Any other Irish sports fan dislike Gaelic football and hurling?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 230 ✭✭Marty Xavier

I love hurling, I would as soon watch an under 14 match as the All Ireland and enjoy it. I would go to a good few games a year and the All Ireland most years. Wonderful game to watch and play even though I was no good really.

Gaelic football is awful though, can't really watch a game anymore. Might watch Dublin and Mayo Saturday as both teams try to play football and entertain. The skill levels don't compare to hurling at all. Boring slog of a game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,628 ✭✭✭✭pgj2015

the op is a self loathing Irish person. if baseball and basketball was irish they would hate that as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,628 ✭✭✭✭pgj2015

I love hurling, I would as soon watch an under 14 match as the All Ireland and enjoy it. I would go to a good few games a year and the All Ireland most years. Wonderful game to watch and play even though I was no good really.

Gaelic football is awful though, can't really watch a game anymore. Might watch Dublin and Mayo Saturday as both teams try to play football and entertain. The skill levels don't compare to hurling at all. Boring slog of a game.

Hurling people always bring gaelic football into it, hurling is way better bla bla bla, can you not just enjoy your hurling without running gaelic football down? both Irish sports and sports a huge percentage of our country enjoy. there is plenty of skill on show in gaelic football matches.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,291 ✭✭✭lbc2019

GAA isnt a sport- its the name of the Association! Gaelic Football is the name of the sport!

I wouldnt be a big Gaelic Football fan but still acknowledge its important as our native sport

• Closed Accounts Posts: 724 ✭✭✭InTheShadows

Yeah completely agree OP. The amount of violence on and off the pitch often get's over looked which is disgusting. If it happened on the street you'd be looking at jail time but for some reason you put on a GAA jersey and all is well.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 2,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭The Mig

Find the football boring as fcuk. Hurling on the other hand is one of the greatest sports going

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 220 ✭✭kevcos

Historically, and somewhat in modernity, good hurling teams only developed where there was good arable flat land.

For me that's a lovely bit of trivia somewhat unique to hurling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,932 ✭✭✭The J Stands for Jay

I love our national games and have done since I was a child being brought to games. It was a great way to know the geography of your local area though nowadays travel is much more common.

Dunno about that. I got to see more of the local area from playing soccer. Every area had their own team, whereas the GAA clubs were based on parishes so that there were far fewer of them and smaller places never got a look in, as the club would be based in the biggest town/village of the parish.

Tilikum17 wrote: »
    Hurling is the greatest sport of them all.

According to Josh Pray it is.

I don't have a massive interest in hurling at all but that fella gets me hyped for it. We all ridin' Tippry!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 230 ✭✭Marty Xavier

pgj2015 wrote: »
    Hurling people always bring gaelic football into it, hurling is way better bla bla bla, can you not just enjoy your hurling without running gaelic football down? both Irish sports and sports a huge percentage of our country enjoy. there is plenty of skill on show in gaelic football matches.

The thread is about both. That is why I commented on football. To me the games are thankfully unrelated as a spectacle and I wouldn't go to a football match now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,499 ✭✭✭Sabre0001

I don't watch a lot of it and probably wouldn't go out of my way to watch it, but I'll enjoy a game of hurling when it's on. Don't really like Gaelic football, and I think it's mostly down to the fact that I don't understand the rules surrounding the tackle...

🤪

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭RoversCeltic

The Mig wrote: »
    Find the football boring as fcuk. Hurling on the other hand is one of the greatest sports going

Why hasn't it taken off then

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭Stevieluvsye

Dubs fans also. Especially the ones who remind you they also attend games in Parnell park.

Who cares. Your the Man U fans of the GAA world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,746 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

No interest, never had, life goes on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

You can get in and out of a sport.

I loved formula one, knew lots about it, the tyres, engines all these little things that made what seemed like a boring sport interesting.
    Then about 15 years ago I went to the German GP and I was so disappointed, I haven't watched one since.

I've been to very boring soccer and rugby games, other fans say I was unlucky, picked the wrong ones etc.

Went to a couple of premiership games and was completely turned off by the supporters, german sheppard dogs and riot police.
    I grew up in the inner city always loved soccer, I still watch every Irish international, but stopped watching a lot of it years ago. Loved the champions league this year.

Anyway I was brought to a lot of hurling and football games as a kid. Then my Dad passed and I stopped.

I got married, my wife seemd to like basketball and ice hickey games, she liked sport events, we tried a few Belfast giants games but it wasn't the same as the states, nothing to play for.

