Chinese tyres. I am glad ......

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,424 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

You can drive much harder and closer to the “edge” though with premium tyres than Chinese tyres so it does make a big difference.

Even keeping a decent distance behind the car in front if they hammer the brakes your going to have to also so I’d disagree with the above.

The point is, you shouldn't be driving anywhere near to the edge, especially in poor weather conditions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,476 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

Using cheap tyres on cars for years never an issue. Drive within your limits and you'll be fine.

Isn't that the issue? A lot of ordinary drivers don't seem to recognise that their limits change when it's wet and the with the quality of tyre on the car, among other things.

You'll see it every wet day, drivers driving in heavy rain the same way they'd drive in a bright warm clear dry day. A good tyre will have better performance in these tricky conditions so someone is more likely to get away with driving less carefully. Even if they don't realise they are driving less carefully.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,424 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Isn't that the issue? A lot of ordinary drivers don't seem to recognise that their limits change when it's wet and the with the quality of tyre on the car, among other things.

You'll see it every wet day, drivers driving in heavy rain the same way they'd drive in a bright warm clear dry day. A good tyre will have better performance in these tricky conditions so someone is more likely to get away with driving less carefully. Even if they don't realise they are driving less carefully.

The tires arent the problem there. So focus should be shifted from it, if people want to have a serious and honest discussion. Otherwise we are just arguing about the ability of crutches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,839 ✭✭✭Midnight_EG

Cordell wrote: »
    No, they are proper tyres, Korean not Chinese. Factory fitted on Hyundai's.

Do you believe that they're good just because they come on the car from factory? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,476 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

The tires arent the problem there. So focus should be shifted from it, if people want to have a serious and honest discussion. Otherwise we are just arguing about the ability of crutches.

I agree. It's a part technical solution to a behavioural probably

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,988 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

my old car (octavia) had 4 ditchfinder specials on it never seen the traction control light going on so often, dumped for some semperit all seasons. new car had 2 on didn't even wait to find out dumped for new Bridgestone all seasons don't know how anyone can drive on them. it's not like they are that cheap.

My weather

https://www.ecowitt.net/home/share?authorize=96CT1F

• Closed Accounts Posts: 516 ✭✭✭Lackadaisical

Good quality tyres absolutely make a huge difference. Uniroyal (owned by Continental) used to always advertise itself as “the rain tyre”.

People really need a bit of cop on about driving in bad conditions though. I was driving on the M8 in extremely dense fog and there were still people doing way more than the 120 speed limit never mind reducing speed and 30% of the cars s didn’t seem to know how to turn on their fog lights

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,945 ✭✭✭Tazzimus

Good quality tyres absolutely make a huge difference. Uniroyal (owned by Continental) used to always advertise itself as “the rain tyre”.

People really need a bit of cop on about driving in bad conditions though. I was driving on the M8 in extremely dense fog and there were still people doing way more than the 120 speed limit never mind reducing speed and 30% of the cars s didn’t seem to know how to turn on their fog lights
    That'll be the same 30% who don't know how to turn it off either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,909 ✭✭✭begbysback

Tazzimus wrote: »
    That'll be the same 30% who don't know how to turn it off either.

Surely that would be a different 30%,for if you can’t turn it on then no need to knock it off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,278 ✭✭✭TheBoyConor

TherapyBoy wrote: »
    Great advice! Always important & good to remember.

15 years is a long time, maybe you’ve forgotten what premium tyres feel like while driving.

I don't care for what a good or bad tire feels like. I've no interest or meas in things like that in a car. For me, a car is an appliance for getting from a to b and it should do it as cheaply and with as little thought as possible. In my view, my car holds the same status as the washing machine, or the microwave. As long as it does is job, I couldn't care less what it looks or feels like.

begbysback wrote: »
    Surely that would be a different 30%,for if you can’t turn it on then no need to knock it off.
    They'll eventually turn them on (by accident most likely) and then not realise they're on when it's not foggy, despite the fog light indicator on the dash.

Then again, people drive along oblivious to the flashing green symbol that make noise as well..

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 23,165 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

My last 3 cars:

3.0i BMX X3
    2.0TFSI Seat Leon FR
    1.8T Golf GTi

All only ever driven on Chinese tyres. Zero problems, never lost grip in any situation.

they/them/theirs

The more you can increase fear of drugs and crime, welfare mothers, immigrants and aliens, the more you control all of the people.

