Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion - Part 4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

Saw that. Bad taste. They seem to specialise in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭charolais0153

Isn't the whole story of the curse that we overtook a hearse after winning the final in 51 and the widow/priest cursed us, J felt it was in reference to that rather than the remaining players on that team

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,384 ✭✭✭Duffy the Vampire Slayer

When I was kid everyone said it happened in Tarmonbarry, but now it's Foxford.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭Bunny Colvin

Pineapple1 wrote: »
    Agree. Seen loads of pics of it on social media, personally I didnt think it was that interesting as adverts go and it was a bit lame indeed. But here we are talking about it, yourself and myself Bunny C, which Im guessing is the objective of the whole thing! But yeah PP are known for their daft advertisements. And ruining people's lives/relationships.

Any publicity is good publicity from their prespective alright but it's no harm to highlight it.

I'd love to see the gambling industry tightened up in this country and PP go bust but that's for another day's discussion.
    Isn't the whole story of the curse that we overtook a hearse after winning the final in 51 and the widow/priest cursed us, J felt it was in reference to that rather than the remaining players on that team

The fact that Padraig Carney was buried a couple of months back makes it in bad taste. I doubt his family would appreciate seeing a coffin and a reference to the team he played with, that soon from his funeral. Not to mention Paddy Prendergast, a man who's still alive to see it. But that's Paddy Power, always great banter from them, lose your weekly wage packet in minutes and sure you'll come out smiling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

While I'm at it. I'm rewatching the game on RTE player.

That intro before that game by RTE was a bit depressing from a Mayo perspective too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,198 ✭✭✭PressRun

Well, in better spirits today.
    Looking back on the year, we probably overacheived a little given all the setbacks. Was great to win the league final and was delighted with the wins over Galway and Donegal in the championship, plus we unearthed a couple more players. Think Fionn McDonagh is a great addition and James Carr, while still a little green, has potential. Mattie Ruane is probably the find of the year for us and should be a starter next year. We need to scour the county for goalkeeping options and a full back.
    I think Connacht should be the number one priority for next year. There is no reason we can't take that title back and stop the treks through qualifiers - it's too energy sapping and a minefield for injuries. We need to make things easier for ourselves.
    So hopefully next year we can get a Connacht title under our belt and continue to grow the panel. No reason we can't continue to be competitive even if a couple do walk away this year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 213 ✭✭Pineapple1

PressRun wrote:
    Well, in better spirits today. Looking back on the year, we probably overacheived a little given all the setbacks. Was great to win the league final and was delighted with the wins over Galway and Donegal in the championship, plus we unearthed a couple more players. Think Fionn McDonagh is a great addition and James Carr, while still a little green, has potential. Mattie Ruane is probably the find of the year for us and should be a starter next year. We need to scour the county for goalkeeping options and a full back. I think Connacht should be the number one priority for next year. There is no reason we can't take that title back and stop the treks through qualifiers - it's too energy sapping and a minefield for injuries. We need to make things easier for ourselves. So hopefully next year we can get a Connacht title under our belt and continue to grow the panel. No reason we can't continue to be competitive even if a couple do walk away this year.

Well said. I feel a lot more optimistic for the team this year than I did last year. Considering what we were up against all season re injuries with another long scenic route I feel happy with how far the team got this year. Obviously would love to have the next 3 weeks looking forward to a final and the builup but I feel theres a silver lining on the horizon with the newer lads hence why I dont feel so gutted today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,490 ✭✭✭✭km79

PressRun wrote: »
    Well, in better spirits today.
    Looking back on the year, we probably overacheived a little given all the setbacks. Was great to win the league final and was delighted with the wins over Galway and Donegal in the championship, plus we unearthed a couple more players. Think Fionn McDonagh is a great addition and James Carr, while still a little green, has potential. Mattie Ruane is probably the find of the year for us and should be a starter next year. We need to scour the county for goalkeeping options and a full back.
    I think Connacht should be the number one priority for next year. There is no reason we can't take that title back and stop the treks through qualifiers - it's too energy sapping and a minefield for injuries. We need to make things easier for ourselves.
    So hopefully next year we can get a Connacht title under our belt and continue to grow the panel. No reason we can't continue to be competitive even if a couple do walk away this year.

I’m the same
    Didn’t plunge into the usual darkness at any stage today :)
    Wholeheartedly agree winning Connacht has to be our priority next year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 214 ✭✭lillielad

Hard luck yesterday guys, am a Kildare man with family from Mayo, I have fell in love with this team and the effort they have put in over the last few years, no doubt about it you guys will be back next year ready to challenge. Savage support yesterday as always.

