Is Mrs Doubtfire problematic?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 587 ✭✭✭Redneck Reject

Shows how backward I am, had to Google cis male. Crazy with all these terms nowadays, hard to keep up,heh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,026 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

All I'm suggesting is compassion, enough compassion that we don't hurt people for kicks, we don't do black and white minstrels anymore do we

But mrs doubtfire was/is a brilliant film and it was made in the nineties when times were different. I don't think the film set out to hurt people as you claim. I can't stand films or years gone by being constantly viewed through 2019 eyes. Is there stuff in films from the past that wouldn't be included in films now ? Yes, there probably is but as a huge fan of robin Williams and all his films why do you have to try and tarnish his legacy ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 892 ✭✭✭moonage

In this photo not only is Bill Wyman, a cis male, pretending to be a person of femaleness but also to be differently abled:

1-rolling-stones.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,111 ✭✭✭Gorteen

What does "cis" mean?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 287 ✭✭Jimmy McGill

Since I woke up this morning, I identify as an attack helicopter. Anyone who thinks differently is a bigot and should be thrown in prison for hate speech.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 262 ✭✭Spleerbun

Not sure how to embed a video but all the cis/gender talk reminded me of this from a few weeks ago :Dhttps://youtu.be/ryJteQTPBlU

Gorteen wrote: »
    What does "cis" mean?

You identify with the sex you were born with. Personally I think it was invented by someone that wants to antagonise rather than bring people together.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,736 ✭✭✭Yer Da sells Avon

Only in la la land. In the real world it’s just male. Don’t get all snowflakey about that...

Only in conversations where there is a need to differentiate between someone whose gender identity corresponds with the sex they were identified with at birth, and someone whose gender identity differs from the sex they were identified with at birth. In the vast majority of conversations that most people have, the term is redundant, but that doesn't mean that it has no place in language whatsoever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 501 ✭✭✭squawker

Gorteen wrote: »
    What does "cis" mean?

from urban dictionary

"A guy who is not transgender. A man or boy who is comfortable identifying as what they were assigned at birth, and comfortable being in a man's body. In other words this is what about 99% of men are"

so it means being the way you were born, its seems to be just a created label to insult someone who doesn't agree with their pov

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9 Sweaty Balls

So 'cis' just means 'normal'?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,111 ✭✭✭Gorteen

squawker wrote: »
    from urban dictionary

"A guy who is not transgender. A man or boy who is comfortable identifying as what they were assigned at birth, and comfortable being in a man's body. In other words this is what about 99% of men are"

so it means being the way you were born or I think just a created label to insult someone who doesn't agree with their pov

OMG... What a load of Bollix!!!

squawker wrote: »
    from urban dictionary

so it means being the way you were born

So it just means either male or female as it has been for thousands of years. People are lunatics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,088 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

Since I woke up this morning, I identify as an attack helicopter. Anyone who thinks differently is a bigot and should be thrown in prison for hate speech.

Cos that's how it works. Anyone who doesn't "agree" with transgenderism is in prison.

The film was funny. It wasn't meant to be a critique of trains issues.

OP, you weren't seriously afraid to laugh. And if you were then it's your own problem. Use your loaf.

Cos that's how it works. Anyone who doesn't "agree" with transgenderism is in prison.

No, but that's the road we're heading down with all the lunacy these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,999 ✭✭✭Conall Cernach

moonage wrote: »
    In this photo not only is Bill Wyman, a cis male, pretending to be a person of femaleness but also to be differently abled
    Is it me or does Mick Jagger look like Malcolm X in that pic?

Normal is subjective. I don't think homosexuals are abnormal, just not of my sexual orientation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,669 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

The world I grewd up in is gone this place is weird and scary to me now, I identify as a sock puppet big whoop wanna fight about it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭Rezident

It's on TV and it has me worried and afraid to laugh given what is, in reality, very serious subject matter.

The fact that a cis male is dressing as someone who identifies as a cis female is used in this film as a vehicle for comic relief. This is not funny because :

1 - cis males should not be dressing as a woman in such a flippant manner given the issues trans people face on a daily basis

2 - cis males should not project a gender insincerely

3 - when Mrs Doubtfire is "caught", it is for going pee pee while standing and her son reacts with horror and violence. This re-enforces the gender normative stereotype that women don't have a penis!

Given these issues, amongst many others I'm sure you will help me to determine, I do not believe Mrs Doubtfire should be broadcast any longer.

I would also suggest that we make more of an effort to reflect and search out potential issues before finding something funny. No one should be in that much of a hurry to laugh.

I have no idea what 'cis' means but it's a comedy and we all found it funny. Even my parents found it funny and our comedy Venn diagrams rarely align.

Your exhaustive search for outrage is depressing and no good will come from it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,449 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

The world I grewd up in is gone this place is weird and scary to me now, I identify as a sock puppet big whoop wanna fight about it...

Uncle Vlad will soon sort out the decedent and venal west. :)

🙈🙉🙊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭Rezident

Comedy these days is dead because of snowflakes tripping up over themselves to be offended by something

Now they are actually going back in to the past and taking things out of context just to be offended. They deserve to be as happy as they evidently are.

Sometimes I like to refer to Kindergarten Cop in these threads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Surely nobody is actually taking the OP seriously?

It's a poor attempt at satire.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,736 ✭✭✭Yer Da sells Avon

If you used the term 'normal' to differentiate between gay people and straight people, most people would regard you (and those who thanked your post) as a homophobic bigot.

Big words from little comrade Arch Duke Ultimate Putin will send extermination squadron to your home soon

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9 Sweaty Balls

If you used the term 'normal' to differentiate between gay people and straight people, most people would regard you (and those who thanked your post) as a homophobic bigot.

Choping your cock off and wearing a dress ain't normal pal! :D

Banning the broadcasting of Mrs Doubtfire sounds like the kind of thing Eoghan McDermott would get behind.

Remember he wanted to censor Fairytale of New York?

Enough said.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 501 ✭✭✭squawker

Choping your cock off and wearing a dress ain't normal pal! :D

Ah come on, some people are born the wrong sex and thats a fact and can live their lives as they see fit

I am only on this thread as I found the OP outrage over a 20 year old movie humourous

Family Guy The FCC censors television

THE DICK VAN DYKE SHOW with DICK and DYKE struck through.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,972 ✭✭✭abff

Surely nobody is actually taking the OP seriously?

It's a poor attempt at satire.

That's what I was going to say.

I don't want to live on this planet anymore
    Spleerbun wrote: »
    men dressed as women is always something that has annoyed me. Don't see the humour at all, I find it weird and creepy
    that's the road we're heading down with all the lunacy these days.
    The world I grewd up in is gone this place is weird and scary to me now
    Jesus lads.

I don't know how some people manage to leave the house in the morning, if the word 'cis' is this upsetting to you. What exactly are you so afraid of?