NAS Walrus Reveal Thread

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 58,128 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

Top 5 Hype!!

giphy.gif

Taking a short break to fill my lungs with carcinogens.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,149 ✭✭✭Tammy!

Necro wrote: »
    I thought this was a duet, but check out what happens at 0:54, just insane random Eurovisioness

Lol, was not expecting that :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,782 ✭✭✭Pretzill

"Toto has turned rabid..." :) I'm enjoying the commentary more than the music tonight

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 58,128 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

5th Place: Dervish: Gypsies, Tramps & Thieves

Necro: I really like this song, Dervish are a band I used to listen to a lot as a youngster, had a couple of uncles who had all of their albums and would play them as we travelled the country. So it gets bonus points for letting me relive that :)

Stu Redman: I really like Cher's original of this. While I'm not fully gone on Mrs. Dervish's voice here, I really like this cover and it's a wonderful trad arrangement. Incidentally, it was this submission which made me re-read Necro's parameters for this round. So it doesn't have to be a Eurovision song, well played to the few who copped that. It took me a while.

Necro: 5th
    Stu: 6th

13 points for
    Green&Red of Mayo

And we're back in almost lock-step.

For now, at least :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,453 ✭✭✭fixXxer

Are you from Mayo G&R?

4th Place: Paul Harrington & Charlie McGettigan - Rock’n’Roll Kids (Ireland 1994)

Necro: Ah this was such a classic Irish entry, back in the glory days. So good in fact that three people submitted it. It’s a masterpiece of great writing and some good singing. It’s always going to do well with me as for me these years were peak Eurovision (might be slightly biased here though :P ) Though… it’s a little safe of an entry isn’t it? So for that reason along with the multiple entries it doesn’t climb as high as maybe it should. I actually got submitted three different versions of the video lol - but here’s the actual live performance in all it’s glory.

Stu Redman: This song is essentially the reason why this round is wasted on me. There will never be another Eurovision tune like Rock 'n' Roll Kids for me, nothing else compares. Look at all those eejits having the craic wearing inflatable vegetables pulling shapes to a trashy dance beat a.k.a. modern Eurovision. Nope, none of that here with Rock 'n' Roll Kids, no need for it. It's a song contest, and this is a fcuking song. I love this tune so much, have done since the night it was first played and it just gets better with age. Hell, if someone had have entered this in the previous round, it might have come first on my list for Irish songs. "Now we never seem to rock and roll anymore", in my 30s, thinking about the friends who I used to be glued to but just don't see so much these days, I unfortunately know what these guys were singing about. This is my winner here without question or doubt.

Necro: 10th
    Stu: 1st

14 points EACH for
    sullivlo, kitten_k & Barney92

On the points scoring:
    I'm having a bit of crisis of confidence at the large amount of points but that's how we dealt with it in the previous round. It seems a little unfair though - or maybe I'm overthinking this. I'll continue on for now as is anyways though.

If anyone has a better idea how to split points on multiple entries please PM me. (Rikand that mainly means you :D )

Anyways....

Top 3(4? I'm so confused) HYPE

FOR
    fixxxer
    MicksJaguar
    Kolido
    partyjungle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,358 ✭✭✭kitten_k

Happy with 4th. One of my favourite songs too Stu.

Necro - you could average out the scores so you still have the same number of places but if people are tied eg 6th & 7th then add the scores for 6th place and 7th place and divide by two for the score per person?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,906 ✭✭✭Barney92

Top four for Haradona!!!! Had a feeeling some others would submit it but it's probably my favourite Irish eurovision entry. I almost went rogue with Ukraine's 2007 entry but couldn't do it to the Rock'n'Roll Kids. Loving this round folks.

Thanks kitten, might be an idea. I shall discuss it with my co-judge and we'll make a decision before the next round starts :)

Reveal continues in earnest :D

Thats the 1 i'd have picked if I didn't rush my enterty :D

Best song for eurovision by a mile

I need to go to the pool before it closes but I also want to see aaaaaaagh

Lordi - Hard Rock Hallelujah

Necro: About the only actual Eurovision song I know (bar Ireland’s pathetic entries) in the last 8/10 years. And what a song! It’s the ARockalypse after all. Great choice! I listened to this on repeat for ages after the Eurovision, and actually fell out of love with it. And let’s be fair, it’s on every single quintessential Eurovision playlist if you’re into that sort of thing. Hearing it again and now its back on my own must play list. Few points shaved off for the duplicate entry but overall it does deserve this slot.

Stu Redman: 'ang about, 'ere we go! Fair play to these insanists. This is just epic. They are a Finnish Glam Metal act, so you just know that they walk around their home villages dressed like this, and I love it.