Side note but why was the Hill booing Moran, pretty cat if you ask me...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

Grabbed this article off the All Ireland Senior Football Championship 2019 thread.My mate was telling me about it yesterday.

https://www.irishtimes.com/business/work/mayo-s-chris-barrett-balancing-work-and-play-for-gaa-not-sustainable-any-more-1.3981640

I truly believe inter county players are not compensated sufficiently for their levels of commitment and sacrifices in terms of lost income/time lost and the consequential undoubted adverse affects in terms of family life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭cocoman

lillielad wrote: »
    Hard luck yesterday guys, am a Kildare man with family from Mayo, I have fell in love with this team and the effort they have put in over the last few years, no doubt about it you guys will be back next year ready to challenge. Savage support yesterday as always.

Side note but why was the Hill booing Moran, pretty cat if you ask me...

Probably goes back to 2006 when he scored the goal against them.

cocoman wrote: »
    Probably goes back to 2006 when he scored the goal against them.

And 2013 when he scored the goal and cupped his hands to his ears towards Hill 16.

Apparently he got a good reception from Hill 16 after the game yesterday, when he went over and appluaded them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

TBH I think the booing is indicative of a deep respect for the quality of player he is!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,088 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

And 2013 when he scored the goal and cupped his hands to his ears towards Hill 16.

Apparently he got a good reception from Hill 16 after the game yesterday, when he went over and appluaded them.

The man is pure class and I didn't notice any booing. But that was mostly because of the screams of your denizens for most of the game. I've never been at a louder match than yesterday.

I really hope he's back next year. And I really want him to get a Celtic Cross before he retires.

Commiserations again, I thought it was going to be a 2015 job at HT.

The man is pure class and I didn't notice any booing. But that was mostly because of the screams of your denizens for most of the game. I've never been at a louder match than yesterday.

I really hope he's back next year. And I really want him to get a Celtic Cross before he retires.

Commiserations again, I thought it was going to be a 2015 job at HT.

It was a great atmosphere for the first half. I thought our support were really fired up and responded to what they were seeing on the pitch.

Fair play and best of luck in the final. We'll meet again soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭Nidgeweasel

seligehgit wrote: »
    Grabbed this article off the All Ireland Senior Football Championship 2019 thread.My mate was telling me about it yesterday.

https://www.irishtimes.com/business/work/mayo-s-chris-barrett-balancing-work-and-play-for-gaa-not-sustainable-any-more-1.3981640

I truly believe inter county players are not compensated sufficiently for their levels of commitment and sacrifices in terms of lost income/time lost and the consequential undoubted adverse affects in terms of family life.

Brilliant article.

The flip side of course, is that inter county footballers do get much more opportunities (and rightly so) than the average joe. I’m talking employment wise, in an educational sense, and then even the softer bits like endorsements etc.

The big thing though which you’ve touched on and the hardest thing I believe is when you’re trying to progress in your profession is just the constant distraction and rushing out to get to training down at home or whatever which absolutely does have a negative impact on your performance at work and your focus. County players will always get a bit of leeway in that respect but it is hard. I was involved with a senior club down the country at home a while ago when I was starting out in Dublin and even that commitment of getting back every weekend and maybe getting back for training once a week was exhausting. Cannot even imagine what’s required for the like of Barrett and it does need looking at. The climate has changed and I would suggest that there are far more inter county players based in the capital now than at any other stage before in the GAA.

From that article I’m just glad the Mayo boys don’t have to drive themselves at least!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,373 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

Bonniedog wrote: »
    Saw that. Bad taste. They seem to specialise in it.
    Remember kids
    Even though he may act like he is, Paddy Power is not your friend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,152 ✭✭✭✭Cartman78

Still gutted after Saturday but proud of the team - it was some battle through the qualifiers and the Super 8's but playing Dublin was a sobering experience.

re: Paddy Power - absolutely despise their media bantz and general paddywhackery. I'd recommend reading "Tony 10" by Declan Lynch if you want to see their true colours

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭shockframe

Mayo will proabaly lose 1 or 2 players over the winter as opposed to a mass exodus.

Same thing happened with Kerry. They held onto the likes of Aidan O'Mahony and Marc/Tomas O'Se until they were in their mid 30s.