Noam Chomsky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,588 ✭✭✭Bigmac1euro

Lads I need new tyres for my Avensis,
    Can anyone recommend the best size as my current tyres seem quite small. The threads seem fine but the grip is absolutely shocking, I want to replace all 4. What’s the best value and best size I should go with ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,909 ✭✭✭begbysback

Brian? wrote: »
    My last 3 cars:

3.0i BMX X3
    2.0TFSI Seat Leon FR
    1.8T Golf GTi

All only ever driven on Chinese tyres. Zero problems, never lost grip in any situation.

Understandable for the bmx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 181 ✭✭FDave

This thread is perfect timing for this tyre review

https://youtu.be/_wo-9112aHw

Its premium on the front vs budget tyres on the rear and vice versa and highlights the inadequacies of some budget tyres. Obviously budget front and back is safer as the handelling is more neutral but performance differences between tyres can be huge.

Making assuptions that people driving on premium tyres are more likely to drive beyond their limits is a bit childish. How many people here delibertly buy the cheapest tyres and then make an informed decision to travel 10 or 20km/h slower than everyone else in the wet or leave bigger gaps between the car infront. Maybe we should rename the inside lane the budget tyre lane.

Fair enough people are saying they drive within their limitations but of the crashes that do happen how many could have been avoided with a better tyre choise. Its tyres and brakes that stop you so putting premium tyres on all 4 corners will help mitigate the chances of crashing from not being able to stop in time.
    The difference in wet stopping distance between tyres can be scary and while the OP may have been going too fast or close to the driver infront it was the tyres that saved him.
    http://www.tyrereviews.co.uk/ is worth a look for wet braking alone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭creedp

Brian? wrote: »
    My last 3 cars:

3.0i BMX X3
    2.0TFSI Seat Leon FR
    1.8T Golf GTi

Why then do you spend extra money buying high performance cars? These are more expensive to run with larger wheels, heavier on fuel, higher road tax, insurance, etc. You would save a lot more money by buying standard models as even the Chinese tyres for them would be cheaper again.

Anyway this conversation just keeps on going with people vehemently taking sides. Bottom line Chinese tyres are legal so whatever floats your boat. Which is worse Chinese tyres with decent thread or baby ass smooth premium tyres found on premium cars all over the country?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,759 ✭✭✭blackbox

I don't care for what a good or bad tire feels like. I've no interest or meas in things like that in a car. For me, a car is an appliance for getting from a to b and it should do it as cheaply and with as little thought as possible. In my view, my car holds the same status as the washing machine, or the microwave. As long as it does is job, I couldn't care less what it looks or feels like.

Do you use the cheapest detergent available in your cheap washing machine?

Are you delighted with the results?

bladespin wrote: »
    Should never even get near this on the road, track all fine and dandy but the road isn't the place to test.

Because cars aren’t about getting from A to B for a lot of people. Some of us by cars that’s are meant to be driven hard (but safely). Do you not get enjoyment pushing on a car on a nice back road?
    GreeBo wrote: »
    Why are you driving hard and close to the edge on a public road?

The issue is that the “edge” moves considerably depending on the tyres. What I would consider normal driving I’ve had the rear end kick out and had bad understeer when driving a car with crap tyres. Doing the same piece of driving on premium tyres far faster and not even a hit of grip loss.

Also you will find that when cheap tyres lose grip they just let go where as say the Good year Eagles I always fit lose grip in a very controllable and gradual way. It’s great fun pushing the car up and feeling it start to slide but easily keeping it under control but I wouldn’t dream of it on cheap tyres as they are far too unpredictable.
    I don't know the limitations of my car when cornering nor do I want do. I'd just prefer to corner at a speed that I feel is safe and appropriate. Surely you'd only know the limitations by exceeding them - then it's too late.

Knowing the limits of the car, tyres etc I would see as essential in safe driving. I push every car, every tyre etc last their limits often to find where they are (as tyres wear it changes etc). Plenty of safe place and to do it like wide deserted roundabouts at night say.

Same for weather the first thing I do on a frosty morning is do a few hard brake tests and do a quick hard blip of the accelerator in first to test grip levels.
    Using cheap tyres on cars for years never an issue. Drive within your limits and you'll be fine.

As above the limits move significantly depending on tyres.

For many particularly those who post on a motors forum a car is a lot more than just something for getting from A to B.

Because cars aren’t about getting from A to B for a lot of people. Some of us by cars that’s are meant to be driven hard (but safely). Do you not get enjoyment pushing on a car on a nice back road?

The issue is that the “edge” moves considerably depending on the tyres. What I would consider normal driving I’ve had the rear end kick out and had bad understeer when driving a car with crap tyres. Doing the same piece of driving on premium tyres far faster and not even a hit of grip loss.

