Supposedly extremely attractive people who you don't find attractive?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,149 ✭✭✭Tammy!

Ah I don't think it's meant to be taken up seriously by most posters but just exaggerations.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

Raconteuse wrote: »
    Why do people have to be so insulting about looks though?
    It's human nature to notice and comment on other's physical appearance. Where we do the commenting is what's important. I can't imagine anyone mentioned in this thread is ever going to read it, so no harm done. The whole premise of AH is that it's like having chats you'd have in the pub and discussing people who are in the public eye is definitely something that happens. Down the pub you'd be honest with your friends and say things like "I think such and such is a ride/dog" but you'd never say it to the person in real life, unless you are a socially inept inconsiderate ar$ehole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,681 ✭✭✭Porklife

Why do people have to be so insulting about looks though? "I don't get the excitement about xyz - I don't find them attractive at all" is plenty, surely. Of course there are times people deserve to be insulted but not over something they can't control.

It seems kinda embittered - because they got fame and fortune. And "you'd see as good looking around UCD" etc - so what? The folk in UCD are not well known, and it doesn't mean the person in question is not good looking.

Sarah Jessica Parker looks totally grand and unremarkable too, and nobody would think "that woman looks like a horse" if they passed her on the street. It's just that someone started a bandwagon and all these folk who can't think for themselves pretend it's true. I can't stand the character of Carrie Bradshaw but that doesn't require baseless insults about the actress who played her. And she does look very stylish - the amazing clothes do look great on her, no matter what bitter folk say.

but she's not somebody just walking down the street, she's a major celebrity and iconic actress and is expected to be perfect in a position like that. Sad but true of the culture we live in. This is After Hours and not to be taken seriously at all! You really shouldn't be getting offended and called people bitter for messing about in a lighthearted thread!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,723 ✭✭✭Hangdogroad

Geri Halliwell. Nothing special looks wise and by all accounts a horrible person.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Raconteuse

I'd say the last time Geri Halliwell was considered extremely attractive was 1997!
    Paddy Cow wrote: »
    It's human nature to notice and comment on other's physical appearance.
    Well yeah I never disputed that. Vitriol about a person's face and other physical features they have no control over involves effort though. Not a good sign. Doesn't matter if the people in question don't read it. I'd say SJP constantly sees it though - and she just keeps a low profile. Doesn't carry on like other "celebs" - the nastiness is just baffling. Especially when it comes from other women.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,768 ✭✭✭Lotus Flower

Why do people have to be so insulting about looks though? "I don't get the excitement about xyz - I don't find them attractive at all" is plenty, surely. Of course there are times people deserve to be insulted but not over something they can't control.

It seems kinda embittered - because they got fame and fortune. And "you'd see as good looking around UCD" etc - so what? The folk in UCD are not well known, and it doesn't mean the person in question is not good looking.

Sarah Jessica Parker looks totally grand and unremarkable too, and nobody would think "that woman looks like a horse" if they passed her on the street. It's just that someone started a bandwagon and all these folk who can't think for themselves pretend it's true. I can't stand the character of Carrie Bradshaw but that doesn't require baseless insults about the actress who played her. And she does look very stylish - the amazing clothes do look great on her, no matter what bitter folk say.

Finally some sense... I got asked if I looked like a horse myself just for defending her... Everything you've said in this post is totally spot on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,305 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

Finally some sense... I got asked if I looked like a horse myself just for defending her... Everything you've said in this post is totally spot on

Ahh now that’s not on, but I’m going to hell for sniggering, sorry LF :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,916 ✭✭✭✭Water John

SJP might be reading this. Hasn't the family a house in Donegal?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,316 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

It's the same with people calling Wayne Rooney 'Shrek'. Obviously, he wouldn't be deemed to be good-looking by most, but the constant comparison with Shrek really annoys me! I'm not even a Man United fan (where he played most of his career)! "Wayne is ugly and Shrek is ugly so we'll call Wayne 'Shrek". :rolleyes:

It's just lazy nastiness...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭paleoperson

Jennifer Aniston.

Never got it when I was 10 year old, get it even less today.

She's literally an ironing board with a very plain face.

I'd say the last time Geri Halliwell was considered extremely attractive was 1997!

Well yeah I never disputed that. Vitriol about a person's face and other physical features they have no control over involves effort though. Not a good sign. Doesn't matter if the people in question don't read it. I'd say SJP constantly sees it though - and she just keeps a low profile. Doesn't carry on like other "celebs" - the nastiness is just baffling. Especially when it comes from other women.

Your last sentence is so true and that's what got me. Women get enough sh*t for their looks so it's even more disappointing when it comes from other women. And it doesn't matter if she never reads the comments or if it's a "light hearted" thread or "well she's an actress and is expected to look perfect". Glad to see more people are calling this BS out

SJP is a perfectly nice looking woman. She may not be the most beautiful in the world but she's got a radiant smile and looks like a nice person, all totally separate to her famous TV character. I saw her on the US version of Who Do You Think You Are and she's very likeable and warm.

There's a Hemsworth out there who I don't think is anything special, but I can't remember which one. And having said that, he was on a chat show and seemed lovely as a person.

Michael Fassbender is a great actor, but just..no. He's got early-era-Bowie teeth, which doesn't help. Can't understand anyone fancying him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

Candie wrote: »
    SJP is a perfectly nice looking woman. She may not be the most beautiful in the world but she's got a radiant smile and looks like a nice person, all totally separate to her famous TV character. I saw her on the US version of Who Do You Think You Are and she's very likeable and warm.