Either way I don't reckon Mayo will go quietly. The transition has started already and with a depleted squad they still made a semi final. Connacht is competitive but not Ulster-strong. Roscommon have improved but not quite Monaghan standard. Galway could be anything but their inconsistency holds them back.

in the 90s and 00s they came in short bursts but soon faded into the distance but they have 8 out of 9 solid seasons in a row now. Mayo got 2 or 3 more years out of this team than they really should. That resilience will serve them in good stead the next few years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,791 ✭✭✭muddle84

When I was kid everyone said it happened in Tarmonbarry, but now it's Foxford.

It was always foxford any time i heard anything about it . Paddy Prendergast spoke about exactly what happened in an interview he did before the 2017 final i believe if you want to know more about it. It all got blown out of propotion after that.

New mayo news podcast out this morning. Its worth a listen, some good audio in it from the usuals. Horan mentioning new faces for next year so looking forward to what the club championship will throw up!

muddle84 wrote: »
    New mayo news podcast out this morning. Its worth a listen, some good audio in it from the usuals. Horan mentioning new faces for next year so looking forward to what the club championship will throw up!

Definitely a good few positives from the year. Read something this morning that said the age profile of the squad that finished the game on Saturday was actually younger than what Dublin finished with, so the youth is there. A squad built around Paddy Durcan, Diarmuid O'Connor, Fionn McDonagh and Matthew Ruane, as well as retaining experienced players who still have age on their side like Cillian, Aidan, Lee, and Brendan Harrison, has plenty of scope to be competitive in the latter stages of the championship. Would like to see Eoin O'Donoghue get more game time next year as he's well able and has more than held his own when introduced this year. I highly doubt we've seen the last of Jason Doherty either, he still has loads to offer. As I said before, full back and goalkeeper are the two positions that need to be examined the most urgently over winter, and work needs to be done on the forward line, cultivating James Carr's potential and keeping an eye out around the county for one or two others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,088 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

Definitely a good few positives from the year. Read something this morning that said the age profile of the squad that finished the game on Saturday was actually younger than what Dublin finished with, so the youth is there. A squad built around Paddy Durcan, Diarmuid O'Connor, Fionn McDonagh and Matthew Ruane, as well as retaining experienced players who still have age on their side like Cillian, Aidan, Lee, and Brendan Harrison, has plenty of scope to be competitive in the latter stages of the championship. Would like to see Eoin O'Donoghue get more game time next year as he's well able and has more than held his own when introduced this year. I highly doubt we've seen the last of Jason Doherty either, he still has loads to offer. As I said before, full back and goalkeeper are the two positions that need to be examined the most urgently over winter, and work needs to be done on the forward line, cultivating James Carr's potential and keeping an eye out around the county for one or two others.

I'm asuming he's okay after his wallop?

He should have been taken off straightaway to my mind (as should have COC). He had gone down like a sack of spuds. It looked awful where I was sitting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,490 ✭✭✭✭km79

He should have been taken off straightaway to my mind (as should have COC). He had gone down like a sack of spuds. It looked awful where I was sitting.

Oh is that why he was subbed ?
    Didn’t realize that
    Thought it was a strange change at the time but with horan who knew !!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Have to say felt like end of an era on Saturday evening.
    Maybe it is the way it was first time Dublin really tore the team apart and maybe it is looking at fact the old stalwarts like Moran, Higgins, Clarke, Vaughan and possibly a couple of more will be no more.
    Added to that the injuries that some of the real powerhouses of the team have absorbed over the last few years and the hard years put in are I believe beginning to tell.

As regards the match some might say one shouldn't have a pop at management at this stage, but the second half and the Kerry match just copperfastens my belief that Horan has learned nothing from his years away.

He just stood on the sideline and did nothing as defense was being torn open time and again, as the kickouts were being intercepted.
    He had Parsons running up and down the sideline so why not introduce him as another target man for kickouts.
    Also go ultra defensive even for a couple of minutes to just steady the ship, introduce McLoughlin as another sweeper.

And yes Dublin were immense and maybe those changes plus some ultra cynical ploys like starting some handbags or having the odd player go down with injury might not have stopped it, but might just might have broken up the flow and momentum a bit.
    Standing there hoping is not going to do anything to remedy the situation.

As for the players they don't owe anybody anything.
    The fans both Mayo and indeed the entire GAA football world owe them gratitude for the enjoyment and entertainment they have brought us time and again.

Listening to Marian Finucane on the radio Saturday morning read out the article detailing Chris Barrett's week says all that needs to be said about the dedication of these guys.
    I am sad that these guys have never gotten a celtic cross that surely in any other time would have come their way, but they owe no one anything.

A lot of these guys will be fondly remembered in the same regard as some of us remember the Willie Joes or Ciaran Macs.