Also you will find that when cheap tyres lose grip they just let go where as say the Good year Eagles I always fit lose grip in a very controllable and gradual way. It’s great fun pushing the car up and feeling it start to slide but easily keeping it under control but I wouldn’t dream of it on cheap tyres as they are far too unpredictable.

Knowing the limits of the car, tyres etc I would see as essential in safe driving. I push every car, every tyre etc last their limits often to find where they are (as tyres wear it changes etc). Plenty of safe place and to do it like wide deserted roundabouts at night say.

Same for weather xondisurona the first thing I do on a frosty morning is do a few hard brake tests and do a quick hard blip of the accelerator in first to test grip levels.

As above the limits move significantly depending on tyres.

For many particularly those who post on a motors forum a car is a lot more than just something for getting from A to B.

The open road is not your oyster. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭creedp

The open road is not your oyster. :rolleyes:

Its not your or anyones oyster .. even if you are the most careful driver in the world you can't control when a muppet will pull out in front of you at a junction / roundabout etc, cut you off on a motorway or generally act the ghoul.

My preference is always to be able to stop in the least possible time .. if that means paying a few extra quid for tyres then so be it. However, what you anyone else does is their business

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,792 ✭✭✭2Mad2BeMad

Because cars aren’t about getting from A to B for a lot of people.

?????
    Yes they are. Infact the vast majority of people buy cars to do exactly that.

Stop going on about limits and pushing cars to the edge you sound like a clown.

Drive safely and get to where you are going safely.
    It's common sense to slow down and increase your distance between you and the car in front of you when the road is wet

Edging and know your cars limits haha you'd swear it was a fooking rally car in a race you were driving everyday.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 23,165 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

creedp wrote: »
    Why then do you spend extra money buying high performance cars? These are more expensive to run with larger wheels, heavier on fuel, higher road tax, insurance, etc. You would save a lot more money by buying standard models as even the Chinese tyres for them would be cheaper again.

I don’t spend a lot on cars. The most expensive car there was 5500. The most I ever paid in insurance was €400. I buy cars I like to drive and put tyres that work well on them. I don’t see the value in more expensive tyres.
    Anyway this conversation just keeps on going with people vehemently taking sides. Bottom line Chinese tyres are legal so whatever floats your boat. Which is worse Chinese tyres with decent thread or baby ass smooth premium tyres found on premium cars all over the country?

I’m not vehemently taking a side, merely relating my experience. You’re right about the tyre wear being much more important.

they/them/theirs

The more you can increase fear of drugs and crime, welfare mothers, immigrants and aliens, the more you control all of the people.

Noam Chomsky

2Mad2BeMad wrote: »
    ?????
    Yes they are. Infact the vast majority of people buy cars to do exactly that.

Stop going on about limits and pushing cars to the edge you sound like a clown.

Drive safely and get to where you are going safely.
    It's common sense to slow down and increase your distance between you and the car in front of you when the road is wet

Edging and know your cars limits haha you'd swear it was a fooking rally car in a race you were driving everyday.

Something 99% of drivers don't have, judging by some of the stuff I've seen on the roads.

Also nothing wrong with knowing your cars limits, it helps when some other derp near you does something and you have to react accordingly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,017 ✭✭✭McCrack

Tazzimus wrote: »
    Something 99% of drivers don't have, judging by some of the stuff I've seen on the roads.

Also nothing wrong with knowing your cars limits, it helps when some other derp near you does something and you have to react accordingly.

Are you in the 1 percent so?

McCrack wrote: »
    Are you in the 1 percent so?
    I'd like to think so, yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,518 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

So good tyres enable bad driving.

Maybe a few low speed skids would slow down some of our posters rather than encourage them to spend more and keep driving inappropriately?

I wish when people refer to cheap and expensive they'd mention how much those terms mean to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,533 ✭✭✭bladespin

Absolutely, but not on the road, it's utter twattery to suggest otherwise.
    I've had all sorts of high performance fun but there's a time and more importantly a place for this, the road's not it.
    Untitled Image

MasteryDarts Ireland - Master your game!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,579 ✭✭✭garv123

Fair play to the OP being able to tell that they were cheap Chinese tyres by the sound of the skid alone.. How does the skid sound different from expensive worn tyres, or someone using their phone, or not paying attention, or tailgating?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 106 ✭✭WengerOutIn

I guess if you are driving hard up behind someone (may not have been the case) then what do you expect in the rain.
    I am always shocked at how brutal Irish people are at driving on any road. Tailgating gone crazy.