Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

USA vs Canada vs Australia vs New Zealand vs UK

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,215 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

Australia Or the USA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,102 ✭✭✭greencap

snow
    spiders
    mentalists

UK

can always get a budget flight for some sunshine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,883 ✭✭✭✭banie01

Why only Anglophone countries?
    Would quite happily move to a non Anglophone country and have spent a few years previously living in one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,215 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

banie01 wrote: »
    Why only Anglophone countries?
    Would quite happily move to a non Anglophone country and have spent a few years previously living in one.
    Canadais also francophone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,516 ✭✭✭weemcd

New Zealand is the answer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,883 ✭✭✭✭banie01

Canadais also francophone.

Semantics really ;)
    But yep, part of it certainly is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,937 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

Florida would be my dream place to live.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭emmabo25

New Zealand, beautiful scenery, and I love the accent!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,707 ✭✭✭Bobblehats

620617993_1642463.gif?4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,722 ✭✭✭Ardillaun

They have hotter summers than both Ireland and the UK.

Vancouver's winters are no colder than here.

I’m talking about Canada beyond Vancouver and Southern Ontario, i.e. nearly all of it. In the rest of Canada we have serious winters. I spent one year in Vancouver and found the winter rain and cloudy skies highly demoralizing after Calgary’s sunshine.

Florida would be my dream place to live.

I need hills. Florida is too flat and swampy for my taste.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

emmabo25 wrote: »
    New Zealand, beautiful scenery, and I love the accent!

Are you deaf?

Easily New Zealand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭emmabo25

Mad_maxx wrote: »
    Are you deaf?

We all have our quirks :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,277 ✭✭✭poisonated

Probably U.S

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,613 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

We made that decision 8 years ago, NZ was easily the best candidate overall and haven't looked back since.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,424 ✭✭✭janfebmar

A great choice, and thank God for ourselves and the British for developing those countries so well in centuries gone by, and laying the foundation stones and legal system etc, so we can have such places now for our emigrants of today.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Whichever has the most prohibitive gun laws.

Switzerland has one of the worlds highest private gun ownership but one of the worlds lowest crime rates, they just don't have a culture of murdering masses of people for the craic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Definitely not the USA. Too much crime and gangs.

No to Australia, too many things that can kill you.

Canada doesnt seem too bad but they seem to be on a similar warpath as Sweden and Germany to self destruction. Death by PC.

The UK is grim in most parts. There seems to be a handful of small towns in the south that seem reasonable. London isn't British anymore and the increasing levels of gangs makes the place sound quite scary outside of the tourist areas.

New Zealand seems like a southern hemisphere version of Ireland. I'll take them by default.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,700 ✭✭✭Doylers

For anyone living in NZ, how do you find coming back visiting ? In terms of costs and time?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,277 ✭✭✭poisonated

I’m surprised that most people would choose New Zealand. That being said, I’ve never been there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

The Kiwis are the most like us in terms of personality and 'sure this is our lot' outlook, especially when you head to the rural towns and villages. It's even more pronounced on the South Island; where the sight of a man pulling up in his tractor and blocking half the road so he can head into the shop to buy cigarettes and a sausage roll is met with the same indifference and traffic politeness as you'd see in Skibbereen, Kenmare etc.

I'd prefer most of the Yanks to the Canadians to be honest. The Canadians have this impression of themselves and their country that sometimes reminds me of the stereotypical attitude of the Irishman when comparing himself to the Englishman. Likes to let you know how different they all are; whilst having very much the same sense of humour, terrible food, and the love of drink and sport as the neighbours.

Some of the folks from the southern states of the US are lovely people. It would be like Ireland; don't discuss religion or politics with them. You'd be hard pressed to find more genuine though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,017 ✭✭✭SharpshooterTom

No to Australia, too many things that can kill you.

Why do people keep saying this?

The last person to die from a spider bite in Australia was in 1980, nearly 40 years ago, before the anti-venom program was introduced in 1981. No one has died since its been introduced.

Sharks? Don't swim in shark infested areas, Australia has plenty of safe beaches. Crocodiles only live in very remote areas way up in northern queensland.