And the championship will be all the poorer for not having Mayo competing at the very top.

Some will say I am writing the team off, but sorry I can't see the shoes of some of those either departing, just playing bit parts or not having the power they once had due to injuries being easily filled.
    They were once in a generation players and it was a pleasure to see them at their prime.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,679 ✭✭✭✭Zeek12

Definitely a good few positives from the year. Read something this morning that said the age profile of the squad that finished the game on Saturday was actually younger than what Dublin finished with, so the youth is there. A squad built around Paddy Durcan, Diarmuid O'Connor, Fionn McDonagh and Matthew Ruane, as well as retaining experienced players who still have age on their side like Cillian, Aidan, Lee, and Brendan Harrison, has plenty of scope to be competitive in the latter stages of the championship.

Very true.

The talk of Mayo being finished, too old, too many miles etc. is totally exaggerated. Take our forward line for example.
    Assuming Andy decides to call it a day, we'd probably have the two O'Connors, McDonagh, Darren Coen, Doherty, James Carr next year.
    By my count that's an average age of less than 26 by start of next season. You could interchange a few others in there like McLoughlin, Loftus or Fergal Boland but it doesn't change the age profile much.

Similar at the back. If Clarke and Higgins bow out, you'll have young guys like O'Donoghue and Stephen Coen who are ready to come into that defence.
    And the keeper situation needs to be looked at anyway, regardless of what David decides to do. Both keepers on the panel have weaknesses which have been magnified and exploited in games against the top teams.

Zeek12 wrote: »
    The talk of Mayo being finished, too old, too many miles etc. is totally exaggerated.

It's something people like to go on about but we've several key players still under 30. When I looked at the ages of some of the Dublin players involved in the 26 on Saturday, they had a few on the wrong side of 30, which I hadn't even realised because its virtually never talked about.

Honestly I didn't even see it happen. Haven't heard anything since so I'd say he's probably grand

jmayo wrote: »

And the championship will be all the poorer for not having Mayo competing at the very top.

Ah come on now, not this again. Look at the standard of football in Mayo and look at the players on the fringes throughout this year, Oisin Mullins and Conroy from the U20's. Look back at the minor match versus Dublin this year. There is talent coming through all over the pitch. Then assume the worst, Clarke, Higgins, Moran, Seamie, Vaughan all retire. Is it really all the unrealistic to think that we could still make a Semi Final next year? Really? Maybe i'm being over optimistic, and if so fair enough. Even Then I refuse to believe that Super 8's is not achievable.

I think that's achievable, and i don't think that many are going to retire. The standard of football in the county has changed significantly and the pipeline seems to be there now with talent. Maybe not the same caliber as some of the current stock in their prime but who knows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

muddle84 wrote: »
    Ah come on now, not this again. Look at the standard of football in Mayo and look at the players on the fringes throughout this year, Oisin Mullins and Conroy from the U20's. Look back at the minor match versus Dublin this year. There is talent coming through all over the pitch. Then assume the worst, Clarke, Higgins, Moran, Seamie, Vaughan all retire. Is it really all the unrealistic to think that we could still make a Semi Final next year? Really? Maybe i'm being over optimistic, and if so fair enough. Even Then I refuse to believe that Super 8's is not achievable.

I think that's achievable, and i don't think that many are going to retire. The standard of football in the county has changed significantly and the pipeline seems to be there now with talent. Maybe not the same caliber as some of the current stock in their prime but who knows.

The last line is the point.
    The attack can look a little rudderless without Moran and he was the difference I believe in 2017.
    When you hear the likes of Oisin McConville, a wily old attacker himself, comment about him and what he adds it says it all in my mind.

I sadly think Keegan 29 is a shadow of his former self, Boyle and Barrett are 32, Higgins is 34, Vaughan is 30.
    That is the heart of once very formidable defense and a huge attacking threat that needs to be replaced.
    Seamie O'Shea is 32 and Parsons who has had a miraculous recovery is 31.
    Moran is 35 and pivotal to attack.

I was surprised by Parsons and Vaughan's ages actually.

Note these were the ages on the Mayo GAA squad lifted from connachtgaa.ie website so by next years championship there will be another year onto them.

Yes there are some good lads coming up through the ranks, but as I said they have almighty shoes to fill and fairly fast.
    For instance not every one from minor level slots into senior as quickly as a Clifford and remember he is exceptional talent.
    And not everyone from u20/21 makes the grade either.

I do agree Mayo should be reaching Super 8s, but I think it could be as one of the bit players from now on.
    Hopefully only for a while anyway. :(

I am not allowed discuss …