is demos? Not near a TV right now. Sky live slow on phone due to crap wifi. Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,113 ✭✭✭✭Leroy42

prawnsambo wrote: »
    So is Johnson. It's far harder to defend the crap you come out with when it's coming at you left, right and centre.

Yeah, from the talking heads I have seen it (so therefore probably not a complete reflection but a small sample nonetheless) appears that he was next to useless today. The big hope of the Tory party is fast being shown up as a total liability.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭boggerman1

Headshot wrote: »
    Tony Connelly got a shout out on Sky news

https://twitter.com/tconnellyRTE?ref_src=twsrc%5Egoogle%7Ctwcamp%5Eserp%7Ctwgr%5Eauthor

Go wan Tony, doing us proud
    Was just about to say that.allister Campbell praising him to the hilt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,222 ✭✭✭Jizique

Well Kenneth Clarke is the Father of the House, he is not standing in the next election, so he can say what he likes, in fact I think he always did anyway.

The newer cohort are always looking behind their backs for the Knives and are probably not so brave. Their futures may be lanced by one bad word.

Some democracy alright. And honestly, the shouting and roaring that goes on in the Commons is just unreal. WTAF? Must be tradition, but Bercow must need honey and lemon drops to keep his voice audible amongst that rabble. Fair dues to him.

Rees Mogg is a caricature of himself. His mellifluous tones might just impress some, but to me he is just a stick insect with a mission to make millions on the back of Brexit. He is ERG after all, you know, that party within a party, that along with 10 DUP is more dictatorial about Brexit than we probably will ever know.

Forget about the people.

Is there a”stop the coup” plan for the Boris visit next week?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 20,465 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sam Russell

awec wrote: »
    Rees-Mogg looks like he’s lying up watching telly.

Of course he is lying. It is the nature of the beast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,132 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

pixelburp wrote: »
    Ah. I had been genuinely wondering if and when something like this might happen. The designation is quite hyperbolic IMO, but seems like the obvious move by the EU once the dust settles and no-deal kicked in. I was curious whether a warchest would be given to Ireland to mitigate the damage, given the narrative of solidarity throughout the whole sorry ordeal.

The accidental fallout of Brexit has been the demonstrable ability by the Bloc to show that, yes, the EU is a union of equals. It's not without reason many Eurosceptic parties throughout the EU have dropped "leave the EU" from their manifestos.

In a sea of gloom, this is good news, and one that shows we may yet ride this out.
    It also shows planning on the EU's part and a tacit admission that nothing remotely useful will come out of a country in political meltdown between now and when they finally leave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,132 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Jizique wrote: »
    Is there a”stop the coup” plan for the Boris visit next week?
    Why would there be? It's happening in a different country. Far better to simply ignore his visit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,142 ✭✭✭✭listermint

is_that_so wrote: »
    Why would there be? It's happening in a different country. Far better to simply ignore his visit.

Plenty of Brits here. I'm sure would love to have their voice heard.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Stop moaning ffs

Who was she. She at least had the heart of about a million Theresas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,699 ✭✭✭thecretinhop

Ah. I had been genuinely wondering if and when something like this might happen. The designation is quite hyperbolic IMO, but seems like the obvious move by the EU once the dust settles and no-deal kicked in. I was curious whether a warchest would be given to Ireland to mitigate the damage, given the narrative of solidarity throughout the whole sorry ordeal.

The accidental fallout of Brexit has been the demonstrable ability by the Bloc to show that, yes, the EU is a union of equals. It's not without reason many Eurosceptic parties throughout the EU have dropped "leave the EU" from their manifestos.

In a sea of gloom, this is good news, and one that shows we may yet ride this out.

no worries. shure they can give us back de 200 billion. great bunch of lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,023 ✭✭✭✭Joe_ Public

Who was she. She at least had the heart of about a million Theresas

Anna Soubry i think you mean. Very good speaker when she keeps a tight rein on it as she just about did there, has a tendency to fly a bit off the handle at times, but that was right on the mark to be fair to her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,885 ✭✭✭✭prawnsambo

listermint wrote: »
    Plenty of Brits here. I'm sure would love to have their voice heard.
    They were demonstrating outside the British Embassy this evening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,132 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

is_that_so wrote: »

Totally agree. No need to feed the ego of a narcissist who thinks everyone loves him.