Necro: 3rd
    Stu: 3rd

15 points EACH and joint 3rd place to
    fixxxer and partyjungle

Rock N Roll Kids is a great track.

Brotherhood of Man - Save Your Kisses For Me

Necro: Aww man I love this song, it’s so happy! So yes, entrant - I will save my kisses for you. And also this position in the rankings :D On top of the happiness the chorus just makes me sway back and forth, it’s a really good entry and perfect for this category.

Stu Redman: Haha, the playlist went from Lordi to this, I feel like I'm tripping here. Great wee tune this, one I used to hear a lot when I was very young but had completely forgotten about until now. It's a nice reminder. I much prefer this kind of Eurovision song than the Eurotrash-Pop which is like a parody these days. But hey, the times they are a changin'. Someone should put that in a song or something.

Necro: 4th
    Stu: 2nd

16 points and 2nd place to
    MicksJaguar, for taking us to his happy place

Oh lordy I'm having flashbacks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,994 ✭✭✭sullivlo

Rock and roll kids... one of my all time favourite songs and no other option for me in this category.

Bonnie Tyler - Holding Out For a Hero

Necro: I’m not gonna lie, I had no idea Bonnie Tyler had competed at the Eurovision, such is my ambivalence to it this past 10-15 years. So I did a bit of a double take when this entry came in - namely because I FCUKING LOVE IT! Yes it isn't a Eurovision entry per se - but.... This is unadulterated 80s in all it’s glory and it was never moving from top spot. Clever pick, great entry, epic song.

Stu Redman: This song makes me feel bad for sitting on my ass while listening to it, I feel I should be partaking in an epic training montage or something. In all seriousness, I was never mad about this song, but in this round it's like a warm hug from an old friend in a field of frost. We're both lost and we've no idea how we got here.

Necro: 1st
    Stu: 5th

17 points and 1st place to
    Krazy Kolido and his Klever pick

Cue the outrage at a non Eurovision song winning the Eurovision category.

It's like the Eurovision all over again. I think it's an incredibly clever pick tbh though.

Great taste Party jungle :D

Necro wrote: »
    Bonnie Tyler - Holding Out For a Hero

Cue the outrage at a non Eurovision song winning the Eurovision category.

It's like the Eurovision all over again. I think it's an incredibly clever pick tbh though.

Oh the outrage is strong, believe me :D

Haha, very nicely played Kolido. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,485 ✭✭✭✭Banjo

Smooth move, Kolido!
    Had no idea she was ever involved. Really should have done more research

Thanks for enduring that folks.

Next rounds are much more fun, for Stu anyways.

It's back over to him for the hosting duties next as we move into the 'Forever Young' category (in a slight change of schedule).

I'll let him give the date and time for that reveal though :D

Congrats to our table toppers. Now I'm off to the gym to listen to some Bonnie Tyler.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭Sheridan81

That Brotherhood Of Man track is brutal, sorry Mick.

Well done Kolido - thanks Stu & Necro for another enjoyable reveal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,358 ✭✭✭kitten_k

Thanks for the reveal guys

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,149 ✭✭✭Tammy!

Well done Kolido :)

Thanks Stu and Necro......for nothing :D only messing

A Song For Europe playlist for you all to listen to... or not... :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,461 ✭✭✭✭Kolido

Well that was a surprise. Hadnt a clue about the Eurovision and remembered Bonnie was in it a few years back. Instantly thought of this song. I suppose I could have been less lazy and picked an actually Eurovision entry, which probably would have been Johhny with hold me now.

Great going guys, glad you liked the song and I went with it in the end.

Ranking Song Name Combined Scores Walrus Points Entrant
    1 Holding Out For A Hero 30 17 Kolido
    2 Save Your Kisses For Me 30 16 MicksJaguar
    3 Hard Rock Hallelujah 30 15 fixxxer, partyjungle
    4 Rock'N'Roll Kids 25 14 Barney, sully, kitten_k
    5 Gypsies, Tramps & Thieves 25 13 Green&Red
    6 Spirit In The Sky 23 12 Mollyb60
    7 Lady Sun 22 11 Sheridan81
    8 L'Enfer Et Moi 21 10 Pretzill
    9 No Prejudice 21 9 Electric Nitwit
    10 The Day Before You Came 17 8 Homer J. Fong
    11 Pop Rocket 16 7 Banjo
    12 Poupee de Cire 13 6 osh
    13 Be My Guest 12 5 Rikand
    14 Vodka 11 4 Tammy!

Before I go here are the combined scores for the songs this round.

Tight at the top, all of the top 3 had the same points.

Twas decided by:
    My top pick
    Stu's top pick
    The other.

Lordi unfortunately lost out despite being 3rd for both of us. Just seemed right.