There's a Hemsworth out there who I don't think is anything special, but I can't remember which one. And having said that, he was on a chat show and seemed lovely as a person.

Michael Fassbender is a great actor, but just..no. He's got early-era-Bowie teeth, which doesn't help. Can't understand anyone fancying him.
    This is so hypocritical. You start off by defending SJP's looks and then totally rip Michael Fassbenber to shreads! Admit it, if even only to yourself. No one is immune to checking out others. Whether we admit it in a public forum or in the back of our minds, we all judge each other on looks. That doesn't make us bad people.

Ah here, not exactly ripping him to shreds!

There's levels of vitriol that are over the top, comparing Fassbenders teeth to Bowies isn't quite as ott as comparing him to a horse or a foot.

Of course we all judge each other on looks, nobody is disputing that in a thread about people that we don't find attractive. There are ways of saying it that simply aren't warranted, imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,128 ✭✭✭Homelander

It's also not about ripping into random people, or random celebrities, looks. No-one's on here criticizing Vincent Brown, Brian Dobson or Pat Kenny for their lack of hotness.

It's about discussing people who are widely recognised and heralded as being attractive, therefore are fair game for public discussion.

Calm down, she said he has Bowie era teeth, hardly totally ripping him to shreds. Not like she said his teeth are hideous, some people (and many do) find that attractive. No way is it comparable to the unwarranted abuse the likes of SJP receives

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,916 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Now Fassbender is reportedly, well endowed. Some might consider it a plus to the equation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,755 ✭✭✭✭CastorTroy

Sheridan81 wrote: »
    Sarah Jessica Parker is very cute in Hocus Pocus.

tumblr_nubb04hOqw1rp0vkjo1_500.gif

06b65d830fa2d5949f0727bd8967503a.png

Not a great still image of her from that film, but, yeah, I remember texting my cousin while I was watching Hocus Pocus asking was it wrong I liked her in that film. I also remember finding her cute in Flight of the Navigator.

There are some celebs who you see sometimes and they don't look great then other times you suddenly see it. Katy Perry is an example for me. Rihanna would be another

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,107 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Mila Kunis
    Jessica Alba
    Taylor Swift
    Kate Beckinsale
    Rhianna

I'm sure that in real life if any of these women were to even look at me I'd faint on the spot - I feel ludicrous writing down their names - but, you know, we're just talking here.

For what it's worth: I'd happily give a ball and maybe a kidney to look anything remotely like Michael Fassbender.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,247 ✭✭✭milli milli

Also I'd say SJP has a pretty thick skin like. She can probably hardly Google herself without a bunch of memes comparing her to a horse or some people agreeing that it really pisses them off that she's somehow on telly even though they don't want to fcuk her. She could have changed her appearance, she didn't. I'd say she's sitting back enjoying the fortune she's made rather than worrying about what some forum users in Ireland think about her face.

Yeah really hate all the negativity and vile Sarah Jessica Parker has received over the years. It’s way over the top. I always thought she was an attractive woman, especially in her 20s.
    I remember reading an interview where she was so upset reading all the criticism about her looks. :(
    I find all the jokes about her looks quite nasty. And no I’m not on a high horse - its fine to say you don’t find someone attractive, but the repetitive ‘jokes’ are coming across as bitchy.

Rugby guys, Brad Pitt, Johnny Depp, Daniel Craig, Tom Hardy - I’m not into the overly macho look. Used to like Christian Bale until he was horrible to that guy on set - such a turn-off.
    Never found Michael Buble attractive but then I saw his Christmas special where he invited his whole family onstage and it totally turned me around - personality can make or break you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

SJP looks like a jockeys wife.

Grenade%20image3%201280x720.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭Sheridan81

Yeah really hate all the negativity and vile Sarah Jessica Parker has received over the years.
    I find all the jokes about her looks quite nasty. And no I’m not on a high horse
    giphy.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 5ide5h0w

Clarkson said it best when he compared SJP to a boiled horse

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭Sheridan81

Young SJP looked like Miyam Bialik aka Blossom Russo from the TV show Blossom.

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcTcnzsoGOjneC9PfGf1mblq0GkxnnVA489JVNBmInQY79m27-JG2w
    s-l300.jpg

Sheridan81 wrote: »
    Young SJP looked like Miyam Bialik aka Blossom Russo from the TV show Blossom.

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcTcnzsoGOjneC9PfGf1mblq0GkxnnVA489JVNBmInQY79m27-JG2w
    s-l300.jpg

I'll add Amy Whinehouse and to a lesser degree Celine Dion to that harem of horses. On a side note, nobody get all bent out of shape when Richard Gere was being compared to a dog and Cumerbatch was being called an otter so let's all just chill the beans about the stallion that is SJP!

Never got the thing with Heath Ledger

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

Hope sbsquarepants doesn't mind me linking to their post in another thread, but I don't know why all the fellas are so crazy about Princess Qajar :confused:

Sure you could see women like that in any nightclub in Ireland!

Tammy! wrote: »
    Never got the thing with Heath Ledger

Oh Tammy! I've agreed with all your posts so far but not wanting to bone Heath?! How could you!

Porklife wrote: »
    Oh Tammy! I've agreed with all your posts so far but not wanting to bone Heath?! How could you!

It was that film 10 Things I Hate About You! It was just so bad!

@Porklife, I don't think either Cumberbatch or Gere have had the same level of vitriol. Can I just remind you of your post: "She's known as being unattractive. There's a joke that goes.... Sarah Jessica Parker walks into a bar....the bartender says...why the long face
    She looks like a witch or a shoe people. No woman wants to look like her!!"

Dripping with vitriol and nastiness