Electric Picnic 2019 **Discussion Only // No Ticket Sales / Requests **

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,814 ✭✭✭Ferris_Bueller

Here's a look at the new Spike Island stage. Looking pretty good!

https://twitter.com/ShaneBeattyNews/status/1166288896805801985

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,501 ✭✭✭PabloAndRoy

Here's a look at the new Spike Island stage. Looking pretty good!

https://twitter.com/ShaneBeattyNews/status/1166288896805801985

rafters to hang me wet gear on .. cool.

Peterd66 wrote: »

Traffic sh1tshow incoming.

Why do you think?

(as per every year thanks again for the app, an example of usability thru simplicity!)

Welcome for the app .. was only kidding about the traffic. As pointed out above .. we need WASPS!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭Amazon32

Sunday - Florence Vs The Streets Vs Kolsch Vs Michael Kiwanuka Vs Elder Island (not seeing much love for them, they are fantastic)

Best plan I can come with is Streets for 20 mins, Kolsch and then catch some of Elder.

Kolsch to Maya Jane to King Kong to Gaudi is a loose finish to the weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 300 ✭✭HarryTheSpider

Was/Is Freetown billed as a dance/electronic area?

I really don't see Spike Island as a good fit.

Looks like a cool spot though. Very Like Jimmi Lee's Juke Joint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

Yeah that Sunday night clash-fest is awful! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭LimboSlice

Welcome for the app .. was only kidding about the traffic. As pointed out above .. we need WASPS!

Please god no wasps! Only place Ive ever been stung is at EP. One year they got me as I was queueing for the wristband exchange.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭jeditokingyoda

Amazon32 wrote: »
    Sunday - Florence Vs The Streets Vs Kolsch Vs Michael Kiwanuka Vs Elder Island (not seeing much love for them, they are fantastic)

Best plan I can come with is Streets for 20 mins, Kolsch and then catch some of Elder.

Agreed with Elder Island!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,044 ✭✭✭rubick

Amazon32 wrote: »

Gaudi at 2.30am on Monday AM, jeez. Thankfully I'm not above leaping about sober (driving to Co Antrim in the morning).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 310 ✭✭Ethereal Cereal

sorry to all ye leaving on sunday....

I actually love james blake, his latest album is so so good. Im not sure il be in the zone to see him at 10.30 on friday night though

Yea, I love James Blake, but is very much a wind down act, and I wont be ready for winding down @10.30 on Friday night. I wouldn't mind, but he has some absolute bangers, but he does usually stick with the slower ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 310 ✭✭Ethereal Cereal

I'm surprised Charli XCX didnt get a main stage set.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,814 ✭✭✭Ferris_Bueller

Was/Is Freetown billed as a dance/electronic area?

I really don't see Spike Island as a good fit.

Looks like a cool spot though. Very Like Jimmi Lee's Juke Joint.

Yep it was in a press release earlier in the year, well Terminus was to be specific.

"Anchored by Terminus, a brand new 8,000 capacity mega-stage for electronica and dance (presented as an Eastern Bloc architectural colossus), Freetown will rise from the ground for just 4 days of the year."

Maybe the 2 Johnnies are playing a DJ set :P

Yep it was in a press release earlier in the year, well Terminus was to be specific.

"Anchored by Terminus, a brand new 8,000 capacity mega-stage for electronica and dance (presented as an Eastern Bloc architectural colossus), Freetown will rise from the ground for just 4 days of the year."

Maybe the 2 Johnnies are playing a DJ set :P

It's a big tent isn't it?

I don't care.

...I'll get my coat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,112 ✭✭✭endainoz

Yeah some colossus!!

My timetable is a bit light earlier in the days with a lot of gaps (apart from multiple clashes after 9pm). I need to fill it out a bit.

Has anyone any tips for acts that don't excite particularly on recordings but put in stunning live performances?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41 smurph6

Pink moon camping...what's the pros and cons?!

