Ultimate Crisp Tournament

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 551 ✭✭✭Todd Gack

Bacon Fries
    Omackeral wrote: »
    No reason given. Your answer is like your name, absolute gack.

VOID

Ok. They're nicer.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,596 Mod ✭✭✭✭cdeb

Tayto Cheese and Onion
    Tayto

Literally the crisp that invented flavoured crisps. A genuine national treasure.

Sure, you may buy other crisps from time to time. But you can never say no to a pack of Tayto. That seals it for me.

Must acknowledge a valiant contender though - s&v Hunktly Dorys are very nice, especially if you can chance of a cheek-stingingly strong pack

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,138 ✭✭✭Uncharted

Bacon Fries
    Apart from people telling each other to stick chickatees up their holes!

I think you'll find it was Burger bites ( mea culpa) , it then descended into utter chaos,with the mention of Chickatees.

Disgraceful stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,724 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

Telly wrote: »
    No.

Convincing.
    bluewolf wrote: »
    OM this is great craic altogether fair play

Would you say this is the most fun you’ve ever had?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,514 ✭✭✭bee06

STB. wrote: »
    It would be easy to take what you say at face value as your name checks out.

However, it was actually named after a swabian noble house in Germany.

Eitherway it was lovely with a toasted ham and cheese special which are now also banned, because they made you blind if eaten in a pub environment, or something.

Will ye F off to the beer forum. There is serious crisp business going on here!

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,412 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

Bacon Fries
    Tayto, because without Tayto nothing else would ever have followed. All hail Joe "Spud" Murphy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 523 ✭✭✭Telly

bluewolf wrote: »
    OM this is great craic altogether fair play

Boost my vote for s&v there will ya

You used to be my fave, Bluey. Fúck, we’ve even shared a hotel room but you’re dead to me now!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 418 ✭✭Duane Dibbley

Bacon Fries
    Tayto C&O

Due to the fact you must be a sick fuck to vote for Hunky Dory

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭Stevieluvsye

cdeb wrote: »
    Tayto

Literally the crisp that invented flavoured crisps. A genuine national treasure.

Sure, you may buy other crisps from time to time. But you can never say no to a pack of Tayto. That seals it for me.

Must acknowledge a valiant contender though - s&v Hunktly Dorys are very nice, especially if you can chance of a cheek-stingingly strong pack

They invented fcuk all. Only a fat potato head

Earthhorse wrote: »
    Convincing.

Would you say this is the most fun you’ve ever had?

Definitely - it even tops lunch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,246 ✭✭✭Greyfox

Uncharted wrote: »
    For the love of Jaysus,its Tayto Cheese n onion we're talking about here !!!

Don't act the bollox with generations of people gone before us. We owe it to them to fight here !!!

But did those generations actually love tayto or where they just the best of a limited choice back then.. lots of older people only eat them as they dont know any better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,636 ✭✭✭dotsman

Hunky Dory's S&V definitely.

Tayto are only mediocre. The BigMac of the crisp world. Flavour is nice, but the quality control is terrible. Way too many black, green and purple crisps.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn II

Bacon Fries
    Did you make that up? Since the beer is actually called 'Fürstenberg', I'd say it means Prince Mountain, or something like that. So yeah, typical me, that's the fun sucked out of your fact.

Yeh it’s bollocks.

I vote tayto precisely because it’s the plain man’s crisp. And a good one. Despite what some plonker said earlier eating tayto is not like supporting Leinster as a recent rugby convert. That’s more like the supporters of a fancy crisp. Tayto is the crisp of the masses. The people's Crisp. The unpretentious yet lovely crisp, consistent across generations, if not across packages.

Tayto C&O is the crisp of this generation, the last and the next. The crisp of the culchie and the the Dub. It is part of us and up there with the pint of plain.

It’s your only man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,297 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Bacon Fries
    Todd Gack wrote: »
    Ok. They're nicer.

Todd, how hard is it to get a vote right.
    In your post, just include the following.
    Tayto, they are nicer

You can copy and paste it, I don't mind. If we lose this by 1 vote because you were a*sing around putting splitting your vote on 2 ballot papers, there'll be war.

Bacon Fries
    Hon the Tayto cheese n onion.
    Ya boy ya. :)

I wasn't this proud standing at the foot of the bed in Holles Street.

* wipes eye. Sniff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 551 ✭✭✭Todd Gack

Bacon Fries
    Todd, how hard is it to get a vote right.
    In your post, just include the following.

You can copy and paste it, I don't mind. If we lose this by 1 vote because you were a*sing around putting splitting your vote on 2 ballot papers, there'll be war.

Harder than I thought apparently.

Tayto, they are nicer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,760 ✭✭✭✭The Princess Bride

Tayto, because this is THE original, the one and only winner and, unlike many of the crisp fans here, I remember buying a packet for 7p.

Is that a good enough reason?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,977 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Some amount of “uncultured” swine on here.

“It matters not what someone is born, but what they grow to be” - A. Dumbledore

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

Bacon Fries
    Greyfox wrote: »
    But did those generations actually love tayto or where they just the best of a limited choice back then.. lots of older people only eat them as they dont know any better.

!!!!!!!! Expunge !!

This is no time for semantics !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,702 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Hunky Dory's Salt and Vinegar from me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,380 ✭✭✭STB.

bee06 wrote: »
    Will ye F off to the beer forum. There is serious crisp business going on here!

Sorry Pal.

Crisps and Beer. I need a halfway house.

In all seriousness, those multipacks of Tayto you get these days are just not sealed. I have thrown more out. Quite a serious issue to take into account if casting your vote.

HD S&V are too vinegary. O Donnells S&V might have had a better chance. Even Mini chips might have given it their best shot.

The crisp of the culchie and the the Dub. It is part of us and up there with the pint of plain.

King were the choice of Dubs when made in Inchicore. I believe they have been sabotaged since moving to Meath.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,977 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

o1s1n wrote: »
    Hunky Dory's Salt and Vinegar from me!

Edit in a reason there, O. Or your vote won’t count.

“It matters not what someone is born, but what they grow to be” - A. Dumbledore

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,297 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Bacon Fries
    Todd Gack wrote: »
    Harder than I thought apparently.

Tayto, they are nicer.

AmazingPlasticIberianmole-size_restricted.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,304 ✭✭✭jackofalltrades

Has to be Hunky Dorys S&V.

They mightn't be the best S&V out there and the flavours a bit strong at times.
    But Tayto aren't what they used to be quality wise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,129 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Bacon Fries

No coaching from the sidelines!

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

Bacon Fries

Ah it'll be grand. Don't worry about it.

Bacon Fries
    Yeh it’s bollocks.

I vote tayto precisely because it’s the plain man’s crisp. And a good one. Despite what some plonker said earlier eating tayto is not like supporting Leinster as a recent rugby convert. That’s more like the supporters of a fancy crisp. Tayto is the crisp of the masses. The people's Crisp. The unpretentious yet lovely crisp, consistent across generations, if not across packages.

Tayto C&O is the crisp of this generation, the last and the next. The crisp of the culchie and the the Dub. It is part of us and up there with the pint of plain.

It’s your only man.

Tip of the hat.

I look forward to pints with you,good sir.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn II

Bacon Fries

Maybe you should eat your “fancy” crisp at the next “cricket” game you go to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 523 ✭✭✭Telly

How hard is it to give a bloody reason, people? Read the fúcking rules!

Bacon Fries

Shut the door behind ya so. :pac: