Where were you when...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,085 ✭✭✭The Tetrarch

In work. A guy showed my an image of the twin towers smoking. I said I had seen Towering Inferno and was not a fan of the Bruce Willis type of film. He said it was real. We watched it in work on TV for hours, then went home. In traffic it was obvious everyone was listing to their car radio.

I am old enough to remember when John Kennedy was shot. In those days there were not many TVs, and programs only ran for a few hours at night. There was no TV reporting from the USA. It was about a day before we knew he was shot dead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,372 ✭✭✭✭branie2

On the treadmill listening to the radio when news came in about pope Benedict. I turned on the TV after coming off the treadmill to hear that he had announced his abdication.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,777 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

9/11. Was in school, history class, using staples and elastic bands against the other table when the teacher walked in and told us WW3 had just started. Switches on the TV to see the commotion. All sorts of rumours were going around.

Looks like I picked the wrong week to quit sniffing glue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,481 ✭✭✭Iscreamkone

Princess Di died:

I was up early watching a cartoon on TV when it was interrupted with breaking news of Princess Diana's death.

I was in Lanzarote on holidays.
    Left the swimming pool to go watch the Liverpool v Newcastle game. It was called off. Still not over it.

were ye reenacting a battle when your teacher gave you the news?

branie2 wrote: »
    were ye reenacting a battle when your teacher gave you the news?

An no, just last class on a Tuesday and no intention of doing any work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,239 ✭✭✭Jimbob1977

September 11th - I was InterRailing around Austria. That night, I phoned my Dad for the Champions League results. He said all the games were postponed because two planes hit the Twin Towers.

I asked him if there was dense fog over Manhattan and why didn't the Air Traffic Controllers tell the pilots they were flying dangerously. Then he said that the planes were flown into the Twin Towers. Ran back to the hotel and turned on CNN.

Lady Diana - I was sitting at home after getting the Holyhead to Dun Laoghaire ferry. I had been at Manchester United v Coventry City. All the broadcasters interrupted their scheduled programming.

Gulf War/Desert Storm - everyone knew it was coming. My Dad woke me up at around 2am to say that Baghdad was getting pounded.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭vriesmays

Up Donegal wrote: »
    How about a thread asking where you were and what were you doing when you heard about some major event, national or international?

For example ;

Where were you and what were you doing when you first heard about the 9-11 attacks?

Swan Centre, Rathmines.

My father told me about the Gulf war when I got up in the morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,533 ✭✭✭ArnoldJRimmer

9/11: I was in college at the time and wandering to a lecture. Decided to skip it and call into my mate's to watch Neighbours instead. That was either interrupted or footage started afterwards, cant remember, but it was just after the first plane hit. Watched the whole thing unfold throughout the afternoon. Curiosity soon turned to horror when as details emerged. It was my friends 21st that night and the atmosphere in the pub was surreal. Instead of music, Sky News was blaring and everyone was glued to it

IRA ceasefire in 94. This was actually huge news at the time, although ultimately the Good Friday agreement is the biggest milestone people remember. Growing up near the border, peace seemed impossible at the time. I was caddying for my father in a golf tournament and strangers were actually sharing the information as they were passing each other at different holes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,026 ✭✭✭H3llR4iser

Pope resignation and plenty others - at work.

AF447 - at home, I had just moved to Dublin from Italy and was in the job-hunting process.

2011 Japan Earthquake - obviously...working, night time deployment and at the precise moment the earthquake struck, I was in a conference call that included one of the girls in the Tokyo office. She very calmly excused herself, saying "apologies - we need to evacuate". We thought it was a fire drill or something, until somebody checked the news when she didn't come back online some 20 minutes later. She sent a message later on saying she was OK and on her way home to everyone's relief.

Now the big one - 9/11; I was working in Italy at the time...in an office building that was part of a NATO / US military facility. At some point my boss goes "she thinks it's April 1st...my wife just texted me there was an explosion at the Twin Towers and they were knocked down!". We all went "oh, she's got great imagination!" until somebody tried to check the news and discovered the Internet was pretty much down. Literally 5 minutes later a group of soldiers marched into the room, declared the building was under reasonable threat of an attack and proceeded to evacuation.

Also, believe it or not, I was a wee lad at the time but I remember the Chernobyl disaster being announced on TV, the people rushing to buy every kind of food supplies and whatnot.

Anyone remember the news about the Cuban Missile Crisis, as in President Kennedy announcing the presence of the missiles on Cuba? It was before my time, but a fascinating subject nonetheless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22 Gratzi22

The main ones ...

Elvis died.
    My mum came into our bedroom to tell me and my brother The King had died. She was ironing in the kitchen at the time.

Bobby Sand died.
    Got up for breakfast before school and mum said 'everything would be okay'. Didn't know what she was on about until I went into the kitchen and saw the news on our little B&W portable tele in the kitchen. Still went to school though in Belfast (East).

9/11.
    My brother rang me in work to tell me about the attacks. Didn't really cop on what he was muttering on about until he told me mum and dad were in New York visiting (forgotten about that). Took them a while to get home, but at least they were unharmed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,684 ✭✭✭FatherTed

9/11 - I was peeing in the toilet at work when one of my colleagues Tim came in and said did you hear about the plane hitting the WTC? True

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,914 ✭✭✭irishguitarlad

Where were you when they built the ladder to heaven

2004 Tsunami in Stephens Day.

Remember eating Christmas leftovers and the news broke, but then every hour the death toll was rising by thousands. Suddenly felt very guilty about stuffing my face and the impact of what was happening was unfolding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

Hillsborough.