I said to her if you want some exciting days out at sporting events, GAA is worth a go as I've had great days out in the past.

So we went and she loved it. So I'm back in. Travelling around the county, meeting different supporters from different places.

For me it's the only show in town to support your team.

I understand that rugby has a similar vibe, but like some here with their attitude to GAA, it's just not my game, never will be, I try and have tried to get into it. I guess its because it was not around in my area when I was a kid, they had the doors closed to my kind years ago, they are open now fair play to them , but I like the idea of my boy playing the same game on the same field that his great grand father played for and on.

Like any sport you have to understand it and the little things that make it interesting.

Each to their own. I think hurling is a fantastic game, but I see a red flag at all the "beat game in the world" comments same with soccer "the beautiful game"

They are not, they are just your sport and fair play to you. Nobody should be forced to play a game. Its understandable that anyone who was would hate it.

But it's worth a fresh pair of eyes, go to a game.

Would I take my own advice and go to a cricket game. Probably not, for many reasons, but maybe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,012 ✭✭✭Ottoman_1000

Sabre0001 wrote: »
    I don't watch a lot of it and probably wouldn't go out of my way to watch it, but I'll enjoy a game of hurling when it's on. Don't really like Gaelic football, and I think it's mostly down to the fact that I don't understand the rules surrounding the tackle...

having played both all my life I am even confused about the rules around the tackle :confused::confused::confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,399 ✭✭✭golfball37

I'm a gaa member and underage Hurling coach, its quite simply in my opinion the greatest game in the world. I wouldn't watch a Gaelic Football match for money however. I also love Soccer, American Football and Cricket- actually nearly every sport. There's nothing wrong with anyone's tastes, if they don't like GAA so be it. I also cannot stand Rugby which is very popular in recent years so everyone is different.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,702 ✭✭✭munsterlegend

McGaggs wrote: »
    Dunno about that. I got to see more of the local area from playing soccer. Every area had their own team, whereas the GAA clubs were based on parishes so that there were far fewer of them and smaller places never got a look in, as the club would be based in the biggest town/village of the parish.

Not where I was from. Every local area had a gaa club no matter how small. You wouldn’t get 20 people at most local soccer matches and would go to gaa games not even involving your local team right up from underage to adult level. It’s different now as people travel a lot more and have transport available easier.

golfball37 wrote: »
    I'm a gaa member and underage Hurling coach, its quite simply in my opinion the greatest game in the world. I wouldn't watch a Gaelic Football match for money however. I also love Soccer, American Football and Cricket- actually nearly every sport. There's nothing wrong with anyone's tastes, if they don't like GAA so be it. I also cannot stand Rugby which is very popular in recent years so everyone is different.

If hurling is such a great game has the GAA failed it. Its really only played seriously & in numbers in Tipp and its surrounding counties.

If its so good why are viewing figures so poor in Britain and why was it cut from free to air in Australia.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,557 ✭✭✭bladespin

Yup, same, I've never found them any way interesting at all, my day played 'county' and remember being forced to sit through hours of tedium wanting to pull my hair out. Even now a Sunday visit risks turning into an interruption of deep analysis of the game/s, damn you Sky plus, pause/rewind/pause/rewind :(
    Untitled Image

MasteryDarts Ireland - Master your game!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 239 ✭✭Capra

Why hasn't it taken off then

Don't be an idiot. What sport from a small country has taken off? Association football has the indirect backing of the UK which is probably the world's second most influential country when it comes to culture and media. It's also incredibly easy to play as you don't even need a proper ball to play it. Just something you can kick and use as a ball. Yet despite all that they cannot break it as a major men's sport the USA no matter how hard they try.

American football has the advantage of being from the USA and they shove it down our throats at every opportunity through the media. They have even brought their biggest teams to London and Dublin....yet it never seems to take off.

AFL was broadcast on TG4 for years. A few gaa fans watched it. That's about it.

It's almost like people don't randomly take up sports that are not part of their culture en masses?! Shock horror...but no I'm sure it must be related to the quality and entertainment value of the sport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,164 ✭✭✭Bigbagofcans

Gaelic football and hurling are boring but soccer isn't? I'm not a major fan of either but at least there is some action in them as opposed to soccer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,012 ✭✭✭Ottoman_1000

Just OP such self loathing if I ever heard it...people like different sports, get over it. I love hurling, football, rugby and golf. Ill casually look at boxing, cricket and the darts. Cant stand soccer, MMA and NFL (actually any of the traditional american sports)! I guess its each to their own, why anyone needs to start a topic on it god knows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,702 ✭✭✭munsterlegend

If hurling is such a great game has the GAA failed it. Its really only played seriously & in numbers in Tipp and its surrounding counties.