By your deeds shall you know them. Let them at it themselves.

But I hope this will not be a sock comparison or anything remotely amusing anymore. We are in serious times here and we will see who the real politicians are. Hopefully. Time to get tough now and ignore the buffoonery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 813 ✭✭✭RickBlaine

At the very least, you'd expect the Leader of the House to have the courtesy and respect to sit up straight while listening to the debate.

EDkIGWrXUAAy1g2.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,142 ✭✭✭✭listermint

RickBlaine wrote: »
    At the very least, you'd expect the Leader of the House to have the courtesy and respect to sit up straight while listening to the debate.

EDkIGWrXUAAy1g2.jpg

You would if he wasn't Molly coddled as a child.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,789 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

EDkIGWrXUAAy1g2.jpg

Sulking like a child.. he has to endure all these poor people

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,421 ✭✭✭✭L1011

As I say, NI Assembly elections if they are going to be held after a no-deal will likely have a nationalist majority this border poll.

SDLP are pissing votes to Alliance since the FF deal so that's unlikely. There is already a Unionist minority since the last election; the balance of power held by the unaligned parties

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,113 ✭✭✭✭Leroy42

Its all part of the act. The man has nothing useful to say, so you need something else. He has gone with the Top Tory Act so cover from his lack of anything even remotely intelligent. It makes people talk about that rather than his attempts to cover up the prorogation and his lack of any actual ideas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 813 ✭✭✭RickBlaine

Dominic Grieve gave an excellent speech, barely concealing his rage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭sjb25

EDkIGWrXUAAy1g2.jpg

Been like that since Ken Clarke tore him a new one so hes sulking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,160 ✭✭✭declanflynn

EDkIGWrXUAAy1g2.jpg
    What a pr_ _ k

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,887 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

lawred2 wrote: »
    Sulking like a child.. he has to endure all these poor people

If Bercow has any sense he'll tell him to sort himself out.

EDkKmgUXUAI2aMC?format=jpg&name=small

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Stop moaning ffs

Two Scottish MPs in a row got to speak. Sky and bbc diminish them into the corner. No volume.

No MPs in the house of note to hear them.

Precious union. Indeed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,010 ✭✭✭Enzokk

What is Rees-Mogg doing? Maybe he has a bad back and needs to stretch out, at least I hope it is that. Otherwise it looks terrible, like he is not interested in the events and it is boring him.

I cannot believe it but I actually think Jeremy Clarkson has the solution,

https://twitter.com/JeremyClarkson/status/1168900817371455489?s=20

As for Labour, for once they seem to have their ducks in a row.

https://twitter.com/PaulBrandITV/status/1168973611727839237?s=20

Emily Thornberry confirming that they will try to get legislation in place first before going to an election. That is the most logical thing they could do and not fall for the trap that Johnson seems to have set for them. Credit where it is due, lets hope they get the legislation done. If not, they will need to consider a VONC as that would be the next step to try and get the legislation done or general election.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,443 ✭✭✭sondagefaux

L1011 wrote: »
    The "opposition" also includes ex-Labour MP Jared O'Mara who doesn't turn up and is meant to resign today. That by-election will definitely go Lib Dem but won't be held that quickly.

He withdrew his resignation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,643 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

Wonder why Jacob Rees-Mogg isn't a fan of Parnell...

https://twitter.com/Seanofthesouth/status/1168965242061238272

His behaviour is so juvenile and petty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,647 ✭✭✭gooch2k9

If Bercow has any sense he'll tell him to sort himself out.

EDkKmgUXUAI2aMC?format=jpg&name=small

He's awake at the very least. We often see MPs lying asleep in there.