Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Where would you go next...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,835 ✭✭✭carsfan2

They seem to have it up for 40k in the showroom judging by the pictures.
    Nice car.
    There’s a thread currently in the ev forum on them where they reckon you can have a 2019 landed and vrted for about 41k.
    I guess they’ll want 25 plus your own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,610 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

I'd say that was probably the old price and has been reduced since then. If you can truly get a 19 reg landed for 41k and with sterling dropping then it's a no brainer to go to the UK.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 946 ✭✭✭Phileas Frog

bazz26 wrote: »
    The SEI grants on the hybrid?

Same grant on an SE and M Sport though...

I'd say that was probably the old price and has been reduced since then. If you can truly get a 19 reg landed for 41k and with sterling dropping then it's a no brainer to go to the UK.

Well the guy paid 33k sterling which was 36100 euro and reckons vrt on 4.5 to 5.5k .
    M sport model with comfort pack I think. Sounds a good deal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,534 ✭✭✭MarkN

That Sarsfield one looks nice. Their stuff often has high mileage, that one doesn’t.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,967 ✭✭✭✭Cyrus

whats sarsfields rep like,

i remember way back when they seemed a little dodgy but they looked to have moved up market...

Same grant on an SE and M Sport though...

Oh I thought you meant 330e v 320d price difference rather than SE v M Sport. I have no idea what the difference would be then unless the M Sport has better standard equipment or the article got their figures wrong.
    carsfan2 wrote: »
    Well the guy paid 33k sterling which was 36100 euro and reckons vrt on 4.5 to 5.5k .
    M sport model with comfort pack I think. Sounds a good deal.

Oh I'm not doubting you, it's a great deal especially if you don't have an old car to shift first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,398 ✭✭✭vintagevrs

I have bought two cars in the UK in the last two years. I would recommend using revolut if you don't already have it.

Maybe your 33k stg quote was just an estimate and not an actual quote carsfan, but if it was a quote you could save another 500 quid. Im not a premium member now but when I bought the cars I was so no transaction fee then.

Screenshot-20190815-103249.png

vintagevrs wrote: »
    I have bought two cars in the UK in the last two years. I would recommend using revolut if you don't already have it.

Maybe your 33k stg quote was just an estimate and not an actual quote carsfan, but if it was a quote you could save another 500 quid. Im not a premium member now but when I bought the cars I was so no transaction fee then.

Screenshot-20190815-103249.png

While I’m a massive fan of Revolut and use it as my main card if you are with BOI your debit card is unlimited and for transactions above 5k (when Revolut starts adding a fee) it’s usually around the same (even cheaper sometimes) to use the BOI debit card.

It uses visa exchange rates which aren’t as good as Revolut but the boi fee is capped at 11.43 per transaction. The terrible exchange rates offered by Irish banks for transfers are to be avoid at all costs though.

...........the new G20 ..........

Saw my first G20 yesterday while in the N7 chaos ............ it was a 318d with decent wheels. Looked good to be fair.

Going to go look at that 530e at the weekend if I can. Always really liked the idea of them and test drove a few 330e last year but just couldn't resist buying another 5 series in the end. Anyone like to hazard a guess what I'd be offered on a trade in for a f10 530d msport 2014 with 70k kms on it against one of these?

Nobody else gonna guess? I reckon 23/25k

I see on the ev forum that fitzgeme a proper petrol head has ordered a model 3 now. I am surprised.

Controversial..... :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭Heres Johnny

Going to go look at that 530e at the weekend if I can. Always really liked the idea of them and test drove a few 330e last year but just couldn't resist buying another 5 series in the end. Anyone like to hazard a guess what I'd be offered on a trade in for a f10 530d msport 2014 with 70k kms on it against one of these?

Nobody else gonna guess? I reckon 23/25k

I'll be offered 23-25k or they'll look for 23-25k plus my own?

I paid just over 20k landed from UK last year so I'd expect it to be worth a bit less than that on a trade in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,446 ✭✭✭Wailin

You should get between 22-23.5k for that f10 I reckon. The low mileage is a big plus.

Wailin wrote: »
    You should get between 22-23.5k for that f10 I reckon. The low mileage is a big plus.

I'd be surprised if I did to be honest but good to hear. I did think I got it for a steal last year my cousin who's a mechanic and does a small bit of trading bought it himself to bring over and sell but he owed me a favour or a few quid for work I did and he gave it to me for what he paid.

The girlfriend also has a 2014 A6 S Line black edition 2.0d with same mileage that she bought for herself and drives it feck all.... She gets train to work and doesn't do much mileage in it so I kinda drive the 2 of them from time to time! She loves the car but what would you reckon that would be worth? I've a feeling she will want to keep it but I think if we get one big car and a smaller runaround it might suit better

Maybe I’m just too used to being low balled by BMW main dealers, but I’m guessing they will tell you the car is for sale at 40k like is on the windscreen for trade in and 37k for cash as per the Carzone ad.
    Then I’m guessing they offer 15 up to 18 for yours as an opener. I’d love to be wrong but they will tell you it’s a big diesel nobody wants and they can bring them in from the U.K. for nothing etc. etc.

Yeah very true actually. I was basing that on my experience trading in a 2013 525d touring with Quinns less than 2 yrs ago. That had 135k kms compared to 70k on the 530d above. I got 24.5k for it on the 535d. Obviously the cost to change is the important figure though.

I see on the ev forum that fitzgeme a proper petrol head has ordered a model 3 now. I am surprised.

Talk about a major turnaround of opinion there! Going from slating them to ordering one.

I think we need to take a drive in these newfangled yokes taking over our streets and see what all the fuss is about:/

I'll go for a look anyway and see what is said. It might be just curiosity about the g30 and in particular the 530e or my eternal longing to change. Probably won't do anything this year but no harm having a look

Let us know how you get on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,922 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Nice car. I don't think Id buy off that dealer though.
    Id certainly want to be sure I was buying something that could be put onto bmw extended warranty.
    I think its the perfect car for me. Drove the original 330e and loved the engine and power it had just couldn't go for it due to being too long in the tooth model wise.
    One query I have is whether they are approved for towing? I ideally need something to move my trackday car the odd time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,571 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

how much would that have cost new?!

Idbatterim wrote: »

how much would that have cost new?!

65, 275 for a 530e msport on BMW.ie website with no options ticked. Before haggling too

Although it's dearer than the 63k 530i so I'm not sure if there's grants to come off the 530e price or if they're included.

Actually I think there's 7500 grants so it's a 57.5k car new in Ireland before any sort of dealer discount

You probably saw it but beshoffs have one for sale in blue with less miles. Up for 39995 but they have a good reputation as far as I know and deal in lots of higher end stuff so might give you more for your 530d.

My experience of them would be to sell yours privately first!

MarkN wrote: »
    My experience of them would be to sell yours privately first!

Low value trade ins?

Wasn’t great. Got 3/4 k extra selling myself

Jumping in the shower then heading out to look at sarsfields car

Will be going in with the intention of straight sale first. Might introduce trade in later if I'm interested