Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Trading advice

• 01-09-2019 9:04pm
    Registered Users Posts: 178 ✭✭

Hey guys, can anyone reccomend me any books or places to start learning stocks and trading? Complete newbie here to all of it but would like to take my time and learn what it's all about.

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 288 ✭✭mono627

E46Dream wrote: »
    Hey guys, can anyone reccomend me any books or places to start learning stocks and trading? Complete newbie here to all of it but would like to take my time and learn what it's all about.

Start with a few books that are considered the basics.

Reminiscences of a Stock Operator.
    Any of the Market Wizard books.
    Trading in the Zone.

If you're looking to invest rather than trade (longer term time horizon). Read the intelligent investor.

Get a broad overview of the markets and work from there.

• Registered Users Posts: 178 ✭✭E46Dream

mono627 wrote: »

Trading in the Zone.

If you're looking to invest rather than trade (longer term time horizon). Read the intelligent investor.

Thanks for the recommendations, they're quite old books? I presume they have some essential knowledge within them about stocks and trading.

I will be looking to trade more so than investing long term but I don't mind doing either and being patient.

Is it possible for beginners to make profit or does it take a long long time to understand and learn how to be profitable? Also is it worthwhile?

Also do you guys that trade enjoy trading or are you doing it simply to make a living?

• Registered Users Posts: 230 ✭✭Mach 3

Trading in the Zone.