Is it any craic or more like organised fun

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,539 ✭✭✭ghostdancer

that tent is going to be stupidly packed. Mass exodus to Christine & the Queens afterwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭d_levins

smurph6 wrote: »

Clean toilets hot showers, clean, space around your tent to sit out, and you can sleep 3am - 8am without dickheads shouting "nice onnnneee bbrrruuuvvvvaaa".

I thought it was this new yoke, outdoors (photo from last week so probably look better now):

68639067_10217522357868548_6484947334701514752_n.jpg?_nc_cat=101&_nc_oc=AQlGlvRGQ81jv5wuDt4XWZXsK1mHrMAATw6b2yWl0Hkiu2TlTJ24ZsnqEeNZpvqtmWo&_nc_ht=scontent.fdub5-1.fna&oh=0f6ab0261d200267566feec28152d1b9&oe=5DCCE3A6

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,064 ✭✭✭scruff monkey
    Snarky Snark Snark

started looking at the schedule using the EP app.

once again

zELkklM.jpg

I thought it was this new yoke, outdoors (photo from last week so probably look better now):

That makes more sense. Someone posted a pic of a large tent yesterday saying it was Terminus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41 smurph6

d_levins wrote: »

Clean toilets hot showers, clean, space around your tent to sit out, and you can sleep 3am - 8am without dickheads shouting "nice onnnneee bbrrruuuvvvvaaa".

Ha I was trying to find out about the curfew. So is it 3am cut off...that's actually graaand! Thought it was 12/1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭d_levins

68639067_10217522357868548_6484947334701514752_n.jpg?_nc_cat=101&_nc_oc=AQlGlvRGQ81jv5wuDt4XWZXsK1mHrMAATw6b2yWl0Hkiu2TlTJ24ZsnqEeNZpvqtmWo&_nc_ht=scontent.fdub5-1.fna&oh=0f6ab0261d200267566feec28152d1b9&oe=5DCCE3A6

thats Provodencia, I think.
    which is the food area in freetown if i'm right,
    I think Freetown is name for all of Provedencia, spike island and terminus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,093 ✭✭✭optogirl

Ha I was trying to find out about the curfew. So is it 3am cut off...that's actually graaand! Thought it was 12/1

Don't think there's a curfew?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,746 ✭✭✭BullBlackNova

This might be a stupid question but I see 'Cynema' listed as performing on Body & Soul Sanctuary stage at 2.45am on Sunday night/Monday morning - is this the Irish producer who used to go by 'Cinema' after undergoing a name change or is it someone else?

I remember a few cool Cinema tunes and a really good live set in Cork a few years ago but wasn't aware of a name change, if one happened, or is it just a similar name!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 dusters

So just had texts from friends who are on site for media day and the ground is good!
    Main Arena should hold good as they have such a good drainage system in place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,112 ✭✭✭endainoz

optogirl wrote: »
    Don't think there's a curfew?

It's not quite a curfew, you can arrive back there at any hour obviously, but your expected to be quiet from 1am to 7am. Most people follow this rule, some don't but there's plenty of madness elsewhere for a person to find if they want it.

d_levins wrote: »
    thats Provodencia, I think.
    which is the food area in freetown if i'm right,
    I think Freetown is name for all of Provedencia, spike island and terminus.
    That makes more sense. Someone posted a pic of a large tent yesterday saying it was Terminus.

just looking at the map again, Terminus is marked as a tent, so that's probably all correct.

EP19_5163_Public-Map_1080x1080px_NO-VAPE-1024x1024.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,594 ✭✭✭Thundercats Ho

My timetable is a bit light earlier in the days with a lot of gaps (apart from multiple clashes after 9pm). I need to fill it out a bit.

Has anyone any tips for acts that don't excite particularly on recordings but put in stunning live performances?

Friday is a bit light early on, apart from the doors / smiths tributes.

There's plenty on early Saturday for me. **All are on before 6PM**
    Bootleg beach boys - Amy Montgomery - jessica Pratt - TBL8 brass band - Badhands - Otherkin - Crow black chicken - Just mustard.

Sunday has Bicurious - Touts - KKC - Autre Monde all before 6PM, with Johnny F'n Marr on @ 6.