I was sitting on our kitchen floor watching the game while my mother was making dinner.

I couldn't understand what was happening and she switched the TV off and told me to go outside and play.

The news was on when we were sitting down to dinner and when the reports of deaths started coming in I was even more confused as to why people died at a football match.

I could see tears in her eyes as she tried explaining what happened.

It's my first really clear memory of football and when I think about it now it's like I'm back in the kitchen again sitting on the floor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭Go Home Paddy Cat!!

9/11 was queueing in the bank waiting to pay my first year uni fees and the tv was showing smoke emanating from one of the trade centres. I had thought a helicopter had hit it, but found out they were showing footage that had a news helicopter in it. Either way, a surreal experience.

Michael Jackson's death - was walking to the train station to get the train to work and looked at the front page of the free metro newspaper and couldn't believe it.

AF447 - was at a BBQ and a friend told me about it. Gave me chills to think a modern airliner could just vanish over the ocean.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,160 ✭✭✭✭the beer revolu

Gratzi22 wrote: »

Bobby Sand died.
    Got up for breakfast before school and mum said 'everything would be okay'. Didn't know what she was on about until I went into the kitchen and saw the news on our little B&W portable tele in the kitchen. Still went to school though in Belfast (East).

I would have sworn that Bobby Sands died on a Saturday (or at least it made the papers on the Saturday) and I was with my parents going through Bandon. My dad went into the shop to get ice cream and came out with the paper and the news.

Turns out he died on a Tuesday in May. I must have been in school. Memory is not reliable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 aaqil jettson

9/11 sitting at home listening to it on the radio, took a while to realise it was something serious and there might be something on the TV about it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 469 ✭✭rafatoni

Where were you when you were Sh1t

Where were you, where you when you were Sh1t

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 899 ✭✭✭FrKurtFahrt

I was driving from Buncrana to Letterkenny on 9-11 when the news broke on the radio. Arrived home and put on Sky News and sat in disbelief for the rest of the evening watching the events unfold.

I was driving from Buncrana that day also! I heard a newsflash on the radio and pulled into a well-known local pub which I knew had Sky. Just a few in, but all glued to the solitary television when the second plane struck. We stood in shock, absolute shock - until a bollix ambled out of the back room which contained a pool table...'never mind the telly, who's turn is it to play me?'

I clearly remember where I was for the moon landing also... at the Gaeltacht, having the summer of my young life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 899 ✭✭✭FrKurtFahrt

I also recall what I was doing when I heard the news of JFK, Bobby Sands and Diana deaths. Likewise the Dublin/Monaghan bombings and Bloody Sunday. it seems such tragic events live long in the memory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 888 ✭✭✭fmpisces

How about a thread asking where you were and what were you doing when you heard about some major event, national or international?

For example ;

Where were you and what were you doing when you first heard about the 9-11 attacks?

That I remember vividly. Was working the evening shift in the ticket office at Bishops Stortford railway station.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 ursa actos

9/11 was in college in Galway, strolling into town with a mate when we ran into a couple of friends & were chatting. One of them got a text message saying a plane had hit the world trade center. We went to a tv store around the corner. People were just watching in stunned silence. Went home after a while & was glued to the tv coverege

Diana - had been up late / all-night I think watching a Formula 1 when BBC were breaking the story of her being in a car crash - before she was confirmed killed.

I was in Rome at the time of the Queen Mother's death. I found out about her passing when I turned on the television news in my hotel room after coming back from a meal in restaurant nearby.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

branie2 wrote: »
    Anyone remember the news about the Cuban Missile Crisis, as in President Kennedy announcing the presence of the missiles on Cuba? It was before my time, but a fascinating subject nonetheless.

Yes. I was at university and had no idea what was going on as no radio or TV. I was in the Union study room when a march went past protesting it. The first I had heard of anything.
    Utterly shocking as there was an imminent and real danger of total wipe out

Shudders. my insides are remembering.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

\My extended faithfamily ; we lost many many in the big tsunami and then Japan. Will never forget the sheer horror as news leaked out as we could not get any real info for a long time. One was found much later in hospital with a broken leg.. another survivor was so badly affected he was never the same

I was alone in Ireland and waiting for news. My Poor Clare friends were so supportive,

Then Japan the same. and then leukaemia affected survivors.

When the news re President Kennedy came on TV, I was sitting on the rug by the fire arranging violets I had brought for my mother. Her immediate reaction was a panicked "There will be WAR!"

Working the most mind numbing software tester job imaginable for college work placement. Testing 8 hours a day the same buttons in the same Lotus Email Software over and over and over again. Possibly the closest I have ever come to suicidal depression ever. And I only had to do it for 6 weeks. There were people there doing it 10 years.

I remember mostly about 9-11 one of the conspiracy theory type guys working there. As soon as the news hit he was already calling it an inside job from the off - and was convinced absolutely that it was World War 3. He left work early to double his stock of tinned food and tinfoil as I recall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,139 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

9/11: working in a web development company in a Dublin. One of the guys with us had worked in one of the towers up to a couple of months prior, and had lots of friends there, so he was freaking out. All the news websites were buckling under the traffic load, and we were all trying to find backdoor ways of getting up to date news using various IP addresses instead of the regular website URLs. Some sites resorted to completely removing all their images and text formatting to reduce bandwidth and server load.

Our General Manager was American, and came in to tell us that it was nothing we should concern ourselves with and to get back to work. We told him to F off.