The Kiwis are the most like us in terms of personality and 'sure this is our lot' outlook, especially when you head to the rural towns and villages. It's even more pronounced on the South Island; where the sight of a man pulling up in his tractor and blocking half the road so he can head into the shop to buy cigarettes and a sausage roll is met with the same indifference and traffic politeness as you'd see in Skibbereen, Kenmare etc.

I'd prefer most of the Yanks to the Canadians to be honest. The Canadians have this impression of themselves and their country that sometimes reminds me of the stereotypical attitude of the Irishman when comparing himself to the Englishman. Likes to let you know how different they all are; whilst having very much the same sense of humour, terrible food, and the love of drink and sport as the neighbours.

Some of the folks from the southern states of the US are lovely people. It would be like Ireland; don't discuss religion or politics with them. You'd be hard pressed to find more genuine though.

America probably suits extroverts and really ambitious people better than Canada. Yes, the differences in the attitudes up north take a while to sink in and aren’t that great in big cities like Vancouver or Toronto but one feels them more strongly with time. I much prefer the social and political atmosphere in Canada, esp. Newfoundland, and that is a large part of why I have stayed here.

I very much doubt that Kiwis are more like the Irish than Newfoundlanders are, beyond shared interests in sport and farming. The whole of Atlantic Canada has a more relaxed feel to it compared to central or western Canada. Have you been here? The weather is awful and job opportunities are scarce. There are days I envy people who have water that hammerhead sharks would feel at home in. Here the sea’s temperature is a major hazard and, one way or another, the winter claims many victims every year. The upside of such climatic adversity is that people look out for each other. If I have a problem with my snowblower the neighbours will soon be over to help me. It’s a great feeling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,613 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

Doylers wrote: »
    For anyone living in NZ, how do you find coming back visiting ? In terms of costs and time?

takes too long and costs too much :pac:

About 2.5k eur per person for the flights alone. Auckland-Dubai is 17 or so hours, 4 hours there, another 6-7 to Dublin and then the smaller distances to get to/from the airports on each end...

The 12 hour swap* tends to reduce the jet lag compared to say 6 or 8 hours distance though and the flight tends to land Ireland early morning so as long as you power through the first day until 9-10pm you're grand.

*- 11 or 13 in reality depending on the clock changes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,398 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

Sharks? Don't swim in shark infested areas, Australia has plenty of safe beaches. Crocodiles only live in very remote areas way up in northern queensland.

No swimming areas are "shark infested". That's a nonsense media term.
    Shark move quite easily into beaches, and attacks do happen. There are bigger risks in the sea tbh.
    Yes Crocodiles are only present in Queensland and Northern territory. But not only remote areas. Close to relatively big town. It's the warmest part of the country, some lunatics are into that.

Canada; Newfoundland/Talamh an Éisc or Nova Scotia specifically.

• Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 2,458 Mod ✭✭✭✭Nigel Fairservice

I lived in the UK and Canada and have visited the USA and Australia. Never been to NZ. In Canada I lived in Vancouver and at Moraine Lake in the Rockies. The UK was grand but it was like living here tbh. When I lived/worked at the lake in the Rockies I didn't need keys (we didn't lock our door), a phone (no reception) or a wallet (nowhere to spend your money anyway). We had jaw dropping scenery on tap. It was the best few months of my adult life. If I had to pick a large city to live in it would be Vancouver. I miss living there. The city is beautiful, the people are nice, good infrastructure and transport, lots to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,989 ✭✭✭Noo

Why do people keep saying this?

The last person to die from a spider bite in Australia was in 1980, nearly 40 years ago, before the anti-venom program was introduced in 1981. No one has died since its been introduced.

Sshhh. It's a secret only 25 million people know about.

Some years ago, a newspaper contacted various embassies on their policies regarding potential immigrants over 60. Most provided copious, soothing paragraphs insisting how much they valued applicants of any age with some caveats. The Australian response was briefer: “we don’t want old people.” I’m not sure if Aussies are just more honest or whether there’s more to it than that on many such issues with immigrants.

One other issue with Oz. There must be a lot of insects?