If its so good why are viewing figures so poor in Britain and why was it cut from free to air in Australia.

You can’t just introduce a sport they have never seen on tv and expect people to like it. In England football is the national game and that’s it. Other sports struggle never mind gaa. Look at how much sky pay to show football as opposed to rugby or other sports. Only one sport in town in England and uk.

Only way gaa will ever get bigger in these countries if it’s played widely from children up like it is here.

Capra wrote: »
    Don't be an idiot. What sport from a small country has taken off? Association football has the indirect backing of the UK which is probably the world's second most influential country when it comes to culture and media. It's also incredibly easy to play as you don't even need a proper ball to play it. Just something you can kick and use as a ball. Yet despite all that they cannot break it as a major men's sport the USA no matter how hard they try.

American football has the advantage of being from the USA and they shove it down our throats at every opportunity through the media. They have even brought their biggest teams to London and Dublin....yet it never seems to take off.

AFL was broadcast on TG4 for years. A few gaa fans watched it. That's about it.

It's almost like people don't randomly take up sports that are not part of their culture en masses?! Shock horror...but no I'm sure it must be related to the quality and entertainment value of the sport.

it hasn't taken off throughout Ireland, few people play it outside tipp and its borders

• Administrators Posts: 56,584 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Sheridan81 wrote: »
    I've always been a big sports fan.

Soccer, tennis, boxing, MMA, badminton, wrestling, BMX racing ,athletics, baseball, American football, basketball, golf, snooker, gymnastics, rugby, field hockey, ice hockey, handball, swimming, all the Olympic disciplines etc. you name it, at one point or another, I've enjoyed it.

Possibly the only two sports I've never liked, and almost have a disdain for, are ironically the two sports native of this isle: GAA and hurling (as well as camogie).

I do not understand the obsession and excitement generated by these two minority sports. In my opinion, both are dull and repetitive. I do not know how some people can view some of the players as minor celebrities.

When Donegal won the All Ireland recently I couldn't have cared less. Whenever I was forced to to play Gaelic in school I would just kick the ball from the ground as if I was playing soccer. What was the point of picking it up? It didn't even seem necessary. Another player used to do the same and aim for goal every time and score a lot, only to be admonished by our GAA loving coach to go for the point. It made no sense.

Am I alone in being Irish and loving most sports but disliking probably the two most Irish sports of all?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,707 ✭✭✭valoren

Personally, I would rather gouge my eye balls out of my head with a rusty spoon than watch gaelic football as to do so is my idea of hell. If I was in "1984", O'Brien would turn on Roscommon vs Louth for me in Room 101.

You can’t just introduce a sport they have never seen on tv and expect people to like it. In England football is the national game and that’s it. Other sports struggle never mind gaa. Look at how much sky pay to show football as opposed to rugby or other sports. Only one sport in town in England and uk.

Only way gaa will ever get bigger in these countries if it’s played widely from children up like it is here.

Hurling isn't played widely in Ireland. ESRI states that its not in anyway popular, its not popular whatsoever in the northern half of the country. Either the GAA has failed it or its a **** sport

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

A close hurling match is great to watch, especially at the backend of the season. Amazing skill, I couldn't even dream of recreating it.

Gaelic Football is just absolute dross, very prehistoric. I used to play a bit when I was younger. The managers would lose their **** if you did anything that resembles "Soccer". I remember a couple of times I scored goals with my feet from the ground. I score, celebrate, get the love from the team-mates, look over to the manager and he's shouting "pick the ball up, this isn't soccer". Meat-head sport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,111 ✭✭✭PhilOssophy

Each to their own. I like hurling, watch most games. I hate the "oh hurling is the greatest game ever" nonsense after an exciting finish to a game.
    I don't like gaelic football and I particularly hate it in the north and everything surrounding it. The Tyrone bus recently summed it up for me.
    I have no interest in soccer, a mafia of modern times with people cleaning up while a bunch of chavs hurl abuse at each other and claim the others are scum :D
    Rugby = a game which rich lads want their kids to play so they can feel the parochial love for 'Rock or 'Michaels or wherever so when they are adults, they can always say they went to that school as a conversation starter.
    NFL = lad too fat to be any use with anything else in life, throw him in their to push against some other lad.
    Golf = smug people.
    Cricket = a good session.
    Snooker/darts/etc = pub games.

But hey, if we were all the same it'd be boring.